One official said the jihadist, Mohammed Emwazi, was thought to be hit as he left a building in Raqqa, Syria, and entered a vehicle.
The official called it a "flawless" and “clean hit” with no collateral damage and that Emwazi basically "evaporated."
Pentagon Press Secretary Peter Cook said:
"U.S. forces conducted an airstrike in Raqqa, Syria, on Nov. 12, 2015 targeting Mohamed Emwazi, also known as 'Jihadi John,"
"Emwazi, a British citizen, participated in the videos showing the murders of U.S. journalists Steven Sotloff and James Foley, U.S. aid worker Abdul-Rahman Kassig, British aid workers David Haines and Alan Henning, Japanese journalist Kenji Goto, and a number of other hostages," Cook said. "We are assessing the results of tonight's operation and will provide additional information as and where appropriate."
Diane Foley, the mother of Emwazi's first victim James Foley, told ABC News Emwazi's potential death would be "really a small solace to us."
"This huge effort to go after the this deranged man filled with hate when they can't make half that effort to save the hostages while these young Americans were still alive," said Foley, who was been critical of the U.S. government's hostage policy.
Richard Clarke, a former counter-terrorism advisor to the White House and current ABC News consultant, said,
"Since ISIS has used propaganda and its 'winner' image to lure new adherents, when its propaganda figure is killed that makes it look more like a loser, more like the tide may be turning against it."
A senior US defence official told CNN that they knew it was Emwazi before they struck in a mission he described as involving 'persistent surveillance'.
Emwazi, 27, carried out a number of beheadings of Western hostages in Syria and was top of the UK Govenrment's 'kill list' of up to a dozen British radicals whom ministers want taken out with targeted drone strikes.
Russia had always made capturing the Kuwaiti-born man a priority.
He should die....idiot
ReplyDeleteTo Gpd be the glory. I wish he was beheaded and the head decapitated stage by stage. Rot in hell Emwazi
ReplyDeleteLinda kudos to u, more of such stories is needed here. A blend of serious stories. This was just announced on CNN n it is here already. Closure
ReplyDeleteAnd these people actually believe that as he's dead now, he's going somewhere to chill with some 12 abi how.many.virgin?
ReplyDeleteWhoever brought forty that teaching is definitely going to the deepest part of hell fire
I hope he rots in hell. Linda take note!
ReplyDeleteI hope he rots in hell. Linda take note!
ReplyDeleteCheck out this hotel nevadahotelsandsuites
... experience true comfort
I believe US when they claim they have killed in tgeir airstrikes cos they go straight for the jugular in their mission.
ReplyDeleteI've been waiting for this news for ages...thank you Lord for he'll awaits him
ReplyDeleteThought I have read a report where it was said the Jihadi John has been killed.
ReplyDelete~BONARIO~says so via NOKIA LUMIA
That's good news if it's true.
ReplyDeleteYour comment will be visible after approval.
I hope so o
ReplyDeleteStill a developing story. Not fully confirmed yet. Hope He rots in abyss
ReplyDeleteGod forbid his name to be John.. He must be Jubril.. John is a holy name. May he rot in hell..
ReplyDeleteI pray it's true
ReplyDeleteThank God
More of dis kinda news
#oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#
I pray it's true
ReplyDeleteThank God
More of dis kinda news
#oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#
God forbid his name to be John.. He must be Jubril Abdul. John is a holy name. May he rot in hell..
ReplyDeleteSome good tale to troll me thru the day.
ReplyDeleteProlly hit the Bar after office hours to further celebrate the Dead of Jihadi John after which i will trail my way to a spotlight as the Club beckons on me.
kill them all
ReplyDeleteHo can they be sure?
ReplyDeleteI do hope he is actually dead but I prefer to see him captured.
ReplyDeletea.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
ReplyDelete.
Gud news though no doubt....
That's fantastic news. That would send a warning signal to the other radicals.
ReplyDeleteWell, that's good news.
ReplyDeleteLies lies lies! Just like the shambolic claimed death of Osama, the West is performing another Houdini trick on the gullible people.
ReplyDeleteLies lies lies! Just like the shambolic claimed death of Osama, the West is performing another Houdini trick on the gullible people
ReplyDeleteI really do hope it's true. Let it not be like the Nigerian army claiming they'd downed Shekau.
ReplyDeleteEven SHEKAU is not a Robot!
We don us, kill them all.