Striking photo of newborn lying next to mother's caesarean wound goes viral | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 18 August 2015

Striking photo of newborn lying next to mother's caesarean wound goes viral

More than 11 million people have viewed this picture on social media, but it has certainly divided opinion.
This striking photograph of a mother and baby taken just three days after being born by caesarean section has taken social media by storm.
Helen Aller, 29, took the black and white image of the woman and her newborn lying next to her wound.

The new mother, who does not wish to be identified, was terrified of having a C-section but wanted the picture to be taken as the operation had saved her and her baby.

The image touched a nerve around the world after Helen shared it online, and it has been seen 11.5 million times and liked by nearly 200,000 people.
Photographer Helen, from Guernsey, often takes photos of newborns and their mums, but said she wasn't prepared for the reaction her latest shot received.
She said: "I photographed this mama's pregnancy a while back and she was telling me how terrified she was of having a c-section.

"Last week she went into labour but had to have an emergency c-section after complications.
"She asked me to come over and shoot this particular image as her worst nightmare proved to be what saved her and her child's lives.
"My images usually get seen seen by 100 people at most so I never thought it would reach anywhere near what it has done.
"So far it has been seen by over 7.5 million people. I didn't expect this image to reach so far."
In the photo, the newborn - only three days old - is lying directly underneath his mother's scar from her emergency caesarean.

Source: UK Mirror

92 comments:

1. God bless all mothers oh!

2. Linda,its not a wound.its a scar which disappears depending on skin type and how it was stitched.

Wound?Jesus!are you an illiterate?

3. Shut up, minutes anonymous 12:57pm. What do you know, if that cs is 3 days old, then it's a wound that has not yet healed. Anu npama, like you.

4. Ewuoo, ndi nurse a kariala.

2. Really cute. The joys of motherhood

3. what are you showing people here

4. EEEEEWWWWWWWW My gay boss Paul Odekina of Total E&P thinks women are disgusting! he loves men only preferably below 20 and well endowed

1. Get a life you IDIOT

2. Paul Odekina deserves d backlash he is getting. A married gay man dat tormented his wife to d point he almost killed her bc of his gay lovers dat he takes home.

5. Nice pic,people likes taking panadol for another person' s headache.

6. All I see is the massive toto.

1. Stop being silly,,,try having a child through c section and you wouldn't be here writing trash

2. She can showcase the wound and baby without being nude. The pic is cool though.

7. The picture is simply besutiful. There is something about it I can't put in words.

1. True true. Classic naturale. Blessed r the pure in spirit, 4 theirs is the kingdom of HEAVEN.

8. Hmmmm noting i no go see.

9. I don't see anything bad in it

10. Mhen... Wow... God bless all mothers.

11. Believe me when i tell ya'all that perverted peeps are only tryna visualize the cunt.

1. Dude Eze's tryna take a big Risk coming after Z.
      Well, i 4give u without u even asking me to cos i'm a Generous Dude.

12. Nigerians will even hide the fact that they delivered by Caesarian let alone show pics.

13. So touching .... I wish myself safe delivery just like the Hebrew women

14. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    Women dey really suffer shah.....

15. Where u kept the baby is where he is lying or did the baby just go there to lie? I don't understand this story and why it's news.

1. I do not see this picture as promoting nudity, after all this mother is anonymous. C- section is a life saving procedure, but its unfortunate that in Nigeria today, women who had to go thru it are seen as weak and not woman enough. I can Identify with this mother's feeling, after having 3 vaginal births, I had to go thru an emergency C-sec last yr for my forth child. Am happy to be here today , healthy and strong and watching my kids grow into strong and great individuals.

16. This is the depraved side of social media gone MAD. Is it not too much for sharing ?

17. For people wey think say cs na beans

18. For the love of a child. Mothers are mini gods. God bless all mothers.

19. Wow very touching picture indeeed nothing compare to been a mother the pain and the child all worth it.

20. The pains of motherhood. And men be misbehaving anyhow.

21. Eeya....not bad tho atleast for the 1 who toke the shot

22. Mtcheww! This is a way to get her nudity out to the world! What a stunt. Not right if you ask me

1. Go and sit down.

2. Yeye dey smell! What nudity is she showing? Having a baby grow inside another human being is one of the most amazing acts of God. Who asked you and Who needs your opinion? And you're a woman...smh! Women wounding women since 1800.

3. I agree ma @ Taiwo
      Anon 10.49: everyone is entitled to his/her opinion and must not agree with you.

23. Hmmm... God you're Good... Thats all I can Say...

24. All glory to God, what women go through to have a child. hmn am forever grateful to God for the precious seeds He gave me without stress. God bless all mothers.

25. Hian! Everything na for social media. Linda take note!

26. Hian! Everything na for social media. Linda take note!

27. Hian! Everything na for social media. Linda take note!

28. This is a beautiful picture. The beauty of motherhood.

29. Linda, you are very good at showing us other people's private part.
    When will you show us your own?

30. Thank You Jesus! For Saving Their Lives! http://www.bummyla.com

31. Awwww...I understand how the mum feels, I felt the same way when I was told I would have my 3rd baby by CS...i was terrified to say the least. Rock on mum and rock ur CS incision too, it will heal in no time.

32. Lovely.... Creative..... Engr Emy

33. God is great.

Linda's boyfriend said so...

34. I wear my own scar very well and very proud of it too. My daughter is adorable.

35. So sweet. Thank God for her life and that of the baby

36. awwww....sooooo cute....definitely d baby knew wat hs mum went tru b4 being given life

37. Awww what some women go thru to bring their bundle of joy to the world, God bless we women o!!!

38. Choi!! Women do suffer a lot.....can't imagine the pain she went thru....

39. WOOOOOW!!!!TOMJERRYSWIT

40. WOOOOOW!!!!TOMJERRYSWIT

41. So scared of this c-section ish. Thank God...

42. its beautiful.

#Smile.

43. Hmmm, dunno what to say

it is well

44. God Is the GREATEST!!

45. C-sections isn't beans at all went thru 2 thank God mom nd baby is fine

46. Wow lovely what our mothers past true. God bless u mama

1. Wow...you really need help with your spelling

47. Beautiful..... I just wish to flaunt mine now....aside d after pain c-section is a lot easier than normal....keeping ur kpakus still intact too.

48. Thank God 4 the joy of Motherhood. Just rememberd how my own bundles of joy(2 boys) came out. One was about coming with the head, the other with the legs.There was no other option. C-S saved my life and that of my babies.

49. that's lovely, for does disrespecting there mum see wat mothers go through..

50. Women strong shaa.. Respect to all the mothers around the world!!

51. This picture brought tears to my eyes. Love it so much.

52. I had my daughter through C-section. on seeing this i shed tears cos her story is same as mine. The c-section was an emergency to save my baby and I after 12 hours of labour. This picture shows the joys, pains and proud scars of motherhood. Its powerful. I am now having my other child through elective c-section and i will definitely document my scar to remind me the miracle of child birth

53. I had my daughter through C-section. on seeing this i shed tears cos her story is same as mine. The c-section was an emergency to save my baby and I after 12 hours of labour. This picture shows the joys, pains and proud scars of motherhood. Its powerful. I am now having my other child through elective c-section and i will definitely document my scar to remind me the miracle of child birth

54. A wonderful procedure to go through but not the right way to portray it. Not modest.