Photo: Vietnamm court overturns death sentence for Nigerian drug trafficker | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 18 August 2015

Photo: Vietnamm court overturns death sentence for Nigerian drug trafficker

A Vietnam court yesterday August 17th reduced a death sentence previously handed to 33 year old Nigerian man, Ejiogu Benjamin Ikechukwu, pictured above, for bringing methamphetamine into Vietnam, to life imprisonment.

Ejiogu Benjamin Ikechukwu was in June 2012 apprehended with 3.3 kilograms of the banned drug concealed in metal tubes and a laptop charger in his luggage as he flew to Tan Son Nhat in Vietnam.

When he was arrested, Ejiogu said he only planned to come to Vietnam to buy clothes to resell them in Nigeria and had no idea about the drug in his luggage. According to him, a man asked him to carry the tubes and the charger to Vietnam and that someone would pick them up.

A Vietnam court heard the case brought against him by Vietnam police in August 2013 and sentenced him to death, but he appealed the verdict. Vietnam Supreme Court then canceled the verdict, ordering a new investigation. Investigators could not track down the people who had used him as a drug mule.

According to Vietnam law, anyone convicted of smuggling more than 600 grams of heroin or more than 2.5 kilograms of methamphetamine in Vietnam face the death penalty.

42 comments:

1. Hmm he should thank his stars.This should serve as a lesson to would be good Samaritans ( that's if its true).

1. Thank God for him. Dis is way better for him. Linda take note!

2. Thank God for him. Dis is way better for him. Linda take note!

3. Prayers from home dey help am

4. His God is alive. He better keep thanking and praising Him. Others in Malaysia will give anything to have what he was given.

5. Hmmm thank God. For his life, and is not his tim yet to die.

6. Wisdom! Wisdom!! Wisdom!!! I hope we all learn frm dis so dat we wil not fall victim to dis act. Its well wit our souls.

7. Life imprisonment or death penalty which is preferable? Why not sentence the dude to death than let him rot in jail for the rest of his life?

2. Lucky him.

3. My brothers just never learn!!

4. Hmmmmmmm death sentence kwahh stil ppl wil get mind go carry drug Nawa ooo all tnks 4 reducing it but life impri it's jst d twinny of death senten lolz

5. Chai,y guys dey endanger their life like this..for say this guy cool down find one small job dey do,e for better for am..sorry menh

6. Thank God for his life.

1. Thanks for not using that your "phew" this time around.

7. He get luck

#IT will ONLY get BETTER
    #it MUST end IN praise

8. What's d diff btw death sentence and life imprisonment.

1. Check ur dictionary son

*lib's namesake*

2. Lol, you cracked my ribs. Mummy Linda Okorie

9. Hmmmm hope he got the justice he deserve and I hope he must have learnt his lessons.

10. Thank God for his life @ least he will not die like a chicken

11. Thank God for his life @ least he will not die like a chicken

12. Thank God for his life @ least he will not die like a chicken

13. Thank God for his life @ least he will not die like a chicken

14. Thank God for his life @ least he will not die like a chicken

15. Thank God for his life

16. So LIFE imprisonment is better than death sentence? OK!

17. HE SHUD DANCE ETIGHI...TOMJERRYSWIT

18. Na all dz bad people wey no go gree person travel with beta reputation...piffle

19. When there's life, there's hope;; prison break!! Good God..

20. Umuaka Igbo meru nu onwe unu ebere!!! Ego abu kwanu ife nile

21. Hmmn! The way prisons in Vietnam are, by the time he spends 10 years, he will wish he had the death penalty instead.

1. My thoughts exactly, Anon 10.12am

22. Like seriously, what's the difference? I pray he gets God's intervention soon...

23. @annoymous 10.12am, Ave u been jailed in Vietnam b4?

24. His mum prayer is not in vain, very lucky.

25. Nigerian youth need to avoid situation that can bring us shame,let us be creative than looking for a way to get rich quickly.

26. His family's fasting and prayers have paid off. But he's still going to spend the rest of his natural life behind bars. And from what I've heard, Vietnamese prisons are a real hell hole.

Snooping In Relationships - Yay or Nay? click my name to read more and share your thoughts.

27. Just 33 years old, life imprisonment cos of greed