25-year-old man apprehended on expressway with N48m in cash | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 19 August 2015

25-year-old man apprehended on expressway with N48m in cash

25-year-old John Okafor was arrested by operatives of the National Drug Law Enforcement Agency for being in possession of N48m cash. It was learnt that the suspect was apprehended with the money on the Abaji-Abuja Expressway on Monday by the anti-narcotic officials who were on a routine patrol.
He was said to be one of the  the passengers of a commercial bus coming from Onitsha, Anambra State, when he was arrested.

Okafor insisted that the money belonged to an unnamed bureau de change firm in Onitsha, that he was an employee of the firm. He said he was heading for the foreign exchange market in the Federal Capital Territory to convert the sum to dollars when he was arrested.
He said:
“I work for a bureau de change in Onitsha. I was asked to purchase dollars at the foreign exchange market in Abuja with the money. When we got to Abaji, our vehicle was searched and the money was found. That is all I know.”
It was gathered that a drug dealer, Chukuka Ugbai, was arrested with 79 bags of weed said to have tested positive for cannabis in Bako village in the Kwali Area Council, Abuja during the same patrol.
The drug which weighed 817 kilogrammes was found in his warehouse. While Ugbai owned up to illicit dealing in drug, Ugbai, but said he was amazed that the operatives were able to track him to his residence.
He said:
“I was not lucky enough because I don’t know how they detected my cannabis warehouse. I sell cannabis to take care of my family and pay my children’s school fees. The officers found 79 bags of cannabis in my store.”
The FCT commander of the NDLEA, Mrs. Chinyere Obijuru, confirmed the two arrests in a statement. She said Okafor would be handed over to the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission for further investigation, while Ugbai would be charged to court.

She said:
“Okafor was on board a commercial bus from Onitsha in Anambra State when N48,450,000 was found in a brown carton concealed in a sack. He also had on him 86,500 CFA. He claimed that the money belongs to a bureau de change at Onitsha. He is suspected to be engaging in money laundering and will be transferred to the EFCC for further investigation. “Ugbai was arrested at Bako village in the Kwali Area Council following the discovery of his cannabis warehouse. He will soon be charged to court for unlawful possession of cannabis.”

The NDLEA Chairman, Ahmadu Giade, said the agency would continue to clamp down on drug traffickers and urged the public to comply with the provisions of the anti-money laundering act.

Punch

63 comments:

1. You see! Buhari keeps yarning dust while people have started moving their loot to safer hideouts

2. That's a lot of cash to move ard with. There is every possibility he truelly works for bureau de change.

For all your quality and affordable female wears, accessories, handbags and footwear,kindly add us on bbm pin: 2bb40d42, we deliver at ur doorstep thank you.

3. Ndi igbo na sharp drug money, lol nwanne nke gi agwu go mhennn

4. And he's not afraid to carry that kind huge amount of money? Human beings get mind o!

5. Nawao! Only him money laundering and drug trafficking.
    Kuje prison can't wait to give him a hug.

1. U just failed

2. So they just concluded it's drug money.

3. Did you actually read the post???

4. Please read carefully. Mr okafor and ugbai are two different people with different cases!!

6. Chai,one chance.

HUMBLE EVE

7. The one with 48M is just doing his business, they should leave him alone. Dem never see plenty money b4 ni?

8. They should leave the young man alone joor! When the central bank will not allow people to make withdrawals when they want, ofcourse people will carry raw cash about! Besides bureau de change is a 'cash and carry' business so these people carry large sums of money around!

And why is NDLEA confiscating cash? Is cash the same as drugs?

9. 48 whaaaaaaaaat ??? bureau kinni ? and they transport liquid cash in sacks ? thats a first

1. It's not a first! That's how they do business!

10. Replies
    1. @ freeborn. Tell themooo. Rubbish

2. @ freeborn. Tell themooo. Rubbish

11. 48m do pple work around wif such money haba?

12. See his head like german mango
    They are really doing a great job arresting these corrupt ppl, kudos
    Am impressed

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
    #itMUSTendINpraise

13. Is it now a crime to be in possession of money?
    Let them do their investigation rather than parading him

14. For window blinds, wallpaper and curtains please call 08160856785.

15. He says he works for a bureau de change. They should confirm the story before they do anything. He says he doesn't have business with drugs, not like any was found on him naa.

16. N48m by road?! That guy na maga

17. Things are really happening

it is well

18. The way they mention money in this country yet many are out there suffering. God have mercy

19. Abeg how e take be DNLA problem? Ok afore was not seen with drugs yet arrested. 2morrow now I go carry 500k to go enjoy my self police go arrest me. Is der a lea against carrying plenty cash?

20. Owo ti ba. Na now our country go set wella cos all hands are on deck now. Linda take note!

21. Owo ti ba. Na now our country go set wella cos all hands are on deck now. Linda take note!

22. Owo ti ba. Na now our country go set wella cos all hands are on deck now. Linda take note!

23. The should leave the poor your man,were is mallam amaechi,alhaji rochas,thiefnubu,t.a orji,fashola,kwankwaso an may of the moneticians the fools we arrest an live the hard working guys.

24. Why take the risk of carrying such huge amount of cash around, he could have deposited the money in onitsha and withdraw it when he get to abuja, he has entered one chance because even if they release him that money will not remain the same!!!

25. Hmmmm someone has set him up

26. Hmmmm someone has set him up

27. Replies
    1. Dey shd b punished according 2 der offence

28. hey should b punished accordingly so dat dis wil serve as deterrent to others.

29. They should b punished accordingly so dat dis wil serve as deterrent to others.

30. Wow see gbege oooh what!!! 48milla???wow this money is too much.

31. This is a well organized plan. Our police usually collect 50 or 100 naira from bus drivers instead of searching. How did they discover that sum of money. I pity the guy sha.

32. Criminals. And no bureau de change will EVER travel wt dt amount of money. D bureau de change companies are legal entities dt deal directly wt d cbn & have a network of distributors around d country. It is painstaking work dt makes a lot of money for d oga at d top but normal profit 4 d distributors, not d kind of criminal profit igbo boys like.

Most of these companies use hausa guys cos theyre trustworthy & wont scam u - dis is a cash business. Investigate well - it is either drugs, fake money or yahoo. SMH. If d police do their work well in dis country 3/4 of igbo boys wld be locked up.

1. 3/4 ke? 98% know what I am saying...

33. In a country robbed blind by its leaders...hypocrites and parasites...live and let live abeg

34. Routine patrol my ass...this was clearly a case of a falling out with the officials or an inside person

35. Nkụ nọ n'elu ụwa!
    Men gbaga mbọ hooha!

36. They should trace the bureau de change before punishing an innocent soul.

37. to think he bears desame name with Mr IBU,john okafor Lolz.

38. But the same weed is been sold and smoke freely in Femi Karakuta in Lagos. Nigeria and their raw.

39. But the same weed is been sold and smoke freely in Femi Karakuta in Lagos. Nigeria and their raw.

40. But the same weed is been sold and smoke freely in Femi Karakuta in Lagos. Nigeria and their raw.

41. But the same weed is been sold and smoke freely in Femi Karakuta in Lagos. Nigeria and their raw.

42. But the same weed is been sold and smoke freely in Femi Karakuta in Lagos. Nigeria and their raw.

43. But the same weed is been sold and smoke freely in Femi Karakuta in Lagos. Nigeria and their raw.

44. This piece of writing will help the internet people for building up new website or even a weblog from start to end.

Here is my web page - Cash Code System Reviews