The rescued students who are mainly primary and secondary students are responding to treatment at the Igando general hospital, where they have been admitted.
The spokesperson of the South West region of thte National Emergency Management Agency NEMA, Ibrahim Farinloye confirmed the incident and said the body of the 6 students who drowned has not been discovered.
“The 14 school children were being conveyed across Ojo to Irawe jetty, to school. 8 of the children and the canoe driver have been rescued. 5 have been taken to Igando General Hospital for treatment, 3 have been discharged home. 6 children are yet to be recovered as I speak. Searches will continue tomorrow”he said.
Vanguard

It is well. May God comfort their loved ones
ReplyDeleteOh my! So sad!
DeleteMay God gv der parents d fortitude 2 bear d loss. RIP 2 dem n quick recovery 2 dos in d hospital
DeleteSo Sad#
ReplyDeleteDats sad...
ReplyDeleteDat was risky of d school heads nw kaiii
ReplyDeleteMay d good lord heal dem ijn amin na wa o.
ReplyDeleteSo sad... May their souls rip
ReplyDeleteWhen they keep using canoe that has lasted for 100 years.. rip to those kids.
ReplyDeleteDamn. RIP
ReplyDeleteRip to dem.
ReplyDeleteChoiiiii. It's a pity oh
ReplyDeleteTragedy. When will all this be a thing of the past? Is there any health and safety board for canoes, jetty and small boats? What happened to life jackets being onboard albeit a few?
ReplyDeleteOmg May God save them ,,#heretostay
ReplyDeleteThis is heartbreaking. My prayers goes out to their families.
ReplyDeleteGod have mercy
ReplyDeleteToo bad
ReplyDelete*lib's namesake*
This is horrible. So so horrible. But y are they going to school on a ferry? Are the floods that bad?
ReplyDeleteSo sad
ReplyDeleteWhy would they go there inb the first place
ReplyDeleteHmmm.... Why will they cross river to go to school it is very risky nah may their souls rip
ReplyDeleteChai. Poor kids. There is no way they can be found alive.
ReplyDeleteBusy Fingers.
So no other schools on dry land apart from the one across the river. Na WA o,nigeria.even if no other schools, so that sick wood structured boat is their only means of transportation, a boat that can be turned by the littlest breeze. The fact that parents even allowed their children to go to school with a boat is alarming. Rip to the dead children.
ReplyDeletena wa oo so withoit a boat dem no fit go skul ni
ReplyDeleteSearches will continue tommorrow??? :o :o....are they for real??....peoples children
ReplyDeleteThank God
ReplyDeleteFor what? Did u read this story at all?!
DeleteRIP to the dead.
What a tragedy! Incident crudely took away innocent souls... Roger Linda!
ReplyDeleteYou carry innocent children without life jacket on that thing called canoes? Why can't we be safety conscious for once? What country is this anyway
ReplyDeleteOMG!!! Young innocents....eternal rest grant dem Oh Lord!!! May God console deir individual families.....
ReplyDeleteChai rip to those kids too bad
ReplyDeleteSo sad....
ReplyDeleteMay their souls rest in peace
Sad news
ReplyDeleteAm so scared of this boat thing and water ehn, chai rip to the dead
ReplyDeleteit is well
Why won't they be provided with life jacket.. travelling on water without life jacket is like driving a car without seat belt. I wish dem quick recovery tho.
ReplyDeleteHey its a pity. May God be with their souls.
ReplyDeleteWondering how ds even happened with all d spaces ...
ReplyDeleteSo bad! How awful.
ReplyDeleteSo unfortunate
ReplyDeleteOKORO UPGRADED**
OMG what a sad news.
ReplyDeleteY going to school dat far? With all d public and private schools surroundin Ojo.oh well may their souls rest in peace Amen
ReplyDeleteI suspect they were not wearing life jackets.
ReplyDeleteCan the government please investigate and ensure that all boat operators carrying fee paying passengers provide life jackets.
Charities please donate life jackets or subsidise the cost.
Nigerians do something!
Terrible.
ReplyDeleteThis is the most heart breaking news iv ever read. I woke up to this and I'm stil sobbing in bed. Its not fair. How can they allow fourteen kids into that tiny canoe without a life jacket. What kind of govt do we have? This is a flagrant disregard if human right to life. Rip young ones.
ReplyDeleteRIP to the dead. God please, may we not see any of these things again. Please protect your children. The government should devise a means to avoid people using this as a means of transportation.
ReplyDeletethese children aren't even wearing life Jacket.. I keep saying it when I pass by such on water trp(when going to work) we know God is a life saver but one has to take precautions o, may those children be found soon and even miraculously be found alive IJN.. Amen. Please parents on those island should stop taking things for granted o
ReplyDeleteOh Lord!
ReplyDeleteSad. May their souls rest in peace.
ReplyDeleteand how come d fibre boat couldn't control speed or divert, d water is that big now(some wicked/hrtless boat captains).. they usually slow down or divert when they see more other boats on water.. God knows best! thank God for those that were rescued and those that yet to be rescued cos I belve they wil also be found and restored
ReplyDeleteHaba! Dis is really sad. May their souls rest in peace + wishing the survivors a speedy recovery. Linda take note!
ReplyDeleteThat's not cool
ReplyDeleteNuelcode
SO SO SAD
ReplyDeletePlease can somebody give me a link to post an info to linda. Pls. Help me LIB
ReplyDeletePlease LIB readers! can somebody give me a link to post an info to linda. Pls. Help me LIB. Thank you in advance
ReplyDeleteLindaikeji@gmail.com,
ReplyDeleteLinda look alike
Thank you #Dora. Fine gal
DeleteSad! May their souls rest in peace....
ReplyDeleteMy sympathy goes to their parents. Sure bad occurrence will not happen again.