On Sunday he gave it all up to become a Jain monk at a highly publicized and heavily attended event at the Ahmedabad Education Society.
His consecration ceremony was attended by both Jain spiritual leaders and the city's top industrialists.
The father of three, 2 boys and 1 girl, now looks at a life of austerity -- he can't cut his hair and has to walk without any type of footwear.
Doshi had been planning to become a Monk since 1982 after Jain lectures drew him to spirituality. However, he wasn't able to convince his family until last year.
As many as 101 people from the audience also took a sankalp (resolution) to take Jain diksha during the next five years.
"Taking diskha is not easy. A Jain muni's life is like that of conch shell that cannot be painted by any other colour," Surishwarji Maharaj said.
Doshi's status as a Jain monk will be unique since he's a married man, has money and considerable social standing.
A Times of India report said 1,500 servers were appointed to serve food to guests during the three-day ceremony. The venue was built in the form of a ship. 500 hotel rooms were booked to accommodate guests. An estimated 150,000 people participated in the event.
The Times India.
This one don crase. Liindaobserve
ReplyDeleteIs money everything?
DeleteMoney is not everything dear.
DeleteCheck dis out... "Jain monk will be unique since he's a married man, has money and considerable social standing".
DeleteDis is simply to add feather to his cap of achievements. Dis is just for preparations for retirement.
Money isnt everything.
DeleteNo be small crase,see fuckery!!!
DeleteGud 4 him, I hope he gave all his wealth 2 his children o
DeleteHis money, his choice, his life.
Delete@ Naijadeltababe everything is all about money my dear..Money bought me happiness cos I brought my joy price down
DeleteChai! He for try locate me na! Linda take note!
DeleteThis is not craze or fuckery. Its all about chasing ones happiness. Money can't buy that! Most of us can't even trade of life style for those of some rich folks if what they r going thru is revealed.
DeleteIf it makes him happy, cool.
ReplyDelete~album drops 8th june~
....Because in the end, it's all vanity.
Deletewww.iblogwithgrace.blogspot.com
Wow! So generous!
ReplyDeleteNa wa 4 dem oooo
ReplyDeleteGood for him
ReplyDeleteHope giving up his wealth means he will leave it for his kids.......if he does otherwise and he is my dad, i go just kill am
DeleteWhy wud u kill him? Did u build his empire with him? He only owes training u, and not leaving his property 4 u. It's his choice to leave it for u or not . Y not concentrate on making urs. It's men like u that cause problems for their family when their father dies. Greed!!!
DeleteThat his life
ReplyDeleteGod please call Dangote
DeleteHmmm.. I will comment later
ReplyDeleteAll his wealth went where?
ReplyDeleteNxt pls
ReplyDeleteLols, I really don't blame him.
ReplyDeleteKk
ReplyDeleteHmmmm,
ReplyDeleteShould ve transferred some my way....
ReplyDeleteIf it makes him feel fulfilled thumbs up to him
ReplyDeleteOdiegwuu..,
ReplyDeleteHmmmm
ReplyDeleteOGUN GO KILL AM WEREY
ReplyDeleteNa wa 4 u oo
DeleteIf it makes him happy... ..what is wealth without happiness.
ReplyDeleteWell he is old sef and maybe e don too enjoy money
ReplyDeleteI dey craze, i go serve my God with the money.
ReplyDeleteNow that is sacrifice, it is an admirable decision one I am sure didn't come too easy.
ReplyDeleteAbeg jor, story for the dogs
ReplyDeleteAre u shitting me?
ReplyDeleteThat's nice o
#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise
Whatever rocks his boat.
ReplyDeleteWhatever rocks his boat.
ReplyDeleteAnother brainwashed punk ass!
ReplyDeleteStupid fellow. Only Jesus is the way truth and life, no one comes to the Father except through him.
ReplyDeleteOk o.... Issorite!
ReplyDeleteNice one monkey relative
ReplyDeleteAs long as he's happy...
ReplyDeleteGood for him, its his life , his money, he can do whatever he wants
ReplyDeleteWhat A Happy Man!
ReplyDeletea.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
ReplyDelete.
Dude was charmed no doubt....
ReplyDeleteThis guy's number six is faulty
ReplyDelete~make I up take one bottle of star~
Mumu
ReplyDeleteHope he gave the money to his family? That's all I'd say. Cause they should not suffer cause of his sacrifice
ReplyDelete...The doc