Hermes Birkin bag sells for $222,000 in Hong Kong, setting auction record | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday, 2 June 2015

Hermes Birkin bag sells for $222,000 in Hong Kong, setting auction record

A Hermes designer handbag smashed a world auction record in Hong Kong on Monday June 1 when it was sold for 1.72 million Hong Kong dollars ($222,219) at the Famous Christie's auction house.

A mystery phone bidder bought the crocodile skin Birkin Bag in fuschia with 18 white karat gold and diamond hardware. The previous record was set at a U.S. auction in 2011 for another Birkin Bag, in red crocodile skin, that sold for $203,150.

The Birkin Bag was designed for and named after British actress Jane Birkin. It's famous for having a price tag in the thousands of dollars and a years-long waiting list.

A similar black Birkin Bag was offered for auction but didn't sell after failing to attract the minimum bid of 1 million Hong Kong dollars ($130,000).

56 comments:

1. Ghhez don't worry Nigerians are coming for that bag.

2. Was it built of diamond and real snake skin? Mtchew

3. Cant waste my money on such if I had.....just for a bag? To hell with the diamonds

4. Imagine the amount? Oh lord I pray to thee, bless me indeed

5. Money speakinggg

6. Dats gud to knw,whose gonna buy it for me#smile#

7. tjay'TEE Bello2 June 2015 at 08:49

Vanity! And our brothers re still fighting for there lives under the rubbles of Nepal quake... #GodBlessThoseWhollBlessOthers

8. Money speakinggg

9. Dats gud to knw,whose gonna buy it for me#smile#

10. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    The bag fit pack all my cloth neh.....

11. This is too much mullar....

12. Se bag rada rada yi na??? Oshisko. Mtshewwww

13. Wen ONYXX never chop, people dey yeye money like this???

14. I trust onitsha people.

15. Save The Children2 June 2015 at 09:12

Absolutely vain! What's in a bag?. People who don't know what to do with money yet children are dying of poverty and disease.

16. Na wa o! For what nah??? Linda take note!

17. Na wa o! For what nah??? Linda take note!

18. Watin dey inside d bag.??..na wah oo

19. WOW that is a lot of money

20. Does d bag take one to heaven?

21. Wow! Dis is cool, and great. Nice one.

22. Ok

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
    #itMUSTendINpraise

23. Ordinary bag!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Na wa ooooooo, am not saying I won't take care of myself but not spending the money this way,,chiaaaa money stop nonsense ,,,,,,,,,when I can use that money to touch lives

24. Aisha buhari over to u, the extravagance first lady. She is competing with kim k's of this world. If she no get am already. 10million naira wrist watch can send 100kids to school.

25. Aisha buhari over to u, the extravagance first lady. She is competing with kim k's of this world. If she no get am already. 10million naira wrist watch can send 100kids to school.

26. I dreamed I bought this bag...pls dnt wake me up.

27. I dreamed I bought this bag...pls dnt wake me up.

28. Hmmm
    Will this bag take me to heaven?

29. Aisha buhari over to u, the extravagance first lady. She is competing with kim k's of this world. If she no get am already. 10million naira wrist watch can send 100kids to school.

30. Aisha buhari over to u, the extravagance first lady. She is competing with kim k's of this world. If she no get am already. 10million naira wrist watch can send 100kids to school.

31. Aisha buhari over to u, the extravagance first lady. She is competing with kim k's of this world. If she no get am already. 10million naira wrist watch can send 100kids to school.

32. Aisha buhari over to u, the extravagance first lady. She is competing with kim k's of this world. If she no get am already. 10million naira wrist watch can send 100kids to school.

33. Aisha buhari over to u, the extravagance first lady. She is competing with kim k's of this world. If she no get am already. 10million naira wrist watch can send 100kids to school.

34. So because of ihe a, ka madu ji were tufuo ego ya??!!
    Oooh chimuooooh

35. SEEN

I am Coonett

36. NO B SMAL THNG...MONEY IS GUD....TOMJERRYSWIT

37. NO B SMAL THNG...MONEY IS GUD....TOMJERRYSWIT

38. NO B SMAL THNG...MONEY IS GUD....TOMJERRYSWIT

39. So Cost.... I will Buy It for My Mom on her birthday

40. All this money just for a handbag

41. All this money for just a bag, money is good oooo. God punish poverty

42. Wait wait wait Hahahhhaha,I have the exact copy that I bought 50 Euro in Italy. I love these china people

43. People no know what to use money for again. Its well.

44. Expensive sh!t

45. Ok.

Bruce Jenner, Schwarzenegger and Rambo once influenced the making of a car. Check www.naijacarlovers.blogspot.com

46. All em bitches carrying fake hermis..including U Linda..preowned goes for $6k n up...

47. This one is not bag again, will become family heirloom. Ahhhh, if I buy this kind bag, it must last for my great grand children to carry it ooo. Even if they are boyz, they must carry it. Lol

..The doc

48. The bag nor go spoil?

49. Our first lady should go and buy dis bag and den her media pple will tell us its a replica and make up anoda website DAT sells it for 123 dollars. Mtchewwwe

50. N naija women r busy posing with d fake on Instagram n feeling cool.d worst is dey have in diff colours n xpect us to believe TS original......HeheheNhehehe.u know ur selves N,F,Y,M.i must belong!