Ebonyi state Commissioner of Police, Maigari Dikko while speaking on the incident, said the victims were tourists who traveled through several countries to get to Nigeria and had traveled through many states and were heading to Calabar, Cross Rivers state when they made a brief stopover in Ebonyi state.
"We got the report yesterday from the DPO of Onicha council about the French nationals, a couple; they were tourists who left their country in December 2014 and arrived Nigeria through Badagry on May 3. They passed through Abeokuta, Benin, Onitsha, Enugu to Ebonyi with their vehicle; they were passing through Ebonyi to Calabar, when the incident happened. They arrived Abomega in the night. According to the widow, her husband had complained that he was tired and since it was late, they decided to pass the night there. They did not report their presence to any law enforcement agents around, but decided to look for a place that has natural shelter and so they went two kilometres off the road to pass the night. They found a quarry site and decided to camp there. According to the wife, when they were at the location, a motorcyclist and another man asked them who they were. Unless investigation proves otherwise, we are thinking that the motorcyclist was the informant to the hoodlums because an hour after he left, three people came into the camp. By then, they had already erected their tent atop the vehicle.”The commissioner said 1,150 Euros and N13,000 was stolen from the couple during the attack. He also said 32 suspects have been arrested and are being interrogated at the state police headquarters. The French Embassy in Nigeria has been notified and their are plans to fly the victims body to France for burial.
This is really inappropriate
ReplyDelete~album drops 8th June~
God wil surely bring to justice those behind dis act, and dis is so bad. Wht a shame.
DeleteSince your phone is bad and creating a stupid space stop commenting till Davido buy u another phone u really make me doubt if Davido have a car at all cos I don't sense u driving anything with d way ur following kinda closely
DeleteHis ph or is he being mischievous?? Davido's or whatever u call urself, d't 4get u can b blocked.
DeleteEvils
ReplyDeleteNo be those people they chop human being?? Evil people
DeleteI am so mad at those foreigners. What were they thinking going to set up camp in the bush in nigeria? A place they don't know for sure. Its not safe these days to sleep outdoors in the western countries much less Nigeria. So mad at them
DeleteCaris how do you prove it? ***far too kind***
DeleteThat terrible. Hope justice is served
ReplyDeleteIGBOS ARE COMPLETELY USELESS AND GREEDY PEOPLE
DeleteUr comment is inappropriate! Wetin sef
DeleteGBAM
DeleteAnd you are not?
DeleteThey should have known that Nig is not a safe place, I mean the rural areas. Rip. Lindaobserve
ReplyDeleteEHYA....RIP...TOMJERRYSWIT
ReplyDeleteThis kind pic for this story Linda.
ReplyDeleteMay d man's soul RIP...
God punish those ppl
#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise
Sorry for their pain and loss
ReplyDeleteNigerian's and always associated with bad news. Always giving the country a bad name
ReplyDeleteSo sad
ReplyDeleteMay his soul rest in peace.
ReplyDeleteBut who goes to Ebonyi state for tourism, what is there to savour.
Bonario, av u heared of d juju hill, salt lake, caves, niger cem, green lake, acient rice mill etc. they are all in Ebonyi State. B4 you open your gutter and yarn rubbish about my state next time, do ur research properly. Ike Nsi... �� take Waka there..... #weezy
DeleteLmao u get bad mouth
DeleteA.K.A LIB'ier
Painful!! anoda bad record 4 9ja.RIP man
ReplyDeleteY would dey think of making a tent,is dere no hotel at ebonyi,well dey feel d way dere country is ,dats hw nigeria is,it is so painful dey fall victim of it,RIP to d man,den I pray God gives d woman d strength to bear the loss and carry on#hmm#
ReplyDeleteNa wa oooo dis is bad
ReplyDeleteNothing good ever comes out of this rotten Godforsaken State of Ebonyi.
ReplyDeleteLooks like all the folks in that Roach infested territory are Retarded.
No wonder all the other Igbo States despise them so much.
The Dumb Fucks just gave Nigeria a bad name internationally.
That's bad. . .fare well dear tourist.
ReplyDeleteSad!
ReplyDeleteRip.
Nothing good ever comes out of this rotten Godforsaken State of Ebonyi.
ReplyDeleteLooks like all the folks in that Roach infested territory are Retarded.
No wonder all the other Igbo States despise them so much.
The Dumb Fucks just gave Nigeria a bad name internationally.
RareSpecie Z, you are really a rare stupid retard for picking on Ebonyi. You don't know how retarded you sound. But I definitely do not blame you, the blame goes to Linda who uses her platform to belittle one particular state. I have no clue where she goes to curl all these stupid stories out about Ebonyi. She has never written anything about Ebonyi that is not crime related. Every damn time!! But oh well, it is her website so she can go on with it. But until you have lived in Ebonyi, you should shut ur gutter!!!
DeleteLeave me alone u Sick Fuck.
DeleteThe facts are there that ur Hood is Cursed.
Leave you alone? My hands are not close to you Dude!! Curse? Wat do u know about that? Hav u Eva been to Ebomyi or know someone who has stayed there? Yea the state is just coming up.. But they are not into crimes like Lagos, Anambra, ogun, borno...name them.. U guys just pick on the state cuz u are scared of the pple from the bigger states.. All the rituals that go down in Lagos, ogun,Anambra.. Dem kidnappings.. U can't pick on those? I'm guessing you are learned, think and talk like someone who is.. Please
DeleteTanx a lot 4 the Education.
DeleteThis is sad! How can they come and camp in a tent in Ebonyi? Shit Ebonyi state! RIP to the dead!
ReplyDeleteLinda cogitate
Love lost. They got no joy in them.
ReplyDeletestupid niggas. why are your ibo boys so useless? its bad enough they stole from the French. why kill?
ReplyDeleteEbonyi people?? No further comment.
ReplyDeleteNaija and all these bad act
ReplyDeleteNaija and all these bad acts
ReplyDeleteRIP to d dead!
ReplyDeleteThis is a painful story to read. I am sad for the woman who has lost her spouse, am also sad for Nigeria. These guys passed through several countries and states in Nigeria before getting to that location. This is a shame on us as a nation. Just wonder what the international media will say about this. I pray the guy rests in peace and that his wife is given the fortitude to bear the loss. They were probably just ticking off their bucket list... Na wah for my country o!
ReplyDeleteNa wa oo
ReplyDeleteEbonyi is at it again!!! Ebonyi people are way far from civilization. The most barbaric set of people in Nigeria. Very aggressive lot. The Boko haram of Igbo land.
ReplyDeleteTufiakwa!!!
Oh my! What kind of wicked act is this na?! Those people will never go unpunished!
ReplyDeleteA.K.A LIB'ier
Oh! God help, and save us frm enemies dat live around us. I hope those behind dis act wil b brought to justice.
ReplyDeleteDey wil never knw peace in dia entire life
ReplyDeleteWhat a wicked world
#oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#
What is happening to our dear country. If you don't hear about kidnap today you'll hear about rubbery or rather killing someone. God pls intervene
ReplyDeleteRIP to the man...we Nigerians keep making bad names for ourselves.Now the french people won't forget this smh
ReplyDeleteNigeria is no longer a safe haven for local and foreign explorers, no! Nigeria is not safe for family members of hard working Nigerians, Nigeria is not safe anymore, why didn't anyone advice the couple when they were coming in? Trying to tour Nigeria in 2015 will get you kidnapped, robbed and even killed
ReplyDeleteThe couple took a very big risk. Why did they not check into a hotel? If you r travelling to a foreign country, try and find out a lot about that country to know what is safe to do. If they had bn in contact with the French embassy, they would be advised them against camping out in the open at night.
ReplyDeleteIts not advisable to move about freely & late in another man's land. May his soul rest in peace. Linda take note!
ReplyDeleteOyibo people can take unwarranted risk? Happy he is now in the great beyond? Surprised you did not encounter armed robbers along the way. Sorry for your loss but you should never have Tried this in Nigeria
ReplyDeleteIndigenes are not safe in their own lands not to talk of foreigners.
ReplyDeleteEach time am traveling to my village my mum will always warn me not to alert at our bus stop when it is dark and no okada riders at the park. I had followed the bus to last destination and slept in their office a number of times then take another bus and travel back in the morning just because of bad village boys on the roads. Thanks to the era of 'small bus' which is making the journey easier now.
How could they not have asked questions? RIP to the man.
Na wa
ReplyDeleteHmmmm why Nigerian?
ReplyDeleteMtsheewwww painting their ancestors black not Nigeria.
ReplyDeleteNdi a gburu onu
The 1st Igbo language blog is out, it is fun and insightful. Visit, comment, share and criticize.www.odeniigbo.blogspot.com
What kind of thing is this now. Useless cursed black idiots just murdered this poor man for nothing. May God's vengance be upon them in full blast. What a pity! Innocent people if only they knew the kind of people in that area they wouldn't have stayed there. They took a deadly chance. May his soul RIP and may God comfort and heal his wife.
ReplyDeleteCALL ME UNPATRIOIC BUT WHEN ASKED FOR INFO, I HAVE NEVER ENCOURAGED BACKPACKERS TO COME TO NIGERIA(ESPECIALLY WHITE) BECAUSE THIS IS THE SORT OF THING THAT WILL EVENTUALLY HAPPEN TO THEM. EVEN NIGERIANS RISK LIKE FATE. NOTHING SHORT OF A PLATOON IS NEEDED FOR SECURITY IN THE NIGERIAN WILD. WE HAVE A LONG WAY TO GO.
ReplyDeleteRIP
Na wa oooo y do some Nigerians behave like savages, weres their humaninty?
ReplyDeleteIgbos with crime,they pass everywhere safely only to be attacked in evil land
ReplyDeleteWho comes for tourism here.....sad
ReplyDeleteNaija na wa o.i'm quite sure this happened because they wanted onyibo money.
ReplyDeleteThis is very unfortunate.They should'nt have taken for granted that they are white knowing the insecurity challenges Nigeria is facing.They also should have taken advantage of the cyclist since they are mobile to seek for the nearest police station or the village head so that they will be protected.Wild animal could have attack them in the knite.
ReplyDeleteThe wicked killers should have reported them to the authorities if they are having language problem. They should not be left unpunnished.We should learn to be our brothers keepers, be it white on black.
So these couple thought they were in america or france. May his soul RIP. What a trauma.
ReplyDelete"They did not report their presence to any law enforcement agents around, but decided to look for a place that has natural shelter and so they went two kilometres off the road to pass the night..." That was the problem. It would have been too risky for a local couple talk less of a foreign tourist-couple.
ReplyDeleteNa wa oooooo very sad.
ReplyDeletethis I poor for our country youths na. why not allow them stay safely there? gosh! this will keep away other tourist to this country. imagine the distance they have travelled just to die like this. RIP. oyibo get heart sha why not look for the police station closely and pass the night there?
ReplyDeleteThis is Nigeria for Christ sakes u can't jst put up tents in the woods.. No be abroad be this.. But did they hv to kill him? After collecting his money? Wicked greedy souls!
ReplyDeleteThe question is why is it that it had to happen in Nigeria when the couple passed through other countries. Some of our people are just bad to the core.
DeleteToo bad...Naija, always in the news for evil things
ReplyDeletecruel. Pray they fish out the criminals.
ReplyDeleteI knw that area very much cos I served in ebonyi and was posted to Amudo, just about 10 minutes to Abomege then there were stories about them eating human and being very wicked so was warned to never stray towards there, and Sharon the area is not that developed so no hotel there, may God Rest the dead.
ReplyDeletethese foreigners sef? where do dey tink dey r? putting up tent as per hiking tings??? so sad and shameful dat we r almost never known 4 anythg good.
ReplyDeleteSo sad
ReplyDeleteU guys already know what I'm gonna say right? About the killers being igbo right? Was it necessary to kill him though?
ReplyDeleteToo bad #Jules
ReplyDeletePeople all over the world get scared to visit Nigeria and here is a bad news again. Hmmmmmmm, we need prayers and total restoration.
ReplyDeleteSenseless attack.
ReplyDeleteWhat new car is the sentry? Check www.naijacarlovers.blogspot.com
Can't believe dis happened in my state
ReplyDeleteBad news
ReplyDeleteNOTE. that these ppl maybe spies that were sent by FRANCE and US ... thats how they penetrate a country information... U.S SPIES ARE EVERY... CUZ nobody goes to Ebonyi state for tourism, what is there in the forset to savour??????????????????.
ReplyDeleteNOTE & Think. that these ppl maybe spies that were sent by FRANCE and US ... thats how they penetrate a country information... U.S SPIES ARE EVERY WHERE... CUZ nobody goes to Ebonyi state for tourism, what is there in the forset to savour??????????????????.
ReplyDeleteThe only problem I have with this kind of thing is the image of Nigeria that will be tarnished, we'll it's been tarnished anyway but we are still trying to restore it and this happens again!!!!!! God! What is wrong with some of us??? Can't people live peacefully in this country? Fine, they should have known Nigeria is not that safe but would they have thought some people are ANIMALS like that?
ReplyDeleteIt's so barbaric and shame to Ebonyi state, people say bad things about them and they won't stop! Now the news will fill the stands in France and that will be a bad image for us! Mshewww
This is evil and unacceptable, the people of Ebonyi State are very quicked,they will never change, shame on you and everyone who takes plaesure in killing innocent souls. when Men stay up early everyday thinking of how to better Nigeria some good for nothing guys are busy tarnishing our image.