The fight is happening in Burundi's capital Bujumbura between the president's
supporters and people who want him out. Many protesters have also been arrested and are being held by government forces.
Burundi's constitutional court on Tuesday May 5th ruled that the president can run for a third term if he wants, that he wasn't violating the constitution's two-term limit, saying "renewal of the presidential term through direct universal suffrage" is permitted. This didn't go down well with the opponents who say it violates their constitution.
Burundi's election will hold on June 26th and citizens say they want another president.
Over 25,000 Burundians have fled the country to neigbouring countries following the violent protests. They say they are afraid there might be another civil war in the country. The last one ended in 2006 after 13 years.
Oh well
ReplyDeleteHaaaaaaa, civil war ke, dey shd learn 4rm Nigeria by voting him out wt der vote. God wl help dem. Vote nt fight o
DeleteOh why is that you get bad news on a daily bases
ReplyDeleteResult of power greed.
ReplyDeleteResult of power greed
ReplyDeletea.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
ReplyDelete.
Only in africa.....
Violence is not good
ReplyDeleteAfrican rulers, they'll never learn
ReplyDeleteInspired Messi proved Guardiola was right, says Pique
Power clinching African leaders;
ReplyDeleted only problem we have in Africa
Violence everywhere
ReplyDeleteSenseless protest.mtcheee
ReplyDeleteNawaaa.....
ReplyDeleteHeard the Senate has passed the bill for 3rd term running in Nigeria too. It is well. 2tim 2:1-2
ReplyDeleteWow
ReplyDeleteThat shows that we are reasonable in Nigeria. When Obasanjo tried it, the only thing that died was billions of =N=aira.
RIP to the dead.
ReplyDeletePierre is greedy & selfish.
Everyday we are reminded what sacrifice GEJ made by conceding defeat at the last election. This could have being us, but right now we are only worried about scarcity of fuel which is a relief.
ReplyDeleteEasy o, should be a peaceful protest
ReplyDeleteTHIRD WETIN?? IS HE HGH ON CHEAP DRUGS??? TOMJERRYSWIT
ReplyDeleteI will never understand black leaders, why is it that once they get to leadership position they want to die there??!! WTF IS WRONG WITH THE BLACK MAN??!!
ReplyDeleteDis empty promises of d President wil definitely continue until he goes into d grave. He wants to emulate OBJ, and I pray he should b put to shame lik OBJ.
ReplyDeletePARENTAL ADVISORY
ReplyDelete***explicit content***
The quest for unlimited power, why don't u step down and save d life of d ordinary citizens....
Nkuruuziza biko leave power or u don't love ur country?
ReplyDeleteIts a popular saying 'No country can survive 2 civil wars'.
ReplyDeleteThey always split up during the second one.
The Constitutional Court caused this fuckery by giving the Retarded President a Legal Backing to Obasanjo for another term.
ReplyDeleteThe Constitutional Court caused this fuckery by giving the Retarded President a Legal Backing to Obasanjo for another term.
ReplyDeleteits so hard to relinquish power. greed!
ReplyDeleteHaba! It's too much nah. Linda take note!
ReplyDeleteHe wants to carry presidential post to his grave
ReplyDeleteI Rep 27th May
He wants to carry presidential post to his grave
Tank God for nigeria "GEJ l will always luv u for accepting defeat but Burundi God they must be peace.
ReplyDeleteHe wants to carry presidential post to his grave
Tsk tsk tsk....African leaders are officially cursed. So this is why GEJ is being hailed as a hero. This is what happens when a leader desperately wants to hold on to power regardless of the life of his citizens...We barely escaped thru prayers when obj wntd to run for third term,and escaped anoda civil war when Jonathan willingly conceded evn when d opposition made it clear dat dey ' l declare a parallel govt ( fancy name for civil war) if Jonathan wins. I just hope dat old fulani man will give up his title when the time is ready...We av enof issues already to strt thinkin of how to become refugees.
ReplyDeleteTsk tsk tsk....African leaders are officially cursed. So this is why GEJ is being hailed as a hero. This is what happens when a leader desperately wants to hold on to power regardless of the life of his citizens...We barely escaped thru prayers when obj wntd to run for third term,and escaped anoda civil war when Jonathan willingly conceded evn when d opposition made it clear dat dey ' l declare a parallel govt ( fancy name for civil war) if Jonathan wins. I just hope dat old fulani man will give up his title when the time is ready...We av enof issues already to strt thinkin of how to become refugees.
ReplyDeletePhew! Some just want to die in power
ReplyDeleteOKORO UPGRADED**
All these sit tight government, remeber there's Godoooo.
ReplyDeleteY Dem no go contest???? Drunk in power
ReplyDeleteThe guy said there'll be peace and security WHEN he is elected AGAIN
ReplyDeleteAnd the stupid president Nkurunziza, don't want to resign now he is given order to kill innocent citizen useless greedy man.
ReplyDeleteThank God for GEJ! !
ReplyDeleteAfrican leaders though...smh
ReplyDeleteGreedy frog