They say this is a lecture room at the University of Jos | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 20 May 2015

They say this is a lecture room at the University of Jos

They say it's Lecture room 184 at the University of Jos. How do you learn in an environment like this?

127 comments:

1. That of ABU is even worse

2. OMG! God help us to restore our educational sector. Dis is absurd.

3. Is true O, education classes are worse

4. Abeg those who would learn would learn!! I'm sure some schls have worse and they produced 1st class graduates.

5. You think this is bad? Try check out uni Abuja halls,mshewww!

6. OAU is worse

7. My year one in school, we hang on windows jst to listen to lectures..... Na waitin our government reduce education to...Nigerian students are survivals

8. Haha haha, room 184... D biggest hall in PSite... that should be GST lecture...

2. Replies
    1. Linda be acting like you didnt go to a public school..abegii

3. No opinion! It cld be fun learning this way though. Maybe a general course.

4. That's the state of most lecture rooms in government owned university.

5. I wonder o, vry bad education system

6. I wonder o, vry bad education system

7. Chisos take the wheel o:

8. Is dat an excuse not to graduate with excellent grades??? Linda take note!

9. Hmmm our universities tho.. some private day care skul even hv nice classrooms more dan our university lecture hall.

10. UNIVERSITIES IN NIG...SHOW DE BAD AND ALSO SHOW DE GUD..OUR DEAR STUDENTS OF NIG....TOMJERRYSWIT

11. Keep pushing my people , don't stop.

12. No be today and very sure our leaders knowns very much about it.

1. And u dooctor odama"spelling don disown u? Its favor and nt favour! Make sure ur smart b4 u correct or mock someone! Itiboribo

2. and you Wilheminna he chooses to be British while you chose to be American. Understood? Sabi sabi people

13. Linda is not new we have all been in the system before now so we're managing it.

14. How can you believe that is a lecture room, seeing somebody with a camera in the middle. They might be receiving lecture for another thing but that is not a normal lecture room

1. Guy, it's a normal lecture room, I graduated from UJ last year, I have had lectures like this in this same room 184. Sometimes even worse.

15. Odi egwu. I no fit oh. Una go see me only for exam & test

16. Yes I believe this pix becos there was a time we sat on d flood like dis in my university days bcos d lecture room was too tight nd jam parked

17. Take a tour to all federal universities and see wonders. This is even decent

18. There was a time unn was worse dan dis......

19. Dis shud be GST class na so we dey full dat year

20. Ah! ah! Linda, na so CHM 131 class for MBS Ofrima Uniport dey nah. It's common in Nigerian Universities

21. Am not surprised same tin happens in Benue State University

22. Itz ok, compared 2 some.....@least itz nt under d sun....

23. Its quite a pity, its a huge shame.
    Its an indictment on the part of government that claimed to have established new federal universities, instead of equipping the old ones and making them conducive for learning.

24. University of Jos or Laspotech Isolo? cuz thats where u can see this kind of things...lols

25. Hmmmm, room 184 is even better, A1 main camp uni Jos is even worse cos we sit outside on d floor close 2 the window jst 2 receive lectures. This is our education system 2dy oooO

1. lol my fellow josite you don join Linda de wash our lecture halls abi...its not new sha, room 184 nd 185 are mostly used for GST so not suprised.

2. Mtchewwwww Linda sef! Room 184 is a very big hall. They use it for GST. The person for snap the remaining part of the hall to show how big it is. Biko Linda have you gone to the school urself to survey it? Have to seen room 185, 188 and the rest?

26. Our educational system is in state of comatose, the Dons have neglected research to looting. Most projects are poorly funded, no alternative to funding, no creativity. Please take a clue from Unilorin and FUTMINNA. Perfectly doing great

27. Nutin de can do abt it....onye nwere uche ya muru akwukwo zuzupu and stop disturbing...are they the 1st in that school wey person no go hear?

28. U read ur books and learn stop shaming ur school Biko no federal uni isn't like this

29. I have seen worse!... Obafemi Awolowo University chm and mth classes

1. official_akins20 May 2015 at 10:15

Lol,greatest Ife aud2 nd aud1 worse pass this...

2. Booc botany class 100 level

30. Linda did u skool outside Nigeria? Dis is better compared to d skool I finished from

31. Seen worse than this before. It's not a new sight to behold. Most Universities in Nigeria don't ve enough lecture classes for new students. This is definitely year 1 students
    Ubanagum

32. You learn in an environment like this by learning

33. How did u learn in unilag? Was ur hall more conducive? Abeg make we hear word.

1. This is not a strange sight now in our Universities. Linda, abi you no go? I remember in UI Chem157 class is bigger than this but spills to the door

34. Disgraceful and despicable. The university management must bury their heads in shame for putting their students in that embarrassing and distressful state of learning environment. The university Alumni must rise up to this and assist the university.

35. Linda stop facilitating this University shaming that seems to be the norm these days! A lot of things are not working in this country, if these attention whores really cared, they should take their grievance to the school authorities; what is their student body for?!
    Instead of this university shaming on the internet, the students who turning in these photos for a few minutes of fame should send it to the authorities and not to Linda Ikeji!!
    Moreover, Linda why would a student in class be taking pictures instead of jotting down notes, tomorrow he will blame the authority for his failures. But you Linda despite the numerous challenges are a renowned blogger in Nigeria and indeed Africa. So stop encouraging these people who want to make excuses for their failures.
    Nigeria won't change by shaming it but by taking positive actions.

36. Wait untill u see convocation hall in DELSU...
    okiz sayz zo.

37. This is so tru...wen tru it...not this bad though

38. It will definitely be a 100level class, but if it's not then something is wrong.

39. linda didn't you skul in naija?

40. Na today? 98% of all Universities in Nigeria have in-adequate lecture halls.The students here are even lucky they have space to sit down on the ground. i am hoping our incoming presido would be able to correct this kind of learning anomaly in the nation's education sector.

41. Naija we have to wake up

42. It is normal in all public universities in Nigeria for classroom spaces not to be enof. This has tiles self

43. lolzzzzzz.....Our education system needs lots of attention.

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB......

44. the unthinkable is some hw an attribute of d our aboki brothers lol!

45. Hahahahahaahhaha...see as d lecturer posed wit mic like a deeper life pastor ...

We all passed via such pitiable situations guess in our first years and probably sophomore classes, ....

Kedukwanu ihe ichoro Ka umu mmadu mee ?

46. The only difference here is that they sit on the floor, in my school days, once u don't get to the lecture room on time, u av to stand all thru to receive lecture or even stay out of class and peep from window.

47. hmmm! the unthinkable is always an attribute of dis my aboki brothers.

48. Nice and calm. If u wnt to learn u will even if na under hot sun. For all I can c d hall is cool.

1. Wat in d heavens r u sayin n wat planet r u frm? Smh4 u

49. It happens dear....we will storm d weather

50. And so? What has all these complains and cursing brought us? We should try and be positive biko

51. Linda,dis is scanty na,compared 2 our lecture halls imsu,year 1 was horrible

52. I Tire for all this Federal Universities o!!........more than 300 students in one class! No fan! No Micro phone! Nothing!! ....YABATECH..

53. Imagine. Future leaders. Instead of jonathan to improve university standard, he was busy establishing more mushrooms. Shame of a nation

54. Imagine. Future leaders. Instead of jonathan to improve university standard, he was busy establishing more mushrooms. Shame of a nation

55. Yes Linda, i graduated from UJ and though it wasnt this bad...it will definitely get worse... Alhaji Buhari(dropping the GEN. tag) please take note sir

56. I'm not suprised .... Nija I hail ooo

57. Is this one of the reasons why our university degree in nigeria is not accepted in some countries ?

58. Poor learning conditions and facilites. SMH!

59. Come to UMM. University Of Main Market u will see our lecture hall u go cry 4 us ( Chike)

60. Yes Linda, i graduated from UJ and though it wasnt this bad...it will definitely get worse... Alhaji Buhari(dropping the GEN. tag) please take note sir

61. hmmmmmmn....not only in unijos o it is in almost all Nigerian federal
    university

62. It all over Nigeria university and polytechnic. Especially when u are studying popular course such as marketing, business administration, political science, accounting and so on. God help us in this country.

63. Linda this one na small na

64. Today we cry Unemployment! Unemployment!! But sincerely speaking do U think such academic institutions will produce quality graduates that are employable???

1. who wan learn go learn jare..its not conducive, agreed but we also compete well wen we go to further our edu abroad. Nigerians are actually very intelligent

65. Ahaji Buhari, we are expecting change.

Esteem

66. we have all done worse.
    Those days in OSU especially for general courses

67. Yes it's true. 9 yrs ago I was there. Its a Remedia class for all science student. We have to learn in that condition for the period of one year. We went, we saw, we conquered. I'm a proud Pharmacist from the great josite.

68. Hope it's this same way they will be sitting for their exams. Because e go too make sense
    ...NA ZO

1. my dear wen it comes to exam its two seats in between. dats my almamata

69. Na so we de receive lectures oh, no enough sits so we have 2 cope & stand or sit on d floor.

70. Na so we de receive lectures oh, no enough classrooms so is either we stand or sit on de floor. We most learn nw

71. Yes, it has been like this many years ago. As at 1999/2000 I sat on the floor many times in that hall (A1)

72. who would employ all these ones?

as for the class i believe

73. Dis one na small nah!!! D hall isn't even crowded. In my days I almost fainted during lectures cuz of congestion!!
    Not Unijos anyway!!

74. Dis one na small nah!!! D hall isn't even crowded. In my days I almost fainted during lectures cuz of congestion!!
    Not Unijos anyway!!

75. its normal naa, go ask anybdy about MBA1 lecture hall in uniport. ask about GES 100 lectures bk den 2006/2007 na window some de stay learn cos of no space

76. hmmm dis one even beta abeg cum kwara poly cum c 1900student in a room nt hall oo ALUTA CONTINUAL.......

77. I wonder how one can learn under this condition. May God help us in this country!

78. Its room 185 not 184. D class is so congested bcos its a GST lecture & a combination of students from d entire social science faculty

79. its very true...that room 185 lecture hall

80. its still better than some universities in Nigeria. OSU LT na die, lecture wud be sweating, no fan, no ac

81. I remember my school days at the Federal University of Agriculture Abeokuta, those days were terrifying, you get to class and there is no space for you too sit, you do not even know how your lecturer looks due to the crowded nature of the room.
    The heat when the fans are not working or lack of power(omg), sometimes you can't even hear a word when the public address system is not working.
    Often times, I get a cab to school and get to class, and due to the disturbing nature of the classroom, I just head back home, then I felt it was just not worth it going to skl...I had the opportunity of attending my first class in the US yesterday, it was out of this world, no wonder Nigerians go to the western skls and break all records...it is time the whole skl system in Naija is changed.

82. so true, i am a living testimony.

83. This is even okay. What will you say about NSLT in UNN?

84. I rmb having lectures in dis hall n we try to rush ao we cld jst gt a seat.Dis is suppose to b one of d biggest halls.

85. MBA 1 in uniform is worse, or anatomy cadaver lab, Human physiology lab nko..the state of Nigerian Universities is worth crying for..

86. As a Jossite.... Room 184 is a far better compared to A1... A1 is like the whole Natural Science Lecture hall....

87. This is it o, I could remember my 100L days was like that at OOU during GNS courses

88. all that money and those we call leaders of to morrow cant even learn in comfort