Heartbreaking pics capture moment teen bride was forced to marry a polygamous police chief after 'he threatened her with kidnap' | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 19 May 2015

Heartbreaking pics capture moment teen bride was forced to marry a polygamous police chief after 'he threatened her with kidnap'

Isn't this the saddest bride you have ever seen? The 17 year old was forced to marry a 47 year old Chechen warlord who is married and has children older than her after he threatened her with kidnap. Read the sad story below from Mail Online
Her resplendent white dress says it's her wedding day, but the sadness etched on her face does not. For this teenage bride has been forced to marry an ally of Chechen warlord Ramzan Kadyrov after apparently being threatened with kidnap if she did not comply. Kheda Goilabiyeva, 17, looked despondent and at one point wept during the ceremony in the Chechen capital Grozny as the fearsome Kadyrov watched on from the crowd.
She was asked three times whether she wanted to marry 47-year-old police chief Nazhud Guchigov – who already has another wife – before finally and reluctantly responding yes.

The marriage has provoked outrage in Russia, fuelled by Moscow's child rights commissioner, Pavel Astakhov, who defended the wedding by saying that Caucasian women 'are all shrivelled with wrinkles by the age of 27'. He later apologised for his comments.
In response to the remarks, young women online have started posting selfies on Instagram with the hashtag #WrinkledWoman in which they scrunch up their faces to simulate the appearance of wrinkles. Many of the posts include sarcastic greetings to Astakhov.

Kadyrov, who has ruled Chechnya with an iron fist since being installed by Russian President Vladimir Putin in 2007, was said to have given his personal blessing for the marriage in apparent violation of Russian laws against polygamy.
The procession then carried on to a restaurant, where Kadyrov was present and celebrated with traditional dances.
Guchigov reportedly threatened to kidnap the teen and warned of 'unpleasant consequences' if she or her parents did not consent to marriage, according to Russian newspaper Novaya Gazeta.
Several of those in attendance also said that they disapproved, owing to the difference in age between the two.

'I would have killed my daughter before letting her marry like that,' one woman said on condition of anonymity. 'I am against early marriages.' 
Announced in late April, the wedding led to an outcry in Russia, with several news reports alleging that the teenager had been forced into the marriage. 
Kremlin human rights commissioner Ella Pamfilova had denounced the marriage as medieval and said she hoped that it would not take place. She called for sanctions if it were carried out.

The wedding led to an outcry in Russia, with several news reports alleging that the teenager (above) had been forced into the marriage

Kheda Goilabiyeva (left) and Chechen police chief Nazhud Guchigov pictured before their controversial marriage

Polygamous: Nazhud Guchigov (right) with his first wife, to whom he is still married, and his son in a picture posted on Instagram
A Chechen police officer poses with Nazhud Guchigov's new wife (left) and his first wife (right)

Kadyrov however said on his Instagram account that 'these publications are only lies! Love has no age'. 
Russia's child rights commissioner, Pavel Astakhov, said that the wedding did not violate laws on the minimum age for marriage, but he has not responded to questions regarding polygamy.
Kadyrov, 38, has helped the Kremlin battle an Islamist insurgency in the North Caucasus.
But the former rebel – accused by human rights groups of overseeing torture, extrajudicial executions and corruption – has shown an increased readiness in recent months to challenge Putin's authority.

Ramzan Kadyrov (right) has ruled Chechnya with an iron fist since being installed by Russian President Vladimir Putin in 2007

Source: UK Daily Mail

102 comments:

1. Eya! Lovely pics tho. Lindaobserve

1. @lwkmd,dis typical yoruba man, are you ok at all, what is lovely about this?

2. Yea... d pictures of her wedding gown wer actually beautiful...

Buh wait... Is it by force??? A teen for dat mata... dat man must suffer... oloshi
      * * * Linda's 1st Daughter * * *

3. Lovely couple, they looks good together!Baby don't worry, you will get over your little boyfriend. Mrs Akwu did and she is now happy!

4. "I must comment 1st syndrome". He didn't even read the post.

5. D girl is vry pretty n d dress is lovely as well bt vry bad n sad occasion, doing d ryt tin @ d vry wrong tym. I pity d poor girl o

2. Replies
    1. Reminds me of Oshiomole & Iara's wedding...

3. People wey God go punish no be small o! Linda take note!

4. This is wickedness...such a pretty gurl

5. TUFIAKWA!!!
    I pity da poor girl

6. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    Somebody should just pick a gun and kill that motherfucker..... Foolish fool....

7. Replies
    1. Sharia allows it doesn't mean you should force someone who doesn't want it to get married. If both parties want to be polygamous then sharia gives the go ahead. But we've interpreted the religion/law to suit our animalistic desires and views. It's a shame

8. Just like Me..I got married at d age of 14.. is well..

1. @mrs oby, God is your strength.

2. Na Ur own worse pass o... buh U didn't frown ds way, I guess?
      * * * Linda's 1st Daughter * *

9. Child abuse. Such a sad child
    #iwouldratherbeselfmade#
    #genevieve's secretary#

10. Hope something is done asap and the girls happiness returned.

11. I feel sad for her.
    She looks like Kylie tho.

12. Rat poison is just 20naira.

13. Nawa ooo. God help us

14. So sad that a day which is meant to be memorable turns out vice versa. I hope something would be done about this so that other men won't start forcing teens to marry them all in the name power #onelovefromsnow#

15. So beauty is now a curse??? God help this girl

16. So beauty is now a curse??? God help this girl

17. So beauty is now a curse??? God help this girl

18. My God. Things like this still happen even in "advanced and enlightened" countries? She's so beautiful. Really heartbreaking that her big day had to be like this. Stupid, dirty old bastard that just wants to ruin her life. Disgusting!

1. @kween, Chechnya is not an "advanced and enlightened" country " They are muslims. U can thank me later

2. Money making machine, I'd bet you don't know that I wrote the advanced and enlightened in quotation marks to emphasize the sarcasm. I have no thanks to offer you by the way.

19. She is truly sad. It's a pity

20. This man puttin his life @risk for life cos if am dis gal instead I will live wit d man I dnt luv forever I will poison our dinner 1day buhahhatitititit

21. It's a lie . Look how the bride isn't smiling

22. Girl is beautiful, what a sad marriage,

23. When your beauty becomes your curse!

24. Let's talk about that bridal wear tho

25. Used 2 think that polygamy was an African thing
    men all d same
    poor girl...

26. Na wa o! She didn't even look up one bit!

27. Oh dear! Some men just need to be castrated.

Her wedding gown sha... me likey!

28. He's a barbarian; just look how sad she is. Not even a lilttle smile. Na wa o.

29. Reminds me of that horrible episode six of the game of thrones...just sad

30. Useless mofo
    God will Deff punish him

31. This world is such a crazy place, full of sick people.

32. This is so disheartening! No bride should be so unhappy on her wedding day. I feel so sorry for her.

33. It's one thing to even be married off to an animal. How about when he takes over you in bed? Uuugh! Disgusting to the core! She would prefer to die, I'm sure.

34. She fit kill am 4 night or even during fuckrape sef.
    I no fit even sleep with woman wey no like me cos my penis no go ever stand up (a natural saving grace that has been bestowed upon me by God).
    Nazhud is a gonna cos the bride's eyes says it all.

35. This comment has been removed by the author.

36. This comment has been removed by the author.

37. All I can say is in Islam any child or woman have right to denounce it no matter circumstances... and besides they asked her almost 3ce and she said yes! I don't think they forced her.
    It's Russia they don't play with law.

1. It is heartless comments that make me question. These Chechnya people are not living under democratic rule and the girl's life and family was threatened...so is that not coercion? Please dont say things like this.

2. You are retarded .

3. Obviously you didnt read the part that said she was threatened to be kidnapped so let them ask her 100 times her saying yes is out of fear and duress nothing more.

4. My frnd did u read where they threatened to kidnap her or her family if she refuses? Yarning opaka mtcheew

5. Your foolishness knows no beginning nor end. Apparently you either didn't read that she was forced or your patriarchal inclination is soo thick. No doubt if you have the power you would do worse..question is would men loke you put your daughters through this kinda of trauma? mumu

6. Is she the one that said it or a story?
      Sometimes u guys have to reason b4 attacking

38. Saddest Bride ever.

39. Wow dis is heart breaking.... but if she kills the man now then it would become a crime right? smh

40. Saddest Bride ever.

41. This thing is too long nauuu

42. Oh No. What a beauty. Stories like this just makes me appreciate where i am.

43. The heart of men is so wicked

44. How I wish she is getting married to her choice of man in that lovely flawless wedding gown

45. if she turn into a snake now and bite his D at night they will say her mum raised her a witch

46. So much injustice in thé world.

47. Hmmmmmmmm" child not Bride"

48. What joy will the man derive from this woman it's written all over her face she doesn't love this man. I thought this happens only in naija movies I've seen it here.

That vuvuzela P guy

49. Ohhh!this is really sad...

50. Somehow I feel this is not going to end well!

51. Poor girl
    This is so oooo wrong. It's obvious she doesn't love the bigot!

And he will now sleep with her by force again! Na wah oooo. Parents sef!

52. Perverts I pity the poor girl

53. poor girl, she looks so sad...i cant imagine when she will have to watch the dirty old man take his clothes off to sleep with her *ewwwwwww,dirty old pig* hell is waiting for him. Russia is just a terrible country. smh

54. Imagine marriage by threats & terror... real hell on earth.. old man is overdue 4 death!!!

55. If dis girl poison dis stupid fool now, they will say she commit murder whereas death is what dis useless man deserve! Rubbish!! **Richyflora**

56. jus can't imagine wht ds girl is 2ru nw.ds is forced marriage.she can neva enjoy it.oga police wht else are u lukin 4? won't b surprise 1 day n learn d girl don kill herself n d man.ds is bad....

57. Did someone call Russia an advanced and enlightened country?

58. The 17year olds that marry old men in Nigeria do it happily because Nigerians worship money and comfort.

59. AG Barbie gurl20 May 2015 at 16:02

OMG!!!

60. What kind of injustice is this

61. to be honest with you it the way of their life over there i watch such some tree to four years ago a some country in Russia go to Al Jazera you will see it there.it was documented there.

62. She can run away ooo cos she is not happy