GEJ calls on global community to support Buhari the way he's been supported | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 20 May 2015

GEJ calls on global community to support Buhari the way he's been supported

President Jonathan today called on the global community to show president-elect, Buhari the same amount of support shown him. He made the call when he received members of the African Ambassadors Group in Abuja today May 20th.

"The President-elect is not new to governance in Africa ​,​ so I want you to show the same commitment to him as you have to me. The President-elect knows that our commitment is always to project Africa. I am urging you to extend the same warmth and solidarity you have shown to me to him,’’ he said.
President Jonathan in his remarks stated that he decided to concede defeat because of his commitment to always put the country first before his personal ambition. According to him, a country must exist first before a President can rule.
"I have been involved in solving many problems in African countries for more than five years and I know the enormity and cost of conflicts, especially on the citizenry. We cannot afford that in Nigeria. If we were to have a political conflict in Nigeria, I am not sure the sub-region will be able to accommodate our citizens. My commitment is to always put the country before my personal ambition and that is what I have demonstrated. I believe that character matters in leadership. And it is not just about who becomes the president of a country, but somebody has to be there and the person needs the support of all to succeed. I made a choice to keep the country away from conflict. I have always advised other African leaders that we will need to have a country before we can have the ambition to become presidents. We don’t have to expose our people to deaths because we want to stay in power. Some people hold on to power, may be, for fear of the unknown,’’ he said

41 comments:

1. How I wish ur handover is 2marow,mtcheeew

2. Thank u for ur advice. I wish u all d best GEJ.

3. We apr8 him for his statemanship. God bless him.

4. Thank u 4 d advice mr jona

2. Thank u! I just can't wait for d expiring date.

1. For a deltan u comment lik a fool. I rili doubt u re a warri boy u just full of shit

3. GEJ should stop this his eye service and Good face.
    The global community will support him with or without this long epistle.

4. So nice of him, I've never been this optimistic about our country Nigeria.
    I have a feeling it can only get better from here.

5. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    We have been doing it for a very long tym though..

6. Thank you Sir. I hope APC appreciates. Instead of bugging us wit d enormity of d task de have to do, APC must hit d ground running and not give excuse.

7. GEJ doesn't need to ask 4d new govt wil b adequately supported as needful.

8. Good advice for them. Sai Buhari

9. Bla bla bla bla aaahhh.
    He's drivin me nut
    Dude should just Pack n Go.
    Pls.

10. I love this man. Mr President, God bless you.

11. This man should just stop making unnecessary statements . He disgraced his supporters. He should just go quietly .

12. This man should just stop making unnecessary statements . He disgraced his supporters. He should just go quietly .

13. Sir, which international community supported your administration, Is it the Americans that refused to sell weapons to you to fight the insurgents?
    I hope you are not talking about Chad, Niger and cameroun

14. Hmmmmm? After running the country aground. Linda take note!

15. Hmmmmm? After running the country aground. Linda take note!

16. I hope GMB follows dis precedent if he loses in 2019

17. God bless you GEJ, your decision to concede defeat is the reason for the peace we are enjoying. God used you and I pray he will continue to use you. Buhari lost to you in 2011, instead of peacefully conceding defeat,he asked his hausa cows to kill innocent people. Today he has won,not because he's a better choice than you,but because the masses have been blinded by series of propaganda and blackmail levelled against your administration. God will continue to bless you GEJ. For Buhari,God will judge him and reward him for the blood he has shed.

1. concerned citizen21 May 2015 at 06:53

Blackmail ko, blackmail ni??? Your Hero failed!!! Deep down in him, he knows better.
      Your hero got to the top and actually forgot he came from somewhere..
      GEJ we won't be in a hurry to forget the pains u brought to us.

18. God will vindicate Buhari

19. Definitely.....they'll support the new adm.

20. They don't need to be told to support him cos they WILL

21. The world is already supporting Buhari. I have lost count of the number of Presidents and Ambassadors who have visited him since he won, even while not yet sworn in. The man oozes credibility and commands respect. He needs no help from ur dirty hands, GEJ!

22. This GEJ is a late-ist oh....
    ALways doing things late...

After all the countries have finished sending their ambassadors to come and bow down for buhari, He is now tellin dem to support buhari....

dey laugh ooohh

23. this is a curse o do not be deceived

24. Wouldn't u just love dis man. I respect u Sir, Go & rest biko & take care of urself quietly.

25. After putting the country in a mess..