Brain-dead woman who was kept alive for 54 days delivers baby boy | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday, 12 May 2015

Brain-dead woman who was kept alive for 54 days delivers baby boy

Doctors in Nebraska prolonged the life of a brain dead woman for 54 days so she could deliver a baby boy named Angel.

Karla Perez, 22, died two days after the delivery, the Washington Post reported late Friday. Angel weighed just 2 pounds, 12.6 ounces at birth.

The last time a brain-dead woman in the U.S. delivered a baby was 1999, the paper said.
Baby Angel was delivered earlier last month at Methodist Health System in Omaha.

The hospital said a team of more than 100 doctors, nurses and staff kept Angel's 22-year-old mother Karla Perez alive for 54 days -- just long enough to deliver the baby via cesarean section.

"Our team took a giant leap of faith," Sue Korth, vice president and COO of Methodist Women's Hospital, said in a statement Thursday announcing the successful procedure. "We were attempting something that not many before us have been able to do."
Perez collapsed in her home in Waterloo, Nebraska, on Feb. 8 after complaining of severe headaches. Doctors later determined she had suffered a brain bleed.

With her baby at just 22 weeks -- too young to survive outside the womb -- "it was then that we had decisions to make," said Dr. Andrew Robertson at the Methodist Women's Hospital.

Doctor's had hoped to sustain Perez long enough to deliver her baby at 32 weeks, but the young woman's condition deteriorated two weeks shy of the target date so Angel was delivered on April 4.

Angel was in an incubator and feeding through a tube, the hospital group said Thursday. "We are cautiously optimistic," said neonatologist Dr. Brady Kerr.

The baby is still in NICU and his family surrounded him with his mom's things hoping that her scent will keep the baby comfortable.

As for Karla, her organs helped save three people who were waiting for a transplant.

AP/FNC

59 comments:

1. RIP to her, and I wish d baby d very best of life.

2. Oh my! I wish d baby swift recovery.

3. God is gr8 o, d family shd pls take gud n absolute care of d lil angel o

2. Science is awesome.

I'm out. ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

1. Scientific research is dope ***far too kind***

3. PARENTAL ADVISORY

And some say theris no God....

4. Great achievement. The brain and the reproductive system stand on their own, so while the brain was dead, the other systems were still functioning.

Are You A One Minute Man?

5. Behold the living GOD.Awesome is my GOD.

This miracle baby is going to live to testify IJN.Amen

6. Eeeeeeeyah! May her soul rest in peace. Linda take note!

7. Eeeeeeeyah! May her soul rest in peace. Linda take note!

8. So sad. May her soul rip and may God keep the baby safe

9. wow....Beautiful baby

10. wow....Beautiful baby

11. Awww...That's the Wonders of the Almighty God,the Only Sovereign God..God bless the child & Rip to the mom.

12. Linda congrats n plus we are expecting your babe too oooo abeg doo quick leave blog 4yur workers n make baby 4 us na

1. You are dumb... Are U praying for Linda to hav d same case?
      Stupid moron...

13. Awww thank God they could save the baby...even her organs served others..may she rest in peace!!

14. May her soul rip... Pls ping me 4 ur polished besheets & duvet 33394C8B. Tnx 4 ur anticipated patronage.

15. This baby is a fighter and will become a great woman

16. Tank God for d baby's life..if na 4 naija..pikin and mama go don die..buh y dey sharply distribute d woman organs nau..

17. She remained useful even in death.may her gentle soul rest in peace

18. Wow! Thank God for technology dat was able to make dis possible via d supreme grace of d true living God.

19. God will protect and guide the baby.

20. Even the doctors and nurses acknowledged God's intervention.
    Thank God for the baby's life.

21. God is great.

22. God is wonderful may her soul rest in peace

23. Eyah, if na Nig, dis woman 4don go since + baby. We still hv a long way to go. Rip karla

24. awww. dats a grt thing to do. welcome to the world baby.
    SPECIAL NOTICE
    What sort of stories do you enjoy reading? Have you visited Nigeria's best story blog? If you want an insane joy ride in a world were everything is possible, then this is the place you should be. Opustjkwrites.blogspot.com

25. Ome ihe gbaru umu ghari is OUR ABLE JEHOVA

26. Ome ihe gbaru umu uwa ghari is OUR ABLE JEHOVA

27. Wow, may God keep and preserve the baby. This is a miracle

28. God is awesome. May she rest in peace.

29. Welcome to planet earth Angel..
    Rest in Peace mummy Angel..
    Well done doctors

30. I pray God continues to sustain the baby's life, Amen

31. May her soul rest in peace and may God keep the child. Kudos to the doctors

32. There's nothing God cannot do....bless God.

33. Thank God for technology.

Check out the 3D printed Shelby Cobra car at www.naijacarlovers.blogspot.com

34. God is Great , Miraculous Working God ...Rip To The Her

35. Wow God bless those doctors for pushing the boundaries they saved atleast one life

36. Ain't God wonderful? Its a sad story though,but we thank God for the life of the baby. I pray that God will reserve the baby and to the mother.....RIP..sell your products for free,click here

37. AND SOME STILL DOUBT GODS EXISTENCE

38. Eeeeeeyah when he frowz up he'll b so gr8ful

39. This is bitter-sweet. RIP to her. Thank God for the baby's life.