UK Home Officer ordered to bring back mother and son deported to Nigeria | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday, 23 April 2015

UK Home Officer ordered to bring back mother and son deported to Nigeria

In January, I told y'all about a Nigerian mum and her 5year old son, Bola Fatumbi and Rafeeq Atanda (pictured above, who was born in the UK) who were deported to Nigeria (read here). The UK Home Office has been ordered by a UK court to bring them back or face contempt of court.
"A court ruled that the government must find Bola Fatumbi and her son Rafeeq Atanda by Thursday and bring them back to the UK or it will face contempt of court proceedings. It is believed to be the first time that an immigration judge has ordered the government to retrieve asylum-seekers previously deported from the UK.
"In not taking into account the implications of BF’s mental health for RA, and the risk of that degenerating in the Nigerian context and the likely consequences of removal, the Secretary of State failed to have regard to BA’s best interests as a primary consideration,” the judge said.
Justice Cranston said the boy’s best interests and the mother’s poor health were not taken into account and the family could be forced into poverty in Africa.

(Source: RTUK)

75 comments:

1. Yea..i remember vividly...nice one..

2. Thank God for dis reasonable judge, and sound judgment he delivered. God bless him abundantly. If dis was in Nigeria they wil never comply.

3. Awww good for them oooo

4. I just got goose-bumps all other. Miracles do happen.

Thank you Jesus. I am happy for them.

5. Wow, wat a great judge, God bless him/her

6. She's very lucky. Her matter is 'Suddenly, God did it'

7. super cool, a judicial system that works!

8. That's good-news! They are very lucky unlike SA who are killing foreigners and driving them out of their country.

1. You think every race is like the black race?

9. Godwin for una life finally... dee

10. Thank God mercy came to their aid

11. Wow yhis is a good move

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

12. Woooow, how nice of the judge.

13. First time i'm hearing this... Nice

14. Woooow, how nice of the judge.

15. It's good to be the first.
    Happy 4 them.

16. God never sleeps...I'm very happy for this family because this is heading somewhere good for the boy. UK government sha!!! #speechless

17. seee oyinbo. nigeria my country

18. Z lovin this.
    The Kid will have a brighter future in the UK than over here.

19. Finally, she's won. Congrats to her. Linda take note!

20. Wow, what a Testimony, Prayer makes d impossible, possible.
    JESUSlovesus.

21. This is good news! I know the family personally and I am happy it turns out well. #Godwin

22. Thank God o....am happy for her

23. Good judgement..... But I no like dat last line ooo @ they could be forced into poverty in Africa.

24. This is the first time ever, her lawyer did a good job by going the extra mile in letting the court know th e implication of their actions.Home office and Border force should get in touch with consulate in Naija put them in five star hotel pending their final return to Uk.Its high time Article 8 is extended to d kids born in d UK from birth and not until dey r up to 8 yrs in d UK

25. Only God can reverse the inreverseable

26. GUD....TOMJERRYSWIT

27. I hope they find them in one piece. What stopped them from doing this before?

28. While SA are busy messing around wt their fellow black Africans, UK has shown that color doesn't matter.

29. The fact that this boy was born in UK automatically makes him a citizen. It's rather a shame that UK would deport a citizen because of their selfish interests.

1. Who said u being born in the UK makes you a citizen? Make u dey say Wetin u no know. Happy for the lady and her son.

Mtcheeeeeeeeeeeew
      I said soooooooooooooooooooooo

2. Automatically you say? You know nothing!

3. Ahn ahn since when dem stop citizenship by birth in the UK? Which planet you dey. Get your facts right before you be displaying mumuism here jor

4. Nonsense talk... it's the US that grants citizenship to kids born in their country, not the UK. Get your facts right!

30. Yes thank God, really?

31. God bless uk,hmmm tank G for d woman nd her son.

32. Nice! Thumbs-up judge!!!

33. That's s good news.. This is a very good way forward..

34. That's a good news.. This is a very good way forward..

35. Nice move from a fair judge. Essence of western civilized justice.

36. Somebody shout alleluia!!! This could only have been God.

37. Hmm, so poverty runs in dis country so much, God help us.

38. God bless that judge. I have thought along that line too

39. So happy for the family.

40. Happy for them. The woman would be happy now also.

41. I'm soooooo happy for them thought about them this morning. It hard to recover from deportation having being integrated in UK esp the Child.

42. I wont be surprised if the woman don go do jazz for Naija because this is a miracle. If they catch you working with fake documents, it is automatic depotation. For this judge to grant them pardon no be ordinary. Naija too like jazz

43. UK General Elections are around the corner,just a stunt. The Tories wants to win by force.

1. Not sure how that favours them by putting yet another immigrant on benefits / tax payers money

44. God is awesome! I'm so happy for them