Finance Minister, Okonjo-Iweala makes Fortune magazine's World 50 Greatest Leaders list | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday, 9 April 2015

Finance Minister, Okonjo-Iweala makes Fortune magazine's World 50 Greatest Leaders list

Coordinating Minister of the Economy and Minister of Finance, Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala has been named among the 50 World Greatest Leaders by world acclaimed Fortune Magazine.

Liberian President, Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf; Catholic Pontiac, Pope Francis; Chinese President Xi Jinping, Indian Prime Minister, Narendra Modi; Bill and Melinda Gates as well as Facebook Founder Mark Zuckerburg and Apple Chief Executive Officer, Tom Cook also made the list.

Mrs Okonjo-Iweala was placed 33rd in the list. What was written about her below
"A magna cum laude Harvard grad who holds a Ph.D. from MIT, Okonjo-Iweala has helped usher in a GDP-trebling decade of Nigerian prosperity. She is a fearless promoter of sound economic policies,” says Witney Schneidman, a former deputy assistant secretary of state for African affairs. No wonder Nigeria’s two-term finance minister—and first woman in the role - has been considered a top contender to run the World Bank one day".

86 comments:

1. Well that's impressive! I hope Buhari retains her 2tim 2:15

2. Replies
    1. Is that jealousy?

Congrats, Madam NOI.
      God has BLESSED you, no man/woman can pull you down..
      Keep shining, ma'am.

2. Even ur hatred for ibo can't stop the west recognising them. Who knows you?

3. @anon 9:29..hatred for igbo, bcos you're a tribalistic bigot doesn't make her one! I know ur type, always bringing up tribal differences to stir up trouble @ any chance they get, coward hiding behind anonymous!

3. A WOMAN OF TINBER AND CALIBRE..THUMBS UP MA..TOMJERRYSWIT

4. Wow, congrats ma. I love this woman, she inspires me

5. Wow, congrats ma. I love this woman, she inspires me

6. Congrats to her, and more power to her elbows. Thumbs up to her for she truly deserves it.

7. Welcomed development

8. Replies
    1. Corrupted Woman. You r so ignorant.
      No surprise you are Davido's Driver.

9. Managers of the economy winning praises and the masses are finding garri more difficult to purchase. Bullshit.

1. Let see what your illiterate buhari can do.

2. Mumu! Be literate enough b4 you call others illiterate.

10. Proudly nija.. We r making it. congrats ma

11. Shame on all the haters who said she hasn't bn effective

12. Powerful woman even though the hausas hates her with a passion

13. Congrats to her. #Nigeriansmakingwaves ----C21

14. Forget the hate and propaganda, your works will speak for you. Ride on boss

15. Great woman. I am so proud of her. Congratulation madam.

16. After she & Alison don steal all our money finish. Na God go judge them. Linda take note!

1. Don steal all our Money finish... Did you give her any money to keep for You or is your name on the money.

Am really disappointed that a lady like you will comment such, you should be supporting her not this. Wasn't expecting much from you dough, I have been following your comments on the blog and I am not surprised.

2. Where did you read that she stole money. People are so misinformed

3. Anon 3:32 ppl like Juliet iwuno CHOOSE to be misinformed blive me. I've never seen her make a meaningful statement here so once I see her name I dull my brain down to understand her lol!

17. So A Nigeriaaaaaaaa ... na fake list to me

18. GEJ's babe....

19. THAT IS VERY GOOD, IBOS NO DEY CARRY LAST AT ALL...GOOD PRODUCT FROM NAIJA

20. Congratulations!!!

where is the hungry Soludo

21. You Juliet Iwuno talking like this...Do you think it is easy ?By the way what did you score in your WAEC/GCE 'O' level Economics?

22. Pls I don't get. What did she lead? Corruption?

1. Google her and get a better understanding.

2. Google her and get a better understanding.

3. Wetin u Don achieve for us life . Wicked your a woman.

4. Why will u get it? Her name is Not Yinka so she shouldn't be celebrated! I'm sure if it was yinka or bukola you will get it!

5. Hahahahaahah epic answer

6. Haha gud answer.tribal hate everywhere.let this country be divided. Because we cannot be one.

7. Yes, Damilola MUMU,
      am not surprised you can't get it.
      Your name says it all. Shame on you all.
      Tribal hate at its peak!

8. Then divide the country. I hope you are in your hometown as you typed that very daft comment. If not, you are a bloody bastard. I hate the way y'all go on about this tribe thing and u want positive change and Growth. Smh

23. Congrat Nigeria return to world map.

24. every idiot comes here to type rubbish with hands that couldn't pass ordinary WAEC even with exam malpractices.

Okonjo Iweala is very sound.
    Exchange rate is not even a good indicator of economic performance. You can provide a buffer to exchange rate through foreign reserves. And by doing so, you do more favour to the rich who rely more on imported food. But then you will be running a fake economy that collapses after some time. That was what Sanusi did. The present CBN governor refused to do that. The question you should ask yourself is how much of hunger has been alleviated. What's the cost of local food?. How far have we grown our agricultural sector? How have we managed even in the time of fighting terror at low crude oil price? How has Nigeria thrived in the time of election with worldwide speculations of war; which has made many local and foreign investors buy plenty foreign currency (dollars) thereby devaluating naira?
    Ask a sound non-sentimental economist to analyse it for you. Don't fool yourself with your empty brain, please

25. Ode damilola mumuni, not what did “she lead”. You just open mouth like as the greatest imbecile on mother earth to insult your betters. Don’t blame you, after all your surname speaks for itself.

26. Ode damilola mumuni, not what did “she lead”. You just open mouth like as the greatest imbecile on mother earth to insult your betters. Don’t blame you, after all your surname speaks for itself.

27. Would want 2b like her one day. So help me God. Congrats ma'm!

28. Well that's impressive! I hope Buhari retains her 2tim 2:15

So that the Naira will be 5000 naira to 1 dollar abi.

Suffer head people

29. AnonymousApril 9, 2015 at 12:44 PM
    Do you need a suger mummy? If yes, call Mr. Joseph via 08163018610 for express connection. Thanks.

30. damilola mumuni what you think dosnt matter you APC retard

31. damilola mumuni the world recognizes your fellow nigerian please do same and not rant like a rat

32. Madam those who love you are more important than the haters. keep it yup

33. Fortune has lost all its credibility, u never reward corruption, she has become a poster child for corruption.

34. she don chop our money

35. I don't sound like this but it pains whenever people without research, reasoning and information jump behind the keyboard to type rubbish

To all those calling her names, saying corrupt woman, saying she stole your money, may people accuse you likewise, May no one ever see any good in you when you do anything good, May people also accuse you of stealing.

Remember you should treat people they way you would like to be treated

Instead of appreciating her for making it to the list you are busy calling her names.

Please mention one corruption case she has. Do you just assume or do you have a case/evidence.
    If you don't like her, just pass.

Human Being No Be God

36. I don't sound like this but it pains whenever people without research, reasoning and information jump behind the keyboard to type rubbish

To all those calling her names, saying corrupt woman, saying she stole your money, may people accuse you likewise, May no one ever see any good in you when you do anything good, May people also accuse you of stealing.

Remember you should treat people they way you would like to be treated

Instead of appreciating her for making it to the list you are busy calling her names.

Please mention one corruption case she has. Do you just assume or do you have a case/evidence.
    If you don't like her, just pass.

Human Being No Be God

37. Yoruba people!!! Bad belle, its allowed.

38. This is indeed a very worthy and befitting honour. Cheers!

39. Really? okay o.

40. She has a case to answer when Buhari enter.

41. Congrats! This is an affirmation of what many good people of Nigeria already know. Dr Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala is a great leader. She stands out with integrity and honour.

42. Shut up u people, who she help. I am sure most people praising her are ibos, they don't see anything wrong with corruption. 419 people sha

43. No amount of paying plenty dollars for endorsements from Fortune magazine, or Richard Branson can repair Okonjo Iweala's damaged reputation

1. I don't agree with you, please.
      She doesn't need to pay USDs.
      Her name, education, work experience and global clout is more than adequate for that.
      Thanks.

2. I don't agree with you, please.
      She doesn't need to pay USDs.
      Her name, education, work experience and global clout is more than adequate for that.
      Thanks.

3. This statement shows the level of your ignorance and it's also an indication that you've not set foot outside the shores of nigeria. If you had you would have known that fortune magazine cannot be bribed to include someone's name. Your mind is warped by tribalism and d nigerian factor!

44. lol... please notice all the yoruba's comments.. why hate? na wa o... take am easy

45. Let someone go and give Prof Soludo, Obi and Sanusi sleeping tablet so that they will not have heart attack

46. Yorubas foolish since 1706... All they do us hate

1. Bastard ibo. They should have wiped your lineage during biafra war and saved us the stress of dealing with your useless, unfortunate self

47. We will continue to celebrate our own despite what politics does. Aunty Ngozi we are proud of you.

48. Can you beat this? When the enemy thought that this woman won’t be relevant anymore, God has elevated her.

49. Madam, congratulations. We love you. Nigerians will miss you.

50. Wow! Another feather to the cap of a great woman who is proud of her African origin.

51. I will personally campaign for this woman if she decides to run for Nigerian presidency. We need her expertise and knowledge to change and make things right in government.

52. She made nija pay Paris club etc billions of dollars in debt payoff, and came back to have yet accumulated more billions of dollars to the west as debts! Why won't she be celebrated? Foolish blacks that gloat over white rat's praises to sacrifice their peoples well being! When shall the Blacks truely be freed from mental slavery?

53. Congrats to her after all they did to drag her efforts to the mud by the likes of Soludo. Politics shaaaaaaa