DMX claims alleged robbery victim offered him drugs | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 8 April 2015

DMX claims alleged robbery victim offered him drugs

A 21 year old Newark man on Sunday April 5th accused DMX of robbing him after he struck up a conversation with the rapper at a New Jersey gas station. (Read here). Now, DMX's lawyer is claiming the robbery story is not story, saying the fan offered  DMX drugs before calling the police...

From NJ.com
An attorney for rapper DMX says two men claiming they were robbed by the hip-hop star Sunday morning offered him drugs before contacting police.
Bronx-based Murray Richman, whose long list of clients has included Jay-Z and members of the Lucchese crime family, told NJ Advance Media that the allegations the rapper shook them down for $3,200 in cash were "completely bogus."

"He doesn't have a gun. There's video tape on the scene. I imagine the police have it. I don't get it," he said.Richman said he had spoken with DMX, also known as Earl Simmons, who told him he and a group of associates that included two former New York City police officers stopped at the gas station following a headlining spot at the New Jersey Performing Arts Center Saturday night.
It was there that he met the two alleged victims, who recognized him and asked to pose for pictures, he added. The men eventually offered the rapper drugs, according to Richman, which he refused due to his past struggles with addiction.
"He had a problem in the past. These guys thought they were being cool with him," he said, adding that DMX told him he left the scene promptly after refusing the offer.
The account differs from the one provided by the 21-year-old victim, who told police the two had a brief conversation before DMX demanded the victim show him what was in his pockets.
A member of the rapper's entourage then allegedly flashed a handgun, he claims, prompting him to turn over the cash.
A friend who was with the alleged victim at the time has spoken out in his defense, saying the large amount of money taken was from a freshly cashed paycheck.
Newark police were on scene at the McCarter Highway Exxon today gathering the video. An investigation into the incident remains active, though no charges have been filed against DMX or anyone else, police confirmed.

33 comments:

1. It's simple! Resist the devil and he would flee. James 4:7

2. Frm onset I knew d news was bogus, and too good to b true. Cheap publicity dat wants attentions r responsible for dis.

3. This one happen for my backyard.
      Make I run go check the scene out.
      #runsaway.

4. They gave him what he. Want (money,ND fame) and they make his life meaningless at d end, knew he will have issues

2. U see? Nt always good to jump to conclusion.

3. X, pls go get some help.
    From a concern fan.
    Dude Z.

4. These guys(illuminati) won't leave DMX alone. They surely want to run him down.

5. Nawa ooo..So they even try to set him up sef.

6. Please they should just leave the guy(DMX) alone he's done with so many cases he has faced previously. Abi u tink se jail de sweet am to stay una don kukuma end he career una won still take back to jail.

7. I don't even know who to believe again.
    Why would they offer him drugs?

8. Dmx oh Dmx! Has it gotten this bad? I pray he is innocent.

Hi all,

Please check out my blog, Wordsbykoko.blogspot.com

9. IT BETTER BE TRUE, CUZ DMX TO ROBBED ISNT A GUD ONE....TOMJERRYSWIT

10. Woo, days their headache biko. Dey should sort it. Linda take note!

11. Investigations is still ongoing.
    Lin keep us updated.

12. DAVIDO'S TRAILER DRIVER IF YOU CAN'T COMMENT REASONABLY, HIDE YOURSELF IN SHAME. CAN'T YOU THAT OF BONARIOS, BONITA, LAURAUJ, ED DREAMS, ONYX, ETC????

13. DOG FOR LIFE!, if he has quit drugs, then he has no reason to steal and d allegations are false but, if he indeed is still into drugs and d police can prove it, they should halt d investigation on robbery, he's their man, he's culpable, cos evidences/pointers are he's broke, and there's no way he ain't gonna steal just to get his fix

14. make dem leave d guy jor DMX

15. ARE YOU LOOKING FOR A SUGAR MUMMY OR DADDY PLEASE CALL THIS LINE 08132333771 PLEASE BE MATURE....

16. DMX u will b fyn joor,tempations will cum tru out d nyt bt ur joy will cum in d morny u will smile again.

17. Nawah. With time we shall know who's saying d truth.

18. Hmmmm story story storyeeee

19. De keep trying 2 set DMX up. DMX should flee from all evil appearances.

20. It's wrong wen some of these celebrities are targeted like this.. Dunno why peeps are always tryna shake 'em down; especially wen they know the said celebrity's got a past record of drugs or assault. It's just plain wrong.

21. Hmm..DMX has bin victimized ....yeah such things happen..u hv be caught up in a snare...just pray the case shud be acquitted and stricken off..dats If wat ur lawyer is claiming is true

22. *in dmx's voice* " bring it! Whaaaar, we right here! We not going anywhere, we right here... " Joshe