Burundi: Government blocks WhatsApp and Viber access | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday, 28 April 2015

Burundi: Government blocks WhatsApp and Viber access

According to this person from Burundi, the government blocked WhatsApp and Viber access in the country following violent protests over the country's President, Pierre Nkurunziza's decision to run for 3rd term in office. Protesters clashed with police today for a third straight day. The government believes protesters use these apps to engage others and convince them to join the fight...

56 comments:

1. Hai! Na wa 4 waec! May God bring peace to d nation Amin.

2. This may happen in Nig soon with an Authoritative person in power. Smh

3. If the constitution allows him to run, then he's free to. But the issue of blocking such social network is questionable in this present generation.

4. This is exactly how buhari would rule Nigeria....... God into ur hands we commit ourselves

5. Pidgin Mistress28 April 2015 at 22:13

Na una sabi

6. De shud also block calls and text messages......mtchew!

7. What is the problem with African leaders, he should learn from what happened to Ivory Coast president and his wife.

8. What is their headache na... of al the amendments it's nw Viber dat is deir issue... Yeye Govt

9. Lol.. what a stupid reasoning

10. You should probably review your writing skills and make sure it goes through some levels of subbing! Lest I forget, where is Burundi again? Let your readers know!! Good job so far, but be watchful to achieve your desired goals.

11. That idiotic president must be Buhari's brother. Enemies of social media and press freedom. Buhari will be flushed out before his tenure. Finally the chibok girls he asked his Boko Haram boys to kidnap have been released,i thank God it happened when GEJ is still in power. Buhari should look for better things to do than celebrating terrorism. Idiotic hausa moron.

12. With the recent banning of AIT by the grandpa,this could happen in nigeria very soon when the sharia man take over.

13. U can imagine. Thank God fr our democracy.

I am Coonett

14. This could happen in nigeria when buhari,the semi illitrate take over.

15. Every country with its problem
    Politicians not making it easy
    for regular people
    Someone will be in a particular
    position for God knows how long
    Making sure there will be
    No room for another person
    Its saddening

16. African leaders won't you ever learn? Remember the ivory Coast way.

17. Anoda tyrrant govt.. The pple said they don't want you shoooo, na by force

18. Lolz, can't dey do it on twitter, fb, IG n oda social media? D president is daft

19. Lolz, can't dey do it on twitter, fb, IG n oda social media? D president is daft

20. Buhari,dictatator is all i see

21. They don't want the world to see what is going on in their country...

22. It's like the entire black continent is under a curse...things african leaders do I tell you.

23. he should also block facebook, mumu

24. Another dictator in the making.

25. Chai.God i thank u creating me a nigerian.#9ja4life

26. khay....so lemme say dis

shut dwn d whole bloody country 4 a we care...dnt bother us baw your problems ya larshluver!

27. Lobatan, We are waiting for Baba one chance to do same in Nigeria

28. What's Viber?

29. This looks like what buhari can do

30. Buhari bars AIT........ Next will be Linda Ikeji.....( cos shes broader than viber or wats app )....

hehehe....

31. One of the poorest country in the world

32. I pity d Nation Nigeria tht just Elected a man who assisted in Carrying out a successful coup plot against a democratically elected Govt. As President today..If not for media,thts how AIT would hv been banned following by others..I pray LIB and other blogs last long too...

33. Nawah! All this do or die politicians sef

34. TF!, no eyes, no ears?. Can't deal. This is why democracy is d best form of govt

35. God will soon visit him in way he ll never forget.....

. <<100%Nigerian>>

36. The modern day politician fears the immense power of the social media, which is getting more powerful by the day.

37. HOPE NIJIA WNT BLOCK BLOGS AND SOME MEDIA AS WELL ONE DAY...TOMJERRYSWIT

38. Hahahaha...funny. African leaders and sit-tight syndrom. So they are now scared of Social Media?

39. Make our naija govt no try am else

40. Hi. It's very good post. thanks for sharing.

41. Hi. It's very good post. thanks for sharing.