Man has tumour twice the size of his head removed after walking 3 days for help | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday, 17 February 2015

Man has tumour twice the size of his head removed after walking 3 days for help

A desperate grandfather has had a tumour that weighed a stone and grew to twice the size of his head removed after he walked for three days to seek help. Sambany revealed that he took on the extraordinary mission after hearing about a brilliant charity that performs medical treatments in some of the poorest nations on earth.

Mercy Ships runs out of an ocean liner that docks in various ports and then opens its doors to offer free, state-of-the-art health care to those in need.

Although the team is chocked full of hugely experienced doctors, surgeons and other medical professionals, few had worked on a tumour the size of Sambany’s. The Madagascan, who walked for 72 hours to reach the port of Toamasina and is in his 60s, first noticed something was wrong while he was in his 20s.

He first developed a swelling in his left cheek that began to grown - eventually becoming almost twice the size of his head.

After arriving at the Mercy Ship, doctors agreed to perform surgery on him and during an incredible 12-hour operation they removed a growth weighing a staggering 16.5lbs.
Speaking to the Mail Online just before his surgery, Sambany told how he needed the procedure to
He said: "My heart is very, very happy.

"I'm just happy.
"I know without surgery I will die.
"I know I might die in surgery, but I already feel dead inside from the way I'm treated.
"I choose to have surgery."
"I’m very happy.

Happy: Sambany was delighted after seeing himself in a mirror
Following a successful operation, Sambany was handed a mirror to see himself without the tumour for the first time in four decades.

The delighted grandfather told doctors he was very happy, before he was told he must now remain on the boat and recover for a couple of months.
He told how he heard about Mercy Ships through a pal, and between them the two men travelled for three days to seek help.

Judy Polkinhorn, Executive Director of Mercy Ships UK, said: "Thanks to the expert skill of our amazing volunteers Mercy Ships are able to carry out such incredible, life-changing surgeries.
"I am so touched to hear about Sambany's story – he really epitomises what the charity is all about."

Culled from Mirror.co.uk

94 comments:

1. That tumour is huge. Thank God he got saved

2. ALL I SEE IS GOD AWESOMENESS

3. Wow
      I hope he gets much better.

4. God is wonderful.lord am thankful plus i wish him a quick recovery

5. Awwwwww so happy for him.Thank God for his life.

2. Aww tank God,am really touched.

3. Aww tank God,am really touched.

4. Phew! I thank God for his life.

5. Holy Shit. Was bout to hit on my Breakfast.

1. So? Did the tumor drop in your food. All these aj3kpakos claiming to be ajebutters by force on this site. The doctors performing the operations should starve then.

2. Cowards commentin under anonymous have the worst feelin of insecurity n their inferiority complex is second 2 non, prolly y they are sometimes suicidal so ama go soft on ye. I am a street king foooool. Hit me up on g+ n take a peep at a CONFIDENT 'G'. A word of ADVICE 4 ur retarded ass; Open a real account wit one or 2 pics so we can see u, prolly donate some crumbs so u can fix ur vile self. TANX n don't jump off a cliff. Okay?

6. A little bit of kindness will one day change the world for good

1. Yea.....and its start with you. Thank God for his life

7. Brave grandfather....people are really suffering in this world.....thank God he took the bold step that rescued him

::::::::::::::::::::::::QUEENMAYA::::::::::::::::::::::

8. WOOOW..MAN U R LUCKY,DO U KNW HW MUCH DS WUD VE COST U??THNK GOD IT WAS SUCCESSFUL.. tomjerryswit

9. Thank God for his life & d lives of those that are involved in d surgery. God grant him a speedy recovery. Linda take note!

10. Thank God for his life & d lives of those that are involved in d surgery. God grant him a speedy recovery. Linda take note!

11. OMG!!!! Thank God he survived d surgery.

12. Omg!!! This so scary

Beadglitz: BEADED OBJECT: TEDDY BEAR beadglitz.blogspot.com

13. Holy Shit. Was bout 2 hit on my Breakfast,, then this!!!!!!

14. Omg! What a sight? so pathetic. Feel for this man and thank God for the doctors! May God bless their soul, amen.

15. God bless u mercy ships. U hv given hope and happiness to a man dat thought dat it's gone.

16. If it weren't for God hmmm..

17. Wow! Thank God for life!

18. Thank God for life...One day I will be able to give out just like this charity organisation has done

19. Thank God he got help
    Quick recovery man!

20. Ugh! It must be a benign tumour for him to have lived with it all this years. Science is a miracle.Thank God for his life.

21. OMG......Awwwwww get well soon

22. WOW !
    DETERMINATION leads to success .
    Thank God for his joy and endless sea of tears of joy to those that made it possible .
    In fact,HAPPY BIRTHDAY SAMBANY ,for the day your tumour was taken off your neck and shoulder !

23. Wao that's a massive growth. Thank God the operation was a success.

24. Am happy for you.
    We look forward to the day our medical sector in Nigeria would grow so much as to perform this kind of miracle.
    May it be in my generation.
    Still inspired by Ben Carson

25. Unbelievable,God is great.

26. Oh dear, that's definitely not a sight for sore eyes!

27. oh Sweet Jesus! I saw this pix unexpectedly and i almost jumped from my chair. like WTH is this? Thank God he finally saw the end of this tumor. He must have suffered lots of stigmatization. WOW!!!

28. MAY GOD GIVE HIM PERFECT HEALING

29. Thank God he survived it, I can see so much joy in him. The lord is ur strength sir.it is well

30. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Is gud to knw that everything turnsout ok..

31. The load has been lifted up.......God av mercy.....

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB.....

32. MR EDDY said this heat wan kill person o.

Blood of Jesus. I thank God for him.
    ^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~

33. THANK YOU JESUS.

@SOPHIA STEPHEN

34. Thank God,it is well.

35. Dats huge,thank God he survived

Auntylindagoddaughter

36. This is my inspiration

37. Wow. Happy for him. This is what life should be about, bringing smiles on the faces of people

38. Every problem has an expiry date. This is the kind of stories that celebrates humanness. For me,this is true religion.

39. Now the man can smile again. Thank God for their kind acts. God bless them abundantly

40. ohhh my goodness...xo scary...vis tuor is nad twice size of his head its thrice size of his head...tank god it was succesful

41. ohhh my goodness...xo scary...vis tuor is nad twice size of his head its thrice size of his head...tank god it was succesful

42. Thank u Lord! I'm really really happy for him.....can't imagine the stigmatization he has been facing for four decades now...Our God is a merciful God!

43. Chai.......God is merciful. I wondered how he lived his life all these years. I'm happy for him.

44. LINDA SOMETIMES PUT THE PIC ELSEWHERE INSIDE THE POST. DONT TRAUMATIZED PPLE, HAV U NOT HEARD OF VIEWER'S DISCRETION..

45. Poor journalist linda

46. What a blessing... This is what God wants us to do, "be our brother keeper" God make me a huge blessing. Am touched

Do you need to do a Change of name?
    For the first two people to call 08037162270 from LIB, I'll publish your change of name for free in the Newspapers.

47. I am touched by the friend who walked with him to get to that ship.

Everyone should have such a friend in their lifetime. I am glad to have one. Many actually.

Visit the business fair that could change your life. It is visit. Join at http://www.connectnigeria.com/bizfair

48. What a blessing... This is what God wants us to do, "be our brother keeper" God make me a huge blessing. Am touched

Do you need to do a Change of name?
    For the first two people to call 08037162270 from LIB, I'll publish your change of name for free in the Newspapers.

49. OMg, this tumour is very big and irritating. I am happy for him cos its not easy carrying it around

50. Thank God for the help. Wishing him quick recovery and good health

51. thank God he got help.............quick recovery

..............Nimelda say so

52. Thank God for the help. Wishing him quick recovery and good health

53. Omo! How did he sleep with that?

54. Tnk baba God for sucessful surgry

55. i thank baba God for your life

56. happy for you

57. Jeeezzzz! ThankGod 4 his life!

58. Thank God for his life, that tumour is very big, hmmmm...sickness dey o!

59. Ogechi@ afakos@yahoo.com17 February 2015 at 14:57

Thank God for being merciful to Him.

60. So disgusting...Thank God d operation was successful

61. Aaaw! Despite the pain, he cracked a smile I felt in the depths of my heart.

Redcandy
    ****www.idoncomeagain.com****

62. This sh!t lowkey just put me in check yo..Remember to appreciate life..Thank God for good health!

63. Thank God fr him.. Some thing good can come out of nazareth ..

64. God,u re good and God bless all dose who help ppl....com in to join u soon

65. Thank you Lord for my life. Proud of this man! This is a man who wants to live. God bless him. Let's learn from these and do all it takes to seek out solutions for our lives.

66. #myopinioncounts#17 February 2015 at 20:47

Thank God 4 him. Thanks to the charity organization