Kanye wins BET Visionary award, turns to Martin Luther King Jnr on stage | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday, 24 February 2015

Kanye wins BET Visionary award, turns to Martin Luther King Jnr on stage

Kanye West shared a kiss with his wife as he received the Visionary Award at the 2015 BET Honors, which was broadcast yesterday night after being taped last month.

For his acceptance speech, Mr West turned to a human rights activist...lol. Kanye began by saying he felt humbled for the first time in his life and then used his relationship with Kim, who is a “person not of color” to talk about race and separatism. He thanked Kim and told everyone that she wasn't in a relationship with him for his fame or fortune
“My wife has dated broke black dudes so it ain’t got nothing to do with the money.”
He shared a story Kim once told him about her father Robert Kardashian being deemed a “n*gger lover” for representing O.J. Simpson. Kanye said, “We deal with racism because there are different races. Or the micro of it is that we focus on the different races, as opposed to the macro, which is the human race.”

While making reference to some of his past controversial remarks, Kanye said “race” and “people’s perception of celebrity” have been used to stop him from being “empowered,” and argued that the worth of black people have been misrepresented. He even said, “Harriet Tubman could have freed more if they only knew they weren’t free.” West went on, “So don’t think that because we can afford this custom Balmain suit that we’re free. And don’t think that because we can buy a $300,000 car that we’re free. And don’t think because three percent of a gated community has colored people in it that we’re free.”

“It’s the mentality, the slave mentality, that we all eventually become slaves to that car, slaves to the perception, slaves to the idea of being cool,” West continued. He concluded, “Our power, our oil, since we don’t own any oil, is our expression, is our influence. Don’t never let them take that away. And when we have the chance to express it and influence, don’t just do it for us. Do it for the human race.”

Nice speech Kanye 'King Jnr' West

124 comments:

1. Igbaka tins! Tasie igbaka ahu ike na ur own! Lolo1

2. Wooow well said, first time in a long time something good came out from ur words

3. SEEN,NXT NEWS...MEANYL DATS A NYC DRESS ON KIM BOD...TOMJERRYSWIT

4. SEEN,NXT NEWS...MEANYL DATS A NYC DRESS ON KIM BOD...TOMJERRYSWIT

5. Havin a beautiful skin doesn't necessary require a total complexion change, but nurturing the skin with every rightful need would award u dat youthful n sleek skin u deserve. At FDM skin care n therapeutical we not only grant u dat radiant skin u wish for but care for ur skin as well.
    we have varieties of product of ur choice ranging from.

Whitening/lightening cream kit,
    Brow sugar glow kit,
    Ebony glow kit,
    Lightening face cream kit,
    Body/face moisturisers (noncomedogenic),
    Face scrub,
    Face cream for oily n dry face ,
    Body scrub to exfoliate d skin,
    Herbal black soap,
    Lightening liquid soap ,
    Glutathione soap,
    Glutathione pills,
    Beauty oil; gives u dat youthful n plumpy look enrich with vitamins ,Ahas n essential oils,
    Stretch marks kit,
    Treatment for dark knuckles/elbows/knees/ankles,
    Treatment for sunburn/ Melasma,
    Treatment for pimples n acne n discolouration,
    Treatment for dark spot,
    Topical vitamin c powder( l ascorbic)
    Prevent ageing n nourishes d skin ,
    Pimples extractor steel tool effective in removing (blackhead /white head/pustules n zit ),
    Pimples powder,
    Herbal Facial marks for oily face n pimples,
    Face cleansers ,
    After shave oil, prevent bumps n inflammation
    Lactic acid 88% 240ml
    Etc......
    Note
    All creams indicted with kit comes along with a face n body scrub n also a sample of d beuaty oil

Add us up on bb 2772A2FA
    Or call or watapp us on
    090 51394413

6. goodluck bro but why did u dump dbanj

7. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    This dudes speech is always onpoint i swear...

8. Now am Loving u Back...nice speech lover

9. Now am Loving u Back...nice speech lover

10. congrats to him...

11. 'Our power, our oil, since we don't own any oil, is our expression is our influence....' love that line

12. congrats to him, nice speech #saynotoracism

13. funny dude. check out my blog Bunmisimple's blog

14. Rotten english everywhere... I don't understand biko.

15. True that!
    Broke ass n*#gas

16. this story is stale now...aunty linda u don dey slack oo

17. West d greatest confusionist,he nids deliverance

18. Nice speech
    this guy get brain but he can rant so much lol

19. hmm i'm touched. someone give me some handkerchief cause d tears has refused to stop flowing.

20. Married life has really sobered Kanye, he is acting more mature & being articulate in his speeches. Congrats Broda. Linda take note!

21. Married life has really sobered Kanye, he is acting more mature & being articulate in his speeches. Congrats Broda. Linda take note!

22. No wonder Kim was gushing about how much she loves him on Intagram.

www.udokajane.blogspot.com

23. VERULE says-for them.

24. Thumbs up Kanye...Nice speech and I pray u n kim grow old togada.

25. diz guys en black sef

missvee

26. Aiit
    Congrats 2 him
    #oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

27. He looks good on datsuit

28. Nice speech, Mr. West. Congrats.

29. This man love his wife die oooo. Am happy 4 dam

30. For once, the Retarded Dude is makin sense.

31. Smart Couples... All I got to say... (Miss Lin crushing on YOU)

32. Dats so cool so everyone should stop hating Kim she's not a bad person just trying to make money in her own way, as long as she loves kanye for been a jerk or activist lol

33. I don't think he deserves the award
    Tho his speech is motivating
    But I don't see kanye as someone that gives good example

34. Na the Visionary Award cause all dis long speech? Guy park well abeg

35. KANYE is a brilliant guy. i luv him and his work. nice one.

36. Congratulations mr. K.

@Sophia Stephen

37. Nice One kanye!

38. Sick of hearin 4rm dis people, good for them though.

She said...

39. MR EDDY said this heat wan kill person o.

Nice one. Congratulations to him.
    ^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~

40. Today, I can truthfully say I'm impressed. I like this side of Kanye. Congrats man. ----C21

41. My 3rd power couple!!! Luv KIMYE 2 bits...
    #PROYUDLYDIEHARDKARDASHIANFAN#

42. What I can remove from the speech is that KIM dated a broke nigga?? I wish to know who so we can recompile the list!!! Lol

1. He dint say dat he said broke black dudes he dint sa A

43. Ok, we have heard!

44. Am impressed!!! God Bless u

45. He's rambling and out of touch. Most in the audience can't afford 300K cars and don't live in gated communities.

46. West is actually a very brilliant man...nice one

47. Replies
    1. Nice 1.. He is very intelligent nd he sincerely loves kim.. Happy couple, pray dey last longer dan pple expect.

2. Nice 1.. He is very intelligent nd he sincerely loves kim.. Happy couple, pray dey last longer dan pple expect.

48. Abeg make we hear word....must he do everyfin J and bey do kissing each orde after winning an award "lol...and 4 Kim dating broke dudes story 4 d gods dat mouth way u use 2 praise Kim na dat same mouth u go use destroy here....only buh a matter of time....

49. Hmmmm,first time I heard something touchy and reasonable frm dis man....congratulations bros

50. Hmmmm,congrat to him 4 d award

51. In the history of Kim I haven't heard she has ever dated a broke ass N*gga ........rather she date them when they were rich and dump them when they are poor...........Kanye always talking irrelevant things.......congrats to him though.

::::::::::::::::::::::::::QUEENMAYA::::::::::::::::::::

52. Ogechi@ afakos@yahoo.com24 February 2015 at 09:28

Good one.

53. For once, he spoke really nicely...good one...

54. This guy can be awesome one minute and a complete douchebag the next.

55. He's a train-wreck waiting to happen.. those Kardashians will so finish him ehnn.. already gradually losing his mind sef.

56. Linda no offence but i think you are a bit retarded. A visionary leader is one that is able to air views that most people are afraid to talk about. So him coming out to speak on racism and co, is bad.

1. You are the retarded one..did you read his speech to the end....rubbish

2. Do you even know what BET means....its only normal to talk about the 'coloured people' because that's what it's all about...and he went on to talk about other things people get enslaved to.... I don't even know why I took time to answer your follly..buh lemme help me a little

3. It's ok guys you are waisting your precious time over some miniscule minded individual who hides under the shroud of anonymity

4. R u not the retarded one. See how you contradict urself - didn't he talk about what people are afraid to talk about? And by the way Linda didn't give him the visionary award BET did. Some of u dont understand stuff but u just ave to comment.

57. Congrats to him

ckjacob.blogspot.com

58. Good fr him... He actually could say thatt. Esp abt his cherished kim

59. Awwww. Nice speech Kanye! #teamkimye

60. I'm not sure what is so amusing about his speech. Kanye has always been vocal about race and inequality in America even since George Bush and Hurricane Katrina. People hate him because he's a celebrity that is not afraid of being disliked and that's what I love most about him.

61. GOOD KANYE I JUST LIKE SHA

62. Guys stop hating cos Kanye don't know that I exist just be happy for him but don't why we are not happy with other people success or choice

63. Nice! He digressed! But sometimes, u have to use opportunities like this to make υ̲̣̥r̲̅ opinion count.

64. Black Entertainment Television "BET" aren't that racist?

65. Nice speech Kanye. Odd but true

66. wow nice speech kanye beautiful me love it lol jc

67. Pls Pls visit this site- it's very important: http://onlineyouthjob.com/?user=64780

68. wow nice speech kanye beautiful me love it lol jc

69. I think he is fighting a big battle behind close doors. Gifted and talented.

70. Oh my, I'm extremely impressed. For the first time ever, I understood him. Made so much sense with this speech. My favourite part is every part of the speech. Good job Kanye

71. Kanye is one intelligent man & speaks his mind no matter what!
    I just hope u & Kim put ur haters 2 shame! let dem wait endlessly 4 a divorce!!

72. Kanye is one intelligent man & speaks his mind no matter what!
    I just hope u & Kim put ur haters 2 shame! let dem wait endlessly 4 a divorce!!

73. First time his speech will make sense. good for u. Ok# bye

74. something different for a change... well done oga West

75. You did good Kanye , This speech was the best thing that left your brain and mouth since last year and you deserves the standing ovation !
    Good one boy.

76. He has changed, he did a radio interview after this award and you wont believe how calm, humble and friendly he was, you would think it was someone else