Dozens of cops and firefighters flock to autistic boy's birthday party after his heartbroken mom revealed none of his classmates turned up | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 22 February 2015

Dozens of cops and firefighters flock to autistic boy's birthday party after his heartbroken mom revealed none of his classmates turned up

Found this heartwarming story on Mail Online about how classmates of a young autistic boy refused to turn up for his 6th birthday party and after his heartbroken mum revealed it on Facebook, dozens of fire-fighters, police and people in his community turned up at his home to make it a birthday he'd never forget. Read full story below...
Ashlee Buratti, of St. Cloud, Florida, had invited her son Glenn's class of 16 children to his birthday on February 8, and when no one showed up, he was devastated.
Though no one RSVP'd, Buratti and her husband John Buratti were 'still holding on to the hope that some of them would show up' to the party for her son, who has epilepsy and a mild form of autism. 
'From the minute he woke up that day he wanted to know how many minutes until his friends came,' Buratti, 25, said, adding that his eyes filled with tears when he learned no one was coming. 

The mother-of-three posted on a locally run Facebook page with more than 10,000 members titled, Osceola Rants, Raves and Reviews List, to express her frustration, according to the Osceola News-Gazette.

'I know this might be something silly to rant about, but my heart is breaking for my son. We invited his whole class (16 kids) over for his 6th birthday party today. Not one kid came,' she posted.
And when other group members saw the post they sent Buratti messages asking if they could bring their own kids to Glenn's party to celebrate.
The message even reached staff from the Osceola County Sheriff's Office, who asked for the family's address and said a helicopter would fly over their St. Cloud home. 

The helicopter came to the house within an hour, and the pilot flew low enough that Glenn could see him waving.  
Glenn, who loves public safety and law enforcement, was overjoyed with the party, and his mom said that though he is usually shy, he took to his new friends like he'd known them all his life. 

'In general, deputies have big hearts - they thought about their own kids and wanted to make this boy happy because it was such a sad situation,' Buratti told Today. 
In total, about 15 kids and 25 adults showed up to celebrate and eat cake, give gifts to Glenn and play in a bounce house.

One woman brought the birthday boy a bike, while others brought toys. Buratti said one man came to the party with a camera and took pictures he later gave to the family.
'It was just amazing. The people who came out were so awesome,' Buratti told the Osceola News-Gazette. 
And Glenn's birthday celebration didn't end on Sunday - several crews from the Sheriff's Office and Osceola County Fire Rescue stopped by the family's home on Wednesday. 
Though Buratti knew the crews were coming, she left it a surprise for her son to see as they were on their way home from school. 

'We got to the stop sign by our house and Glenn was like, "The fire truck's at our house!" I said, "It's okay, they're there to tell you happy birthday,"' Buratti told CBS News. 

They all wished him a happy birthday, gave him tours of their fire truck, squad cars, motorcycles and a SWAT vehicle and showered him with more gifts. 
'And to think, all this happened because nobody showed up to his birthday,' Buratti wrote online. 'Thank you, thank you, thank you.'  

Culled from UK Daily Mail

209 comments:

1. If it were to be NPF they will never show up unless there's ogogoro, free food for them and fuel money.

2. For the first time in years....I got tears clouding my eyes.

3. Same here at anonymous, I pray God bless and enlarge my coast so I can help the needy

4. This brought tears to my eye.

5. Awwwww! One door closes for anoda to open jare. 9ce one

6. This is touching. There are still good and selfless people in this world. I wish we can be selfless in this part of the world

7. Thot am d only one tearing here...

8. Awww...it now turned out to be a memorable birthday party!

9. O my God! I shed a few tears ova dis.dis is so hart warming

10. I love dis story so much dat I came back 2comment again .
      Wishing I was der 2help d lil dude celebrating his bday.
      Hapi bday 2him

11. I SERIOUSLY DONT KNOW WHY THEM BORN ME FOR AFRICA EEHHHH.

12. A sad story that ended well

13. yea.really touching.glad d boy has something lovely to remember for the rest of his life.

14. @ lwkmd, I don laff tire, dats our NPF u finished here! Lol! Na so. Its so touching, beautiful!

15. This story brought tears to my eyes. If people could only show a little love, the world would have been a better place. God bless his mum who took that step and God bless all those who turned up, am so sure God smiled at them for making that lil boy happy.

2. Replies
    1. So touching!!

2. I was reading this with tears falling from my eyes. I'd bet his mean classmates now regret the fact that they refused to show up for his birthday. Thank God their absence turned it into the best day of his life. So sweet.

3. I got severe goose bumps I had to stop reading for abt 10mins.
      Making some other person happy is the most Awesome feeling Ever!!!!

3. Awww! I actually got goose bumps reading this..

1. "Awwww. I actually got goose bumps reading this" hmmm,yday was my birthdaY even when I mentioned it No 1 cared 2 wish me happYbirtdaY now ur forming

2. Happy birthday

3. Happy belated birthday, dear Pam.

4. Pam oya happy birthday. No cry again u hear.

5. Happy birthday Eucharia, you will have more to celebrate in years to come.

4. Replies
    1. You are a bastard! May God leave every difficult situation in ur life unattended! Insensitive twat!

2. Fuvking insensitive idiot!

3. I dunno who u r, bt one tin i'm certain about is d fct u'r a hater n a silly one @ dat.. If u see a post n ur brain dsnt work fast 4 a coment, jst skip it n wait 4 d nxt one.. Commenting on LIB is nt a Do or Die affair kid.

4. you are one big idiot. You will have kids one day. Just pray hard that this pitiful thing or worse doesn't happen to them.

5. Some people can be real retards, na by force to post? Even wil he minna moses couldn't help but say awwww, quite touching

6. The guy is just a consumed sadist.

7. Don't blame him not everyone understand English language.

8. Narcissistic douchebag! I pity the children that will have you as a parent

9. Now Kass is the mean one!hahaha..

10. RETARD alert!!!!Oloriburuku big time!!! Insensitive baboon!!!

5. Replies
    1. Wow!!!! Amaazing!!! This is humans being there 4 one another

2. Had tears in my eyes. At least there are still decent people out there

3. Hi Linda,

Please we say "person/child/boy " with autism not "autistic person/child/boy".

The idea is that you acknowledge the person and not the disorder.

Thanks for showcasing this story

Regards,
      An autism mom

6. Awwww this brought tears 2 my eyes, thank God d lil boy enjoyed his birthday afterall...

7. Lucky little cutie......HBD to him

::::::::::::::::::QUEENMAYA:::::::::::::::::::

1. Shame on his classmates parents. They denied their kids from attending the party for selfish and stupid reasons best known to them but at the end it was a blessing for the little boy.

2. I'm telling u, I'm sure they'll feel more terrible seeing the outcome of the boys party.

8. Awwwwww!!!!! Now I'm crying! May we get there someday in my dear Naija

9. MR EDDY said this heat wan kill person o.

Awww. Lucky boy. Happy birthday cutie
    ^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~

1. Ur so right O,had 2 remove my weavon b4 I run madt

2. That makes two of us o! The we Avon was driving me nuts. I didn't even wait to go to the salon to take it off, just looked for razor blade and started cutting and in the process I sliced of quite a bit of my own hair but I don't care...I've poured water on my head and I feel cool! Lol

3. Happy belated bday Pam.

10. Oh God I couldn't hold back my tears. Every dissapintment is a blessn

11. Eya....evry diasappointment z a blessing!!!

12. Awwww that's so nice of them

13. Eyaaaaa. That's so nice. This really heart touching.

14. Eeeeeyah! Dats one thing about Oyinbo people dey sabi value life & property. Linda take note!

15. Eeeeeyah! Dats one thing about Oyinbo people dey sabi value life & property. Linda take note!

16. Eeeeeyah! Dats one thing about Oyinbo people dey sabi value life & property. Linda take note!

1. You annoying piece of shit can u please stop this "linda take note" bullshit. I see you want to start your campaign for end of the year 100k early, but the way you are going about it is disgusting. I hope u don't get a dime. Rubbish.

2. I'm telling you , very razz.... Linda take note

3. Lmao! I tire o!

4. Lol .....I wonder o

5. Same thought I had..This little girl is a freak of lowlife.I wonder why she keeps this fucking n useless signature on and on.."Linda Take Note"What a bullshit.If I should just try to get down to where she came,she is nothing but a pauper.Akushe jattijati..Omo iran kiran...

6. U guys should free her and campaign 4 ur own stomach infrastructure na, leave d babe joor, even tho she's desperately exasperating... LWKM

7. All these insults just to pass a message across? Nigerians, I hail thee!

8. Make una no kill me with laugh, i think say she go don tire by now, this kind person dey make me fear.

9. Lwkmd.una don finish this juliet gal oo.chai.make una take am easy biko.lolzz.

10. I quite agree with u. Her stupid comments are always posted twice and this "linda take note" nonsense. To top it up she looks like a retard.

17. Wow!!!

Being Dumped is awful, being dumped with a classics break up line is even worse What does "l need to focus on my career " really mean? Does it mean they really want to focus on their career or are they just over the relationship. Here are some break up lines you've heard . break up lines

18. Awww...oyinbo pple could so affectionate...this is quite beautiful

19. I officially dropped tears 4 dis story.., the most touching and heart felt story i'hv ever read, soo soo happy 4 him. Happy birthday in arias glenn , good health and long life 2 u

20. Thank You to everyone that went!!! She shld remove her son from that school, they don't preach love there... in Nigeria, I pray this can happen without anyone saying nonsense.

21. I knos how it feels I held my 22nd bday and no one came

I felt so horrible and hated myself I ate my food alone and prayed to God for a wonderful year ahead

God has been merciful to me
    So this boy shouldn't worry better things are coming

1. Let me have your address

2. GOD remembers you and that's all that matters. People come and go but only GOD is consistent. Next year will be different

3. Ate ur food alone? That is an unsafe act Anon :) Now when is ur next bday n send us your address

22. Awww!
    So touching!
    Thank God so kind people later made him happy

23. aaaaaaaw! got tears in my eyes for this one....

24. This like the most touching story Hve read in this blog....made me cry..swear down. Some white peeps r wicked tho

25. Sooo impressive, not Buhari, FFK, okukpe, OBj, amber, Boko matter every day d@s got too boring... thumbs up 4 dis piece still with heavy eyes..

26. This shows that there is still a little bit of love and humane left in the world after all...

27. Oh my God, I can't hold back the tears. Good people still exist.. God will bless you all. For the parents that did not show up with their kids, a very big shame on you. Thank God for disappointing you.

28. Wow! Like I shed tears reading this. Soooo sweet. Happy birthday Gleen!

29. Eyaaaa,lucky boy. His disappointment brought him blessings.

30. thanks to Them for putting a smile on his face. Pls visit rellaidiovo.blogspot.com

31. Shame unto d mothers if d children cos he was epileptic they tot it will b a flop.now their disappointment has turn to a blessing for d boy

32. Hence why they are ahead of us. They are principled with morales, not necessarily religious, less hypocritical. Caring, nice and not consumed with greed.

33. Tears. Dis is one thing dat is Right in d world. Let's share love

34. I actually cried reading this. So touching. Don't worry Glenn , I will be around for your next birthday party.

35. Awwwwww!
    Moved to tears
    I'm sure the happiness the lil boy felt must've been out of this world

36. Makes me wanna cry

37. I'm glad they showed up. Every disapointment is a blessing.

ckjacob.blogspot.com

38. My eyes filled up! So mice sweets. Two sides of Humans. Good and Bad! Ying and Yang!
    Happy Birthday Boy!

39. Hmm....It's really heartwarming.. HBD!!

40. This sincerely brought tears to my eyes! Best way to preach love I wonder how come am not a white

41. awwww... So touching.... Happy Birthday Sweets... This goes to show that God has a plan for u.

42. Wow...and this happen for real!!! Hbd kiddo

43. got emotional reading this.

44. Awwww... this so touching! This is why the whites keep progressing, there is love! Nigerian police won't even check facebook, they r busy chasing Okadas to extort money from! May God bless those who care for others! That's love!

@gr8akin

45. Am touch. Am happy for the support. Gave to the little. Boy

46. Happy kid. So touching! Ur classmates shd f**k off kid. *Batsh say so*

47. Awwww...Couldn't hold back the tears. God bless them all.

48. Awwww....just cldnt hold back the tears. ..so so touchy

49. Happy birthday darling little boy. You are healed from epilepsy. We wish you many more beautiful years ahead. From all of us in Nigeria.

50. Awwwww, very happy for him...Touching story.

51. Couldn't hold back the tears. So so touching. God bless them so much. Happy belated birthday dear. Grow and shine.

52. So happy he had a fulfilled day oluwa tobi loba

53. Wow so touching! This is d reason I love Nigerians........cos even ur enemies go come, u ll even see pple u have never met b4! Oyibo n Discrimination...HBD Lil one! U shall live Long, Strong, Healthy and Wealthy IJN! AMEN

1. AMEN AND AMEN.HIS DISAPPOINTMENT TURNED INTO A BIG BLESSING.

54. Awww, God bless all who went. With teary eyes i smiled all through as i read. Wow, what a show of love. Meks me wanna put a smile on someone's face right away

55. Every disappointment is blessing in disguise

Auntylindagoddaughter

56. The best way to earn huge amount of money on the Internet is http://moneytreet.com/?invite=17571 follow the link and get started...

57. Heart broken...my heart melted...feel like crying.

58. Wow this was sweet...God bless them

59. That is indeed a birthday to remember

60. God promised us He will do, exceeding more than what we ask or ever imagine. Happy birthday baby boy. I play Korede Bello "God win" song for u.

61. Wow..... This story is nice Linda .....hbd to the lil kid *thamixbreed*

62. You have said it all, every disappointment is a blessing.
    Woow its quite good to know that we still have some kindhearted people in this world.

63. This really got *tear* in my eyes ! People are so mean ! But God shamed them for the cute lil boy...so happy,all thanks to the people that made him happy,I pray pple learn to start having a gud heart cos it pays.

64. God have mercy and heal the little boy, feel like crying #melted heart#

65. Awww.. So sweet.. Disappointment turn out to be a blessing

66. America very wicked society, they only look at what they'll gain in a situation but God is bigger than them.

1. What exactly is what you said related to the heart warming story shared? Ehn mumu. Just type nonsense because you can comment under anonymous. Goat

67. Americans and their big heart! God bless you all that made it a memorable day for this young man!

OnPoint

68. Awwwww. God is always on time.

69. Amazing story. God has a way of making up and doing it with a swag only him can bring about.

70. Eyaaa, how sweet and kind of them!

71. Wow. Touching, felt like crying. Just Love it when people go out of there way just to make others Smile. Its a thing of Joy.

72. This is soooo touching... there are still people out there who have hearts of gold

73. This story is so so touching, I have tears in my eyes right now. This is a challenge to all Nigerians, we have to learn to love, I believe this act is part of community services. We Nigerians need to do more of this. God is Love and Love is God. I pray Love prevails in Nigeria.

74. A very touching story am happy the child got to celebrate his birthday in a bigger way.....shame to the parents of his classmate....linda I have spoken

75. Still tinking why I can't control my tears reading dis. It took me 20 yrs to cry again today.Happy birthday Glenn!

76. Whao this all I can type whao again

77. Eiyaaaa, I'm a guy and I don't see it as a thing of pride to be described as emotional, but I gotta say this got me all warm and mushy inside, maybe because of my own son. God bless you kiddo, and the beautiful people of county law enforcement and fire department for going beyond the boundaries of duty all for that little boy.

78. www, how lucky can we be? February babies are so cute.

www.udokajane.blogspot.com

79. Wooow..... it's so touching, I wish I was there to celebrate with him as well. Happy Birthday

80. So touching,this story brought so much tears to my eyes, shame to those that were invited that didn't come

81. Is it because they don't eat jollof??

82. Awwwwww happy birthday to him am touched God bless him wishing him many more years!!!

83. Awwww, this had me almost crying. am glad he had fun at last

84. This definately made me teary... as i understand perfectly how this mother must have felt!. i have a son suffering from both horrible, horrible conditions..so i know. Really happy fro the little lad.

85. Americans r good pple..... If na naija,rant all u want eh nobodi get dat tym.

86. http://moneytreet.com/?invite=17992

87. This literally brought me to tears!

88. Nigerians will ask for egunje first.

89. Awwww this so touching...wish I could reach out to the little cute man.

90. This brought tears to my eyes God is bigger than every situation

91. Dis is so so touching..bring tear 2 my eyes...alwys a way wen it seems all hope is lost

92. first time commenting here, brought tears to my eyes...God bless you young boy

93. Sometimes, Americans can be really bossy...I lived in their midst for a while so I know. But when they decide to show love, I don't think any other nationality beats them in that. They will overwhelm you with love, hands down. God bless these people that rallied for this boy. May God continue to rally for their own kids too.

Redcandy

94. wow!... unfortunately such a story is not heard near our clime...

95. Nigerian Police and Fire Service rake note!

96. this babe wey every time linda take note who get her address i wan take some notes of pain to her cuz its irritating every time she says it

97. Awww so cute, oyibo dem get good heart I swear.

98. White people loves theirselves

99. Wow this is so amazing. Wish for a world where people would look out for others, may God bless their good hearts.

100. #myopinioncounts#23 February 2015 at 01:12

Thank God it all turned out well!

101. Hell Mr Red candy, I disagree with u. I live in America. This is not the first time such a thing is happening here. its very common. That is discrimination. It happened to a friend daughters birthday party. and non of his school mates attended due to the fact that the little girl is black and the only black in her class of 18.

102. This made me really teary. Thank God for everyone that came to make Glen's day special in spite of all, God's substitute is always be the best.
    Happy birthday Glen and many more years of better celebration in good health.
    @ Lindaikeji, thanks for this piece, it is indeed a sweet relief from all the naked bodies, tattoo's and electioneering palava. More this such news plssssssss

103. This made me really teary. Thank God for everyone that came to make Glen's day special in spite of all, God's substitute is always be the best.
    Happy birthday Glen and many more years of better celebration in good health.
    @ Lindaikeji, thanks for this piece, it is indeed a sweet relief from all the naked bodies, tattoo's and electioneering palava. More this such news plssssssss

104. @MR EDDY are you in HELL? Why is heat always killing you?

105. Awwww............i cant help the tears now. Nice pple with good hearts.

106. So so so Nice, How i wish Nigeria could be someday like this. E far again sha!

107. wow, I got goose bumps reading this.