From BBC Sports
He captured attention on yesterday night Monday January 5th when he scored an unlikely equaliser against Liverpool in the FA Cup third round. But who is the man they call "The Beast"? Here are 10 things you may not know about the 32-year-old AFC Wimbledon striker.
He weighs 16 stone
Akinfenwa is 5ft 11in but he weighs in at a mighty 16 stone, or 102kg. That's a BMI of 31.3 or around the same body weight as England rugby hooker Tom Youngs.
He says he has always been a "naturally big guy", and has even struggled to get football teams to take him seriously.
"People said I'm too big to play football," he said. "One hundred goals later, I'm not. There are no limitations to what you want to do."
He can bench-press 180kg
Or 396 pounds, if you prefer. That's three times the body-weight of his team-mate, midfielder Sammy Moore.
Such is his passion for lifting heavy weights, he admits that previous managers have had to "rein him in" to stop him spending too long in the gym.
Akinfenwa's strength has been recognised by the Fifa series of video games, which have deemed him the strongest footballer in the world, with a strength rating of 97 out of 100.
He suffered racism in Lithuania
Akinfenwa's first professional club was FK Atlantas in Lithuania - but his time in the Baltic was not a happy one.He received racist chants from home supporters. "Coming from London, where nobody would disrespect me, this was just brazen," he said.
Many players would have packed their bags, but Akinfenwa was resolute. "There ain't nobody going to run me out of nowhere," he said.
He created 'Beast Mode'
Akinfenwa's brawny physique has earned him the nickname 'The Beast', but to the hulking frontman, it's more than just an epithet.
"Beast Mode On is a state of mind," he explained. "Beast Mode is about applying yourself and defying the limitations people put on you."
When he's not terrorising League Two centre-backs, Akinfenwa also finds time to run a clothing line bearing the 'Beast Mode' name.
He gets mistaken for NFL players
Akinfenwa is often recognised as a footballer. Just not always as the right sort of footballer.The striker admits he was once pulled over by a policeman who mistook him for a player in America's NFL.
Akinfenwa was happy to set the errant copper straight, telling him: "I play proper football."
He's a committed Christian
Akinfenwa was born to a Muslim father and a Christian mother.
"When Ramadan was on dad made us fast and then I had to read the Bible every day and go to church," he said.
It was his mother's faith that he was drawn to and he now reads the Bible daily and attends church every Sunday.
Read the rest on BBC Sports
It's in the blood..trace and u'd see some left over of Akpu in him..
ReplyDeleteLol
DeleteBayo is not nigerian born..get your facts right.
DeleteNice profile...
DeleteEmenike will beat him hands down
DeleteU are sooo funny. Lol
DeleteThis man is just built, thick muscles n all
DeleteIsssokay
DeleteCONGRATE 2 HIM
Delete×
DON RICHIE.SAID SO VIA TECNO
He's Yoruba, we're just great. Akpu doesn't come into it, nah Poundo iyan
DeleteHope to see more good news about Nigerians and not bad onces ooo
DeleteNice one
DeleteThis is history sha..kudos to him and Naija
ReplyDeleteNo hating, but maybe he shud switch to central back...
DeleteI stillsee him as an NFL player jare. That guy is too big to be a footballer. Lol
DeleteSeen!
ReplyDeleteHe s cute
ReplyDeleteThat's nt wat we're talking abt here
Deletekudos big guy. U made us proud.
ReplyDeleteBeautiful! The last piece is very motivating..God bless you mr Akinfenwa..continue to do exploits..psalm 1:3. @Bishop_Dammy
ReplyDeleteI pray U more success bro!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
ReplyDelete»»Says De-Champion««
Oya Oshey.
ReplyDeleteNice but he doesn't play 4 naija
ReplyDeleteHe was a big trouble to liverpool yesterday.. Very strong player!
ReplyDeleteReallly? Dats great
DeleteCongratulations bro.
ReplyDeleteHome of strong men. But the guy is really big. his goals are bully.
ReplyDeleteList of Top 100 Best Universities In Nigeria
Nw everybody knw he's Nigerian born... osheee
ReplyDeleteThe guy na British born o Linda...lazy to research abi.
DeleteNigeria has been trying in this regard @ least Daniel Amokachi, Yakubu Aiyegbeni, Danny Shittu, Salami and the likes. Watched him score against Liverpool in their third round FA cup exit.
ReplyDeleteYea right
DeleteGood one
ReplyDeleteGood for him
ReplyDeleteAt least he is bring glory to naija
Wow, good 4 him.
ReplyDeleteNaija on world map
ReplyDeleteGreat one for him..good to hear..Enyeama bring the trophy pls
ReplyDeleteHe's sexii yayyy he had to go through a lot to be recognized eeyah but he got recognized by FIFA awesone
ReplyDeleteDidn't know before, now I do.
ReplyDelete*
***SUGAR***
I'm sure he was born in England.
ReplyDeleteCome nd use dis ur strength nd win world cup for niaja
ReplyDeleteWow! How nice
ReplyDeleteThis guy is a true beast.
ReplyDeleteGod has your back fam!! You'll continue to break boundaries
K~
Loudly naija. Good for him.
ReplyDelete$.
@Mr Endowed via Lumia phone
I don't tink dis guy will ever be on top of his wife
ReplyDeleteAkinfenwa exploits just shows football can be played with any size, it's just the desire and heart
ReplyDeleteKip making Nigeria proud my namesake
ReplyDeleteSee as e big chai!! **DOPEY SAID SO**
ReplyDeleteHello Linda, please get ur facts before writing. He is British born as to ur Nigerian born. He's from Nigerian parents.
ReplyDeleteHe is actually too big for football. Anyone could mistake him for a boxer. Goal keepers suppose leave the goalpost for him sef.
ReplyDeleteBusy Fingers.
He was sure not Nigeria born. A simple search online will show he was born in Islington London.
ReplyDeleteWTF... Dude! What were u fed with? No disrespect, but this fellow looks like incredible huck.
ReplyDeleteFirst saw this guy when his team played Chelsea a couple of seasons ago.
ReplyDeleteWow! congratulations
ReplyDelete#ABBYTOHXOFT
When Linda reports news like this and say "Nigerian born",it simply means that person is as good as not being a Nigerian but only a Nigerian by blood Lol...But oh well, Still nice all the same
ReplyDeleteCongrat to you
ReplyDeleteOmo c his body now why won't he be a beast lol..well at least nigeria is been recognised now
ReplyDeleteDas wat u get wen u mix egusi soup plus apku..ride on brother
ReplyDeleteNice one
ReplyDeleteLol@maxwell akpu ko,takpu ni.congrats
ReplyDeleteGod bless you more
ReplyDeleteCool achievement
ReplyDeleteFollow mi on IG @darkpearl4
Wow.......so intresting
ReplyDeleteThat's nice
ReplyDelete9ja no dey carry last naaa
ReplyDeletea.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
ReplyDelete.
I hope keshi have taking notice......
Ok!! Nice
ReplyDeleteA good Nigerian representative
ReplyDeletewowwww.he's huge
ReplyDeleteWow nigerian. The result of fufu, amala, ewa goin, eba and etcetera.
ReplyDeletePls. can someone help me out. I need information on delivering a baby in the U.S.A. Linda posted it here sometime ago but I can't seem to find it when I search. I just want to know the cost and what is involved. Tnx a lot. OZ
ReplyDeleteEba and akpu at work
ReplyDelete* * commenting live from river ethiope **
thats good
ReplyDeletenaija everywhere you go..hehehe
ReplyDeleteGood for him..thick man
ReplyDeleteCool, happy for him
ReplyDeleteGood and intelligent for his size in football ,nice one
ReplyDeleteAt Least fifa don recognise am guy congrat to u
ReplyDeleteBros kari go no look back jor.
ReplyDeleteProudly African.
ReplyDeleteProudly Nigerian.
Proudly black.
....THE ARCHITECT....
Handsome
ReplyDeleteBravo.Keep it up bro.
ReplyDeleteLinda wad up?
ReplyDeleteI've never for once seen my comment on display on your blog.
HE IS ALSO THE PLAYERV WITH THE MOST CARDS THIS SEASON IN HIS LEAGUE...
ReplyDeleteOMG! This is so good of him! We need someone like this in our midfield in the super eagles team, if possible.
ReplyDeleteHe has skills too.
ReplyDeleteKudos
ReplyDeletehe didnt really use his power against Liverpool.He used his skills
ReplyDeletecongratulations to him
ReplyDeleteNice, plz don't ever play 4 naija cos dey will use & dump u. Linda take note!
ReplyDeleteNOTICE NOTICE NOTICE Chevron Nigeria, Stanbic IBTC bank, Amec oil and gas, Etisalat Nigeria, Nigeria Fire Service, Nigeria Brewery Recruitment is on call 09027134880 to start applying
ReplyDeleteRacist. Why is he called "The Beast"? Because he is black and African. If he were white they wouldn't nickname him beast. It would be something less animalistic.
ReplyDeleteGood for him
ReplyDeletecool dude. I watched the game they played against Liverpool. Did not do too bad.
ReplyDeleteThis is the kind of news I want to be hearing abt niger biko....
ReplyDeleteNo b only bad news. ....
We are getting there by God's grace