IBB says his government was filled with saints and angels | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 6 January 2015

IBB says his government was filled with saints and angels

Former Military Head of state, Gen. Ibrahim Babangida described members of his administration as saints and angels compared to those in power today. IBB made this remark during an interview with EFCC's internal correspondence "Zero Tolerance"
"Let me tell you something, maybe you have a hand in it. I have been the most investigated President Nigeria has ever had. By now, somebody should have come forward to say here it is. Every government that came after me investigated me because of that perception as they wanted to retrieve the billions I stole. Well, we had different approaches. I think my government was able to identify corruption-prone areas and checked them. If you remember in this country, there were things they call essential commodities. These are also sources of corruption. You go and buy Omo or food or whatever it is and we got government to take its hands off such activities. Let people use their own brains, hands and labour, nobody has to do it for them. So we did but I am proud to say that was much more effective. I don’t have the facts but if what I read in the newspapers is currently what is happening then I think we were angels” he said
IBB says the perception that his government institutionalized corruption is incorrect, arguing that with the little his administration was making from oil they could do what they did but with the much the present administration is making from oil, much is still left to be desired
"Yeah, I know. Maybe I have to accept that but anybody with a sense of fairness has no option but to call us saints. I give you an example, in a year I was making less than $7billion in oil revenue. In the same period, there are governments that are making $200billion to $300billion. With $7billion, I did the little I could achieve. With $200billion, there is still a lot to be achieved.”he said
On the $12.4billion oil windfall from the 1991 Gulf War which many believed was stolen by his government, Babangida insisted the money was not stolen.
“First of all, that war lasted three months, about ninety something days. It didn’t last up to a year. So get the facts straight. Secondly, the oil price at that time was below $18 per barrel. So, there is no way you could make $12.4billion in three months. We could not have made that amount of money but Pius Okigbo knew what he was doing. He had brains and he said between 1986 or 1988 to 1994, monies accrued to the Federal Government at that time was about that money you are calling windfall. He said so. It is there in his book. Then the other thing he said, the monies could have gone into generative investment. I am not an economist but I have an understanding of what this is. Our argument then was if you have the money, why keep it and be looking at it when you have a lot of things that will benefit the ordinary man. So that money was not stolen. It is what you see now in the country. Thank God most of the infrastructure we put in place are what you are using today and proudly so.”
Gen Babangida says the gains from the oil boom was used in the development of infrastructures such as the FCT Abuja and the third mainland bridge in Lagos amongst others
“Abuja for example, I built Abuja. Today, we have a brand new capital. We used that money. I gave you a Third Mainland Bridge in Lagos. You cannot build it now for all the money Nigeria is making. And what did it cost me? N500million, N600million, N700million. For the first time, a dual carriage way was seen in the Northern part of the country between Kaduna and Kano and then linked it up from Abuja. You cannot afford to do it now; you cannot even afford to touch it because there are a lot of competing needs.”he said
IBB who announced the annulment of the June 12 election in which business mogul Late Chief Moshood Abiola was adjudged the winner, accepted that the election was a credible election
"Yes, it (June 12) is a day in the history of Nigeria and the day the most credible election was held. We gave you a lot of reasons but I understood the passion. At that time, everybody was fed up. The sentiment was:  just pack your things and go. Our thought process is very limited. First of all, on June 23, 1993, I was on the air and I told Nigerians why we had to do what we did but I was sensible enough to know that whatever I said nobody was interested. So, the important thing is get out.”he said
Speaking about his investments, Babangida said he is a major shareholder in a bank but failed to mention the name of the bank or the value of his shares in the bank.

On how he built his Hilltop Mansion in Minna, Babangida said:
“I cannot estimate because it has appreciated. I know what my friends spent. No, my friends contributed. They were friends before we came into government and friends while I was in government. I started building it in 1991, took two to three years so that by the time I finished, I would have a house to sleep in.”

105 comments:

1. Where den bring all of una comeout frm again kwanu...d last time I heard ur voice was in 2011

1. @Lawyer Mfon aka "The Good Wife",

Thanks 4d lovely correction ~ "chicks" instead of "cheeks" on d first lady of Lagos post.

Dat was so lovely&sweet of u mostly wit d way u went abt it. I never knew we had mature&sensible soul lik u on dis blog. Dis show u r properly brought up&well trained@home for charity begin@home.

@Anonymous&co. pls copy frm her...she is a shining star&worth emulating.

May God grant ur needs@every points of ur life~Amen!

Cheers.

#Royal Priesthood#

2. He better go back to his hole

3. Is he telling us to believe him or just granting interview

4. Bla bla bla ..the last time I checked, the value of Naira was much more higher than what it is today, so spare me the fairy tales... Itz election time, and everyone is blabbing..even OAU student are saying that they will not vot for GEJ if he doessnt reduce their school fees*lolz*..also a lot of other groups are doing the same thing.. Most of you people are all oppourtunist.. GEJ u don suffer..

5. Dem dey find all ways to push GEJ commot, Una nor reash

6. IBB:WOLVE UNDER SHIP CLOTHING..
      DON RICHIE SAID SO VIA TECNO

7. WALAHI DIX MAN DIDN'T HAVE CONSCIENCE..
      ×DON RICHIE SAID SO VIA TECNO

8. IBB's administration was filled with 2nd class criminals while Jonathan's is filled with 1st class criminals

9. Everyone wants to b relevant in dis election

10. Everyone will talk bcos election is around the corner

11. Pls what d hell is @royal priesthood always talking about? There r better ways to get noticed na. Nawah o

2. Replies
    1. What do u expect him to say when even obasanjo can claim to be a saint.
      Itwas dem who started nigeria probs n gej is a continuation of dat prob.

2. See thief calling himself a saint. IBB Oshi

3. Replies
    1. I never knew he still exist sef.

2. Shebi GEJ is the problem? Gullible nigerians! These mafia will deal with you! Wait let them seize power 1st..#smh

3. Wow I like this your comment anonymous 2:43pm....you make me laugh

4. Pot calling kettle black.Weldone IBB

.đź‘ŹBIG BROTHER SAYS SO.đź‘Ź

1. No be small weldon oooo. Mtwwwwwww

5. IBB the devil himself!

1. ....and then somebody lied the same way I read this morning from Linda's post! !! Just to keep being relevant or what??? Mtcheeeew

6. Yes.. compare to Jonathan's govt. Ibb govt was filled with criminal grade 2 while Jonathan's govt is filled with first class educated criminals lol

7. I wasn't born den,so lemme keep mute...

8. @Lawyer Mfon aka "The Good Wife",

Thanks 4d lovely correction ~ "chicks" instead of "cheeks" on d first lady of Lagos post.

Dat was so lovely&sweet of u mostly wit d way u went abt it. I never knew we had mature&sensible soul lik u on dis blog. Dis show u r properly brought up&well trained@home for charity begin@home.

@Anonymous&co. pls copy frm her...she is a shining star&worth emulating.

May God grant ur needs@every points of ur life~Amen!

Cheers.

#Royal Priesthood#

1. Dude,we've noticed u biko!! Stop spamming here!! Haba!

2. Ataya o.

9. La pa 'bo?! Even d devil will say such.

10. too long to read,linda you would have surmarized it instead of giving us this home work lol,any thats his own cup of tea,everyones mothers soup is sweeter JC.

11. story for the gods, ibb started the problem of devaluation of our currency, he is of no good to dis country

12. Who kill dele Giwa:...if you call am gida na you sabi.....i wasnt born during his regime but going by history, he is the most deadly and poisonious military head of the state then
    ¤
    ¤¤¤GUTS OVER FEAR¤¤¤
    ¤

13. Abeg go pees jor

14. Lol, corruption had increased tremendously in the current administration compared to his own, lol.
    @Mr Endowed via Lumia phone

15. Will u ever say bad about ur administration??tahhh

16. Rabbishhh

17. Lol I can't believevOBJ,GMB and marathon himself are all claiming saints now when it is an open secret that GEJ only followed the footsteps of his successors.If they are pissed off sincerely from their hearts that GEJ isn't frugal and very corrupt ,I'll understand. But all of them are condemning for different selfish reasons and sentiments.perhaps because GEJ the small boy that they thought is a richer and smarter thief than all of them.

18. Then please go and enjoy ur old age Sir and let Nigerians feel the breathe of freh air. You people have really suceeded in shattering Nigeria and all that the patriots fought for!
    BTW, ROYAL. PRIESTHOOD too much of everytin is bad. Kindly comment based on ish written and nt keep talking about a certain Correction made. Kudos to 'the good wife' tho.
    ***SUGAR***

19. Nice guy,na ppl like u we need not GMB

20. Abacha kids will call their fathe messiah... dee

21. now everyone has an opinion.shake my butt! ^_^

22. 2015 election get em own levels o. As e dey be!

23. ON THIS ONE SIR I AGREE WITH YOU ABSOLUTELY

24. Well, here I was thinking it was only OBJ who was loosing his senses. Welcome to the era mad Nigerian past presidents.

25. now everyone has an opinion.shake my butt! ^_^

1. Let's vote for buhari. Only he can end corruption. Imagine $1 is now N195. Things are getting worse cos of embezzlement. Some counties are poorer than Nigeria yet u can't compare the development there with here. So many youths unemployed and high crime rate yet some people have billions in their accounts. Vote someone who can end this and not someone that will make it continue

PS. I'm a christian

2. Let's vote for buhari. Only he can end corruption. Imagine $1 is now N195. Things are getting worse cos of embezzlement. Some counties are poorer than Nigeria yet u can't compare the development there with here. So many youths unemployed and high crime rate yet some people have billions in their accounts. Vote someone who can end this and not someone that will make it continue

PS. I'm a christian

26. More like thieves and demons **DOPEY SAID SO**

27. IBB:WOLVE UNDER SHEEP CLOTHING..
    DON RICHIE SAID SO VIA TECNO

28. Even IBB? I reserve my comment...James 2:16. @Bishop_Dammy

29. Make he let us hear word, bad ple everywia

30. More like thieves n demons **DOPEY SAID SO**

31. More like thieves n demons **DOPEY SAID SO**

32. LYNTROY SAY'S
    all the rigging of election,419,killing started wif u,so pls ehh,carry ur mouth fold it and stuck it in ur black ass........make i here far,and u dis yeye linda shebi u no get work abi.

33. I believe him if Ʊ can believe my mother is still a virgin

34. More like thieves n demons **DOPEY SAID SO**

35. IBB, are you sure? So what are u implying?

36. LET THOU SPEAK HIS MIND. BCOZ ONLY AA THIEF KNOWS HIS MENTOR. *MR DANIELS*

37. everybody is now calling this government the most corrupt even the international community! And this is because the fool at the top has allowed corruption to be practiced in the open market, which has enabled snakes like IBB and OBJ to come out and make salacious statements! Yet that ogogoro drink man wouldn't come out to lay all this sh*t to rest! Let incumbency not fool Jonah, he might just lose this election!

38. Elections is next month,every Ass hole feels the need to air his opinion#Sit down Oga IBB

39. Linda,tomorrow is my birthday...I'll be 24...Oya,say happy birthday to me :)

40. mehn. ATleast Goodluck jonathan cant claim d same. i'm not a political brainny boy, but i think Buhari will win dis election.

41. HMMM...IBB U ARE NO ANGEL RARA BUT IF I NOW LOOK AT THE NIGERIA OF TODAY I WOULD ALMOST BELIEVE YOU, BUT YOU PPLE BROUGHT US TO WHERE WE ARE TODAY!

42. IBB, DAMN YOU, YOU ROTTEN AND EVIL CREATURE. FULANI AND HAUSA PEOPLE ARE FOREVER THINKING THAT THEY ARE BORN TO RULE NIGERIA. THE SAME REASON FULANI AND HAUSA CRIMINAL GANGED UP ON ABIOLA IS THE SAME REASON FULANI AND HAUSA CRIMINALS ARE NOW GANGING UP ON PRESIDENT GOODLUCK JONATHAN. IBB, GMB AND OBJ (SLAVE OF FULANI CRIMINALS), ALL OF YOU ARE WASTING YOUR TIME. GEJ WILL BE RE-ELECTED. WE ARE FED UP OF HAUSA / FULANI DOMINATION.

43. ITS A PITY THAT A LOT OF PEOPLE DROPPING COMMENTS ON THIS BLOG ARE SO NOT LEARNED, ARE SO IGNORANT... JEEZ... JENNY NKEM DID U READ WHAT U WROTE B4 POSTING IT... DAMN.

44. I think I am the only person on earth who believes you sir, your administration was filled with angels and saints from the pit of HELL. Wtf!!!

45. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Why my mama born me for this country in the first abeg.....

46. Really so we are meant to believe and applaud him

47. Really...ok so mak we dey jump up na..abeg goan rest...

48. See this demon dey talk! He's one of the biggest problems we have in this country!

What we are facing as a nation is the long term effect of crimes and corrupt practices of what IBB and his cohorts did in their time.

#onewayortheorderhewillpay

49. We hear you sir. Frm Michelle

50. When a foundation is properly laid, the house will stand the test of time.
    It takes alot of hardwork and discipline to correct the mistakes of our past leaders.

51. Saints and Angels indeed! Abeg make i hear word...

52. He is d grandfather of it all.

53. International Bad Belle(IBB)

54. IBB truncated a democracy if he cannot give an explanation why he annulled the June 12 election, which is the fairest election Nigeria has ever done.. then he should keep quiet and rare cattles in his Minna manoon built by Julius Berger Nigeria, which he has a major share in.. He is the worst leader Nigeria as ever had. We have not recovered from SAP till date.. Nigerians are just gullabe shaa... Black man too dey forget history and cannot research that's why this country will never be successful, until we change the way we reason.

55. I like what politicians say just before they are elected. After elections thats when soberness starts

56. Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

IBB!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

THERE IS GOD OOOOOOOO

»»SAYS DE-CHAMPION««

57. first of all not everything printed in the papers are true. Also, yes IBB did steal money, most of the leaders did, probably all but!! things were cheaper when he was in power, and its true he was not generating as much as GEJ is generating now from oil. I wont have IBB back in power, I think he is too smart of a thief but for God's sake unless GEJ is ready to listen!!! and ready to change things and change the people around him, he needs to GO!! I am beginning to think people that say GEJ is a simple man might be right, maybe the guy is a good humble guy, maybe, but! we need more than a good guy humble guy to run the affairs of the country right now, we need giant strides, man that can take them, man that can make positive decisions without the fear of God fathers and for Christ sakes, why the hell is his government soooo big!!! why do we need this much people advising him and this much ministers and permanent secretaries in ministries, why would he insult us by thinking we are that naive to agree that it takes 2 decades to fix the electricity problem we have.

58. Well I don't blame him, atleast with the level of corruption in jonathan's administration he feels he is a saint.

59. He shouldnt be taken seriously. He just want attention.

60. But na true he yarn, one can't begin 2 compare d level of corruption 2day & den. Linda take note!

61. Where did it happen? Is not in this country Nigerian?

62. "Thank God most of the infrastructure we put in place are what you are using today and proudly so.”.

The statement is so true...no govt in Nigeria has improved on that. Smh

63. Na so, like me saying Naija don de experience snow...lolzz

64. All these liars that brought Nigeria to where it is today. God will surely judge them.

65. Someone should ask this thief where the 21 billion dollars he and his fellow jihadists gave to Islamic organisation come from.

How come a Ĺ•etired army general all of a sudden after ruling nigeria he became a great share holder in a bank ?

So,this thief used 12.4 billion dollars to build 3rd mainland bridge and Aso rock alone ?

This thief said his friends built his mansion for him.IBB is a blood thieving bastard of all times and will never die well.

66. tinkn f d adjective 2 qualify ds buffoons buh i jes couldn't find d ryt wrd, well sha let we nigerians ip our fingers crossed n kip prayn 4 our gr8 nation #Nigeriawehailthee
    #madeofblack

67. Typical of Maradona. Which side is he now? The other time he said GMB is a failure today his evil regime is better than now as it was full of saints. You will be judged appropriately by God. Instead of you to bury your head in shame. Lucifer's brother. Mtchewww.

68. Typical of the self-aclaimed evil genius. Neither here nor there. GMB is a failure, GEJ is corrupt, so who are you supporting?? Mr. Maradona, since you played yourself into obscuity, bury your head in shame. God will judge you appropriately at His appointed time for the sins you committed to your fatherland without any iota of shame or guilt. The blood of those you killed are asking for revenge. Mitcheww.