Governor Fashola opens register for sex offenders in Lagos State | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 2 December 2014

Governor Fashola opens register for sex offenders in Lagos State

Kudos to Lagos State Governor, Raji Fashola who is the first Nigerian governor to open a sex offenders register. He signed an executive order to provide for compulsory reporting of actual or suspected child abuse and establishment of a sex offenders’ register at the State House, Alausa Secretariat, Ikeja, yesterday Dec. 1st. 

He also identified Alimosho, Kosofe, Agege and Oshodi-Isolo Local Govt as the councils with the highest cases of Sexual and Gender Based Violence crimes in the state...
Below is what Fashola said
“I will like to tell those perpetrating the act in these local governments (Alimosho, Kosofe, Agege and Oshodi-Isolo) to desist now because we would be coming after them. We will combat these crimes so that they do not become big crimes in the state. Also, in order to ensure that criminals are monitored, we have created a crime data register which states everyone who has engaged the criminal justice system of the state, and we have close to a 100, 000 offenders on that register. And very soon, we would start deploying people to the data rooms in the police stations across the state to gather the bio data of offenders including their photographs and others.
“This was why we have asked everyone to register so that before you employ anyone, you will know his track record. And this is the time for everyone especially women to speak against it. This is the time for us to have a local enforcement unit; either we call it state police or whatever name we wish to call it, to protect the women from frequent abuse from the opposite gender. This is the time for women to rise up and challenge employers who sets unimaginable targets for their female employees. These were targets they could not set for men,” he said
The Lagos State Attorney-General Mr Ade Ipaye added that 
“We monitoring one hundred and thirteen 113 sexual violence cases currently at the High Court. The Team is working actively to ensure prompt prosecution of these cases. The major aim of the Sex Offenders Monitoring Programme and the Mandated Reporter policy is to reduce repeat cases by providing names and personal details of convicted sex offenders in the State to a central database. The Database will be accessible to individuals and organizations that need information. For example, School proprietors who want to recruit can access this Register as a form of background check.
“The Mandated Reporter policy will make it compulsory for all State School Administrators, Counsellors, Teachers, Social Welfare Officers and any other official of the State Government having any dealings with children to report any suspected or actual child abuse or neglect to the Attorney-General’s office. It is envisaged that the Lagos State Sex Offenders Register will be open and maintained by the Lagos State Ministry of Justice in partnership with the Lagos State Judiciary, the Nigerian Prisons and the Nigerian Police”. He said...

121 comments:

1. Good job my governor..#YMYB

1. This is how to tackle social issues and connect your self with the people. One after another . I bet our president hasn't heard of this one yet. Fasola for president ejor.

2. And thay won't now let a level headed logical thinking individual like this become president. Instead na so so retards.

2. Good...guess he is the only politician doing something

Jamesflaw from Mars 😎//-~~~

3. That's a welcome development

4. That's a good one coming from him, sex offenders beware!!! #onelovefromSnow#

5. Nice one.
    See what happened to me yesterday... www.udokajane.blogspot.com

6. So nice of him.
    Still can't believe someone as good as BRF will just go into political oblivion after his tenure as Lagos governor. No we need him to stay much around.

7. Intelligent man, thank you ....

8. Best governor in Nigeria. Next president after GEJ. lol

1. Stop to look for trouble from GEJ people oooo lol

9. >>>>>> Way to go Fashola, i guess not fewer than 20 cases would be reported/recorded daily in Lagos, am happy for it <<<<<<<<<

10. Fashola is my mannest Governor, Muslim or not, the man is God sent to lagos and Nigeria as a country. God bless u Fashola.m

11. I'm officially enamoured by this man!
    Pictures of the offenders should be placed in the papers too

12. good move. linda post my comment naw.... i fit cry oh!

13. ricnino4real@yahoo.com2 December 2014 at 17:22

nice one! kudos

14. Emeraldo56@gmail.com

Good Development

15. This is a good idea. Hope it will be fulfilled. mjabdulk@gmail.com

16. Eko Oni baje!!!

17. Kudos to governor fashiola. He is not just a governor, he is a president material.

18. Good work! Hope this continues

19. Great#in d tone of phyno

Long live LIB™

20. Thank you sir! Pls I need such in the east.

21. Its a welcomed development.......Fashola for president 2015......

22. Nice 1 ur excellency.......Topzyus@yahoo.com

23. Fashola is the man nigeria need. kudos to him...

Idoma boi said so

24. kudos to my Governor
    i wish he should go for president, i would vehemently campaign for him & vote. he's a medium of change that we all need, a great man which can take this nation to next level

25. Y am i not suprise...considering d fact he is the only governor that seems to be working,wishing other governors wld take a cue...Nice one fashola

26. Fashola eko onibaje I love dis man

27. I rarely comment... However I have to say that love this man! He is a very progressive leader. A lot of women and especially children are being sexually abused in our communities and this is indeed a step in the right direction.

28. Nice one . I hope people co-operate with the state.

29. A step worth emulating by other states

30. Great Job. Now I hope those bloggers who post rape and sex abuse videos on their platforms for the fun of it will be mindful of the fact and I pray the police will follow leads that will bring rape and abuse culprits to book.Also those that strip and humiliate women who are accused of minor or major crimes will stop the act or face the law.

31. a very wonderful idea..nice one..
    mildredmaisamari@gmail.com

32. Excellent! This is the kind of mind we need as President, people of nigeria its high time we started campaigning for Fashola to become the president of Nigeria. #fasholaforpresident2015 #brfforpresident2015

33. Nice. I stay @ alimosho nd its true.

34. Kudos to Fashola, he is always ahead with good policies to enhance the safety of the citizens. Brave! !

One and only Ada David Omobabalanu says so

35. God bless this man! BRF may you continue to excel. Smh for Kaduna state governor. *bbmstraightface*

36. Too long plz. Some one shud summarize.

37. Well done sir. This is good news. I won't like my children to go through what I went through.

38. Brilliant move but I hope it doesn't backfire to punish the innocent victims. QUEENMAYA. REPORTING. LIVE FROM PH

39. pls put aunty shola's name among them.

40. Pls hope that okereke guy ( stephanies bro) will be no 1 on the list.

41. He really mean business.. Hoping it's no campaign strategy.

*My R1.50c comment*

42. Good job Sir. Sweedydiagold@gmail.com

43. After reading this new law passed by fashola, I couldn't help but broke down in tears of joy, finally broken women like me can get justices, without being blamed or stigmatized. I'm a young lady in her mid 20s, I've been abused, raped, forced to bed out of my wish by course mate, my boss, in fact I've been a subject of assault and abuse all my life.But finally a messiah (governor fashola) has come, God bless lagos state, God bless daddy fashola.

44. About time, and I hope they take it serious..

45. I'm 25 years old, I've not voted before but will only cast my vote anytime Fashola is running for presidpresidency. This are the kind of people we want in power

46. Sex offenders register should not be used to intimidate or harass innocent people or political opponents. Sex offender should only be registered after he or she has been convicted by a competent court. If he or she appeals offence cannot be registered until appellate court confirms conviction. Prohibition of smoking in public places law has failed. Go and arrest area boys smoking hemp in public and see what will happen! Lets not play to the gallery.

47. Correct Man!!! more grease jore!

48. To me ooo fashola is simply the best. Which he can contest for the presidential post sef

49. Nice one. ...Kudos to Gov.Raji Fashola.

50. Hehe, there goes a +1 to the "good deed" record...who would've thought!! Well nat even in ma weirdest dreams...wait wah I wanna know is "why is he doing that now"?? Countless times, lasses molested!! Guess He's more of a tyke than Imagined ...

51. Good idea but will this be any use since Nigeria don't have a good database system of identity to decipher who is dead and alive much more the crowded Lagos full of immigrants whose identity are barely known.

#myopinionofcourse
    lobiekegG@mail.com

52. Anoda giant stride. Mr. Fashola you seem to be our president made in heaven. You actually hav a greater chance of being the president dan the ones clamouring for it in your party! The future is for those who seize today. There is a place for a man decides to change the status quo.

53. Nice moves by our dear governor more grace sir

Modupe

54. How i he could be the president of this country....ologunifemidolapo@yahoo.com

55. Wow! Wonderful news..... Ds wat we nid in naija... Nice bt I still dnt want u as VP cos dey will corrupt u beyond help

56. Job well done Gov Fashola.....kudos

#abbytohxoft

57. Our president. The bae of all politicians

58. Thank God for that at least all dos offenders sud be severely dealt with....nice one Mr.Gov

59. Good.

OLUWABUNMI

60. Wow. Lagosians dey on rampage oh. Girls beware!!!!!!!

61. Very good move, how I wish all governors are this proactive.

62. Fashola is still working. Governor Fashiola I know, Governor Akpabio I know. Who are you Amaechi Rotimi? Xxxxx Ndubuaku

63. But why APC?? Field this guy as Vice President nah!!!!!

64. And they disqualified this man because he is a Muslim?! MKO and his running mate were Muslims and Nigeria voted for them in numbers. Yes it is a different time, but I believe Nigerians want the best and will vote a Fashola ticket in! Kudos to the man wey sabi!

65. Wow! I'm impressed!

66. Nice one there gorv. Keep it up. (•͡.̮ •͡ )

67. Fashola for president. A praise-worthy move

68. Replies
    1. Ogochukwu - you're a freaking clown! Of course this is news. In a sad and broken Nigeria, it is in fact amazing news. If this was a post about Wiz Kid and some new whip he'd brought I'm sure you'd have a lot to say. Ewu Gambia!

69. Wow!!!!!! This is commendable. Pray other governors follow suit.

70. I just love this man.
    Faceoflib

71. Nice 1!!! I hope it wud stil be maintained afta his regime!!! *fingerscrossed. Ff@chymedony

72. Nice one, hope other governors will follow his foot step

73. This is Great... Eko baje ti!

74. Kudo to you governor Fashola infant Nigeria need you as a president bcos we believe you can fail us

75. How will this work wen nigeria does give out national insurance number lik d uk? Person fur change name 5 times if den catch am na.. There's no record of citizens in Nigeria, no bio data or data base

76. That is a bold and gallant step...this is what I call a leader with clear vision and standards not hypocrites

77. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    any governor governing lagos will do what he did abeg so this is no big deal..

78. Chei.see a nija governor setting international standards for FG to follow.
    Where is my snuff box?

79. Welcomed Development

80. Kudos. Wish we could have this kind of governor here in Niger state.

81. Omo, dis office go tire to attend to cases

----#Auntylindagoddaughter#

82. Born to Lead.....

83. Get educated ignorance is not only a disease but can be a life and death decision. http://ikechukwupatsy.blogspot.com

84. Good One

85. Kind of brains that need to govern my country

86. Nice move BRF. Fash for presIdent. Idc Idc Idc

87. Finally!!! Rambling scrotums beware! My President (that's not a typo) has spoken!!!

88. Why is this guy not president :(

89. okay for women only this nigga na woman wrapper abeg..why hin no do something for we men sef...like if our babe ask us for brazilain hair money and we give her she no still cook food for us chop make dem put am as criminal offense sef..or if babe lie for guy say she dey church and na club she dey make dem put her name for criminal list...we need equal rice and pokmo oh...nice one dis nigga should go for presidency issh na we need someone like dis my guy bobo fasho...

90. okay for women only this nigga na woman wrapper abeg..why hin no do something for we men sef...like if our babe ask us for brazilain hair money and we give her she no still cook food for us chop make dem put am as criminal offense sef..or if babe lie for guy say she dey church and na club she dey make dem put her name for criminal list...we need equal rice and pokmo oh...nice one dis nigga should go for presidency issh na we need someone like dis my guy bobo fasho...

91. So nice of him,we need more of him to stay around

92. This man is just filled with good ideas, Oh God! please make this man the President of this country. Nice one People's Gov

93. nice one sir (eleyele1@yahoo.com)

94. Thumbs Up a million to my u dear Fashola! And now to all dos dogs who go about harrasing women sexually both young and old make una wear una dancing shoes as d music don start.we go soon no who go dance past! Ednamaka3@gmail.com

95. If only this will stop Kelechi Mbagwu of CMB from harassing us sexually in his office.

96. Please vote Gov. Fashola as the next Nigeria president. The guy know what he is doing. Kudos to him.

97. This is still d best governor in this country and Apc are telling me no muslim-muslim na wa ooo... Linda if u like don't post my comment ooo

98. Always on point governor fashola. I love this man like kilode, his the best. GOD BLESS YOU SIR