Boy attacked by dogs discharged from hospital by father - Health Commissioner | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 2 December 2014

Boy attacked by dogs discharged from hospital by father - Health Commissioner

The little boy, Omonigho Abraham, who was viciously attacked by two dogs in Lagos has been forcefully discharged from hospital by his dad, this is according to the Lagos State government who released a statement this morning explaining their side of the story. Omo has since been flown to India for treatment. Find what the Lagos State government posted on their Facebook page below...
Master Omonigho Abraham, the four year old boy who sustained extensive injuries to his body, and a life threatening injuries to his scalp following an attack by dogs has been discharged from Lagos State University Teaching Hospital (LASUTH) by his father against medical advice, Lagos State Commissioner for Health, Dr. Jide Idris, has said.
The Commissioner stated that all attempts to talk Mr. Odia Abraham, the father of the boy against taking this wrong step were rebuffed by him as he also signed necessary papers to show his desperation.

Omonigho was in the Burns & Plastics unit of LASUTH where he was receiving specialist treatment after a vicious dog attack at their rented apartment at 35, Adegboyega Street, Akesan, Igando area of Lagos State on the 29th of September 2014.

The Commissioner, who made the disclosure today while reviewing the report of the plastic surgery specialists in LASUTH who attended to Omonigho, stated that the boy’s father took ill-advised step and chose to take his son out of the hands of the specialists on Friday, 28th of November, 2014 against medical advice after being thoroughly counseled that healthy granulation tissue growing on his son’s skull must not be interrupted.
While explaining the involvement of the State government in the management of Omonigho’s health, Idris said that the attention of the present administration, particularly the Governor, was drawn to the case of the boy, who was initially rushed to the Igando General Hospital, where he was stabilized and wounds cleaned by the medical team at the Accidents & Emergency ward of the hospital.
The Commissioner added that Omonigho was thereafter referred to the Burns & Plastics unit of LASUTH where Specialists in Plastic Surgery assessed him and promptly began to manage the life threatening avulsion injuries on his scalp which left most of his skull exposed.
The plastic surgery team, he said, placed the boy on intravenous medication, fluids and daily wound dressing in order to ensure that healthy granulation tissue can grow and cover the scalp before a skin graft can be successfully performed, stressing that the definitive management of Omonigho’s type of extensive and deep wounds is a skin graft.
He emphasized that when news of the sad and outrageous event was brought to the notice of the Governor, Mr. Babatunde Raji Fashola, he immediately directed that young Omonigho be offered everything that will ensure that he did not only survive the injuries, but recovers optimally, so that the opportunity to reach his full potential is not tarnished by the unfortunate accident.
He also explained that the directive by the Governor ensured that Omonigho receives the best of care at no charge to his parents or family members and that Mr. Abraham, was thereafter invited to the State Ministry of Health where he received full re-imbursement for expenses he incurred previously in the management of the son’s health.
“He was given a full exemption from paying any fees for the management of his son’s health at LASUTH during his stay there and Omonigho while recovering wrote a little “thank you” letter to the Governor”, Idris noted.
He said while the boy was receiving care at LASUTH, he was also visited by the Deputy Governor, Mrs. Adejoke Orelope-Adefulire, who spent time with him and his parents to ensure that they were adequately taken care of, stressing that during her visit, she found young Omonigho to be clinically stable and doing very well.
Idris averred that whilst conservative wound management was being done in the Burns and Plastic Ward, in LASUTH, the State Government set plans in motion to take Omonigho abroad for further management, where all expenses incurred would be covered by the state government, and that this was communicated to his parents who had close and continuous contact with the Ministry of Health.
“After a thorough search, a suitable hospital was found that would care for the young boy. The chosen facility was the RAK Hospital, Dubai UAE. LASUTH established a communication channel with RAK Hospital and it was determined that Omonigho would require a meshed skin graft coverage of the exposed skull for the next phase of his management. The Governor thus approved the funds for the management of Omonigho, which includes traveling, feeding and accommodation at the RAK Hospital in Dubai, UAE”, the Commissioner stated.
He noted that the boy’s father was promptly informed of the plan and was invited to the State Ministry to discuss the details of the approval, travel plans and hospital arrangements, and was thereafter given a letter of approval stating the plans to fly his son abroad and was asked to provide his son’s passport with an accompanying family member in order to process visas and other travel requirements.
“However, Mr. Abraham informed us that a Non-Governmental Organisation from Delta State has made arrangements to fly him and his son for medical treatment at a hospital in India. He was counseled on the benefits of receiving the package offered by the Lagos State Government and was also advised to put forward his decision as soon as possible so that the necessary arrangements can be made to transfer his son and a family member of his choice to Dubai for the treatment”, the Commissioner noted.
He added that the State government, in an effort to ensure the best care possible for Omonigho, also offered to support Mr. Abraham if he would rather go to India, in the hope that he would be getting the best care possible from the unnamed hospital in India, being sponsored by the NGO.
The Commissioner however disclosed that Mr. Abraham, for reasons best known to him, chose to take his son out of the hands of the plastic surgery specialists in LASUTH on Friday, 28th of November, 2014 against medical advice.
According to him, “the surgical team explained to Mr. Abraham that it was pertinent that the healthy granulation tissue growing on his son’s skull through the careful, thorough and expert care of the Plastic Surgery team must not be interrupted as this may cause infections to set in, and slow the healing process, as well as, delay any definitive reconstructive surgery. But Mr. Abraham unfortunately, took the ill-advised step to leave the facility after being thoroughly counseled by the specialist”,

143 comments:

1. Wish him quickest recovery #onelovefromSnow#

1. Wish him quick recovery

Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com

2. Quickest recovery to him oh.

Long live LIB™

3. Its heartbreaking seeing children go through pains. I wish him quick recovery

4. Nigerian govt is obviously not ashamed of themselves! If this incident had happened in India or Dubai, would we ever hear dat dey were making arrangements to transfer d patient to Nigeria for a procedure as little as skin grafting? Dis is ridiculous!!!! Smh.....after dey hv finished looting Nigerians, dey pretend to be showing some sort of support so dat d helpless masses Wld say "we r grateful to d government of so and so state". if everything was in place, would der be need to fly dis young boy abroad? Shameless leaders!!!

5. Why didn't Fashola ask d H.O.D of plastic and burns department of LUTH the reason d skin grafting can't be done in LUTH? Of course, he doesn't wanna hear d obvious truth dat dey don't have d necessary equipments to carry out d procedure even wen dey have d manpower! Stupid retards!

2. Thank God for His mercies.........

3. Since then,hope he is better now.

4. Oh oh! Against medical advice Why now? For what reason? May God grant the child sound health o. 3john 1:2. BishopDammy#

5. linda am rooting for my guy @Aloy Chikezie, he is an ardent reader on this blog and deserves to win

jenyking commenting via #Etslat

1. Alloy dat had sdk blogboo attached to his name? Really? U must b joking

2. You can't serve two masters at the same time, Alloy chikezie has already won in the last giveaway, not only that he went to share recharge card on another blog and lastly attaching sdk blog boo to his name, there are other more deserving blog visitors that are more consistent than him pls

6. Wish him quick recovery in India.

7. linda am rooting for my guy @Aloy chikezie, he is an ardent reader on this blog and deserves to win

jenyking commenting via #Etslat

8. The poor boy dey India already.stale news

Bolateethole.blogspot.com

9. Hmmm I just pray it doesn't turn out ugly.

10. Thank Goodness he's recovered.

11. its good that he was flown to India...

#GodblessNigria

12. Everyone is afta d betterment of d childs health.....Wat ever step taken...i pray its d best.....In all, Thank God for His mercies

13. Why wuld the father of this boy do such a thing now!! I hope he realises how delicate his son's condition is? (gridironchief@gmail.com)

14. Such lofty promises is mostly possible in papers and blogs and not real life.The father must have had reasons for taking his son away.I doubt if the govt made good its promise coz I've read somewhere where the father complained of being abandoned.

1. Exactly @Bonita,I watched his interview on TVC,he complained of neglect and failed promises on the part of the state Govt.

15. Maybe some experts says otherwise and advised him to discontinue the treatment over there. All the same, may God continue to heal the boy

16. Medical advice, Lagos State Commissioner for Health, Dr. Jide Idris, has said.
    ‘people wonder why my breasts are so big’ – lady known as ghana’s Kim K[pics]

17. wow got really tried 4 d family but it's d father 2 d child okk, how can he tak d guy out jst like witot takin medical advice

18. The fathers rash decision might have put d boy in danger. May God see him through.

19. As long as the boy is treated,no wahala...

20. Www.sellandbuythat.blogspot.com!! We sell your fairly used or brand new stuff for you!! Its free

21. Mr Odia Abraham wants the best for his son which they were not Giving him.

22. I dont blame him, he is scarred .nd I hope those dogs have bin killed

23. Wait to hear from mr Abraham first before I can comment on this....other story might be difference...need to hear the both syd of d story first....#W.G##

24. aaaahhhhhh I think he is just doing what he think is the best option for his little boy. u think he should just leave it in the hands of the lagos state government

25. To be honest all I see here is politics...lagos state (APC) wants to take the glory, while Delta state (PDP) has taken the glory by flying the boy to India. Make we talk true if na you nko wnt u accept d India offer, cos am.sure if that boy were to be Fashola's sonhe wuold have flown him abroad d next day.leave matter lagos state we knw wat u guys are trying do.

1. Very well said

2. It was mentioned as an NGO (meaning Non Governmental Organization) in Delta state not Delta State government, so I don't get where PDP is coming from

26. I hope he's taking the right decision.
    This is a matter of life & death
    A word is enough for a wise

27. It is unfortunate that nigeria hospitals do not have enough health facilities for taking care their citizens unless they are flied out. The right thing has been done for flying Omonigho out to where proper care should be done to him. mjabdulk@gmail.com

28. Who knows the promises the so called NGO has made to him. Greedy Nigeria or is him looking for another re-reimbursement. He should have thank God that Gov. Fashola came to the boys aid. I pity the health status of that little boy... money monger. better have a rethink before u cry had I know which I know u wil cry at last....

1. Pray that you are never in a situation where you are to take such decisions. You have no idea what that family is passing through and so you are not in a position to judge.

29. You see its always good to listen to both sides of a story before coming to a conclusion. On another blog the picture painted was that govt had neglected the boy and he wasn't been cared for. The man went as far as giving out his acct no for nigerians to help donate money to help his son thereby painting a bad picture of the hosiptal and lagos state govt. Now reading this explanation from the lagos state commissioner of health shows that the man is up to something. Maybe monetary gains from the NGO. My only prayer is that the boy survives after all these drama....

30. Heaven help d poor boy #*karlishah*

31. At a point I got tired of reading this. ogologo akuko. biko next

I'm out. ***CATCH ME IF U CAN**

32. Why now oga? Please govt monitor this baby to ensure his dad dont endanger him

33. Well, reasons best known to him. At times the care givers at the government hospitals are careless and neglect patients. His father is probably more comfortable with the NGO.

34. Its too long, was tired of reading.

35. Nadine via nadin4real@gmail.com2 December 2014 at 10:02

Prayerfully hoping for no further complications. D sweet boy has suffered so much already @ his tender age

36. why take him away when he's recovering already?.... God Please Help The little boy>>>>

37. I WISH HIM QUICK RECOVERY IN JESUS NAME, AMEN...

38. its a lie hw can d so called lagos state govt nd d ministry of health offer him so much nd he still prefers to to go wit d NGO mr idris we ar nt fools.

39. Politics Politics .....Uduaghan has flown d boy to India, Fashola is coming out to clear his name. Lolssss Papa of the boy I undastand y u took ur son n decided to take d India offer cos if na Fashola he for don fly his pikin sef d very day of d dog bite.

40. Linda, pls you have to hear the boy's Father side of the story because Why would a sane father neglect the health of his son? Anyway, maybe the NGO is giving him a better offer!

One and only Ada David Omobabalanu says so.

41. Hope he has a better offer from the NGO and won't cause more harm to the little boy..

42. Thank God he's ok. Fashola is such a nice man. I wish that every governor would be like him.
    Faceoflib

43. Na im sabi...... but if anytin happens to that boy I'm so sure Nigerians will forget he is the father of the boy. D govt even offered to assist if he preferred d boys treatment in India. My simple prayer is that nothing happens to that boy

44. Good to know! May God help us all

45. U see what am saying, now government is doing all its possible best in saving d innocent boy's life but his own father would not allow them to finish up what they started. Is al right

46. Hmmmmm, the government did his best. I wish the boy quick recovery.

Scholes

47. Hehe, jx let the Geezer be! its his kid after-all..

48. Mr Abraham shd v allowed his son 2 b taken 2 RAK 4 further treatment since lasu v shown really done well by sustaining d boys life till now nd besides Gov FASH is involve. So y risk it by a mere promise 4rm an NGO ur not even sure of. Be cautious in every action u tak cause if Anytin shd apen 2 ur boi wit dis development u wil surely answer 4 it even if his ur son

49. am scared for the lil man

50. All the best tothe innocent little boy

51. I guess his son's life means more to him than the long epistle dished here by the LASUTH team. Speedy healing and recovery to the young lad.

52. I wish Omonigho Abraham a speed recovery IJN. Amen. I personally thank the Lagos State Governor, Mr Babatunde RAji Fashola. He is such a man with good heart. God Bless u Sir. And all other people in charge of the care of Omonigho Abraham. God Bless u all.

53. na wa o..Goldensarah9@yahoo.com

54. Thank God the boy is fine. But his father shouldn't have taken him away sha.

55. Tank God 4 his quick recovery, Cute boy

56. Oh God, please keep this boy ooo. Let him not die oo In Jesus name

57. Good decision... Same things dis crazy politicians will do... #abroad treatment for headache...

58. Linda abeg wetin LASG wan achieve for this long note? The Man has acknowledged LASG assistance. and other pple that assisted his son. This wan na politics na oo. be a PDP govt finally sent him abroad. Fashola now wants us to know they did something as well. Am sure this their Dubai offer came after Mr Odia has told them of his intention moving his child from LASTECH to India. Anyhow His in the Land of one of the best doctors in the World. treatment has commenced and he will recover fully.

1. I think you are right. Politicians and political gain. I wish the boy speedy recovery. For the dogs and the owner...

59. Ooh see what dogs did to this cute li2 boy, ,..those dogs should be taken to calabar for proper discipline. ,thats if they come back alive

#abbytohxoft

60. This comment has been removed by the author.

61. Good news. I hope such a case doesnt repeat itself

62. We mustn't judge from just one side of the story,am sure his father too will have his own reasons too,cause he won't be that bad to let his own son die.Mr.Commissioner sir,all what the little boy needs now is prayer,either he's flown to India or Dubai.Only God healeth!Get well soon handsome Omonigho.

1. I totally agree with u, the fathers point of view can reveal another story entirely

63. D man nah ode, hw can NGO support b better than Government

64. Wow, Most Nigerians don't believe in our doctors. I hope everything works out for that kid.

65. loveomashor@yahoo.com2 December 2014 at 10:27

It is wel

66. God would see him true!! Fashola did a grt job! Whch ever decision the man takes! The young boys life is in Gods hands!

67. I pray nothing bad happens to the boy, but let him (THE FATHER)bear the consequences..

68. Rubbish,where was this so called commissioner,when young Omonigho"s dad was crying out loud that his son"s health was threatened? Gibberish,i call this face saving,hypocrites. Mr Abraham has closed the avenue for embezzlement,ntoi.

1. @irekpita. u cld not have said it better. for weeks no drs attended to this boy. Jide Idris is only try to safe face. The Drs and nurses said no money was paid down for this boys treatment. Jide embezzled the money as usual.

69. Let's hope nothing happens to the boy.

70. God know best what transpired btw the man and lagos state govt, I hope the bboy recovers fully.temmiemidas@gmail.com

71. The process took so long and the father became desperate. I guess that's why he decided to take his son away. I would do the same if I were in his shoes.

72. Sad one, what motivated the fada to do dis, he knows better

73. Thank God he survived it, hope he would survive the physcological effect..thabk God 4 him..all is well

74. That accident was very painful.From what we read so far,the Lagos state Govt. have tried,big thanks to the Governor.Since the father of the boy want to take him away against medical advice,he should be allowed.We pray that the little boy will get well soon.

75. linda ikeji's boo2 December 2014 at 10:39

thank God he is doing fine now.

76. Why is he now releasing a statement now? Where was he when that child father was crying that the injury in the child's head was oozing?

77. Lindiway, I have a personal account with all this Govt hospital, one of the Teaching hospital in Lag treated my son for Pneumonia and they insisted on surgery but i refused and opted to take my son abroad for proper care, only for me to be counselled not take him abroad and do the surgery in their Hospital, To God be the Glory at the hospital abroad one of the best in that country, the child was discharged without any medication not to talk of surgery. They made us understand that the child does not require any surgery or medication, that from their thorough examination and test the child is ok, Linda i was made to sign different documents for rejecting a surgery in Teaching hospital even though it wasnt free. If you get to head this man's side of the story you will praise him for not accepting their offer.

1. Na so. I no know when dem start to dey treat pneumonia with surgery. Your story is bullshit.

2. Na nursery school final exams?!

78. Mr Commissioner, fear God o! Where were you when this man was begging your doctors/nurses to do more than robbing iodine on the boy's head every morning? Now that Edo state Govt offered to fly him to India (and you probably saw the boy and his mum's departure pictures in the news), you now want to appear good. Did you ever tell the boy's dad about the Dubai hospital, or were you planning to surprise him? SHior ...Abeg make we rest!

79. Na wa o,God should js heal d boi

80. I hope the father really knows what he is doing bcos if he doesn't and the boy fails to recover fully, he would never forgive him when he gets to know he had the chance to get full recovery but no thanks to his father's stupidity, he missed out on the opportunity.

81. well governments hospitals can be very bureaucratic .

82. Fuck dem, I knw wht DAT man must av seen. Using anoda man child and life for practicals... Dats wht dey do in teaching hospitals...becos dey rarely get cases like DAT dey find it an opportunity to observe hw it's gonna turn out...thereby endangering dat young man.

83. Oh my God..wat is this man doing..God help this boy .....jeffrey_irabor@yahoo.com

84. Some pple dey deceive dis man oooooooo,so dat dem go take d glory from lagos state govt nd Fashola

#Aunty Linda god daughter #

85. adaonah@yahoo.com2 December 2014 at 10:45

Storyyy,d boy's dad definitely knws wats best for his son abeg. Wil fashola have left his own son in lasuth. I trust our Nija docs re good bt dis same politicians fly demselves nd deir family members abroad even if na headache dey worry dem bt nw dey wan dey crucify papa omonigho bcos he has decided to do d way dey also tot us to behave. Long live d little boyyyy

86. Its his son. D government cannot have better plans for him than his dad. So if he decides dat d NGO option is better for d boy, den he should do as he pleases.

87. Father knows best for His son. If they were taking it so seriously d father won't do dat. Pls. God hav mercy on handsom OMO

88. see the fathers face.. hope there is a better explanation

89. Nothing ll happen to the boy...amyreal12@yahoo.com

90. the father knows d reason for his action anyway. wish d boy all d best and speedy recovery

91. Linda, Delta State government is paying for the boy's treatment in one of the best hospitals in the whole of Asian continent.
    The boy and his mum flew out on Friday.
    Lagos State government should take a chill pill and accept that the father took his child to another hospital rather than make it look as if he took his child home to be treated by himself and his wife against medical advise.
    Them try, but they are trying to politicize this matter.
    The boy is in good hands and Nigerians will celebrate with him on his return.
    The parents have thanked the Lagos State government and I think that is okk.
    You say make I come chop for KFC I say na THE PLACE i wan chop, nor be bad thing. At the end of the day I belleful naim matter.

92. The story is not complete till we hear from the boy's father.

93. Lord be with the little boy.. Obumnnemeudeze@gmail.com

94. it is his kid, let him decide what he thinks is best for him!

95. I wish him quick recovery and pray it turnns out well

96. Thank God for the life of this boy

97. NO WAY I'MN GONNA READ THIS! NOT LIKE I READ THIS MUCH FOR MY FINAL EXAMS SEF!

98. thank u BONITA BISLAM,u just read my mind...

99. I don't blame the man, service delivery in Nigerian hospital could sometimes be frustrating.

100. All is well.....may God let him recovered quick......oduntanadedoyin@yahoo.com

101. Thank God for his life, The child has a great future

chiangel4real2k@yahoo.com

102. Considering the fact that I do not know mr Abrahams full reason I can only say he is mad...judging from what i see here

103. I wish The Comm. & The Patient's Dad could be sit down for an interview. There is more to it. The Father might be right in his decision. Watch out for Patient's Father explanation on this....

104. Tank God for his life may d good Lord see him true

105. What matter most is the lil boy's recovery. Every other thing is just story

106. The question to the commissioner should be if the boy is his son will he still be in LUTHER WITH ALL THE INCOMPETENCY AND CARELESSNESS

107. It will make a lot of sense if we hear from the boy's father. It is very possible that paper work from Lagos State government may have been delayed because someone was looking for how his share can be incorporated.

108. ANY INTELLIGENT PERSON WILL KNOW DR IDRIS IS TRYING TO LAUNDER LAGOS GOVT IMAGE WITH D LONG STORY. I GET PISS OFF WITH STORIES LIKE DIS HOW LONG DOES IT TAKE TO TAKE A PATIENT ABROAD, SINCE WEN DID IT HAPPEN MORE THAN 3 MONTHS, FASOLA FATHER WHO WAS CLOSE TO D GRAVE THEN FELL SICK D NEXT DAY HE WZ BROT HERE (UNITED KINGDOM) WIT TAX PAYERS MONEY 4 TREATMENT AT D END HE DIED. DR IDRIS REMEMBER GOD JUDGEMENT IN UR POSITION, U WIL NOT BE DIA 4EVA. LEAVE D FAMILY ALONE DONT PLAY POLITICS WITH D BOYS LIFE GOD WILL HAVE MERCY ON D BOY

109. Wish him quick recovery oooo

110. Thanks to God and for us