Pics: Kenyan women protest harrassment of women over dressing | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 17 November 2014

Pics: Kenyan women protest harrassment of women over dressing

A video of a Kenyan woman being stripped naked by men on a street in Nairobi last week for dressing 'inappropriately' has sparked outrage in the country leading to several protests. Several women, including celebs and politicians took to the streets of Kenya today to protest the harassment calling for it to be illegal and asking government to arrest the men shown in the video stripping the woman naked.

The protesters have also started a campaign called #MyDressMyChoice, saying undressing a woman in public is sexual harassment. See photos from the protest after the cut...

Screengrab from the video...

49 comments:

1. Please dress properly, it is for your good

1. Abeg let them allow us to dress as we like ooo, we can even decide not to wear clothes at least we have been dressing naked since 1614 untill oyinbo called us babaric and brought clothes for us to wear in Africa. Kim kardashian is dancing naked and breaking internet and nobody is calling her babaric. Pls pls pls people these men should mind their biz abeg. I can even decide to wear pant and bra on the street self... Mtcheew it is my right, my freedom of expression ! My own way of getting attention that i love and crave for.... So sweet ! Hehehehe...

2. stupid b**ch till u get raped, na wen ur eye go open, after u go tok say dem don rape u die

2. these people should leave women alone.. just because a woman is dressed skimpy does not giv u the right to abuse her.. its her choice.. nd she will take responsibility.. all these useless randy men are the same ones sleeping with girls that wear mini skirts.. so wht gives u the ryt to b a hypocrite in public.. ppl shld mind their business abeg

3. The act is crazy, barbaric...
    unfair

4. undressing publicly is too much..think they went too far but still., dress well and save yourself any embarrassment! Simple. Phil 4:5-7. BishopDammy#

5. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Education they say is very important but some touts decide to skip that part..... They should all be arrested and locked for gud.....

6. Stripping them naked for inappropriate dressing Is actually barbaric and violation of their human right, so they are right to protest.

7. that is very bad of the man, dose stripping nake a woman makes difference to what he was fighting against.

8. I agree with the slogan, 'My Dress, My Choice.' It is molestation, sexual harrasment and freedom to expression in style when a clueless elements will strip a woman naked.

9. HHAHHAHAHAHAHA I CANT STOP LAUGHING OOOO KAI FUNNY PICS. PLS STOP THE VIOLENCE AGAINST WOMEN O U THESE DOGSS

10. doctors in d house wat pill can i take to add wight.pls i need ur advice

11. I definitely see that as a no sense act.. How could some men be that stupid and molestive!
    Man caught his wife doing it with 2 of their neighbours at same time in one night.

12. Men really need to respect women and please women dress well always

13. I agree with their protest. I wonder why some men are so stupid to naked a lady all in the name of indecent dress code. *MyDressMyChoice* #onelovefromSnow#

14. let their dressing be dia choice since thats what they want shikena. buh let dem not complain when rape cases increases

15. and a lady walked around naked in Newyork with jus a painted jean on her and no one noticed.. African men r d worst hypocrites i have ever seen and to cover up their animalistic behavior they start to tag God name in their stupidity.. yet millions of white ladies walk around nakedly and this same set of men applaud them. stupid people..inasmuch as i dont support skimpy dress but !Hey! mydressmychoice

1. Love you Bombshell.. Thats how one lady in my office was harassed by the male staff and my boss for wearing a micro mini to work. My boss actually asked her to go back home and change ...What nonsense!! This african mentality is killing us...what is wrong with a lady wearing micro mini to work after all white ladies wear them to work...rubbish.. My dress is my choice...dont tell me crap ...

16. women been strpped naked ofcourse makes no sense.

17. This is the best thing I've heard today,african women are finally wise,taking their own decisions and giving men the "middle finger" #humanrightsforall #equalityforall

18. Men to should be stripped for indecent dressing... Women are nt the only offenders wen it comes to indecent dressing.... #pissed#

19. I really dont knw why some ppu feel dey v d rights ova others

20. So many Animals living in humans, any man who tries to harrass any woman cos of her dressing is an Animal and should be treated as such! Kudos to Kenyan women,! .....why did God create Africa??

21. Y do men think they have the right to strip a woman naked......Some of these He - goats go around with ugly dirty boxer, y can't they be stripped too . illiteracy is a terrible thing....SOB #hissed#

22. And here I tout Nigerian av problem, missed priority.... They shud av protested half nicked to drive home their displeasure.... Rubbish

23. women should dress well or prepare to be disgraced.Do we expose our private part for you people?

1. U are a stupid fool. D woman didn't open her private part, she only dressed skimpy. Its som foolish men like u, charles (not all men) that stripped her and exposed her private part. Btw, must men do somtin b4 women do?

24. The second last pic is not from the nairobi protests... Kindly get your facts right. It is from an country

25. Am all for civil rights...but is dt why dt lady is showing us her pants...we women can be funny at times....why do we always feel d need 2 go naked..were creating problems for ourselves. ...men now need extremes to get turned on bcos we have made our bodies lose its titilating qualities..we flaunt it damn too much!

26. Linda tak amu easy jawe, me no c any video

27. Good move but you know some people go flout this rule, look at them women acting silly in them pictures, who needs to see your undies ma?!

28. Of the things happenings in the world, it is women dressing that caught kenyans eyes. #trivalissues.

29. Some men are just fucking animals!! Bastards..my dress my choice!!!

Feminist: a person who believes in the political, social and economis equality of both sexes

30. Dis is just too bad
    D next thing is to b raping their women like in india

31. This is fantastic and good for them for taking a stand. I haven't seen what these men called inappropriate but absolutely nothing should be a reason why you strip a grown woman or child of her clothes because you decide its inappropriate. I hope they really get justice and well done to what seems like a peaceful protest. Human rights issues should never be seen as not important. Stand up Africa for your rights.

32. That's total nonsense......d men should dealt with, what's their Fuckin Bizness with d girls Dressing!!!!

33. Africa is backward.. Wat is ur business with the way anyone dresses? I mean dis is crazy, no wonder whites are amazed wt d way we reason . It's disgraceful

34. Second to last photo of the three ladies dancing is not from the protest that was taken months ago somewhere in Southern Africa. That photo was in circulation way before today you can check sources online

35. If those men live in the UK I guess there will be naked women everywhere.

36. Everyone one has a right to dress the way they want. A lady was also harassed the same way in Abuja weeks ago in broad day light by some guys on the street becus she wore a dress just above her knee, I wasn't pleased at all.