Members of Ekiti Assembly impeach Speaker | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 17 November 2014

Members of Ekiti Assembly impeach Speaker

This man is not having a good time at all right now. A few weeks after his fuel station was shut down by the Ekiti govt, the Speaker of the state House of Assembly, Adewale Omirin, has been impeached.

7 PDP members of the Ekiti State House of Assembly sat this morning to impeach him in his absense and replaced him with another member. According to reports, the police prevented the Speaker and 19 other senators from entering the assembly complex as the impeachment proceedings was going on.

70 comments:

1. Hehehehehehehe.... I laugh in swahili. Politics is a game of the wise #onelovefromSnow#

2. Na their way o jare. Politrickians

3. Wonders shall never end in Naija! How can 7 senators impeach a senator against 17 other senators that weren't allowed into de building: na wah ooo

1. Honourables NOT Senators, honourable is for State assembly and Senators is for National assembly...

4. He should have the sued. They have no right to impeach him in his absence.this is not a military rule.
    Faceoflib

5. Hahaha very funny, frm whch party biko?

6. ekiti people never see anything.... hopeless government in action....

7. Can you imagine,7 members sat to impeach him,while the police prevented others from gaining entrance.
    Anyway Ekiti people asked for it.

8. Dats wht happens wen u sell ur vote to a tyrant for half bag of rice, u get dictatorship...

9. This man is really in for it! I think he would be left to rest now since hez been impeached. It is well. 1pet 5:7-8. BishopDammy#

10. They have started with dis their madness again, how can only 7 members out of abt 27 members impeach the speaker?. is 7 up to two-third of 27. Nigerian police, i weak & weep 4 una.
    Jona shld know that there's GOD ooooooooooo!

11. Lindiwe, did you just say 19 other senators???

12. The procedure is so illegal..where is nigeria heading to my God...the country is so backward in every thing...God pls don't keep quite on us

13. Not surprising.
    ABBA once sang: A winner takes it all - that's our politics in Nigeria.
    Gov Fayose must put his men

14. honestly the impunity of this Jonathan and PDP is just too much....and this man Fayose was prostrating in church recently and Jonathan going to for pilgrimage....all using religion to deceive...must be voted out.Its just too much!

--Dele

15. Linda, did you write SENATORS??????

16. I saw it coming that Fayose led administration will never change and will continue to intimidate law abiding citizens of Ekiti people. How could seven members (not up to 2/3rd of the house) move motion for impeachment of the speaker preventing other members from enetring the house? It is absurd.

17. Linda, "19 other senators"? :o Proof read pls.

18. What a joke, 9 memebers of the house impeaching a speaker. what a joke, PDP with thier foolish way.

19. Senators? Which kind error b dis?

20. Getting tough
    Fayose is causing a lot of problem, very soon Ekiti ppl will not be able to handle him

21. Linda, "Senators" kwa? Na wa o. Please make the necessary corrections.

22. This is Genesis they will soon get to Revelation

23. only in Nigeria is 7 greater than 19> do the maths lol

24. only in Nigeria is 7 greater than 19. do the maths. lol

25. Ghen Ghen... Action Film

26. Not surprise at. I think his fate has been decided during the states' campaigns.
    But PDP and their luuluu anyways.

27. What a country!!! Where 7 lawmakers can impeach the speaker and also stop 19 others from entering the complex. In Naija, Minority with clout can overrule the majority. Fb- king Ayo Bayster

28. Linda, LOL state assembly don't have senators but member state house of rep.

1. It house of assembly not rep Mr

29. linda...senators???

30. see how he looks like a corpse

31. How legal is that? Only seven out of 26 and they sat. I think the governor has a hand in this

32. Choi Linda, the 19 are house of assembly members... not senators... Meanwhile, Is this Legal In Our Eyes... Is this what PDP is about???

33. Pikin way say him mama no go sleep, him too no go sleep #NaijaProverb

34. Oh shit how can 7 members impeach their speaker they did not even form a quorum na wa o Ayodele fayoshe na wa for u u just want to puttevery body in subjugation chai but the speaker no try at all dude no no say him suppose dey loyal

35. na wa oooo......Rivers state saga in Ekiti........looool........Fayose is the last bastard on earth and Jonathan is the last foolish lawless idiot on earth

36. Majority over minority party`

37. Can you imagine, this is the same rubbish they wanted to do in Rivers State. PDP is just a stupid party, FUCK JONATHAN

38. 19 other Senators? Hmm........

39. 19 other Senators? Hmm........

40. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Judging frm this man face yu go knw say he don pass through.... Sorry man but thats is life.....

41. Lol. 7 PDP memebers out of 26 member house of assembly sat with police protection to impeach speaker? Well, since Ekiti people decided to "vote" in Fayose, they are in for such thuggery stuffs for the next for years.

42. Senators in the state house of assembly?Linda,please a little education won't hurt.Jeez!

43. When they have got you in their cross hairs, the ain't gon let you be! That is his cross

44. Linda aren't you supposed to be getting more matured and intelligent? How can seven lawmakers impeach a speaker and you don't see anything wrong in that. When will Nigeria grow above all these backward behavior? You should be more informed on how democracy works but I am shocked at your being naive. With all these I am really getting apprehensive about our present government. well, I keep praying God gives the President and our leaders the courage to do what is right. May God help us.

45. How can 7 people impeach somebody that has 19 other people with him? Has this Fayose man learned nothing at all? Has he not take any lesson away from his disastrous rule in 03 - 05? Serves Ekiti people right also. A highly educated society that for some half baked belief/delusion decided to give their votes to a half/semi educated goon. Total Rubbish!!!

46. I really hate dese PDP pple...n sure d court wud rule in dia favor.dey r jst a bunch of negativities..

47. 19 lawmakers not senators @linda

48. Ekiti people wanted a rogue for a governor, now they Have it..... How can 7 house members impeach the speaker? Am of the opinion that such acts by lawless house members should be sanctioned.. Like have always said, MANY ARE MAD, BUT JUST A FEW ARE ROAMING!!!!

49. It's a rumour Linda, he was never impeached..

50. Is this what Nigerians want...? A government that finds it democratic to use the police to prevent, the rule of law. In every state PDP has either regained or is currently governing. The rule of law doesn't apply, and yet Nigerians forget that those who are affected aren't these politicians but themselves (the everyday Nigeria)z isn't it time we start standing up and speak up.. If we elected them, then we should also remind them everytime who put them there.

51. That is so wrong and unconstitutional. The 1999 constitution clearly state that a speaker of the house of assembly can only be impeached by a votes of not less than two thirds majority of the members of the house. He should take them to court they have gone too far

52. I wonder why every body both at upper chamber and at lower chamber are MIS-interpreting the constitution ... D federal govt sef ff suits... Our lawyers sef wey suppose do d check nd balance sef seems confused .... Mehn wich kind package b dis sef ..

53. 7 can impeach? hmmm interesting.. but I am not surprised, it looks like it has not dawn on Ekiti people who their new governor is, this is just the beginning.

54. The impeachment process is null and void.
    .....the Nigerian police, I have no words for you.

55. Na waa oooooooo.The number is not up to one-third not to talk of two-third. There is God ooooooooo!

56. Dear Linda,

It is a travesty of justice to say that 7 members out of a house of 26 has become majority. Should it be called an impeachment or a sham?? Two thirds of 26 is at least 17. Why should this shameful behavior be reported and accepted as if it is legal in Nigeria? We call it politics. I call it the shame of my country.