Another fallen hero: Lt Mayowa Areago shot dead by Boko Haram | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 12 November 2014

Another fallen hero: Lt Mayowa Areago shot dead by Boko Haram

A young Nigerian army officer Lt Mayowa Areago, (pictured above) was shot dead three days ago while retreating from a mission to fight the Boko Haram in Borno state. According to his friends who sent in his photos, he graduated from Nigerian Defence Academy in 2012 and was immediately posted to the North to help in the fight against Boko Haram.
"Please help us appeal to the government to give our military the right weapons to defend this nation. A lot of innocent people have died to defend you and I. I really want all Nigerians to celebrate this young, gallant, combatant Nigerian Army officer. Rest in the bossom of the Lord "Area"' a friend said
May his soul rest in peace...Amen.

119 comments:

1. such a young guy may his soul rest in perfect peace

2. This is ever going to stop??? RIP dear brave man #SeunLondon

3. Buh tis quite funny, cos d pix of d boko guyz we've seen shows ow equipd dey are...buh see d toy gun bin used by our soldiers...#wedesireachange

4. So sad! May his soul rest in peace Amen #onelovefromSnow#

5. Really really sad, May his soul rest in peace, what a gun a fight animals like BH

6. Ohhh my so sad
    May his soul rest in peace

7. What a loss, may his soul and the souls of our departed military men rest in peace.

8. Rest in peace bro....Amen. Sooo sad nd dis useless jonah keep vowin 2 end terrorism yet innocent pple r dying everyday....God save us frm d useless good 4 notin government ooo

9. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    "OUR HERO" Rip....

10. Nawa ooooo wot a lost. May his soul rest in peace. BK wetin b una gain 4 all dis wasted lives? Aunty Linda abeg help me ask dem.

11. Sometimes one will have to think if this country is really worth fighting for. You want to defeat bokoharam yet u won't give them the right weapon .Rest in Pease Mayowa.
    Jero

12. May his soul rest in peace.

13. who is deceiving Nigerians? Is it d pple on d field or does in Abuja wit er big belly? our C and C should pls do something.

14. Ooooo my God, it shall never be well for all this sponsors ...God shall wiped all your loves one, you will lack happiness for d rest of your life ...APC TAKE NOTE

15. Ooga oo..these sect called boko haram,when will u pple stop killing?..mitcheeew..RIP mayowa!

16. Good morning everyone.Firstly lets take a minute to pray for this man and all the others that have fallen and are still going to fall because we have a government,leaders,followers that are more selfish than we all care to admit.

I read the comments here whenever there is a post on politics and the comments break my young heart.The government is just part of our problems,we the followers aren't any better.we insult one anothers gender,tribes,religion yet we claim to be better than the animals in sambisa forests.

PLEASE LETS THINK FOR ABOUT THIRTY SECONDS,WHAT IF THE PEOPLE THAT ARE BEING SLAUGHTERED ON A DAILY BASIS WAS YOUR SON,DAUGHTER,MOTHER,SISTER,BROTHER,FATHER,HUSBAND,WIFE,FRIENDS.
    CLOSE YOUR EYES FOR A FEW SECONDS AND SEE YOURSELF IN THE PICTURES ABOVE.RAPED TO A SENSELESS STATE.TORTURED,BEATEN.

This shouldn't be about political parties anymore.this is about living beings.

personally,I am tired of the blame game.i don't care who is behind these murders.JUST MAKE IT STOP.

17. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    "OUR HERO" Rip....

18. RIP Lt Mayowa...

Where is that big head Bonario? Forms are out, the Army is recruiting. You better come and join them to fight Boko Haram before you start running your mouth like a tap against GEJ

1. But Jona is still a moron, na.

19. O God please let boko horam just enter the east and then west. And let them feel d pain we feel on a daily basis. Amen. *sobbing* losing a loved one is like losing a part of ur body

1. Re u sane at all? Instead of ur prayers to be for bokoharam to end..u re praying for dem to spread to the east and west...so dey feel ur pain!....u re apparently not beta dan boko haram..mscheew

2. You are a bloody bastard and a smelly bigot for this comment! We want totally eradication of boko haram members and not the other way round, fool!!

3. You are even worse than boko haram for saying that. Wicked soul

20. May your gentle soul rest in peace!! #Hero

21. We read and hear of the billions deployed to the Nigerian army,yet we watch videos of our gallant soldiers fighting with hunters rifles while the terrorists use grenade launchers.

RIP Lt mayowa.the terrorists didn't kill you,our government did.

22. Why's is it that my comments are never posted?

23. Rest in peace Lt Mayowa Areago, your service to this nation will not be forgotten

24. My heart bleeds.not for the wicked elders,leaders,government but for us,the foolish citizens that fail to see that you and I mean nothing to them.

25. RIP.......it will all end one day

Join my makeup channel C0041A12B

26. Rest on gallant soldier !you ve made your own mark .shame on sponsors of of Boko haram thumbs down to terror and violence.

27. RIP to Mayowa. Did that president of yours not get $1billion loan

28. may his soul rest in peace. Amen!
    Goodluck Jonathan!! equip your Army plsss. should TAN sing this before you do the right thing??? haba

29. Rest in peace Lt Mayowa. May God give u d grace to reign wit him in heaven, away from dis vain and cruel world. #pity

30. RIP to a gallant Soldier

31. Ooooh wot a life! U never know boko haram is real untill u loss a love one. RIP mayowa. May our Good lord accept ur soul. U will be missed.

32. Amen!!! LAWD HAVE MERCY......*****QUEENMAYA*****

33. May his soul rest in peace.

34. Amen~~ instead of dis stupid man 2 concentrate on dis issue he is busy wit campaign ~ice princess~

35. Oh God not again! I hope he wasn't the one in that video? I'm totally lost for words. How many more soldiers and civilians have to die as a result of the government's incompetence? This is too sad! May his soul rest in peace.

36. These would have been me, just that i am still researching other means to tackle these menace. My heart bleeds for this brave brothers of ours who are defending us in front line. God bless Nigeria. :-(

37. Ha oga o chai!some young handsome dudes still dey willingly join military abi na army? God 4bid!! If I hear say dats my guys dream ODabo is d gist!! RIP MAYOWA..somtyms wen I pass tru check points @ abj here,and see ladies in army uniform I'll be like 'no oda Dreams?*

38. May his soul rest in peace... it is well.

39. RIPP. Much respect to our heroes out there fighting for our peace.

40. R.I.P officer. You will forever be remembered.

41. HERE WE GO AGAIN , NO FUTURE FOR 9JA YOUTH O WE GOVT DONE TURN US TO MAGA NA WE DE PAY NOW.

42. how u wan take use this kind gun fight boko... chai naija why na and them oga go dey house dey chop turkey with Hennessy dey spend them money for ammunition

43. may his soul rest in perfect peace (amen)

44. pple keep goin 6ix feet under and all Gej fvckin thinks about is 2nd term..was thinkin dia is no goodluck without patience but instead our patience brought us Badluck in form of Gej................................#KingOfKings #6ixGod

45. A Kuvuki friend of mine used his Picture yesterday as DP on BBM 'So sad....May his gentle soul rest in perfect peace !!! My Country My Country

46. A fallen hero indeed. I had the privilege of meeting this great man in person. Very humble and a believer of the Nigerian state who would not abandon the fight for his country despite several close shaves with death.

Please our leaders should stop politicking with the lives of gallant warriors such as this and do what they need to do to end this boko haram saga.

May the soul of this great son or ours and all other gallant souls that have laid down their lives for this country rest in the bosom of Christ our saviour. Amen.

47. How many have died uncelebrated? Nigeria is gallivanting about 2015 while we have continued to lose precious lives of brave men that we have invested so much on. Mind you NOTHING IS MORE PRECIOUS THAN LIFE. We are losing lives of our citizens due to the menace of bh. If Cameroun is in trouble, they will run to big brother Nigeria for help whereas bh dare not go there as they know they will not come back alive.
    We have lost more than enough to bh and our govt should wake up as God is watching.
    Mayowa is giving his family sadness instead of joy as per his name because he couldn't refuse to fight bh because of the oath he swore to so that he will not face mutiny charge. Now he is no more. Who is responsible for not giving proper ammunition to fight and when will Nigeria know the truth?
    Adieu Lt. Mayowa Areago as you are cut off at your prime serving your fatherland trying to defend the lives of other fellow Nigerians. The Lord will protect your family and will do what you couldn't live to do for them. God will give your family the fortitude to bear your irrepairable loss. Same goes to others that we have lost in the same manner. Toks

48. It is a pity we don't have government in this contry everything is disorganized. May his soul rest in peace. Very sad

49. He died fighting for his fatherland,may his soul rest in peace.

50. R.I.P

Proves To Show Nicki Minaj Never Did Face Surgery (Photos)
    There have been rumours that the Anaconda crooner did face surgery which gave her the current beauty she's flaunting. Well I don't think you would believe that any longer after seeing her photo when she was 17 above.

51. I celebrate Lt Mayowa Areago and all the Fallen Nigerian soldiers who died in active service defending our country. RIP

52. may your soul rest in peace for indeed you are a great hero.

53. OUR GOVERNMENT IS A DISGRACE...700 ROUNDS OF 7.62×39mm FOR AK47 COSTS 150 DOLLARS AND THAT'S MORE THAN ENOUGH FOR EACH SOLDIER TO FIGHT OFF THIS RABID SCOURGE OF IMBECILLES CALLED BH. SURELY THE 1BILLION DOLLARS APPROVED BY THE SENATE SPECIFICALLY FOR DEFENDING NIGERIA AGAINST BH EASILY COVERS THIS PURCHASE. THIS IS SO WRONG. NIGERIAN LEADERS PLACE ABSOLUTELY NO VALUE ON THE LIVES OF OUR SERVICE MEN.

54. No...they wl rather buy more private jets.

55. So sad rest in peace.

56. Outdated and extinct AK- 47 hisses ...... RIP Soldier

57. Rip man,u over gallant,u hav paid d ultimate price 4 all of us.tanks

58. I have been accessing Linda Ikeji's blog for quite some time in fact it's been years ( her blog gives reliable and updated information ) but I have never commented because we are taught in the military not to communicate either our thoughts or ideas to the public without any authorisation, I'll definitely make an exception today.I have been in shock since I heard the news. Lt. Mayowa Folarin Areago aka AREA was a friend, comrade and brother. I have known him for about 7 years. Although he was among the youngest of our set, he was a born leader and was among those that always held leadership positions. Folarin was a great guy and always brighten the room whenever he entered. He was ready to sacrifice his officer rank to ensure his course mates had theirs. A very courageous officer who died on the battlefield while serving his nation, he had different encounters with Boko Haram but he never backed out, he was ready to go back into the heat of battle to make Nigeria a better place even if his life was at stake. To his family, I pray the Lord gives you the strength to bear this great loss. AREA,AREA,AREA my rugged and combatant brother rest in peace bro.. We will keep your legacy burning.

59. my heart can't take this any more o dear lord..my heart bleeds for these unnoticed gallant fighters,brothers, fathers, sons, friends,husbands.. lost in this war against boko haram. All they keep asking for are better ammunition to fight back bravely in the face of death and nothing else dear lord..o my heart bleeds!!! from the depth of my bleeding and broken heart...
    i declare death upon boko haram..
    i declare a wretched, painful and shameful death upon boko haram sponsors and supporters...
    i declare sudden death against anyone one in a position to provide these soldiers with better ammunition and is refusing to..
    i declare unrest and death upon anyone profiting from the havoc created by boko haram...
    ooo lord visit them with your wrath..
    ooo my heart bleeds..

60. when God wanted to set the Israelite from the Egyptians,he killed all first born..so also shall God visit your generations to come with shame and reproach because of these atrocities you bastard fathers are committing.in your very eyes the evil called boko haram is striving and you call yourselves leaders and do nothing??? ooo!!! this is a time where leaders should neither eat nor sleep until every inch of these bastards are killed like fowls but no! our leaders go on vacations and look away while innocent souls die for what they know not about. you all shall know no peace!!!!

61. LET EVERY SOLDIER HAVE A MACHINE GUN WITH MANY BULLETS AS MUCH HE CAN CARRY AND HAVE ALOT OF HAND GRENADE WITH HIM AND EXTRA PISTOL ON THEM, WE KNOW WHAT WOULD HAVE HAPPENED IN THE CASE OF THE BRAVE SOLDIER IF HE HAD ALL THESE I MENTIONED.
    LET THE ARMY BE SERIOUS AND DROP THIS AK47, AND MAKE IT MANDATORY THAT EVERY SOLDIER MUST CARRY THE LATEST MACHINE GUNS, HAVE 4 LOADED PISTOLS ON HIM AT ANY GIVEN TIME WITH EXACT LOADED MAGAZINE, ALOT OF HAND GRENADE, ROCKET LAUNCHER EACH TO EVERY SOLIDER, GIVEN THEM THE LATEST WAR EQUIPMENT AND BACK UP WITH AIR POWER, BOKO HARAM WILL RUN AWAY AND END THIS WAR BY-SELF.
    WHEN WE DO THE RIGHT THING, BOKO HARAM WILL END

62. May his soul RIP.
    Dear Linda, please you should do more of this...let us celebrate our heroes, dead or alive.
    God bless our frontline soldiers...fighting against all odds.

63. NIGERIA ARMY AND THE GOVERNMENT IS NOT SERIOUS IN THE FIGHT
    AGAINST BOKO HARAM, LIKE THE VIDEO OF THE BRAVE SOLDIER THAT FOUGHT WITH HIS BARE HAND, IF THE GUY WAS GIVEN MANY HAND GRENADE, HE WILL TOAST ONE OR TWO GRENADE AGAINST HIS ATTACKERS AND IMMEDIATELY SILENT ALL OF THEM, HE DID NOT HAVE PISTOL ON HIM, A NIGERIA SOLIDER GOING TO WAR WITH ONLY A GUN. IT IS PITY, I WONDER WHICH KIND OF SENIOR OFFICERS AND GOVERNMENT WE HAVE THAT CAN DO THE RIGHT THING. NIGERIA GOVERNMENT IS WASTING THE LIVES OF THEIR SOLDIERS, IT IS A PITY

LET EVERY SOLDIER HAVE A MACHINE GUN WITH MANY BULLETS AS
    MUCH HE CAN CARRY AND HAVE ALOT OF HAND GRENADE WITH HIM AND EXTRA PISTOL ON THEM, WE KNOW WHAT WOULD HAVE HAPPENED IN THE CASE OF THE BRAVE SOLDIER IF HE HAD ALL THESE I MENTIONED.

LET THE ARMY BE SERIOUS AND DROP THIS AK47, AND MAKE IT
    MANDATORY THAT EVERY SOLDIER MUST CARRY THE LATEST MACHINE GUNS, HAVE 4 LOADED PISTOLS ON HIM AT ANY GIVEN TIME WITH EXACT LOADED MAGAZINE, ALOT OF HAND GRENADE, ROCKET LAUNCHER EACH TO EVERY SOLIDER, GIVEN THEM THE LATEST WAR EQUIPMENT AND BACK UP WITH AIR POWER, BOKO HARAM WILL RUN AWAY AND END THIS WAR BY-SELF.

WHEN WE DO THE RIGHT THING, BOKO HARAM WILL END

64. RIP to the brave one,the labour of our heroes past shall not be in-vain

65. I am angry,sad and mad.I saw him grow.From childrens department in church to the estate and i am asking if this nation deserves Mayowa's spilt blood.I pray you find rest and i pray your killers and their sponsors know no rest all their lives.

1. He was always a strong willed person.Never thought i will hear such about you Mayowa as i always admired you.Rest in God's arms but your killers will know no peace.

66. RIP Mayowa and all our fallen gallant heroes

67. Rest in peace man

68. May his soul rest in peace

69. Rip man this touched me so much I can barely think straight now. Pls what is happening in nigeria. Well I think God knows best. Hmmmmm

70. Nigerian Army is seriously recruiting now and deploying to the northern part of the country with promises of high pay. Please if you don't have enough liver like I do to die for Nigerians, kindly stay back and get a another job. RIP gallant Soldier. ''Die hard''

71. May his soul rest in peace..Amen, what is the military. And the government doing with the millions of naira appropriated to the military to fight the insurgent? Its really not fair sendiNg these young men to the war front ill equiped, this is suicidal.

72. Rest in peace Mayowa. I just pray our insensitive incompetent leaders won't let all these innocent spilt blood be in vain. Please President Jonathan, end this war. Our military guys are not well equipped and you people are busy holding campaign carnival all over the place. If you cannot buy arms from the US, go to China, Japan, Russia or even Iran or North Korea. Whoever will sell the arms to you, buy it from them. You people go to any length to achieve your ambitions, but when it concerns the masses, you give excuses. If you claim that the opposition is sponsoring this, go after the people with your evidence and bring them to justice. You are the chief security officer of this nation and you are responsible for all the deaths if you refuse to do nothing. My hearth is pained. Mayowa was a brother and I still see his face from our most recent meeting. Rest in peace AREA!

73. May what you fought for never be in vain. God be with your family in these trying times.

74. mayowa my friend RIP, ur blood will always be in their hands because i know u so well as a friend and a brother. i remember when we all celebrated you passing out party in the estate and all the boys are so happy that we have a brother who is not a military officer among us, but today u no more to play and to have a drink with. mummy miss you so much and i pray u rest well in the lord's place.

75. WHY IS IT THAT I AM YET TO SEE A DEAD NORTHERN SOILDER

1. I have been asking this same question since last year.

76. Rest in peace Mayowa. I just pray our insensitive incompetent leaders won't let all these innocent spilt blood be in vain. Please President Jonathan, end this war. Our military guys are not well equipped and you people are busy holding campaign carnival all over the place. If you cannot buy arms from the US, go to China, Japan, Russia or even Iran or North Korea. Whoever will sell the arms to you, buy it from them. You people go to any length to achieve your ambitions, but when it concerns the masses, you give excuses. If you claim that the opposition is sponsoring this, go after the people with your evidence and bring them to justice. You are the chief security officer of this nation and you are responsible for all the deaths if you refuse to do nothing. My hearth is pained. Mayowa was a brother and I still see his face from our most recent meeting. Rest in peace AREA!

77. God rest his soul

78. God rest his soul...... Oh Lord save us from the shekels of Boko Haram..

79. They are blaming U.S for refusal to render an helping hands as if they are sharing d stolling moni wit dem. R.I.P brave man. God knows best. It's well wit u where ever u are.

80. We were classmates in secondary skl...am gutted by dis...RIP bro...find peace

81. Rip Mayowa so sad,wen we are all planning you little sisters wedding you left dis sinful world *sad* you have indeed left ur footprints on d sands of time. We join d angels to celebrate a great hero. Farewell

82. May d Lord accept ur soul Mayowa. ..I'll miss u damn mch...u were a beautiful soul

83. RIP warrior. We appreciate all the efforts you guys are putting in to protect us all. Nigerians are grateful, we only wish our incompetent government would wake up and tell those MoFus what Nigeria is capable of doing by action and not on paper.
    Rest in the arms of the Good Lord. Amen.

84. Rest in peace bro, we all love you and will always remember...

85. RIP my brother,i can't just forget old days, when we where in skul making class fun.

86. i am so pained cause i personally know mayowa. and his older brother is not just a good friend to me but a brother. which makes mayowa my brother too. just a week before his death i was talking to the brother. and he was telling me how they don't even pay them well in terms of allowances and are not properly equipped. the bullshit in Nigeria has gotten out of hand. and let's face it. whether we like it or not we just have to come to terms that Nigeria has scattered already. and his brother my friend just celebrated his birthday few days after the death. how could someone