Three Boko Haram members sentenced to 25 years each | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 30 September 2014

Three Boko Haram members sentenced to 25 years each

The Federal High Court in Lagos today Tuesday September 30th sentenced 3 Boko Haram members to 25 years imprisonment each, The Nation reports.
However, journalists were not allowed to cover the judgment. Only lawyers in the prosecution and defence teams were allowed in court.
A source, who witnessed the verdict, but craved anonymity because he was not authorised to speak on the matter, told reporters that the fourth defendant was acquitted.
The court, on December 3 last year, barred journalists from covering the trial of 17 suspected members of the sect.
Justice Ibrahim Buba made the order following an application by the Lagos State Attorney-General and prosecuting counsel, Mr. Ade Ipaye.

Men of the Department of Security Services (DSS) had prevented journalists from covering the suspects’ arraignment last November 27.

The accused are – Ali Mohammed, Adamu Karumi, Ibrahim Usman, Bala Haruna, Idris Ali, Mohammed Murtala, Kadiri Mohammed, Mustapha Daura, Abba Duguri, Sanni Adamu, Danjuma Yahaya, Musa Audu, Mati Daura, Farouk Haruna, Abdullahi Azeez, Ibrahim Bukar and Zula Diani.
The Attorney-General, it was learnt, had entered a nolle prosequi (Latin for “do not prosecute”) in respect of two of the defendants, who were subsequently discharged.
Later, another 11 were also discharged in the course of the trial following another nolle prosequi by the prosecution.

Only four – the first to fourth defendants – went through a full trial.
The suspects were first charged with conspiracy to commit terrorism, illegal possession of firearms, and being members of a proscribed organisation.

They allegedly committed the offences on March 21 last year, at Plot 5, Road 69, Lekki Phase I Housing Estate, and at No. 24, Oyegbeni St., Ijora-Oloye, Apapa-Iganmu, Lagos.
They were alleged to have in their possession three packets of explosive construction pipes, 15 detonators, and 11 AK47 rifles with 30 rounds of live ammunitions.

Source: The Nation

89 comments:

1. Wonderful and Lovely, great...sharemezng@gmail.com

1. 25 is too small, 45 upward

2. They shud be butchered or given a slow and painful death like injecting dem with d Ebola virus

2. Only 25 years. Those bastards should be sentenced to death

3. Eermmm.. Hold on, there was a defence team!?????? somebody in the name of 'I'm a lawyer' actually turned up in court in Lagos state to defend a terrorist???!

1. Why not. That's why they are trained to be lawyers. Everyone has a right to fair hearing

4. Replies
    1. Bros mega...its not too late...go kirikiri go kill them...

5. Na so
    Lordemma4love50@yahoo.com

6. Punish them well well

7. Not enough! What happened to Life imprisonment?

LIB ALL THE WAY!

8. Encouraging news! No peace for the wicked! God is still working. Micah 2:1. BishopDammy#

9. And why as the journalist not allowed to cover cover the judgement for the public info.???? Sentence fire..after all Clifford orji was not sentenced

10. I love that..let them rot in jail.Sincerely speaking they suppose to be sentence to death.but they want them 2 suffer in hell.Nice judgment

EPastor Accused of Cheating with a Married Woman disgraced inside church during sunday service
    Here

Man Captured his Wife Cheating with Another Man via WHATSAPP.
    Here

How some Desperate Housemaid Take Advantage of Married Men
    Here

How A Soldier Abused A Female Polytechnic Student Repeatedly For Five Hours Under A tree
    Here

11. Whatever happened to "ewon gbere pelu ise ase kara"? Do u know how many pple they've killed!! Rubbish...

12. he dat tuk lives deserve paying with his or her lyf 25 years sentence? how sure dat doz guys wnt be released secretly

13. In Lagos?! And they let most of them go? Even barred the press men from covering it? There must be more to this. In a normal country with working systems, this won't happen. Nigeria!

14. Suffer not the wicked to live. «««««QUEENMAYA»»»»»

15. dy shuld burn them alive. bluejenny78@gmail.com

16. Really...just 25 years? Seems kinda little considering the mayhem the've unleashed on the country so far!

17. Why not LIFE Imprisonment.klindrive@yahoo.com

18. ONLY???!!!!!!!…WHY NOT HANG THEM???!!!

19. 25 yrs is TU small, they deserved to die by hanging....simple.

20. No need of sentenced, they should be killed immediately, Nigeria sef, I tire.

21. Y nt death sentence, Chaiiiii, we don come again ooooooo naija

22. They should have just killed them!

23. Hmm...so afta serving their jail terms what happens???these are individuals that have wasted d lives of innocent citizens..they don't deserve to live#my opinion tho

24. das what we xpect from d government,de all shud be arrested,nd punished....aliyuboniface@gmail.com

25. das what we xpect from d government,de all shud be arrested,nd punished....aliyuboniface@gmail.com

26. das what we xpect from d government,de all shud be arrested,nd punished....aliyuboniface@gmail.com

27. das what we xpect from d government,de all shud be arrested,nd punished....aliyuboniface@gmail.com

28. But why why why why why why why
    Now that it seems an end is coming to ds nyt mere this idiots are playing around????

They all nid to die..... non deserves even a life imprisonment

This is how they will keep releasing them and they come back to d society n cause more nuisance

29. ok na. Badguy39@nokiamail.com

30. Kai,is dis true,oh my God wht kinda judgement is dis,nawaoo,all I knw is dt I tnk God there is God

31. To me 25years is way too small.

32. Death sentence..jail term Tooo small jare.....................#KingOfKings

33. INJUSTICE IN NIGERIA. BOKO HARAM MEMBERS THAT HAVE SLAUGHTERED 100's OF INNOCENT CIVILIANS ARE GIVEN JUST 25 YEARS IN PRISON. MEANWHILE, BRAVE SOLDIERS THAT EXPOSED A BOKO HARAM COMMANDER ARE SENTENCED TO DEATH. THIS IS NONSENSE. NIGERIA IS A JOKE.

34. And that reminds me, sentencing these bastards won't change anything. Ban Islam and u will have peace.

35. Lmao, this country is a joke....WTF.. .. This purnishment doesn't fit the crime, they should be stoned to death publicly... Wicked bastards..

36. 25 yrs is too small nah.. Y nt life inprisonment.. Hw old are dey sef

37. why , why 25? why not kill them, at least na minus....kill them jor wetin be this?

38. On what grounds was nolle prosequi granted I wonder?

39. Y did dey hv to release some? Insurgency in our country

40. Kai! This is lenient!!!! They deserve to be hung!!!! Hung till they seize to breathe then their carcasses set ablaze!

41. They deserve death.why imprisonment? Mschewwwwwwww

42. i weep for my country...
    meelee

43. Members of Boko haram set free and our armies sentenced to death.Is alright.Naija we day watch!

44. Members of Boko haram set free and our armies sentenced to death.Is alright.Naija we day watch!

45. Dead sentence will be fair

Abdullahimuhammad62@gmail.com

46. Out of how many members only three people are being sentenced to 25years imprisonment, what a country.

47. Out of how many members only three people are being sentenced to 25years imprisonment, what a country.

48. Not death by hanging or firing squad?

49. So funny.And those soldiers are been sentenced to death? I weep for my country.At 54,we are still crawling

50. Why can't they sentence them in the North ?? Why lagos state .. BH go wan come lagos now! ..

51. Can't stop laughing.........the main terrorist are walking freely and they are here sentence hungry men to jail.

52. 25 years is very small. Why not life imprisonment. Tomorrow now one paid judge an a useless tour will go and free them.

53. 25yrs only? helenmissy27@gmail.com

54. Na wah oh.. Make dem kill all diz mo'fos jor, wetin be sentence?

55. Na slow and painful death na him fit dem. Cherryjany84@gmail.com

56. is so painful that wen it comes to taking harsh decision we find it diffcult to du .y on earth will u send pple DAT r responsible for Da loss of thousands of life to prison.am just keeping my finger crossed n watching Nigeria

57. 25 years? Lol, that's the joke for the new month I guess. Now I see reason why these animals won't stop killing us.

58. Abeg 25 years for terrorist and mutiny for the soldier that refused orders.... Isn't dis crazy? All this backyard laws our government practise.. #iDreamofanigeria

59. Abeg 25 years for terrorist and mutiny for the soldier that refused orders.... Isn't dis crazy? All this backyard laws our government practise.. #iDreamofanigeria

60. Rubbish

61. Too bad......jummai4lv@yahoo.com

62. Yetaygel@gmail.com

63. To me,Dis is a white lie/Scam formed by the Govt.....Coz how on earth would they gave them 25yrs ?? They should be sentenced to Death....

64. Jonathan please help oooo I sense corruption between these pple should be killed.

65. Why just 3 wat happened to the odaz #onelovefromSnow#

66. Boko haram got 25 years, but the soldiers got death sentence - how fair is that???

67. Boko haram members are set free or giving jail terms, while their victims and soldiers who fought against them are giving death sentences. The law is an arse.

68. Why would they not allow journalists to cover it?
    What reason...

69. Terrorist committing treason and r sent to jail. Treason is supposed to carry d highest capital punishment and lagos AG had the guts to even free some of them.he must be a member or following strict instruction. May the blood of d innocent killed by BH torment him. Why r they scared of journalist entering? Becos they they d members might call the names of their sponsors. Thousands of lives killed and they r still playing politics wit BH. When they attacked USA, the whole world watched as they took revege but our govt believes we dnt have the right to know wat goes on inside d court. This country is a joke. Wat right do they have to kill soldiers when pple dat declred war on nigeria and do not look back is either going free cos of AG and his coholts or sentences to 25 yrs

70. They should hang them instead (eleyele1apyahoo.com)

71. Naija @ 54, discharging many of them instead of sentencing dem 2 life imprisonment or jst killing them straight up??? Same people dt has unleashed so much terror in dis nation!!! And dey barred pressmen 4rm covering d news??? It is well!!!!

72. Did any body noticed this line "The Attorney-General, it was learnt, had entered a nolle prosequi (Latin for “do not prosecute”) in respect of two of the defendants, who were subsequently discharged."

73. Nigerian soldiers sentenced to death....

Boko haram members acquitted and only 3 sentenced to 25 years enjoyment....

Odikwa mma , its only a fool that will waste his life trying to die to Nigeria .

Zubby said so

74. Wat is the sentence for? Is the govt keeping them, so their members can negotiate deir release later? Why not kill dis bastards, and end the story! Nah wa o, naija sha

75. Na wa o... wat happened to death by hanging?? Useless pple