South African minister says death toll at Synagogue building collapse now 115 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday, 22 September 2014

South African minister says death toll at Synagogue building collapse now 115

South African minister, Jeff Radebe today Sept. 22nd, said that the death toll from the Synagogue building collapse has risen to 115. Radebe said this at an airforce base, North of Johannesburg in South Africa where 25 South Africans who were injured in the collapsed building were brought home in a military C-130 aircraft (pictured above) for treatment. He however maintained that 84 South Africans died in the tragedy.
"We understand from our assessment team that the total number of people who have perished is now 115, but those are not all South Africans. South Africans are about 84 that have died" Jeff Radebe told reporters.
The Nigerian Emergency Management Agency, NEMA, put the death toll from the collapse at 86.

The South African minister also said that 26 injured South Africans were meant to return back home today but one of them decided to stay back at the Synagogue church. A 19-member medical team including specialist doctors, nurses and medical military paramedics took care of the injured on board the military C-130 aircraft. Among those transported today included two orphaned toddlers whose parents died in the tragedy.

54 comments:

1. lindawaitformeimworthit22 September 2014 at 15:34

South Africa, politicizing Nigerian tragedies since 1904!

1. Oya NEMA increase your number cos that's what u guys have been doing.
      Giving Nigerians wrong info. Only when SA talk their own Una go raise Una own.
      Am waiting.

2. WHy is it our government doesn't know how to count?

1. You cant even compose an ordinary sentence

3. God bless their souls
    greatladyofgod@gmail.com

4. Dis is just outrageous.

I'm out. ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

5. This is becoming alarming
    I don't think the south African government will take it easy on pastor T.B Joshua. They might sue him if things get out of hands

6. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    115 human beings died unto say they come serve GOD..... May their souls R.I.P.....

7. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    115 human beings died unto say they come serve GOD..... May their souls R.I.P.....

8. God av mercy. May their soul rest in peace. Automatic way to heaven.

9. This SA people shld go and rest jared.

10. d funniest is its only in Nigeria u hear of such...bad fr d image oo

11. May dia soul rest in peace.amen

12. May their soul rest in peace

13. Jesu o, itumo ni wi pe, we can't trust govt. this goes to show that all the book haram attacks and deaths should be multiplied by 2. Lord have mercy

1. Not just 2 ooo. Add 2 zeros. And u go get the actual number.
      That y I don't trust the stats on the Ebola case.

14. wtf! make God help us.
    Chinazojudy@gmail.com
    #Nazzylicious

15. May the souls of the dead rest in peace Amen #onelovefromSnow#

16. Am really sorry for the diseased. Like their pastor said, they died 4 salvation. *abia* #####QUEENMAYA#####

1. The word is Deceased. Geeez what's wrong with you??

17. We always have to find out the truth from outsiders. Nigerian journalists have collected bribe and are reporting lies. Shame on Nigerian press.

18. Wow, look at how South Africa is looking after its citizens! And not even just the white ones. I'm impressed.

If only Nigeria would come to the aid and rescue of its people around the world like this.

Kimmy*****

19. Hmmmmm this is serious
    Faceoflib

20. May Dere Soul Rest In Peace

21. South Africa is now the GIant of Africa since we have sold our birthright through irresponsible leadership.can you imagine naija evacuating her own citizens frm anywhere

22. God have mercy. This is a real tragedy

23. Follow @mayvibes @ogasisyley and get instant 10 followers

24. Hmmm. Speechless God hav mercy

25. is it that they are actually hiding the total numbers of persons who lost their lives?9ja sha

26. May their souls rest in peace..amen

27. And our naija journalists yaff chop & close eye, heart and mouth on top the marrer

28. T.b Joshua this is the beginning of your end.

29. Why is nema not telling Nigerians the real figure of the dead? Or have they been given 50k too?

30. God knows best! RIP to d dead

31. Ahhhh..! So pathetic.

32. Bad news. ENGR Emy

33. hmmm, i no talk am e cant be 80?

34. Painful.May their souls rest in peace.
    Buh NEMA and the church will keep telling us that the death toll is 86..#liars

1. Y won't they lie? when they been given 50k for fuel And told to leave the dead and report only on the survivors

35. Hmmm..may deir souls rest in peace

36. We don use South Africa eye see something this period. Their citizens came here and died while we bundled cash to sneak into their country. Geographically we are miles apart. Nigeria please allow South Africa to rest...please!!

37. You are really topping billboard I see it coming, but when mrs president say it!;we all laugh at the comment, and rumoured! damn I think I adopt it from her, there is GOD oooo..!

38. This is what I call a responsive and responsible government. Can you imagine nigerian govt doung that for their people? Sending a military aircraft with medical personnel to evacuate its citizens?

39. May their souls Rest in peace... and the soul of my mum, including my uncle that is still in mutuary.....Amen