Ebola fear: Cameroon closes all its borders with Nigeria | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday, 19 August 2014

Ebola fear: Cameroon closes all its borders with Nigeria

In a bid to stop the deadly Ebola virus from entering into their country, the Cameroonian government has closed all borders with Nigeria.

The border closure was made known today by the spokesman of the Cameroonian government, Issa Tchimora Bakary
"All borders, land, sea, and air, between Cameroon and Nigeria are closed. Our thinking is that it is better to act preventively rather than have to heal those who may fall ill" he said
Cameroon has so far not recorded any case of Ebola...

59 comments:

1. Good, Desperate issues calls for desperate measures, they are protecting their citizens and I like that, not like Nigerian government who have no regards for their citizens

1. Is a pity we elect crazy and fool leader just like Patrick Sawyer. We better wise up. We need a change. A Great Debate

2. Good, Desperate time calls for desperate measures, they are protecting their citizens and I like that, not like Nigerian government who have no regards for their citizens

3. My country shud be ashamed oh! See common cameroun! Sumtin we shud have done a long time ago. Tueeh! Oga jona keep watching film wit omoni inugo?

1. Hahahahahahaha can't stop laffing I min is a big shame tho

2. Common Cameroon?????

4. Weldone! Cameroon is trying to protect her people.. Its ok. Buh God is with Nigeria and He wouldn't forsake us. Psalm 91:1-3. BishopDammy#

5. ITS D BEST TIN TO DO....... PREVENTION HAS ALWAYS BEEN BETA DAN CURE.....

.ZB

6. Hmmmm, this is something Nigeria was meant to do,
    Chai, a whole us, giant of africa,
    Chinghe countries are now closing their borders with us #smh

7. SMH. I DNT BLAME CAMEROON. NAIJA GOVT WOULD HAVE SET PREVENTIVE MEASURES EVEN B4 DE ARRIVAL OF PATRICK 4RM LIBERIA. GOD BLESS NAIJA. GOD BLESS MY 1 & ONLY CRUSH @ LINDA BY TED

8. Proactive country.Ours is Reactive.The difference is clear...

9. This is getting serious!

10. Prevention is better than cure

11. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    They took the ryt choice something we ought to do long tym ago....

12. Nigeria should have done that a long time ago..

13. Nigeria should have done that a long time ago..

14. I no blame dem jawe.. Beta safe dan sorry. If only Nigeria had dis kind of 4site, we wouldn't b in dis mess.

15. Preventive measures

Pls visit my shoe blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

16. Omo na so ooo prevention is betav Dan cure oooo

17. That's what Nigeria will have done initially.prevention is better than cure.

18. Omo prevention is beta Dan cure oooo

19. Dey shudnt hv bothered, nobody wishes to go there b4 eee,,,, abi dem don see who see bread e go trowey ham go dey chop stone nahh....

20. Its a proactive measure so don't blame them, if we had been this serious with our health security we won't be talking about Ebola here now. Let's make some cool cash, click here and register www.referbizpay/?ref=7508

21. Which country won't. Whatever affects Nigeria negatively affects them too. From Boko haram, it may be Ebola. Who knows.

22. Good one from their government. This is precisely what Nigeria government should have done in first place now nigerians are now isolated in every were may God help us to survive this contagious virus. felixlino82@yahoo.com

23. of all countries... they should kiss our bu***..........hissssssssssss.. We shall overcome by God's grace.

24. They did the right thing. Nigeria is paying the price for her negligence.

25. Of course! Provision is better than kiosk.

26. Smart move! Wish 9ja had done dt a long time ago!

27. Yet Gabon is so close to Cameroon and has had several cases of Ebola.... just saying!

28. That is how countries who are ruled by competent leaders act, you take preventive measures not preemptive measures! We honestly are a country of many headless horsemen!

29. Better for them; that's if those who planned to bring the ebola virus to Nigeria have not gotten to you. D decision is quite late..... No doubt

30. So after this Sawyer man imported Ebola to naija, have naija still closed their borders with those affected countries, especially Liberia where they now steal from Ebola victims and chant there's no Ebola? Dear Goodluck, am highly disappointed in your tortoise leadership. Weak president!

31. Is it dat people dont have sense or they dont read? So u guys mean closing borders is d best means of prevention. Tell me, if usa had stoped flights from nig or liberia will we be getting help we are getting now. No. being wise n good thinking people usa sent personell n drugs! N if u are educated n can read u should b aware dat tendency of ebola spreading in nig is at its barest minimum. So on wat strong grounds is cameroun closing it's borders. U see y d whites are seen as superior humans? cos they dont run frm dia problems they stand n fight n conquer it. How abt cameroun killing all bats b monkeys in dia country? As a way of preventing ebola. Stupid low black man mentality.

32. But théy vé Ebola long time. Congo is near them. They Eat Monkeys. Un pays nul. With a dictator for 32 year. To hell with Paul Bia

33. Dats d best tin to do...prevention is beta dan cure

34. This is not news, these are people that have brains unlike jonathan that is just eating our resources and cannot make decisions and take initiatives to safeguard d lives of the citizens he swore to. They have done d right thing and i don't blame then. Good thinking Cameroun.

I am sure our borders are still open even as we speak. And flights still come in from Liberia and other infected countries. I'm positive that no one coming into Nigeria from these countries are quarantined. Shame on you Jonathan #spinelesspresident

35. This is a country that love there citizens not f...cking Nigeria govt who value us only election time... God punish devil

36. U dont ve to be a victim before u learn.

37. Better (Liהda's Maה)

38. I'm actually happy about it because it gives us one less headache about our porous borders. Niger and Chad and Benin should follow suit. Then we will just have to worry about airports.

39. Onpe. It's well

40. good for them
    action is louder, unlike my president who always condemn BH action but don't act

BORN TO SHINE!!!!!

41. Na wa o. See Cameroon see us. Imagine this small country too is blocking boarder. Wahala don dey o

42. Na better government be that !
    They saw what is coming ahead and they acted fast.

43. Na better government be that !
    They saw what is coming ahead and they acted fast.

44. i want to congratulate the Cameroonian people and Govt for that decisive action, there are no sentiment in issues of life and death.

45. Am so proud of Cameroon. They don't have much but its a country that when it comes to health and education of their citizens,they don't play with it.

46. Better - the disease must be contained first - pray for Ebola victims

47. Please go to bakassi and put ebola patient there. Give us back our land. Land Grabbers. Mtchew.

48. Hmmm... Even after losing 4 precious souls and now praying for the 2 confirmed cases and X cases under observation.... Our borders remain wide open even to Liberia, Sierra Leone and Guinea!!! I mean: Liberians can still enter this country today- unbelievable!!! People lets speak up against this Dormant Reactive government of ours.