Pics: Meet Jimi Manuwa, the Nigerian-British UFC MMA champion | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 1 July 2014

Pics: Meet Jimi Manuwa, the Nigerian-British UFC MMA champion

34 year old Jimi 'Poster Boy' Manuwa is a Nigerian-British mixed martial artist, who competes in the light heavyweight division of the Ultimate Fighting Championship, UFC, and is blazing an amazing trail for Nigerians in the MMA sporting field. 

Jimi, the grandson of Sir Samuel Manuwa (first neuro surgeon in Africa) was born in the U.S but came home to Nigeria when he was about a year old and then moved to England with his parents at when he was 10.  His family lived in Lagos and he attended Corona School in Apapa. 

Jimi is ranked #11 in the official UFC light heavyweight rankings. He's been cage fighting since 2003 and has won all his fights

After being away for 24 years, Jimi returned home to Nigeria this past Sunday June 29th. Continue..

Jimi, who now trains youngsters in the sport, which demands participants practice mixed martial arts and battle it out in the ring, said:
"People might think it's violent but it's a sport, like boxing. You get to release energy and take your frustration out and it takes a lot of discipline. I think kids will be able to relate to me as I've come from the same place they have. When I speak to them they listen."

Jimi is in Nigeria to check out the MMA scene with a view to checking out the possibility of setting up a replica of his reputable MMA gym in London - Lionspride MMA.

Jimi, who says he has a passion for his sport and his people, will be treating mixed martial arts practitioners and any others interested in learning more about MMA and what it takes to be successful in the field at a program hosted by The Tarmac in conjunction with the Young Friend Karate Club in Ayobo.
He will be teaching various MMA skills and techniques ranging from Brazilian Jiujitsu, Muay Thai, Boxing, Wrestling, to Karate, etc., Just as he does as a respected motivational speaker at high schools in England, Jimi will also be giving tips on important keys for success. 

Tarmac is located at 35 Olayemi Road, Olayemi Ayobo.  Participation is free but there are limited spaces available. Interested persons must register on Young Friend International's FB page if they'd like to book a place or text their name to 0818 394 1294.

See more pics of him below...

85 comments:

1. I love his lips, cute guy.

1. He looks more like a model, the ladies man!

2. Handsome dude,see body.

#skaler#

3. UFC? Hmm, I do not jealousy you oh. The most brutal fight championship ever. Good luck to you though

#God answers all prayers#
    Happy moments - Praise God, Difficult moments-Seek God,
    Quiet moments -Worship God, Painful moments-Trust God,
    Every moment - Thank God.

4. Wow!!! We seem to have a lot of nigerians outside the shores of the country, doing well.

5. Wow!!! We seem to have a lot of nigerians outside the shores of the country, doing well.

6. thank GOD he is from nigeria

7. thank GOD he is from nigeria

8. chai, fine boy. made me fall in love over and over again!! but this profession of his, mba

9. Good development...Kashman_002@yahoo.com

10. Handsome dude.keep d flag flying@loly.fash@yahoo.com

11. handsome dude@loly.fash@yahoo.com

12. Nigerians world over doing great things.here is my email,cooldavoe@yahoo.com

13. This his body tho, kinda scary Lol..but he' s a cute man..Btw its always good to follow your passion#Nice

14. Choi! Dis one na one blow 80 akpus....fine. Guy though...

15. Nigerians doing great things,Linda here is my email,cooldavoe@yahoo.com

16. na wa for waec oooo..make the guy help me na...i need help ooo

17. nice looking guy.... nice job!

18. At least we know there is a sport a Nigerian can be successful at.

19. Good one #bright bravo#

20. Good one #bright bravo#

21. Omo, the guy resemble TERMINATOR o. This is a killer machine, i just pity the mad person that will dream of pissing him off.
    Much respect bros

22. Lindaaaaaaaaaah, the daughter of Mr Ikeji. You surely got an eye for hot bod. Wonder if ur type of man is on diz earth or still raining in heaven

23. kudos to him......

alex25emperor@yahoo.com

24. http://monthlyyouth.com/?ref=21337

25. http://monthlyyouth.com/?ref=21337

26. biko which hotel hin de lodge? i wan help check weather mosquitoes de the place?

27. Linda has finally introducnkoya her bobo. We dey watch you, madam. By the way, who win your money???

NWUNYE EMI

28. Linda, how could you miss out the very vital information on his "market availability" or otherwise? Some ladies will start trooping to the gym to learn "romancial arts" only to have their hopes dashed to pieces...lol

29. His royal hawtness
    tedonkumoh@yahoo.com

30. Nyc. Respect to his lineage, came from a line of dedicated and disciplined people; 1st Neurosurgeon in Africa. Now dts a feat!

31. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    I hate his profession though....

32. Omo dis guy cute oo

33. The manuwa's are very good looking hence am not surprised....#SeunLondon

34. Nd am suppose 2 allow ma kid 2 dis bcos of wetin biko?? Bt d guy cute...

35. Biko Linda is he single, Because i am single and ready to Mingle. *Clears throat*

36. Cute guy.

37. We also have Henry "THE HERCULES" Fadipe who is EFC Afrca middle Weight Champion

38. Congrats
    ngobest741@yahoo.com

39. U wan try tht body ni??? wickard

C.E.O

40. Oh ma God! Look @ dat bodi,lips,nipplez nd eyez...... I cn kill Boko haram fr ds boi..... *come sweat on me papi*

~@iamJbankz Olamide's PA~

41. Ewooooo c body. His royal hawtness no b small tyn. His profession is scary tho.

42. Oh ma God! Blood of ma village king! Ds boi is sexy..... Look @ dose chewable nipples,eyes,hot bodi nd kissable lipz.....*come sweat on me papi* linda r u sure ds guy is frm naija?coz our naija boiz 2 get hard nd wicked face...... Suffer head don mak al of dem resembl apez......

43. Oh my God...this guy is cute! am inlove wt him now.Linda hope he's nt married yet o??giftedchi@gmail.com

44. Oh ma God! Blood of ma village king! Ds boi is sexy..... Look @ dose chewable nipples,eyes,hot bodi nd kissable lipz.....*come sweat on me papi* linda r u sure ds guy is frm naija?coz our naija boiz 2 get hard nd wicked face...... Suffer head don mak al of dem resembl apez......

45. linda itz my first time commenting on ur blog. Tho i've bin a liber. for a long time. Pls post my comment o. Anyway am thinkiing you should start a match making blog. it would def. sell. Am single and wouldn't mind being match-made. Am MISS E.

46. this are the kindda people nigeria needs to uplift the Name of the country..everybody cant do music

47. OMG, see body, this guy is super hot

48. welcome home brother...good to know he has big plans for Naija kids....but Linda, Pls get your facts right,I follow MMA a lot and Jimi lost his last UFC fight via second round knock out to Alexander Gufstasson ....and yeah...make no mistakes with his good looks and nice body...this boy will kick your ass if you go messing around with him...

1. Yup. I watched the fight live on the 8th of March 2014 at the 02 centre London. That's his 1st career loss though. Other than that. He is killer!!!

49. Gudluck bro. Pretex4luv@yahoo.com

50. Wow, nice.. at list we got some Nigerians making us proud globally other than the super eagles and mostly the heartless boko haram...
    check out more here
    #akusonhenry

51. May God help Linda find this husband she has been looking for

52. hrm paul ojeih1 July 2014 at 15:12

oga kick boxer if u dey read Linda ikeji blog abeg here is a candid advise boris kodjoe no fine pass u kindly quit this brain bashing sport and go into the movies u will do well if not na brain damage viz a viz Parkinson syndrome na him u go end up with

53. Great guy doing great things. Linda hv got a new crush in him.

54. LINDAAAAA, LINDAAAAAA, LINDAAAAAAA, HW MANY TYMS I CALL YOU. PLS LOOK FOR THIS MAN AND MAKE HIM MARRY YOU.

55. Stop lying Linda, I'm a poster boy fan and as much as it pains to say, he lost his last fight

56. Hot hot. damie012@yahoo.com

57. Fine Dude....Sholly_boy5721@yahoo.com

58. Those stupid Britons will not link such events to 9ja o, but when bribery or murder is involved, they will not let us hear word. #YEYEPEOPLE

59. well done

BORN TO SHINE!!!!

60. Hi linda am a first time writer.. Maybe not avnt seen d first I sent... But pls always look out for me when posting kk... Love ya ... By the way I recommend dis guy for you.. He is HAWT

61. Grandpa must be rolling over in the grave at all those tattoos

62. OMG,dudezonpoin....

i bet linda z crushing him already, u can keep him o, lemme admire from a distance cos if dis kind guy vex ground go shake o.

63. Linda, Please get your facts straight. Jimi has 14 MMA victories and 1 Loss and also 3 UFC Victories and 1 Loss. He lost to Alexander Gustafsson on the 9th of March at the UFC Fight Night 37 held at the London o2 Arena.

That's not taking anything away from his ability though. He is a good fighter.

64. He is now the number two contender. Watch out for the Poster boy and no he is not single. He has a partner and is a responsible and dedicated father of four.