Moment two planes almost collide on runway at Barcelona airport caught on video | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 8 July 2014

Moment two planes almost collide on runway at Barcelona airport caught on video

The heart stopping moment two planes nearly collided on a runway in Barcelona, Spain has been captured on camera. The incident, which happened on Saturday, shows a plane crossing a runway as another plane is coming in for a landing and had to abort just seconds before touching down, with the pilot carrying out an emergency 'go-around' procedure.

The jet, which had travelled from Russia, landed safely shortly afterwards. The video of the dramatic moment was posted on Youtube. See more pics and the video after the cut...

Below is what the person who posted it, Miguel Ángel, wrote about the incident
Yesterday (on Saturday), early in the morning...What you see is what happened. An UTair Boeing 767-300 (VQ-BSX) incoming from Moscow as UT5187 and Aerolíneas Argentinas Airbus A340-300 (LV-FPV)...
The Utair 767 was about to land on Runway 02 while the Argentinas was crossing the runway. By the time russian pilots sight Argentinas (they were taxiing to Holding point of RW25R for take-off) on runway while they were on final approach, they did their best making an impressive and close go around.
After that incident the plane landed safely on runway 02, and the Argentinas took-off heading Buenos Aires. I hope you enjoy the video, Greetings from BCN,
Miguel Ángel
The video below...

65 comments:

1. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    And some touts said there is no God.... Baba God da'alu......

2. Accident is a liar, thank God the collision was averted

3. Saw it last night on CNN, it will only take a very experienced and smart pilot to pull something like this. The pilot deserves commendation.
    Thank God this disaster was averted.

4. This has happened in America in the 90s, it was all down to miscommunication from the tower, no lives were lost then and thank God none was lost now!

5. Greetings from Nigeria, the Land of Milk and Honey. I'm out ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

6. Thank Goodness!!
    I Just Imagine the panic inside the plane at that tym..

7. Wow. Professionalism at wrk. Spontaneous diversion. #phew#

8. wow!!! I can't say more than that!

9. Thank God. Kudos to the pilot

10. Thank God o

11. That was a close call. Those in the tower must have forgotten the runway needs clearing.

12. Aswear aunti linda ℓ̊ no undastand oooo#maryann_emma@yahoo.com

13. It wud hv been disaterous but thank GOD nufin happened

14. Wooooooooow, this is really serious, God really save them!!!!! It would av been aa disaster.

15. hmm tank God it didn't happen they would have lost so many souls# fredyobot@yahoo.com

16. Greetings too. Pretex4luv@yahoo.com. 08063645540. Anuty, mi email is nt functional at d moment.

17. tank God it didn't happen they would have lost many souls #fredyobot@yahoo.com

18. good job. patoswife@gmail.com

19. WHats the biggie ? i do this everyday on my Ipad flight simulator.

20. Thank God ooooo!!! That could have been disastrous.

21. Looks like a flight check to me jor! they should have interviewed some passengers on board!
    Anyway...as for me- if na my true life- na with stretcher them go carry me out becos i go don PASS OUT cold!...Sudden lift-up and the terrible vibrations that follows it! ha!!!

22. Kudos to the landing pilot.

23. OMG!
    I held my heart in my palm through the video.
    Linda, I saw you in my dream last night. ...

《LIB Addict》♡

24. Awesome God. He averted what would have been another disaster. Thank God for the vigilance and expertise of the pilot but above all the grace of the Almighty God.

25. WOW!!! Thank God..'Twould av been disastrous.

26. Thank God o for averting this calamity.

literacy.tina@gmail.com

27. Thank GOD there was no collision.

28. Nice but very scary video. I almost thought they were going to collide over each other.

......Pretty said so

29. Omg! Really an impressive go round! Hmmm thank God ooo! Choi that would have been a disaster!

30. This miguel guy most be sick tell Me what is enjoyable abt this video my heart almost stoped/ pounding watching alone lord I thank You for the Life's of the people inside. Just imagine if what would have happened OMG

31. Jeez, very close call there!

32. The landing plane pilots are heros, saving about 300 or more lives.

33. Dat wuld av been a heavy disaster. Tnk God!

34. That was so close. Guess the people in the control tower were all sleeping not to have seen this.. If it were to be in Nigeria now they will all be running their mouth Jonathan this,Jonathan that. This things can happen anywhere,anytime.

35. hmmm...thank God ooo... nkemdirimeverista111@gmail.com

36. God purnish devil

XDON D DON

37. Nah only God dey save person!

38. Very scary... Such video can make someone cancel his flight
    goo.gl/mfyKt9

39. Wow,thank God danger was averted.
    Cooldavoe@yahoo.com

40. Wow,thank God danger was averted.
    Cooldavoe@yahoo.com

41. Tnk God they never collided.

42. Some videos don't stream linda! Ur main customers na mobile fone users o! Take ur time

43. derriz God oooo .... na only them waka come.... THANK GOD FOR THE SAVED LIVES though the video isnt too scary i thought it was a very close call

44. It's real a heart stopping moment, God save dem

45. Thank God for averting the disaster. It was super close.

46. Thank God for averting the disaster. It was super close.

47. i watched the video on CNN and have to say, it was really close. thank God the disaster didnt happen, it wont be funny at all.

48. thank God it didnt happen
    ola-wunmi

49. Thank God ooo. Cud v bin anoda tin. Hope sum1 doesn't get fired 4 dis. Just sayin...D Curious1

50. Enjoy kini ? That could have lead to death of many.....thomassolomon67@yahoo.com

51. Greetings too. Pretex4luv@yahoo.com. 08063645540, anuty mi email is nt functional at d moment.

52. Wow! that would have been fatal.

53. A case of pilot& co-pilot conversating too much and didnt pay close attention to air traffic tower instruction or the Russian pilot trying to land on the wrong runway. The latter seems more like it. Pilots are humans and they make mistakes like these or landing at a completely wrong airport. (Not funny but it is funny and embarrassing). Im guessing one of those airplane pilot is going through disciplinary action right about now!

54. Thank God ooooo, that is y it is important we av good & experienced pilots.

55. wowwwwwww. Kudos to the pilot for using his discretion especially during error in communication. It would have been another sad Story to tell.

Ola

56. The Pilot was fast to spot the other plane. I'm sure the timing wasn't right and communication too.
    Thank God the planes didn't collide with each other.
    #PICCANTO#
    lausmithuj@gmail.com

57. wow that was really close thank God for the wisdom of the pilot

58. tnk God dat disaster didnt take place, it wont ave being a good tin at all... D air control tower staffs did a very good job

59. Thank God!! This could have been very tragic considering the speed with which the plane was landing.
    Kudos to the pilot for averting this disaster cos the landing jumbo commercial plan would have ripped open from the middle the one that is about taking off.On impact,the two planes would up in flames and I can assure you,it would be so so fatal.There would be no chance of any of the passengers from the two planes surviving....God is great!!!

60. Jezz!!! Oh my goodness!
    Mamamfunkky@gmail.com

61. "Moment two planes almost collide on runway at Barcelona airport caught on video"
    Linda watch you grammer oo...it's almost collided and not alomost collide