Where the confusion about new Emir came from + PDP withdraws congratulatory message | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 8 June 2014

Where the confusion about new Emir came from + PDP withdraws congratulatory message

Earlier today, I and a few other news site, including AIT reported that Sanusi Ado Bayero, the eldest son of late Emir of Kano, had been named the new Emir of Kano. Well, the confusion started after this twitter handle belonging or not belonging to Sanusi Lamido Sanusi made the announcement. We all assumed it was fact and when I say we...I'm including PDP because immediately the news broke, the party released a statement congratulating the new Emir...but...you all know the facts have since changed. The real Emir is not a friend of the PDP and now the party has withdrawn its congratulatory message. Hehe. See it after the cut...

Our attention has been drawn to a unauthorized statement issued on behalf of the National Publicity Secretary of the PDP by his Special Assistant, Mr. Richard Ihediwa, congratulating the eldest son of the late Emir of Kano, Alhaji Sanusi Lamido Ado
Bayero as the new Emir of Kano.
Mr. Ihediwa relied on a false news flash on the AIT and issued a statement in that
direction without approval from the National Publicity Secretary, Chief Olisa Metuh. This is completely embarrassing to the National Publicity Secretary and the entire leadership of the PDP. 
We hereby dissociate with the statement earlier issued and regret the embarrassment this may have caused the entire nation, the Kano Emirate and the good people of Kano state. 
Signed  
Chief Olisa Metuh, National Publicity Secretary

114 comments:

1. BLOG ANALYSER: naija nd politics, every thing is now publicised including the emirate

1. PDP is so petti....must everything be politics. What is the big deal if Sanusi is the new emir of Kano....the man is a prince, his Grandfather was the Emir b4 Ado Bayero.

2. na real wah ,,,Nigeria

1. Nvr knew PDP wld stoop so low!Wat a Big Shame on PDP for dis high level immaturity

2. My dear Linda,I have followed you even when we were less than ten commenting.i found you refreshing and funny.
      Please taken this as constructive criticism and nothing else.
      When you post stories that later come out as false,you always justify yourself by saying you and others......
      That's where you are supposed to be different linda.either confirm your stories before post or apologize without dragging others in.afterall,you didn't make ref to anyone or tweet when you posted the message.
      Everyone makes mistakes,including you and I.embrace it,learn from it,apologize where needed and move on.
      God bless you

3. Beautifull criticism 😨@ Ese

4. If you take the credit, own up to the mess

3. You guys re so blind....you cnt change

4. You guys re so blind....you cnt change

5. Sanusi!always causing a storm

6. linda nne ..nyere nwanna gi aka oo..Jah Bless

7. So wat if his d new emir, plzz this is not news. Nxt..........

1. Untill u see cossy or tonto here dats when it's is news? Just have several sits

8. Hehehe... See gobe!.. Anyways Congrats to Lamido Sanusi!

9. I still can't believe that he is the new Emir of Kano.

10. Power tussle, they all crave power not for service but for politricks and tyranny

11. Stupid ass peeps #bright bravo#

12. I sincerely don't expect this type of action from PDP...Silly!

1. Cluelessness and confusion continue in the PDP alongside mediocrity. The law of karma and of diminishing returns is catching up with them fast. Sanusi was suspended because he discovered $20 billion dollars missing from our coffers. (that was why GEJ suspended him.) Sanusi has a degree in Sharia law..and he bagged first class!! Its either we expect more trouble in dat zone or d opposite..So let's watch d whole drama

13. linda no allow this pipu put u for middle oooo.... nai ji riya....

14. Looolz this people should stop being petty, whether they like SLS or not the people of Kano have chosen their ruler. Lets leave it at that and try not to overheat the already heated polity.

~BONARIO~says so via NOKIA

1. Really? The people of kano? U sincerely believe d "people of kano" had anytin 2 do wit this decision?....Mr gullible

2. "People of kano" didn't choose. Kwankwaso did. FYI, people of kano were protesting and causing trouble last night. You can't give an Igwe's throne to someone else, when the Igwe has a legitimate son, that can succeed him. Its how monarchy works. But to spite GEJ(not caring that he ll not be directly affected), Kwankwaso gave it to an anti-GEJ(i.e SLS). Thank me later.

3. They have seized Amaechi's aircraft from leaving Kano. Presidency is so pained. They are the ones overheating the polity with their rented crowds. Foolishness at its peak. Up up SLS. Down down presidency.

4. This don override Chibok girl. This government keeps failing.

5. Congrats to SLS. @bonario: I thought it was via Nokia Lumia abi ƔƠ̴͡Ʋ don upgrade

6. People of Kano you say?...like he was elected! Guy give yourself brain abeg

7. Anonymous 6.55,@igwes throne.
      Let me help you.
      Lamido was the emir.his son should have been the next.something happened and the throne went to ado bayero,the younger brother to the then emir.
      Except sanusi lamido wasn't alive or was proved incompetent,he is morally,royally,officially next in line,
      Let me demonstrate further,
      When prince Charles dies,William takes the throne,if for any reason William is unable to,then William and kates son becomes king.
      Remember that charles has two younger brothers o and Harry is also there.
      So people,go and study your government text books.

8. Whch ppl of kano??? Taaaaah!!! Shut up if u dnt knw wat is hapnin here! It's a pity ppl are so blinded 2 mk it a pdp and apc affair! It's just unfortunate d gov has d final say! D kingmaker chose ciroma kano 4 endorsement by d gov buh he chose SLS 4 political reasns!!! Kano ppl ain't hapi!!! I live in kano, so just shut up! It's pathetic dt APC supporters are evrywhr on twitter mekiin it look lyk pdp is incitin d protest! Cm 2 kano and ask dem! They dnt lyk SLS!

9. Anon.3:58. Point of correction, whether prince charles is alive or dead, Prince william is next in line after the queen. Thank me later.

15. More reasons why "u" lin shud be careful, theses are confused buncha fools!

16. these people are just kidding . i jst dont understand how they run tins

Discover how to make legal and cool income from your phone daily here. click

17. DEm dey mad,abeg mke dem go slp joor...he is d Emir he is d Emir nutin cn b don abt it,if dey don't lyk it dey shuld chop stone mtchEew....

18. Its a pity everything in Naija is now political. Some old menace will just sit and make descisions in a country that has masses, abi na their papa get Naija. The northerners should be very careful and sensible to know that they are been used as porn on Nigeria's chess board. I wonder what lamido is looking for about, he should go and relax before he stirs up an un-neccesary dilema.

1. I sincerely hope u knw d difference btw "porn" nd "pawn"

2. Idiot its pawn not porn too much mojo

3. Must you insult the fellow?

19. Shame on PDP then

20. Hehehheehehe......BH has finally got a Safe Haven Headquarters, and its official!!! Hahahahaahahah..... Watchout the news that would proceed from Kano henceforth! Quote me o, I said so!

1. And who are you?

2. You sabi wetin the happen for Naija too well

21. Hmmmmmm! APC at work. Am sure dey murdered d former emir in order to ridicule GEJ. God wil disgrace all of dem soon!

1. I am sure you should be in an asylum.

2. You are a moron. Just like they murdered your father. You better ask for forgiveness. Oloshi.

22. Childish !!!Why withdrawing the congrats message ! Is the pdp as a party fightn wit Sanusi ?that doesntt change the fact that Sanusi is now new Emir of Kano. An anti GEJ is pdp

1. Do u still prefer they sent congratulatory msg to the wrong candidate?it has 2b withdrawn n apologies tendered #dueprocess

23. BONIFACE ONWUMA8 June 2014 at 22:55

If they mentioned Bayero in the congratulatory message, I think they shouldn't have bothered retracting the statement. After all it wasn't Sanusi they congratulated.

1. They congratulated the wrong person, which is embarrasing, and that's y d statement has been retracted. Y are people making it sound like they specifically mentioned nt congratulatin SLS?

2. They congratulated the wrong person, which is embarrasing, and that's y d statement has been retracted. Y are people making it sound like they specifically mentioned nt congratulatin SLS?

24. People deceiving party.(PDP)very confused set of human being
    #############GOD punish######################devil

25. CONGRATULATIONS TO SLS, THE EMIR OF KANO!!!!!!!!

26. The fact remains that SLS is the next emir and is the Emir of Kano after Ado Bayero. Trying to give it to Bayero's son was to chastise Senusi. Sanusi's father was the Emir of Kano before it was collected and given to his younger brother (Ado Bayero) ,now Ado is no more, Sanusi has to assume his rightful position. Even before he became the CBN governor, it has been known that SLS is the next emir of Kano.

27. Embarrassed for what?! They should be embarrassed for making a fool of themselves and being helpless in securing the nation from Boko Haram!

28. Lolzzzz. Dobis112

29. Scapegoat alert! PDP have made a scapegoat of mr ihediwa.

1. Lolz. ..some has to carry the cross...its better on an individual than the team.#teamsmartmove

30. This anomaly shows how low the Northern hegemony can sink in other to spite the administration of GEJ. Whether SLS likes it or north, when the chips are down he must come to court to defend his diatribe on missing oil money as he alleged.

1. Anya Ikenga, u will soon vomit all the money they r paying u to write rubbish on this forum.

2. Its just Sad and lugubrious that this monstrous cancer called Sanusi Lamido Sanusi has creep in and defiled the once exalted Royalty of the Kano Emirate.
      I am maniacally bewildered, overgassted
      and flabberwhelmed at the paraplegic
      crinkum crankum that characterised the Sanusi Lamido emirship! The
      jiggery pokery of the Northern so called elite in crowning Sanusi Lamido Sanusi instead of our very own prodigy
      Bayero Sanusi is a veritable bugaboo that
      must be seen as a deadly development and a descreation,perfidy and mendacity of all the apparatchic of Royalty.Its not only repugnant but also insalubrious!

I said to my self: What an anathematous
      disdain on the citizenry! What a
      deprecable descent from the sublime to
      the ridiculous! Who will curb the
      odoriferous excesses of this machavellian
      and mephistophelean cabal in the Ka no emirate?
      A once accused murderer of Gideon Akaluka......a prodigal son of no trace of sanity.......a stunch believer of anarchy,terror,hence a sympathetic soul to Boko haramism.
      Whatever apparatus that Ushered in this higgy haga,Posterity won't say a line of it for good.

3. @charles arinze (joker) and anya ikenga! You two are hilarious! It's not about blowing grammar! It's about the little words and spellings in between! I'm not attacking your English! Even with the big dictionary words you can't even get the little words or sentences right!

31. WELCOME BACK TO THE JOBMARKET MR. SPECIAL ASSISTANT.

32. PDP can act nollywood movie sha in so many different parts.so PDP now relies on AIT for such information.well i wont be surprised,since the president says journalist know more than him.they jst did this to get at sanusi period!

33. Who Cares.
    IG:Kitty_e

34. Imagine this smelling statement “ we are hereby disassociate with statement earlier Issued” i dey laugh these people. Mumu PDP. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

35. PDP will destroy Nigeria

36. Hmmm wahala dey this country o but thing is for sure GEJ ain't coming down from there so APC should just chill.

37. GEJ government, PDP are so fond of saying one thing in one minute and the next minute issue a statement to counter or retract it, kilode gan, mtcheww. SLS congratulations jare.

38. Fuck all of dem abeg.......HBD Banga lee Eja nla skibanj.....baba God cover e Dapo

39. Welcome to the blame-game country Nigeria where politicisation, trivialization and tribalization thrives.

40. Must everythg be politicize....

41. Is he actually from Kano? Thought he is from Kaduna.... Sanusi that is suppose to be in jail, now Emir na waah ooo

42. MUMU PDP. So they rely on twitter without making clarifications or getting confirmations? Kai, they cannot come back come 2015. They are a complete let down, running the country like their homes. God punish and shame them.

43. That man aint cool for that shit. I mean sit abi seat.

44. Linda I heard that a popular Nollywood actor died sunday evening... He is popularly known as Natti.... Verify

XDON D DON

45. If you congratulate someone publicly on a new appointment and it turned out the information you received was wrong,what do you do? I do not see why the PDP's apology should draw so much bad blood.

46. Linda, abeg make u dey authenticate ur news b4 u bring am here oooooo..

47. Mehn I don't understand Nigerians.. Can u people read and understand? The withdrawal simply means they withdraw congratulatiing the wrong person and also the fact they congratulated the wrong person means they caused the whole confusion. They didn't withdrwa the statement because they don't want to congratulate him. Linda don't be an instigator and don't always add meaning to things that don't exists.

48. Pdp is filled with Old spiteful foools..and dis r d kind dat wanna b voted cum 2015? Neva..d wahala is jus to mch,u idiots for GEJ 2015 or PDP btr wake up nd make d right decision bfr its too late.b wise

49. What they don't know nor understand by polluting the throne by their political gain is that it will not be respected again like it used to. It doesn't change SLS for whom he is when ppl address him for whom he is, the ppl that crown him shouldn't be annoyed negative remarks comes. he is still under Investigation by FG and if find guilty hmm does it mean he won't be prosecuted and jail by competent judiciary for abuse of office, Financial Recklessness, false witness and deceiving us to divert attention. For the reason stated above he shouldn't have being crown even though is his birth right but his character and controversies he engulfed himself with should ve disqualified him for that post if the kano govt n king makers are sincere and not politically polluted.

50. So you cant congratulate Sanusi Lamido ?? Thats so rude to the emir!!! I hope PDP aint gonna campaign there cos i dont see Pres. Jonathan bowing before Soludo ....This is getting interesting

51. Shame on you in person & same goes to the bodies or organization named PDP,its interpreted how the named do its thing.He his Allah choice,nothing you can do!

52. Now that the PDP knows d authentic Emir of Kano,hv they released/issued any statement congratulating him?diaris godo ooo

53. I hope Nigeria breaks before 2015 general election,cos the way things are going right Nigerians are so dumb are confused that they wants to cast their votes to APC, and if that happenes Nigeria will become an islamic country.

54. Late Ado Bayero was on †̥ђε throne for 50yrs and dat means †̥ђε kingship will continue in his own home dats Y he was almost assassinated last year but God intervene and he completed †̥ђε 50yrs and only for them to change it and give to SLS by causing chaos yesterday,, well that's their Problem cos My God is still on †̥ђε throne and he will protect us always.

55. SHAME on PDP as a party,I beg eeeh congrates 2 sls....,w dey r realising how much dis ignorant administration is crumbling...d pdp won d 2011 elections thru victories in key. States lik LAGOS,PLA-2 nd KANO...heheheheheh..nw all 3 states r gone...dia scrude

56. This is real confusion o. So d eldest son of d late emir also bears Sanusi Lamido? Well, as for PDP and its leadership, after withdrawin thr congratulatory mssg, dey can go ahead and withdraw more dan dat for all i care. Yeye ppl. I hate hypocrisy. Wuld dey av withdrawn it if dis same Sanusi wr to be a frnd of d party?

57. Pls n pls enough of ol dz politikin ehh, cn b united 4 d bettermnt of dz nation. Dis party ds, dat party dat..evn now on traditional stool..pls it ought nt 2b so..pls both parties shud bury dia hatches..its d masses dt suffers pls..cn we v sm peace..Let d SLS b dia nah..if its politicised den its wrng n if he does nt wk/learn wit d royal etiquette den dia wil b consequences..Nawah ooo

58. The appointment of Sanusi as Emir has very wide implications against the re-election of Goodluck Jonathan. This appointment is obviously political to serve a certain purpose. Sanusi will leverage on this position to campaign for the APC to other Emirs in the North. The most populous states of Kano, Lagos and Rivers States are Gone to the APC, Northeast is almost totally gone against Uncle Jona. What is the future of Jonathan in the next Presidential elections? I guess he deserves to be re-elected and we should not compensate the Fulani Cabal for terror.

59. Please Lindy, just be careful next time, verify your source before posting like you always do. Kisses.

Scholes

60. I look forward to the day i will start hearing controversial free news from naija politics. Emir died and Sanusi became next in line. There is God o!

61. Somethings are better left unsaid.

62. ...come and see drama...plenty drama...serious drama... Season 1, Act 2, Scene 1. Coming up in Season 2...What happens when PDP (and/or President Jo) go(es) to Kano for campaign or a state visit?

Plus, will their be PDP Presidential campaign in KanO?

(They'll be) back after this commercial break.

"MKO...is our man o..."

63. PDP and Metu, childish and petty as always! CONGRATULATIONS TO SANUSI!

64. They're all so obsessed with power,sanusi prolly can't go a year without been in charge of something...Hmmm! One thing tno...he go wan prove himself,He will make move about boko haram case...Watch!!!!

65. What is wrong with this PDP people. Ok i get the message now, they already lost 2015 election in Kano hahaha. Almighty Allah will Judge everyone of in my lifetime

66. All their evil plans will back fire on them in Jesus name. Amen!

67. LOSERS. Enemies of progress. Grown ass men that can't control their damn emotions, envious & hateful of each other. Pathetic.

68. K"Pin "Di k"Pi should be blamed for all the confusion and protest in Kano over the Emirship. They are indeed kPaDekPi.

69. but i dnt see anything wrong here,as a matter of fact dey did d right thing by redacting a statement dey made with false info...Congrats dou to d new emir

70. SLS MUST COME TO COURT TO ANSWER FOR HIMSELF. EMIR OR NO EMIR. NOBODY IS ABOVE THE LAW

71. Confusion everywhere eyah

72. dnt blame d poor man, it was signed and authorised by the secretary himself