Photos: SABC boss under probe for taking a 22 year old 'wife as gift’ | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 22 June 2014

Photos: SABC boss under probe for taking a 22 year old 'wife as gift’

The acting chief operations officer of the South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC), Hlaudi Motsoeneng is under probe for accepting a 22 year old who was given to him as a gift. (girl circled).

According to local media, Motsoeneng was given the young woman, along with a cow and a calf, by a lobby group of traditional leaders in Thohoyandou, in Limpopo province, who are seeking greater exposure of their culture.

A Soweto-based newspaper reported last week that about 10 half-naked women were lined up and Motsoeneng was asked to pick one. He picked a human resources management student named Vanessa Mutswari. Vanessa is pictured above bare-breasted next to him, standing behind a trailer on which the other gifts, a cow and a calf had been loaded. And she's so happy to be given out as a gift. Continue...

Immediately the photos were published, the SABC boss came under attack with people describing the offer of a "wife" as "barbaric".

South African women’s groups have protested against the act, asking Motsoeneng to be investigated and the girl immediately returned to her family.
"The use of women as gifts as if they were livestock is a serious regress and an insult to the gains of 20 years of democracy and freedom, particularly the contribution of women,” women’s ministry spokeswoman Kenosi Machepa said.
Gender commission spokesman Baloyi said an investigation has been launched and the girl's family contacted. Motsoeneng has not responded publicly to the allegations.

98 comments:

1. What rubbish!I attended a wedding where a goat was werapped with wraping sheet as gift to the couple,but A human? Naaaa that's barbaric.And to think that the silly girl was happy about it shows how little she knows about her worth.

1. Na wa oh!
      Absolute rubbish!
      See the mumu girl, a student oh, smiling, smh!

2. Na wa,wetin man pinkin no go hear,but wait d gal is happy,dey should let her be

3. So South Africa hasn't stopped dis barbaric act? Jst see hw dey see women der as a commodity, so unfair....

1. What is their headache and yours? The girl is happy and if she did not want she will not agree and nobody would force her. I am a South African. Its no longet the old days where girls were married off by force.

4. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    The babe is happy like wise the man so fuck the probe.... The man self do mistake na two him for carry.....

1. LWKMD ....Hehehe...BIg Question . why are the onlookers on LIB angry , especially the women folk ? Simple Answer , the news makes the women folk look and feel cheap. Abeg , this pretty gift is an educated adult and she looks quite happy being the chosen one, the giver of the gift(family and community) are happy, the receiver of the gift is equally happy, no coercion , no force , no child abuse involved . So why are the onlookers angry and calling for the crucifiction of the man not of the girl or the community.. Mtcheeeeew , abeg make una park well joor..

5. Can u imagine, stupid man...he cudnt turn down d wife gift and act as a responsible man...and see d stupid girl xo happy...modernise slavery..

6. That's bad #bright bravo#

7. African 'Queen' Icon22 June 2014 at 13:07

Free the man jo! The lady is an adult and full aware of her role but did not protest.

8. hahahhhhahahah women don suver kai giving a woman out like garri hmmmmmmm diaris God oooo.#THAT AKWA IBOM BOY#

9. African 'Queen' Icon22 June 2014 at 13:09

BTW, what is that other man staring at? Her buttocks? Men, na wah oh!

10. And then....is this going to change the price of bread? Why not report serious local issues? South Africans, even women solve their own problems faster biko.

1. I concurr. Linda ikeji is turning to be a perv! Miss linda pls engage the mind of ur readers which are mostly youths to become future leaders and not rapists and fornicators

11. Is he not even ashamed of himself.Collecting 22yrs old girl as gift.Child abuse..Na wa for you oooo

secretary caught having an affair with her boss
    Here

See what this man is trying to do to this lady in the bush
    Here

Mother caught her son with Ashewo in the sitting room
    Here

Checkout what these final year Female Student are Doing in their Room after their last paper
    Here

12. How degrading

13. See life. I no fit talk!

14. NA WA OOO UWA NKE A

15. Wetin we no go hear or see... And the girl is even happy! Smh

16. This is wrong!

Kindly visit www.mapleservices.com.ng today #recruitments #opportunities

17. What a babaric attitude.Libers can I call dis child abuse??

############GOD bless####################Naija

18. I'm not in support of him being presented the young lady as a gift; as a matter of fact, it's unacceptable..but, the lady in question is not a minor and can make her own decision..
    Happy Sunday y'all.

*My R1.50c comment*

19. Oloshi Olorididan ...e go don sex d gal so tey the " G " don comot for the "gift" na ift remain....why e no go return am! Mptshew! in this modern day ??

20. Chai! 'Gift'! Women r tryin 2 be progressive, less than a disposeable object. But imbeciles like d man above keeps draggin us back 2 d stone age. Just sayin...D Curious1

21. Human being as a gift? This is worst than slave trade and apartheid and should be condemned
    totally.

#God answers all prayers#
    Happy moments - Praise God, Difficult moments-Seek God,
    Quiet moments -Worship God, Painful moments-Trust God,
    Every moment - Thank God.

22. Na wa o.The girl in question is smiling tho.A girl as a gift?So dis rubbish still exist?He shud respond 2d allegations

23. Chai! 'Gift'! Women r tryin 2 be progressive, less than a disposeable object. But imbeciles like d man above keeps draggin us back 2 d stone age. Just sayin...D Curious1

24. I tot she is happy wiv the offer!she looks excited biko

25. The girls looks very happy... What is the Prob for? Like its going to stop the tradition that has been there for generations.... Next pls

26. Slavery still existing? Na wa Ooo

27. Haba, but d girl can refuse if she wanted to. Look @ her full of smiles, obviously liked it. Who go refuse dis kind fresh pumpkin... Besides, she's old enuf

28. In dis age and time ???..its well...

29. NOBODY SHLD SLAP ME FOR SAYING THIS.. but as barbaric as it is.. the girl doesnt mind.. she is busy there shining her 32... a whole human resource student... its clear she doesnt lyk skool.. all she wnts to b is a 3rd, 4th, 5th wife...

30. i love south africa. i love their culture.

do not give into westernization abeg. keep your traditions.

damn u mean a chick with such fine breatsisisis are given to a man because he is major.

we are suffering in Nigeria. let us free ourselves from mental slavery.

#ilovebadbitchesigotafuknproblem

31. Hmmmmm wonders shall never end. But d girl seems happy and 22 is an adult so its not a case of "against her wish". Secondly in islam such practice is common and its called sadaka except they have abolished it.personally I don't see any case there. #Glophil

1. Abeg always try to get your facts straight before you yarn. Sadaka marriage is not Islam o! It is common amongst the hausas and it applies only to wayward girls who have gone haywire and want to 'kill' their parents.

32. A human being as gift in dis era..lool..well since d girl is very happy let them leave her alone joor..I swear I need to go to limpopo province..see fine girl....................................#KingOfKings

33. Mumu SA gal, wen we have a lot of dangling tinz in 9ja. Relocate 2 9ja pls, dat guy is 2 old n not creamy 4 u. Haba fyn gal. We re hated by Dem, yet luk @ der stupid culture. Women don suffer.

Mrs DAvido

34. And the gift was happy she's bn used as a gift.......smh

35. Can't believe this is coming from SA.. It is not only barbaric it is violate fundamental human right...d funny part of it is that d gal in said is happy to be a gift and she is even educated...we r no longer in era of slavery coz this kind of thing was done last during slaves era....the community should be probe also..this is more secret to dis act...meanwhile

Check my blog post My Boobs are for my Fans, I Expose it for them- Yetunde Agboola. Click to Read

36. Na wa ooO,hw cn dey give sum1 out as gift?is she an item?

37. In this morden world South Africa at that mater, both the family and the acceptee need to serve the jail. What is this, is it ignorant or what.

38. So lindaway this girl dey hapi say them dey dash her out hmmm ,she tryooooo abeg this kind story ,I just dey pass .CHI.

39. Na wah oooo... dis world is now turning to another thing ooooo.... chai... she even happy...

Via BlackBerry z10

40. Dis kind gift mak sense o,d gal frosh die

41. Seriously?! They still do that in this time? What kind of barbaric practise is that? Well guess it's only in African you see these types of rubbish! Women as gifts! Pffft

42. Awon olon-buruku oloshi jati jati wicked and heartless South Africans.

43. Dis is pure madness! I mean, we are in d 21st century, and things like dis shuld av be buried in d past. But i stil dnt undastnd why dey a probing d man, thr was a mutual undastanding btw both parties

44. but hin don fuck d girl na, so wts d need to return her. d babe set shaall

45. well the girl in question is happy to be a gift plus it seems like her parents too didnt raise any eyebrows. who are we to raise our voices? NEXT!!!!!

46. I wouldn't mind this kind of gift oo.. See her robust and super fertile body .. If I put my magic stick here na better belle + belle straight up .. Damn this babe is fertile super fertile .. Damn all the spermatozoa in my loins have gone on rampage since seeing the girl .. They want to fertilise her eggs straiaght!!!! Damn!!!

47. The gift is happier than the givers so why are u complaining. This their culture and the girls so paraded are not coerced. She is even educated so what's the fuss about?

48. Check the credentials of the tabloid that published the story. It is all lies, the girl's family set the record straight on SABC News. She is engaged to be married to someone else.

49. Honsylglobal.com : UK Global Online Financial Advisers22 June 2014 at 14:55

To most men, this is a very attractive and acceptable culture.

50. When will this retrogressive tradition change. Even dressing halfnaked and calling it tradition is retrogression. Clothes are made for a reason people. Tradition/culture should be dynamic, that is, changing progressively.

51. Nah wa ooooo*sigh*but wait ooo LinLin am I seeing a movie?a woman like me as a gift?it is well bikonu!JAYKAY

52. Lindodo, pls find out if they also give out six pack men,I will manage without the following gifts.
    silly people,that's why developed countries do look down on some African counties.I thought that the era of things fall apart was long gone with ikemefuna and okonkwo.Shame on those that were in support trying to bring back slave trade in a modern way !
    Diana.

53. Chai if him no want, make dem gimi laaaa. Hope she comes wit a manual?

54. Lol! Please can I have Linda ikeji as a gift & a crate of schnapps.

55. Are you looking for a sugar mummy or daddy please call dis line 09096552678 please be mature...

56. Na wa o what a shame

57. Hmmmm,pls do such tins stil happen,d girl can't return home she is already considered someone's wife ,southafrica sha#bebo#

58. How does this girl think she'd be treated well. She can never even have an opinion where the man is concerned. And to think she's educated. She can never have a say in anything cuz she's a fucking gift and a disgrace to the 21st century woman.

59. africa is a dark continent discuss.
    shyne

60. africa is a dark continent discuss.
    shyne

61. Archaic culture that adds no value to human dignity.How does sound it that you were just given away along with animals in a ceremony.So many things are happening in this world,human beings don't value themselves,some marry animals even have sex with them.It's left for u to know what you are.

62. Oh! Tot they said south africa is developed????....naija is bad but sometinz cant happen...and to think that both parties are educated baffles me...

63. Choi!! Nwanne lekwa onyinye puru iche#lickingtongue

64. Barbaric n to think this people went to school...Mtschew!

65. Yes their body parts are exposed but you should realize that that is their cultural dressing and people commenting on them being "half naked" is making it sexualised which it is NOT

66. It seems the girl is satisfied nd happy about it why not let them be.

67. she is happy which one is their business.Abi did she tell them she was forced or at 22 she doesn't know what she is doing?

68. After they will say nudity is not an african culture,hope dy can seee this.

69. Choi why dem no born me for south africa?
    C enjoyment swallows spit and licks lips.

70. Judging for her facial expression, she wasn't forced into this. At 22 years she is not a child

71. Ɠогƍеους Ɖίνα22 June 2014 at 17:54

Lol..Motsoeneg still dey flex the chic! Buh the girl is hawt sha!!!

72. good, its unfair
    The use of women as gifts as if they were livestock is barbaric...
    we are in 21th century

73. Ehnnn...limpopo province at skelewu local govt. Its well

74. Chai, me sef for travel go dere o. Maybe dem for give me better gift too

75. This girl will never want to go back so make them forget d women movement.

76. Obviously the girl is happy, Make una no add sand for her garri o

77. Linda,na lie.

78. d next u r gonna hear is dat it wasnt true and dat was jst a show...NEXT...PLS..its not like we dnt indirectly give out girls in dis country if not am so into DJ Cuppy but maybe in d next life wld i be alowed to wife her,i mean am jst a young nigerian struggling to survive...she wld be given out soon as a gift 2 cement business and personal interest btw 2 families and u knw its true..

79. mehn Dick standing things

80. Vanessa Babe-boo Mutswari

81. He should know better as a media personnel than to accept her. Him enemies don see oppurtunity abi?? Smh

82. The guy is soooooooo uncivilised! WTF! Taking a human bean as a gift?..Wao!

83. ...and d most annoying thing is the girl too is opening her teethm chai iyawo Sara....she must hv tot of d dough abbi Mtcheeeeew!

84. Probe for what??? 22 years old is a full blown adult and knows what she wants and to top it all she is educated to a certain extent!So I say again probe for what?? from what i see shes happy! are you telling me that if this girl stood her ground, they would force her or kill her?Shes has been brought to respect tradition and whatever it brings maybe thats why she dosent mind, so can they live the man and the adult lady alone!!! its nobody business what two adults are doing whether shes gift or not, they are both adult and shes happy to be his gift.I hate it when people feel their own way of life is better and other cultures and tradition are barbaric especially this stupid oyibo people over here,idiots, she is an adult and can not be forced into any thing so free her! human rights people should fight for children that don't want to be gifts, not an adult who knows what she is doing and what she wants!

85. The first dash was done in the garden of Eden by God who saw that the man has a need for companion nd dash him a woman. Did you ever read where he requested for one? If you are still arguing the read your bible and see that Lea and her sister was dashed out to samme guy called Jacob and since they didn't complain who are you present day guys or ladies to change the practise? For your information the original arrangement of marriage is that a woman is dashed out to a man and his family. That made it possible to protect not only traditions for ages but kept people away from evil vices. The refusal to follow this has brought evil to the world where we all marry disvirgined ladies and see nothing wrong in it. We even see men marrying theselves and called it civilisation. Linda if you like don't post.

86. Let the girl be if its her will

87. Na wa o,wonders shall neva end

88. Hey!!! Guys why all ya criticizing the poor little girl? She's not a kid and above 18 years, She accepted the decision of giving herself as a gift and very happy about it. GOOD IDEA for Her&family... Barbaric to ya all... Another man's food, is another man's poison. ha ha.

89. NkiruFatimaOla!23 June 2014 at 13:40

hmmm nawah oooo i dont knw wht massage they ar passing ooooo linda pls update us as soon as the investigation team is done with their findings.

90. The girl is of age and she looks hapy pple r here drinkin panadol for another person's headache she wasnt forced besides it happned here in Naija some yrs bak wen a pretty lady was givn as wife to a former vp she was more dan hapi n evn adopted a muslim name abeg its no news

91. What nonsens & barberic culture is dt? D stupid parents of d gal shid be arrested first followed by d SABC boss.for even acceptin d so-cald GIFT. & d stupid gal shld be given 24. Hot lashes of cain 4 accepting to become a GIFT ITEM.& she call haself a student, which I strongly doubt WOMEN! We hv sufered in ds world imagin ? D parents shld hv offered him their. SON as a gift.FOOLISH BARBERIANS