Ekiti Gov Kayode Fayemi concedes defeat, congratulates Ayo Fayose | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 22 June 2014

Ekiti Gov Kayode Fayemi concedes defeat, congratulates Ayo Fayose

Incumbent Governor of Ekiti State and APC Flag-bearer, Governor Kayode Fayemi has conceded defeat and congratulated Ayo Fayose, the PDP candidate at yesterday's governorship election. At a press conference in Ado Ekiti this morning, Governor Fayemi wished the Governor-elect, Ayo Fayose all the best in his service as Governor of the state.

See the transcript of his speech after the cut as posted on the Facebook wall of the Senior Special Assistant (Corporate Communications) to Governor Fayemi, Mr Akin Rotimi....

In o kun o Ekiti kete.
Yesterday, Ekiti State decided. Following the gubernatorial elections held in the land of honour, Ekiti State, Nigeria, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has officially returned the candidate of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) as the winner of the election.
If indeed this is the will of the Ekiti People, I stand in deference to your will. If the result of the elections is an expression of the voice of our people, we must all heed your voice.
I have just spoken with my brother, Mr. Peter Ayodele Fayose, congratulating him on his victory. In a few hours from now, I would be meeting the Governor-elect to discuss the future of our dear state and how we would work together to institute a smooth transition programme.

It has been a hard fought election. As expected, in the course of the campaigns, there were unsavory episodes as the candidates toured the nooks and crannies of the state to sell ourselves to the people. Elections tend to be highly divisive affairs that often see brother rising against brother. Despite our diverse party affiliations, and regardless of which way we voted on Saturday, we must remember that we are all sons and daughters of Ekiti State. Ekiti is ours to build together.

On our part, over the course of the campaigns, we presented our scorecards before the people of Ekiti State. We never at any point took your support for granted. We campaigned, we canvassed and we traversed the nooks and crannies of this State. Our performance and achievements in office will remain the backdrop against which the next government and indeed future governments will be assessed. We are proud that with the support of Ekiti people, we have raised the bar of excellence in governance. In all, we gave our best, for conscience and for posterity.

Indeed a new sociology of the Ekiti people may have evolved. However, the task of understanding how the outcome of this election has defined us as a people will be that of scholars. For us as an administration and a cadre of political leaders in Ekiti State, we have fought a good fight, we have kept faith.

To members of our party, our campaign team and indeed all Ekiti people who defied the siege on our state to cast their votes for our party, I salute your exemplary courage and doggedness in the face of harassment.

Thank you for staying the course. The incidences of brazen harassment, intimidation and allied infractions on fundamental human rights, which many of you suffered in the hands of agents of the state, would be documented and communicated to the appropriate authorities, for the records.
I thank you all for listening.

May God bless the land of honour, Ekiti State, Nigeria.
May God bless the Federal Republic of Nigeria.
Dr. Kayode Fayemi
Governor, Ekiti State
Sunday, June 22, 2014

90 comments:

1. One word. MATURITY.
    However, Ekiti peeps please note that NowYour Suffering Continues (NYSC).

2. Nice one. Not allowing those governors enter Ekiti state worked magic! That is what they should do in all the states..Long live PDP!

3. Well written.that's the best he can do,to congratulate d new governor.thumbsup Sir

4. Letting things be......... its a good thing

5. WTF!!!!!!!,Dis armed robber won d election?, Ekiti people must be high on shisha,I guess bcos he shared free bags of rice for d people a week b4 d election dats why they voted him,I pity una ooh,ekiti states doom starts rite now

6. Janjaweed actually was hit below the belt. Anyway no need for John and Peter to quarrel. They should rather fight a common enemy. "Hunger in Ekiti"

7. Rit and best thing from the good Man, you really tried bro. PDP should not over joyous, Ekiti people did't vote for the Party but for the Man they likes. We shall see in Osun state nest month. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

1. Thank you my brother Ekiti voted for individual not the party. Osun state election would determine.

8. Such a great spirit. Nice 1

9. IF INDEED HE WROTE THIS THEN THIS IS BEAUTIFUL..AN ENLIGHTENED MAN INDEED..QUESTION IS WILL FAYOSE HAVE DONE THE SAME?? ..

10. Well said, we love you JKF. Thank you.

11. Good to know he accepts defeat and move on. Happy sunday all.

12. Thank God they are done, ekiti can be peaceful now Abeg

13. Awwww...that's so nice of him.....

14. Difficult to beat an incumbent, d pple of Ekiti have done well for a very fare election and Fayemi showing a gud spirit there. I wish d dogged man, Fayose, a successful reign

15. God bless you sir, this was what i hoped for after the results were announced . Let us allow peace to reign. Long live the Federal Republic of Nigeria

16. Magnanimous in defeat! This is a new antecedent; usually politicians in Nigeria never concede defeat until they have exhausted all means of redress...but still, they never concede

1. You simply spoke my mind...Respect to Fayeni...Ekiti...una fall my hand sha...pls rely more on prayers for an impact full fayose rule

17. Never knew there's still men of honour as politicians in 9jiriaa. May God continue to bless u His Execllency! G8t lesson to politicians come 2015.

18. I am move to tears reading the words of Mr Fayemi. History will never forget this singular act of yours today and forever. You are indeed a good politician. You played it without bitterness for the sake of Ekiti State.

#God answers all prayers#
    Happy moments - Praise God, Difficult moments-Seek God,
    Quiet moments -Worship God, Painful moments-Trust God,
    Every moment - Thank God.

19. Well said. GOD knows what tp do.

20. I salute your courage for accepting defeat . Next time when campaigning dont share cooked rice without meat.. Once again congrats Fayose..

21. Hmmm in Nigeria? No accusation of fraud, no court cases? That's a first!!!!

22. God bless You sir! Tell them That The Sw is The Most civilized place in Nigeria. We voted you out same way will we vote JonaThan Out.IJN

23. Ofcourse he has to..Long live Nigeria#GodblessPDP

24. If this are really Governor Fayemi's words (because in Nigeria even this can be denied), But If these was really from him I commend him greatly. He has shown himself to be a gentleman & a man of principle & honour. He has won my respec because in Nigeria it is not the norm to accept defeat even when you a beaten clearly... Nigerians will contest and look for any and every opportunity to challenge their loss. In Fayemi's case however, in spire of him saying that there were infractions, he still congratulated his opponent and accepted defeat, he deserves our respect and praise. He has shown example to other unscrupulous politicians (Nigerians) who place their personal interest and ambition over the interest of the collective !!

25. I like Fayemi. However, I can dislike Tinubu and his politics of nepotism. Fayemi had a baggage called Tinubu so I am glad he lost. I feel so sorry for Lagos tax payers whose money was used by Tinubu for this election.

26. Just like that?without going to court?that good.

27. So this can really happen. Na WA o. Incumbent loosing election and quickly accepting his faith without a fight.....i hope this is true and no underlying consideration.

28. If this are really Governor Fayemi's words (because in Nigeria even this can be denied), But If these was really from him I commend him greatly. He has shown himself to be a gentleman & a man of principle & honour. He has won my respec because in Nigeria it is not the norm to accept defeat even when you a beaten clearly... Nigerians will contest and look for any and every opportunity to challenge their loss. In Fayemi's case however, in spire of him saying that there were infractions, he still congratulated his opponent and accepted defeat, he deserves our respect and praise. He has shown example to other unscrupulous politicians (Nigerians) who place their personal interest and ambition over the interest of the collective !

1. Chuks of Nigeria info. . U carry ur bias nature even to llb..sayin if those were fayemi word.. get it into ur skull dt fayemi addressed a word press conference shown live on tv..u should have known dt as journalist

29. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Gud to knw....

30. Politics is not a do or die affair.I thank you for your maturity in accepting defeat without sentiment.

######GOD bless########################Naija

31. The only mature comment from an APC governor. I grudually believe that with this kind of speech, politics will not be a do or die affair in Nigeria. Respect to you Dr fayemi. Other APC chieftains learn how to talk as a leader.IT'S NOT THE LOAD THAT BREAKS U DOWN; BUT HOW U CARRY IT.

1. Is it only APC Poiticians? Would pdp politicians have done same? Let's call a spade a spade,both APC n PDP politicians are same. None is better than the other!

32. Fayemi was a performer we hope Fayose follows suit.

Kindly visit www.mapleservices.com.ng today #recruitments #opportunities

33. dats a good leader and politician..ur true strength aint determined by d way u handle victory but how u handle defeat..am proud of u sire...U wld get whats urs too wen d time comes...

34. Very sad ! People don't even know what they want,kayode did so well in ekiti stat,made the state beautiful.he deserve to b back..ayo is a thief and doesn't care about the people. I believe the president and the pdp rig the election.. So 9ja pple fr ekiti na bag of rice and money der tey buy una*wat a shame* tears drop for kayode cos he deserve the sit again.. Apc remain the best.. Ekiti pple don't no good tin

1. ekiti people knw good things.the election ws obviously rigged or hw do u xplain d fact dat fayemi lost in his home town.i jst hope dey dont regret their decision

2. When you don't knw d tru just shut up

3. Qudos to Fayemi for this great act, you are a true leader. And to fayose who did nothing b4 he was removed...... Let's see what u'll do now.

4. Clearly rigging. And hunger is a medium of control. D bag of rice worked wonders

35. A real gentleman. U have raised d bar sir. May other incumbents and political office holders emulate dis man. I applaud u.

DacDuchess!

36. The most matured candidates so far in the history of this country! I hope this marks the beginning of good tidings in Nigeria's politics

37. I wish politicians can emulate this man, this is what is called true democracy... Maybe someday in the future..future..future of our great..great..great grand children Nigeria can still be better..

38. Nice ryt up.. neva seen dis 1 b4.. wen u loose election den u congratulate your opponent esp d two cat nd dog party in nig.. if its truly frm his mind den I love his understanding of politics bt mmmm I dnt trust APC..

39. That's a good spirit. Hope our leaders can imbibe such spirit. But APC yesterday rejected the outcome of the results. Let's wait for Lai.

40. Fayemi you have tried,u performed than any Governor that had served in Ekiti,but your allies are bad people,you forget grassroot and those who fought the battle of your mandate,those who died during the process,the AYAGA family and others what have u done for them? that was where u lost it all,u brought in strangers that knew nothing about the party and were given appointments. It's too late, all the best!

1. It is you who has gotten it wrong. Leadership is not about nepotism and comradeship. It's about the greater good. I believe this was a fair election and that this is the will of ekiti people but I hope a few years from now they won't be buying their tongues in derision and regret.

41. FANTASTIC!! Thumbs up FAYEMI! We need more politicians like this

42. Very statemanly. A true display of superiority of character and political maturity. It does nothing to detract from the seeming folly of the "electorates' decision", but goes a long mile to set a minimum standard for political tolerance in the decades ahead in Nigeria.

43. Thank you governor, may be other politicians will learn from you and know how to concede instead of wasting their time with Nigeria judicial system.

44. And now dat greatest....

Via BlackBerry z10

45. Honsylglobal.com : UK Global Online Financial Advisers22 June 2014 at 14:35

In Politics you get what you deserve. Ekiti people have spoken that they would rather sacrifice a pious man in the person of Fayemi.His acceptance of defeat is a proof of his high pedigree.

46. Hahahaha LMFAOOooo APC this is just the beginning. Watchout for SEASON 2015

47. pls Gov Fayose...return our landmark back to FOUNTAIN OF KNOWLEDGE. Thanks

48. Wow... Now am beginning to like dis man

49. I see no reason for raising eyebrow wen Fayemi himself has conceded defeat.SAME IS LIKELY TO HAPPEN IN OTHER APC STATES

50. Other states should emulate fayemi, instead off going to court to waste state money thumb up fayemi

51. God bless u sir,posterity will remember u for Good.well done!!!!!

52. nice actions from a great man, that is the kind of leaders we need in dis country. people that will wish their successor well in office. kudos baba ooooo

53. after all the APC gara gara...congrats mr Ayo...#lesson learnt never fuck with the oga at d top...

54. Well said. With all that happened before the election, the result was already known.

55. Great speech.

56. I can see the face of a gallant looser as well as hear his voice . I imagine the pain and disappointment he's being faced with now, but that is life. Ups and downs. Trust that the downfall of a man is not the end of his life. Take heart dear JKF. It is well. I congratulate Fayose, wishing that he will keep his promises to the Ekiti people. Motherhen

57. This is how politics should be played. Continuity; no hate.

58. Incubent governor loosing election, that is very good. That is a wakeup call to APC. Thank God Nigerian are getting wise now. APC as an opposition party are even worse than the PDP led government. Because, when u look at all the people vying for one elective post or the other in APC, they are the same criminals from PDP and AD. God will help us in this country.

1. If there are any good politicians in Nigeria, Fayemi is one of them. Fayose doesn't even hold a candle to him.

59. asiwaju busari22 June 2014 at 17:37

These are words from a man of honour.....i respect ur courage gov. fayemi....

60. asiwaju busari22 June 2014 at 17:39

These re words from a man of honour....i respect your courage gov. fayemi

61. Maturity... I must say I am impressed. I hope this is real anyway. If it is, politicians need to learn from the man. Very impressive speech. If the aim of politicians is to get into office and serve the people, I don't see why it is a "Do or Die" affair. Governor Kayode Fayemi much respect to you, you're one decent politician.

62. I am very humbled by Dr Fayemi's matured reaction to the final results. What a stateman! In a funny way he has won while losing . How I wish this will become a culture amongst our politicians.

63. Nice one ~Onahboy

64. congrat Ayo Fayose
    but politics is lip-sealed

65. APC sorry ooooo

66. PD Young Billionaire22 June 2014 at 21:49

Fayemi is truly a gentle man....

67. Well this man had the courtesy and that spirit of statemanship to concede defeat and show willingness to support the winner in moving the state forward. Although we know the incoming PDP govt. may never be willing to employ his services in the effort to continue delivering democracy benefits to the state, we must however commend his maturity and respect for the people's decision despite of the infractions that may have heralded the election. We also hope that in the coming days the dissatisfied members of his party do not corner him to institute a court process against the outcome of the elections as has been the tradition in Nigeria's election history. Congratulations to the winner and many thanks to the vanquished. I hope the incoming govt. can continue with the projects and good programmes of the outgoing one and save the state avoidable financial wastes.

68. People from South-West are always the pace-setters,demonstrate superior maturity. Fayemi decision to congratulate Governor Elect was agreed by him and his party (APC) contrary to some peoples believe. I pray PDP would demonstrate this kind of maturity if they are defected because they have never done so in the past. Their governors were removed by the court. God bless you both (Fayemi & Fayose)

69. We need more politicians like FAYEMI in this country. No hard feelings at all

70. 9ce 1 dr fayemi. ds shws dt in life,u win some n lose some.as 4 d ekiti state pple, hope say una no go complain @ d end of d day? i hope say him wrk very well ds time around.

71. Sir you deserve a standing ovation for this show of maturity. All the judges that prayed for work and bribe after election, shame on you. Nothing for you this time.