'Our president..Barraco Barner' - British girl's tweet sparks worldwide Twitter ridicule | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday, 8 March 2014

'Our president..Barraco Barner' - British girl's tweet sparks worldwide Twitter ridicule

When 20 year old British beautician Gemma Worrall (pictured above) realised relations between Russia and Ukraine were at crisis point, she decided to share her feelings on Twitter and without pausing to check her facts, or her spelling, Gemma wrote: 'If barraco barner is our president, why is he getting involved with Russia, scary.' Lol.

Within hours, Gemma was trending in countries around the world as her message was retweeted over 6,000 times.

By the time she had realised her mistakes, and deleted the tweet, it had already been screengrabbed and shown on television programmes in Australia and Belgium, among others.  Continue...

The hashtag #barracobarner was trending around the world, and new spoof accounts @BarracoBarner (UK prez, chilling at Number 10) and Michelleo Barner (First Lady of the United States of Britain) were set up.

Meanwhile the beautician, who works in a salon in Blackpool, was being invited onto TV and radio chat shows and having to fend off unkind comments calling her 'stupid', 'spaz' and 'dumb' on the social media site that made her name.

The youngster tried to correct the situation, writing a tweet saying : 'Right, I get it, I'm no good with politics I'll just shh now'.

And she pleaded with people to stop retweeting her original message, adding: 'CAN'T BREATHE, wtf is going on, phone's blowing up - retweets.'
She eventually signed off: 'Feel tight on my nan. She’s going to have a heart attack when she sees me in the paper.'

Today she described the reaction to her tweet as 'unbelievable', and said she had received bullying threats from around the world.

Source: UK Daily Mail

142 comments:

1. Loolz that's what beauty without brain can cause.

1. Mumu,what beauty?

2. Lolz that is.....barraco barner lmbo really cracked me up

3. U are just plain stupid and a bully! So wen BBC or so called President Jonathan, President Johnson, they had much brain baa....irrational fool that thinks he got relevance

4. Many of u here can't spell correctly when writing ur comments.So, u shouldn't even call her dumb.she made a mistake....every1 does

5. @edee, God bless you. My thoughts exactly

6. Hey monkey, mistake in dis case wud hav bin if she made a lil miss spelling, not for her to blow up d whole name n u call it a mistake

2. What a way to get famous!

1. These days, the littlest thing can make you famous o! Now brainstorming on what I will do to make me famous!

2. Anonn 11:16. If u try dat in Nigeria u wil just end up in kirikiri.

3. This girl still has more sense than GEJ.

1. Don't be stupid? Leave PGEJ out of this

2. Pained YORUBA COW wettin concern GEJ and this post. Hypocritical fool

3. The girl is obviously brighter than u for this disgusting comment of urs. U re such an ass.

4. Yoruba and Proud!8 March 2014 at 23:15

Who is this MORON @Anon 8:51?

You are such a sick fool for bringing tribalism into this whole ish! The more you hate Yoruba people, the more we progress and supersede you foolish tribalistic sorry assholes!

Live with it!

5. What kind of progress that depends on looting, propaganda, falsehood, treachery, injustice, inequity and unfairness to flourish in the name of One Nigeria?

4. She still get sense pass 99 percent of nigerians. GBAM

5. No b the same way LIBers disgrace me online? mtchww... badbelle dem... she shud use her new found fame well

1. Lol...Buh it got u fame too...lol
      Jokes apart, many girls googled your name and also searched for u on fb

2. Hello @ sojiment it is JOKING APART not jokes apart. Thanks.....

3. Hello @ sojiment it is JOKING. APART not jokes apart. Thanks me later....

4. Ode,at uche emma,it is "thank me later",not "thanks me later"...

5. Anonymous 7:18 AM, don't you also know that there's always a space between two words?

6. Una get plenty time for hand...English teachers..

6. She just made for herself an instant fame... mehn, she is big celebrity nw, lupita don jam competition.....

1. Better don't think I av forgotten ur 'I thy know'

7. Lol! It's actually hard to see beauty and brain together. It's either you're ugly and brilliant, or very beautiful and dumb. Make una no finish the girl abeg, people dey talk, she ma talk her own.

8. Mehn, i gats to start looking for some words to blow too...

9. hahahahah bitch as killing obama vibe, lmao @baraco barner.#THAT AKWA IBOM BOY

10. After dad stole money #bright bravo#

11. Dundee!!There are MANY ladies like her in naija.Can never forget the day a naija lady asked me if Obasanjo was really Nigeria's head of state in the 1970s

12. Barraco barner just stole d show from president johnson

13. No be only Barraco Barner, na Barraco Bama. Stupid cow indeed. ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

14. buaahahahaaaa. clown, bt dose pple shld be easy on her. wat abt out ww.nscdc dts all".

15. hahahaaaaa! linda funny u too. so bcos of d 'co' wey dey attachd 2d Barra, na im u to com put 'lo' in front of michelle 2mak d tin daliquate baa? hahaha. rotflmao

16. Buaaaaaaaaaaaaaah. Laugh don make me throw way my phone inside konga e con dey dance skelewu skelewu

17. Ishi oyibo! Lmfao! D geh z now popular sha

18. What's this?

19. Wtf hahahaha lmbo :)) another dumb white bitchhhhh wow dis chic just earn fame for being a dumb white illiterate haha God help dis white ppl sometimes u won't know that most of them are nothing but illiterate they only know about their country, dis normally happen to Americans n Britain lol sorry

1. *happens* *Britons* oya get down on ur knees n say 'thank u ma' while I pat u on d head n say 'any time my boy'

20. I can't stop laughing,lolz.she's now famous for wrong reason!

21. This couldn't get any funnier

22. Oh! I just got the mix up, she referred to "Barrack Obama" as President of the UK.. Blunders do happen joor!

23. Just like some Dumb naija youths would come here to insult our Prsident wen dey knw absolutely nothing about politics !!!
    Smd
    Roma via Atm

24. Na wa o see issues. Titi

25. Imagine. Some dude is going to have to marry this one too.

26. The girl was joking.

27. Imagine. Some dude is going to have to marry this one too.

28. Say wat??? Laffin my a** out. Its just lik wen a beauty pagent contestant said dat d president of nigeria is George Bush. Shameee

29. Na them sabi jare sssh...

30. Can't believe that there is some white (western) people as dumb as this. She should please use condom and save the world .

1. Ah ah, pity d girl an take it easy

31. Eya I feel for her. Twitter like Linda Ikeji's blog will eat you and spit you out quickly before you can say HEY!!!

32. I laugh in Latin! OMG. Dumbest chick ever liveth

33. She made a dumb mistake,no doubt,but the attack on her via social media is way too much.

34. =))º°˚˚˚°ÂºÐ½aĦaнaº°˚˚˚°Âº‎​=))

35. Hmmmmm..see Gobe... Ay talks about his 300million naira Mvp lounge Here.

36. hahahahahhaahh,!!! dumb ass pretty... lol...eiyaa... sorry oh,

37. hope say u n ur bf dey use condom

38. Barraco Barner. Lmfao... Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha *whew*

~Ahbay~

39. Getting famous is one thing that comes in 2 forms is either disgracefully or gracefully. Congrats dear u re now famous tho disgracefully Lol

****Brave****

40. Port Harcourt Girl8 March 2014 at 16:26

Ayaff dye for laff!! 4getting my sorrows jo...

41. 1st she has become a celeb,then she has gained more followers on twitter and soon she'll get endorsement deals on educational materials;)

42. Make dem free da girl before she commit suicide

43. Lmao, abeg no kill me joor

44. Trust me. Na only Fuck she go sabi.
    ...Okpe....
    ...dumb ass...
    I hope her boyfriend uses condoms all the time. It would be sad for her to give birth to another one like her.

45. Let them call her dumb....she has gained cheap popularity....am happy for her

46. for once one who's not a celebrity is getting bullied... #NMH

47. She has to go back to school.

48. =))º°˚˚˚°ÂºÐ½aĦaнaº°˚˚˚°Âº‎​=)) lmao. United state of britain indeed. Our president.

49. Forget o,some people will crave this attention/publicity in some industries we know *winks*
    But dear girl,Barraco Banner? Like seriously? Even if you were probably 13yrs old when he became president,by now you should have...............................haaaa! chic you are awesome

50. lmao @she can't be hot nd clever...seriously?

51. Lol... Fame na fame, +ly or -ly. Lol @ barraco barner-michelleo barner

52. lmao @she can't be hot nd clever...seriously?

53. Let's face it. She's dumb.

54. LWKMD, ooo my saw the tweets too on someone's TL, it's funny tho buh she meant no harm. LMAO. Barraco Banner.

55. Lol this is funny but Lin half of the young people on your site are just as dense.

56. I love america,you can become famous overnight.

1. @helena u be confam mumu.Just like d lady in d post

57. Eeya Poor girl

58. Quite funny,she's just ignorant towards politics ,People coulda been more sarcastic with the whole tin than insulting d lil girl.

59. Hahahahaha.....can't stop laughing. Well no one is perfect everyone makes mistake.

60. Dats y I luv 9ja pple. We may not b proud of our leadership, but we r more politically aware as a pple dan so many pple in so many places.
    1st was 2 call GEJ Johnson, now Barraco Barner! May God help de oyibos dat refuses 2 know beyond their boundries.

61. An indictment of the British education system

62. See gobe I hope the boyfriend uses condom.what do I tweet to trend worldwide?I mus trend o

63. The stupidity of some white women is overwhelming.

64. Gezzzzz, Lol. Abeg mak Una leave ds chick, hahahahahaha.

65. Dts a fundamental cyber error! But dts ok.

66. Hope u and ur boyfriend dey use condom as well!!lol

67. Pls tweet abt our dump presido...gudruck. yonata lol

68. Lol!!!! Dey shuld not kill d gerl oooooo

69. Whether she wrote barraco Osama,is non of my biz.abeg next episode....

70. Lol @ stupid cow, ignoramus

71. lol. the girl is funny shaand dumb at the same time

72. This is amazing! Whaaaaaaat?
    Even if she got the name right, is he her president? Nor be British she be? And this is coming few days after the country in a country talk(SA in Africa)
    Some gals can be dumb. #Barraco Barner and Michello Barner.una sorry ooo. Lol.

73. Swaggs isimemne8 March 2014 at 18:44

It's a mistake, nd they should stop shouting, who is the person dat has never made any mistake be for in dis world? Tell me?

74. Swaggs isimemne8 March 2014 at 18:44

It's a mistake, nd they should stop shouting, who is the person dat has never made any mistake be for in dis world?

75. The people that insulted her should really be ashamed of themselves,she made a mistake so?

76. Her strong accent must have decived her spelling. People from the Northern part of UK have a very strong accent, you can hardly understand them when they speak and some of these English can speak fluent English but unfortunately their writing can be out of this world, I mean terribly bad, can't construct a simple sentence. She's funny though! You never know who's spying on your tweets.

77. Hahaha....what a way to fame!

78. Mk me sef tweet sm dumb stuff n get into world news

79. Ehyaaa...na auto correct do this babe fa. And now she's making the headlines sef. Things couldn't get any better than this jor

80. rotfl times like this, i love social media.

But why are people insulting her, thats just wrong.

81. Almahroof Mubaraq8 March 2014 at 19:13

I think she has a point there and she's right

-StarMan

82. Chei! Poor girl! When all british kids know how to do is kiss n play stupid love game in d park after skl, how will they know anything? Tis a pity! D girl is 2 dumb!!!

83. What do I tweet to trend worldwide o? Lindodo, any idea?

84. Lovely chic, nne just cash in on the opportunity and enjoy the fame. You could get endorsement from this little mistake, after all joe the plumber became famous because of one nonesense question he asked barrack obama during his first presidential election campaign. It wasn't long after he asked the question, ordinary joe plumber became famous overnite and was even flying on the same private jet with mccain and sarah palin,all over US, and was even signing autographs.hmm I couldn't believe it oo because I watched him the day he asked obama the question. so if tv's are already calling the girl for interview, she should get a PA,and start charging them money for granting interviews bcuz time no dey. As omo igbo, i have seen the business side of it sharp sharp. Linda nwa ikeji 'the blog queen' oya do the needful ozigbo ozigbo na oge adiro chaa.

85. Beauty n brains r a very rare combo!

86. Honestly,call me biased but I don't see any wrong this girl has done. Who gives a damn? She's not American so it's pardonable. Must everyone know who the American president is? I don't remember too much of this kinda criticism when an American magazine about 2 weeks back didn't know the correct name of our Nigerian president o. Now,which is worse? A well-acclaimed magazine or a single girl?

87. WOW, READING THAT WAS LIKE PULLING TEETH BUT I THINK IT'S BEST TO LEAVE HER ALONE B4 WE GO HEAR SAY SHE DONE COMMIT SUICIDE. I DEY GO O. MY HAND NO DEY.

88. #Barraco Barner - Sounds like BARRACK A BONER!!
    She does not even know her own political leader.Or she lost her sense of location? if she ever had a 'sense' in the first place.

89. The world is being unfair, Ya'll need to let her be.she only lacked that knowledge doesn't mean she lacks brains

90. Abeg dese social media peeps are turnin 2 monsters so violent, mean and obnoxious dey shld giv d gal a brk jor. Although must confess its pretty funny
    ********A-BELLA******

91. Lolz..... Reminds me of What is the WebSite of NSCDC.

92. @ Anonymous 3:20pm, u ar d biggest & dumbest fool ever on earth. Even ur papa no fit b Gov! U poverty striken asshole! U cnt respect ur leader. Height weh ur papa & ur generation no fit attain. Yab my beloved president again & thunder will blast ur head off!

93. She really looks very edible n i'd love to eat her from her leg upwards

94. I feel sorry 4 the babe sha... Don't know what to call her. The mistake is highly embarrassing.

95. Make una shut up joor! Jealousy jelomo! While y'all are hating Gemma is being invited on TV shows

96. Make una shut up joor! Jealousy jelomo! While y'all are hating Gemma is being invited on TV shows

97. The header should say the stale of British education

98. Dear Libers stop the critics. The lady typed Barack Obama and she had her dictionary on which gave her the alternative name and she didnt bother to cross check she just sent. It happens so y'all should take a chill pill.

99. This remind me of my friend when I asked her is she on Facebook,and she said-what is Facebook ? It wasn't long ago.....she also had to complete forms at work, and asked 'am I male or female'? No comments

100. First, she doesn't know who's her president as Obama is the president of USA and not UK. Second, she can't even spell Obama's name correctly. This is what lawyers call double jeopardy! Oga o!

101. Feeling so sowie for her! She shldnt av engage herself into diz @ first#

102. thats why it is said that most people look intelligent.....till they open their mouths

103. SMH @ "ANONYMOUS 3:28PM".. General Olusegun Obasanjo was the president from 1976-79.. he succeeded Murtala Muhammed. U see that u are the one who is less informed.