8 out of 10 Nigerian men don't use condoms - SFH survey | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 13 January 2014

8 out of 10 Nigerian men don't use condoms - SFH survey

According to statistics, 8 out of 10 Nigerian men do not use condoms. This was revealed by Bright Ekweremadu, the Managing Director of Society for Family Health, SFH. He said over 1.8billion sexual activities occur in Nigeria yearly, and 80% of them are unprotected.

Mr Ekweremadu said if Nigerian men were to use condoms, no supplier in the world would be able to afford the quantity of condoms Nigerian men would need. He said their research showed that young Nigerians between 18 and 34 years in the cities of Lagos & Abuja make the highest use of condoms.

He said many sexually active Nigerian men have several excuses for not wanting to use condoms. Excuses like "I am healthy, I dont have infections, flesh to flesh is sweeter" etc...

He said there are so many cases of sexually transmitted diseases and unwanted pregnancies reported yearly because of people's refusal to use condoms. He also said their research shows that the women don't insist on condoms.

174 comments:

1. Yea right... lol. Nothin like flesh

1. Sweeter dan asala

2. U can get the skin-2-skin sensation if u use the right size condom I.e. I use large condoms mostly but I use XL sometimes when the arousal's too intense cos my dick increases in length n girth.

Condom;better to have it n not need it than to 2 need it and not have it.

3. Hi Linda. I pray u post this. Last year I met a guy who wanted to marry me. We had sex twice and each time o insisted the guy should a condom. Once the condom broke and I told him to discontinue. I got a sexually transmitted infection from that encounter. I quickly broke off the relationship. A couple of months ago the guy died. Of AIDS. The guy had been infected for more than ten years. He was just spreading the disease. I know the trauma I went thru before I had an HIV test. Luckily I am negative. Tell your readers to go and do hiv tests. Use a condom along the time. Be warned

4. Am afraid, I no longer use condom cos it makes me go for over 40mins without cumin and that could be enervating.

5. Odikwa very RiSkY!

6. There's nothing like a warm-throbing-veinous cock sliding in and out of my pussie.

7. U're obviously cursed!!! #spits

8. What is the difference between using a condom and doing it skin to skin? One more pleasurable than the other?

2. Hian! Has to be the scariest thing I have read in a while...Ladies I take God beg Una o! Be careful...get the men to sheath their swords biko!

Onye ISI Anonymous.

3. This is fallacy of argumentum ad ignorantiam.
    Btw never bought one with my money,never in need of any,never ran outta it,never done that, still Innocent but not Idibia

1. Lmao...Bona oh!

2. Bona supu oyibo. Begining to like nd enjoy ur comment. Nwa afor igbo ka I bu.

Pls gals no dulling oh either he use a condom or no show. Aids and std's no dey show for face

3. Bona!! vaseline tinz...remember that advert ' hello Mr Vaseline'?

4. Bia Bona,e bu Anu pam...Lol.

5. You mean you don't know Egwulucciousness?

Juwon say say via how sex changed my life

4. Hahahah.. They want to have a feel of the real thing, very risky, can't try it

5. Lol is so true...................

6. how can ladies request for CD while they enjoy it without?

the fault is from ladies

1. Sex is sex, and will be enjoyed if the partieS involved know the right moves.....my BF and I always go protected, and the orgasm is something out of this world.

7. Lord ♓αvﻉ mercy. *cagey*

8. My Research shows Dat Women wants Fleshly feels & demands Withdrawals if U wanna CUM... PKAFRO ¤

9. That statistics is very correct, I'm a single girl and most guys I would ve dated dnt want to use condom

1. Most guys you would have dated. You say Wetin?

2. "Most guys you would have dated"!!! Abeg! Stop fooling urself! U no gree date d guys so wetim com bring talk about use or no use condom?

3. Help me ask am ooo

10. So na ABJ and Lagos dey use condom pass?! Interesting!!! Social capitals of Nigeria, you could say.

11. Hehehe very correct survey few women insist on condom and most men just dont like to hear that word CONDOM! Women carry ya own condom always ooooo

12. Honestly! Me dnt lik using condoms#unless na order wise# "Waitin concern me"

13. I am married with two kids..i use condom all d tym with my husband. my 2nd child is just 10mths and i dnt want to get preg PS we dnt want to go for family planning. i enjoy sex with or without condom.

1. U do, does yur husband enjoy it too? Fink of him b4 u make him luk 4 a babe hu b givin him jez d way he luvs it.

14. Honestly! Me dnt lik using condoms#unless na order wise# "Waitin concern me"

15. Na so naa! E go de look like say nutin de happen till d person contracts some deadly disease, ehee mgbe ahu omee ha vam na anya! Who wan cum do witout? U de craze? Cum touch me naa! (Witty lady)

16. On the real tho, flesh to flesh is sweeter so they have a point!

17. Linda u dey use? No make me burst ur bubble 4 here.....miss saint!

1. Na raw ekpon linlin dey like na,na becos she dey take pill she dey add weight.She 2 enjoy am

2. Lol @ the reason she is adding weight,.meanies

18. hmmmmm.....na wah o! lagos and abj indeed. not a surprising stat indeed.

19. hmmmmm.....na wah o! lagos and abj indeed. not a surprising stat indeed.

20. Bonario no get problem! His in a very good terms wit his vaseline.....

1. Abeg bona doesn't use Vaseline. He uses vegetable oil and he sometimes enjoys using bathing soap too.

21. ntin beta dan flesh to flesh... tho d risk is high,

22. ntin beta dan flesh to flesh... tho d risk is high,

23. is their own palava,,,,,,,me do use condoms very well,,,,,,i dey fear girls ooo.........yaxx

1. Gurls ma dey fear u broz

24. Hehehehe...LindiPeror wat are trying to say so bcos of 2face,Obagoal n co?......... Personally me dey use m wen I was in d world..........Finally I don't believe dem especially wen it comes to abuja

25. Hehehehe...LindiPeror wat are trying to say so bcos of 2face,Obagoal n co?......... Personally me dey use m wen I was in d world..........Finally I don't believe dem especially wen it comes to abuja

26. It seems they prefer cure to prevention #upsidedownthings LOL!

27. #Word!
    Naıja's got stubborn cıtızens sha..The reasonz gıven above y most nıgerıans dont use condoms for safer sex r true n vewı common amongst youth xpecıally!,But den agaın,We ought to be mındful of our health N unwanted pregnancıes!
    *Use condoms for safer n protected sex*

28. Hehehe Linda skin 2 skin is sweeeeeeet ooo "lols"
    #WorldfamousVictor

29. me think that 8 out of 10 nigerian women dnt like sex with condoms!

30. A word is enough for the wise.

31. Hmmmnnnn... They prefer Flesh to Flesh nah!

32. Its so true.We now live in a era of so many baby mamas and papas.

33. LMFAO flesh to flesh is sweeter! My favourite one is: 'is it possible to enjoy a sweet with its wrapper on?' smh.

1. U sound like opio

If ur gf give u bj with condom u no be bf,u be rosko(customer) n she be ashi

34. A word is enough for the wise.

35. HIV IS REAL OH, spread the news not the virus. Men abeg make una dey use condom

36. Women also don't like condom. Linda na lie? True, skin use is mostly between familiar couples. after the 2nd time of sex it's skin dey go. If u r a master of her ovulation cycle nothing can happen. Even some married couples can't have kids despite everyday sex.

1. We're thinking more about HIV here, not pregnancy. You hear?! A woman's ovulation cycle will not protect you from sexually transmitted diseases.......... Just Me

37. If a girl date a guy dat has never
    Done flesh 2 flesh with her
    She'd say "u think I some kind
    Of disease? U think I wanna
    Trap u with a baby? U are treating
    Me like a b*tch.
    If its a guy" prove to me dat u
    Love me..let's make love baby..
    U think I sleep with other girls like
    I do with u?

38. Yes dis ppls are really correct,I even enjoy it without condom,with my bf ,despite d fact am happy married(dog thing)too sweet.....bola

1. I'm sorry for your husband.. Please have a change of heart for the sake of God and your family if you truly love them.. #JustCan't..

39. Linda if you mistakenly let me I won't use condom o. Never ever. Infact a friend said if breaking news comes out Genevie has full blown aids he wld still do skin to skin like that

40. Linda is this one news?... Mtsheeew

41. hw did he Mr Ekweremmadu know. his assertion ll not pass any scientific scrutiny. how many times has he followed ppl to their closet to know.

1. Sales of postinor 2 are many times higher than sales of condoms. That's probably the research he conducted

42. Our fore fathers did shitty stuff, married as many wives as possible and never got to use condoms.

43. Ok...Should I jump from third mainland? We have heard

44. prevention is beta dan cure. Celibate.!!!!!

45. Hahaha...totally true mehn...every man wants to skin dive...

46. The things that are very sweet kills,get a condom,its fo ur own good

47. Dear Linda,

It is SFH o! nt SHF. I work with this organisation and Oga Bright is very Right. The survey is 150% on point. We distribute sample condoms too and yet the increase in STI and HIV prevalence is alarming. Behavioural change is the word here. Young people need to change their attitude and behaviour in their sexual relationships. Go to APIN, dem go give you the true picture of the HIV prevalence. The most affected age groups are the young people. my people, PLAY IT SAFE, STAY ALIVE!

48. This statistic is a kind of wired!..But i think the survey was carried out by 'SFH' and not 'SHF'.

49. Bona d word smith

50. Flesh to flesh sweet like honey,who can resist honey?

51. Skin de sweet die...

52. HIV IS REAL OO, BTWS ME DON'T LIKE USING CONDOMS BUT ALSO NA ONE PARTNER FOR LIFE #LAUGHING

53. Is tru a lot of guys say dey dnt release

54. U guys shld continue to talk rubbish, HIV is real o. Stay there and be doing Flesh 2 flesh. As 4 me and my husband we have sex with and without condom...

55. Since the manufacturers can't supply what will happen

1. What is dis old papa saying? U no get mallam where u dey live? Incase u no know, e no rch N50.00 u hear. Go n buy!

56. Linda what is your own view on this? Do your own research Na

57. guys please try and use condoms oooo

58. ABEG!!!!! SKIN TO SKIN NKO?! IF A GUY DOESNT WANT TO WRAP IT UP, LET HIM MOVE!!!THEY ALWAYS LIE ABOUT BEING HEALTHY UNTIL TEST RESULTS COME. LADIES BE WISE. (SK)

59. Make una dey use condom yiooo. Chose btw 100 naira to prevent and thousands to cure and u go stil kpaiii @last. Its real!!!! BE WARNED.

60. Condom all d way for mi o,prevention is beta Dan cure

61. Na lagoon u go enta! Ur type na gay so take plenty sit jare! Dis 1 no concern u

62. sincerely i dont dig using it myself, its sweeter witout condom.

63. Even my babe fit break my head if I mention condom talkless of using it, fleshing tinz on point till d last drop, NA POSTINOR 2 DEY SOLVE D REST

1. Wow! I didnt know Postinor also prevents HIV. Tellmesumtin!

64. Nobody takes candy with its wrapper......so why have set with condom...... does not make sense.

65. Naija men, una well done ooo.

66. I am not surprised.

67. its real tru. but save sex is important

68. omo skin 2 skin make sense oooo chooiii. but u knw say na wetin dey sweet na em dey kill. i think pple like me enjoy skin 2 skin becos condoms sometimes are painful especially wen ur dry... but skin is just smooth n sweet no bruises after d deed has been done. hehehehehe

69. Prevention dξγ̲̣̣̥ say is better than cure! Until U̶̲̥̅̊ go FO̶̷̩̥̊͡Я HIV test Α̲̅πϑ U̶̲̥̅̊я̩̥̊ result comes out,don't indulge in flesh †̥☺ flesh Α̲̅πϑ make sure its U̶̲̥̅̊ Α̲̅πϑ U̶̲̥̅̊я̩̥̊ partner who go FO̶̷̩̥̊͡Я †ђξ test! Ladies be wise †̥☺ avoid stories that touch

70. Most men have at sometime in their lives made use of condom but the problem is inconsistency... They find that putting on a condom interrupts sex. Even women find the physical barrier of a condom dulls sensation which might lead to loss of some sexual excitements.
    At the point of penetration, it is usually very difficult to remember and apply condom. However, it may be possible at first meeting but never consistent. A girl will always doubt her guys' trust for her if he makes use of condom in every round of sex; same thing goes for a guy.
    That's why it is not good to make mockery of those living with HIV or girls with unwanted pregnancies cos we are all guilty of not using condom at some point in the game - It is just God's Grace.

71. Lindodo< this woman here wan resemble you oooo. I almost mistook her for u until I looked closely.

72. Abstinence is the best, until u get married

73. Benin guys especially.Trust Mi,they hate Using condom have turned down 7 to 8 different Benin guys just because they refused to use a c.d infact I started to wonder if Their is more to it. I schooled in Benin so I knw wat am tlking abut.

74. Linda na you be this? this babe sure looks like you.

75. Naija men,fuck responsibly Ooº°˚ ˚°ºo

76. I know of a guy in abuja with hiv and refuses to wear condom and changes women on a daily basis trying to spread the disease round. What do I do? Should I blow his cover? its wickedness

1. Blow his cover ooo, save lives I sure say na one hausa he-goat dey don't like using condoms

2. U for don put him name n info here na. Afterall, u r anonymous. Who will know?

77. Kip saying nobody have sweet wit its wrapper on oh..wen u carry aids den ur mata go change

78. Linda please it's about time you start commenting. I believe everyone would love that.

79. But you know sex is sweeter without condom :)

80. Can u lick a sweet with d rapper on it? I'm sorry I dnt enjoy sex with condom.

81. I was in a relationship with a guy for 2 years and used condoms every time we nacked. I hate the idea of a man's spunk in me and skin to skin isn't safe.

82. LinLin i hope you have heard oh. no more unwanted pregnancies. Wrap up

83. na ladies dey suffer am pass oo in case of unwanted pregnancy..

84. na ladies dey suffer am pass oo in case of unwanted pregnancy..

85. Oh lord fortgive my Sinz I have had sex with 22 women now without a condom ,am a shame to my family although I don't have Hiv but I am fed up lord I want to start all over again accept me back I love you

86. Lol well I have never had sex without condoms in all my 20+ years of existence... my fear is not STD I can't stand giving a girl money for abortion... I don't think I can do it.

87. I advice guys not to engage in sex at all rather than using the so called"PROTECTION" it doesn't protect anything,there is safety to be a virgin than using condom as a way out of sexual transmitted disease,though the urge of having sex is HIGH but u still have to self to control,I would enjoy my wife because I'm sure of myself.

#mr pen

88. that there business....... from nairareal.blogspot.com

89. It is better to be safe than sorry .

90. It is better to be safe than sorry .

91. It is better to be safe than sorry .

92. Pls guys, use condom..BGM

93. Nice research, please guys take note n use condoms...BGM

94. Women don't like condom,they want to get you to father a son....mstcheew ..that stop my player lifestyle

95. LOL. LINDAMU, I WUDNT KNOW ABOUT THAT NEWAY,I'M STILL A VIRGIN***ROLLLSEYES***

96. No doubt skin skin is da ish bt Umunne!!! Ihe na ato uto na egbu egbu!been there,done that! Oyibo dey talk sey" do not throw Caution to d wind! We only ask for Gods mercy cos d best of gfs/bfs/hubbies and wifeys r actually not safe! Its Gods grace we are all alive...BZ Kindly post my comment Linda nwa Ikeji biko

97. it depent, sex is dsame wt or wtout condom. Play safe.

98. it depent, sex is dsame wt or wtout condom. Play safe.

99. Timaya talk am ooooo..'If u dey do,use condom'

100. Pippu just dey blow grammar for here Ooº°°ºoO ...Linda u nid to scrutinize some comments before U upload dem o

101. Pippu just dey blow grammar for here Ooº°°ºoO ...Linda u nid to scrutinize some comments before U upload dem o

102. AIDS on the increase....

103. Hahahahaha,ME I don't know oooo.

104. Don't let ignorance ruin you. STDs exists everywhere.

105. Please let's seek for d grace to stop fornicating, its hard but with God all things are possible,his grace is sufficient,it doesn't pay,really, what goes around comes around, sex isn't a joke, its deeper than people know,forget d pleasure and ask God to open ur eyes to see d deep spiritual meaning,not just pregnancy and diseases,God bless you all, Linda pls u need to post this, thanks

106. Ye Mogbe! ...Tintini

107. Linda wat is ur own comment on this research ????

108. Me I don't like condoms I like poto

109. 9ja men love poto lol wound to wound

110. Linda nothing sweet reach skin to skin I swear

111. Ladies and gents use C not jst 4 AIDS bt against other unwanted circumstances who has ears let him hear,

112. dem de talk say 'wetin de sweet, na him de kill'...in my work, i hav seen things...na true say e no de show for face oh!!!!

nothing, i repeat,nothing can make me have sex without condom...i value my life too much!!!

113. PLEASE MY FELLOW LADIES, DON'T WAIT FOR THE GUYS TO USE CONDOMS BEFORE YOU GET YOURSELVES PROTECTED. IF THE GUYS REFUSE TO USE CONDOMS, PLEASE DO WELL TO USE FEMALE CONDOMS. IT IS FOR YOUR OWN GOOD.IF THE MAN DOES NOT LIKE IT, HE SHOULD GO AND HUG A TRANSFORMER

114. Aids is real. I work in the healthcare industry and the number of Nigerians being diagnosed with HIV is staggering. Be fearful of the type of different diseases someone who is immunocompromised is susceptible to (e.g. kaposi sarcoma). Hepatitis is also on the rise in the Nigerian community which can eventually lead to liver failure. The treatment for hepatitis is so expensive, & people die being on the waiting list for transplant.
    Please, stop playing Russian roulette with your life, wrap it up.

FDK

115. U havin premarital sex nd uv stil gots d guts 2 say #it takes only d grace of God nt 2 get preggy smh 4 d youths of ds generation wats d big deal in abstaining frm sex? Dat shit is deeper dan yuall knw. Abstinence is jus d best no condoms nd definetly NO SEX. Chao!

116. I choose life over death abeg. No time for regrets, it's better to be safe than sorry! Wrap it up

117. Is condom 100% safe?, abstinence is key, sex is sweet.....balance it out, your choice.

118. You are even lucky to have sex in the first place. Spare a thought for people languishing in marriages with asexual partners.

119. I was once Ignorant like most of you, I said nothing like skin to skin, until my close friend had HIV, he was lucky he noticed it on time and he his now on drugs, but the thing about HIV is that you could sleep with someone who has HIV and you won't have, because his girl tested Negative, if not most people will have AIDS.

120. It is commonsense .... if you cannot abstain, then protect yourself. Ladies and gentlemen, either cross your thighs or use condoms. They are far cheaper than living or dying from a sexually transmitted disease or being saddled with an unplanned child. On a side note, why are we black people so stupid? Go to the US, and the African-American population has the highest rates of STDs and out of wedlock babies because of this same nonsense of unprotected sex with multiple partners. What's wrong with most black men? Why can't they behave responsibly and protect their womenfolk?

121. @Jacquinas...am with u on this.If only people understand the consequences of fornication and adultery,i don't think there'll be need talking about protection.I do understand that we're all graced differently but then whats the big deal in sex?

Isn't your life more important than 3minutes of pleasure?

Lady F

122. Bcos caro dun oloyin..ooosh! Oloyin. Ain't nothin like the real ting baby.

123. http://2cashsite.com/?id=97203 easy and legit way of making money online. Get registered now

124. Hahahaha...... The comments here can make someone fall off a bridge. But seriously, condom is adviceable any day, (that is if u must have sex) if u want the real deal, wife her.

125. I av gone for hiv test 3tyms n I tasted negative and I later had sex wit out condom wit two guys.....lately I hv been tinkin and scared of been hiv positive...wen eva I read or heard abt it ma hrt skips....God pls help me bcus I dnt wanna b infected...ladies pls always use condom wit ur bf bcus d more he slps wit u witout cd dat is d way he do wit oda girls n d oda girls do wit oda guys even some married men do contact n giv to their wives. ...may God help us all...ameen

126. No sex.....its the best