British Airways Jet crashes into building in South Africa (Photo) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 23 December 2013

British Airways Jet crashes into building in South Africa (Photo)

A Boeing 747 jet belonging to British Airways, yesterday Sunday Dec. 22nd crashed its right wing into an airport building inside the OR Tambo Airport in Johannesburg, South Africa. (Pic above)

The flight, which was on its way to London, veered off the taxiway as it headed to the runway and buried its right wing in the 2-storey brick structure, injuring four airport officials, Daily Mail reports.

A statement from the South African Civil Aviation Authority's (SACAA) preliminary report, said the aircraft was cleared for takeoff on Runway 03L but took a smaller runway.
'The air crew got instructions from the Air Traffic Control to taxi using taxi way B. The crew continued onto taxi way M which is narrower resulting in the aircraft impacting on an office building behind the SAA Technical hangers.
A spokesman for OR Tambo airport said the 17 Crew and 185 passengers who were in the aircraft escaped unharmed. They were evacuated from the aircraft and spent the night in a hotel.

86 comments:

1. Thank God no life was lost in the accident.

1. Thank u lord for saving all of them

2. So no b only 4 naija plane dey crash... Hmmm

2. Ahh thank God oh

3. So I heard ooo.Tnk God there was no life lost!!

4. Word !!! 185 passengers unharmed . I wish dat were possible in 9ja.

#watching in 3D LED#

5. Very sad news. Hope the damage aint collateral?

6. lmao
    wat was d pilot high on?

7. Thank God but this is an avoidable risk , they should try and be more careful next time know that lives are involved

8. lmao
    wat was the pilot high on

9. Thank God no life was lost.

10. Thank God no life was lost.

11. Aviation Saaaah! God safe us from danger.

12. Thanks God it's not more than that

13. Hmmm,God help dem oh,so crazy aw tragic tyns hapn 2wards d end of d year 2 ppl unexpected #*karlishah*

14. Thank God no one was harmed, if na my beloved naija na diff story

15. Thnk God dey didn't die o

16. Wow, atleast the passengers are safe...

17. Thank God no life was lost. If na Nigeria, them for they talk anyhow. Christmas came early for the passengers and crew.

18. Thank God no life was lost. If na Nigeria, them for they talk anyhow. Christmas came early for the passengers and crew.

19. thank God the people on board were unharmed

20. Oooh Lord hv mercy!!! Thank u for ur intervention lord. Iphie

21. Thats d worst d devil can do! Pilots sef dey follow cuz plane crashes most times. I thank God for my country so far dis yr. Father protect ur children as they fly dis season ijn

22. I said it, dis xmas be as e get...... But IJN dey will nt carry our head, na dia head dem go use carry am!

23. Thank God no casualty was recorded

24. Thank God no casualty was recorded

25. Now dat's a good PR as a management tool.... Thank God for their lives tho.

26. D only good tin I read is some neked celeb doing xmas card, outside dat mayby promos here nd there the res EVIL

27. Thank God for Saving lives. Good to no on died. May God grant injured ones quick recovery. Amen

28. Thank God no life lost. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

29. Thank fuck no British citizen lost their lives.

30. Thank God •̸№ one was injured!

31. Hmm! Good thing it didn't explode like how it happens in movies.

32. Thank God for not allowing families to cry this season.

33. Nawaaaooh! Is d runway dat small dat dis had to happen? Hian oh! Tnk God its nt in our country, dem 4 say naija na akpako! Say na our way. (WiTty lady)

34. The reason why it crash is cos they bought it 4rm chinko. Lol

35. Thank God there's no lost..Debby green

36. Tank God every1 is save.

37. GOD I THANK YOU OH

38. Hmmm...Richard Branson what you got to say to us?

39. Thank God no life was lost...

40. Thank God no life was lost

41. Tnx 2 God dat lives were nt lost

42. Thnk God no1 died

43. Tnk God no life was lost, 4 those dat injure I wish them quick recovery

44. Nawaaah oh,all dis pilot wey no dey hear word

45. Dey wia evacuated & they spent d night in a hotel dats in South Africa, but in Nigeria? U'll hear tins like, the black box to be flown to USA to discover reason for crash, passengers wia evacuated from crash site and a tent was made for dem in a field to sleep in, FG to probe d aviation sector, Oduah summoned by senate, Fani Kayode: Sack Stella Oduah now!.. And all sorts of rubbish! Okeoma says so!

46. Tank u jesus 4 saving their lives glory be 2 u Lord almighty u re wordy 2 be praise tank u jesus...

47. Tank u jesus 4 saving their lives glory be 2 u Lord almighty u re wordy 2 be praise tank u jesus...

48. Thank You Jesus that no one died

49. The captain is out of a job by now :(

50. Oh! Thank God. May God be praised.

51. Thank GOD there was no casualty. May GOD be praised.

52. Thank God there was no death record. If it were in nigeria, it wld have been a diff case.

53. Poor judgement by d pilot.use taxi way B insted he contiuned on taxi way M we thank God their lives.

54. What crash? Reading the glaring "headline" one would think it was a plane crash (and the stella haters would have had loads to say about it). It was just a wing. Get your facts straight. Smh.

55. Thank God,may God heal the ones injured

56. WAS THIS PILOT SLEEPING OR WETIN? PLEASE HOPE NO ONE'S AT THE OFFICE...GOD ALMIGHTY(JESUS CHRIST) PLEASE CONTINUE KEEPING US IN THIS AFRICA! WETIN SEF?

57. Ha..! Oga o thank God sha... it's well

58. Wrong Headline ... 4 pilots??? Them all played with their license/Career. British Airline Capt for that matter. SMH

59. The Pilots should have an IQ & eye test !!!! Did they not see the wings approaching the buildings? Or question the instructions received from the control tower after they felt something might be wrong ?
    Lots of questions they have to answer !!!!

60. Lord have mercy Thank God No live was lost.

61. mmmmm na wow o! Anyway thnk God they r safe

62. Ahhhhh! Thank God oh! Scary shit mehnnn

63. Is aa good thin no life wz lost.
    4rm Gnomic Pretex

64. So I heard,thanks God there was no life lost..

65. Thank God no life was lost in the accident...

66. Very sad news. Hope the damage aint collateral?