Teenage stowaway, Daniel Oikhena, offered scholarship | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 29 August 2013

Teenage stowaway, Daniel Oikhena, offered scholarship

A group called De Raufs' Volunteer Group - a group of supporters of Osun State Governor Rauf Aregbesola, has offered 14 year old Daniel Oikhena, the boy who flew an Arik plane from Benin to Lagos hidden in the plane's undercarriage, a scholarship.

The Director-General of the group, Amitolu Shittu, in a statement released yesterday said the group is ready to give scholarship to Daniel up to university level and also help him achieve his target of travelling through the air.

89 comments:

1. Much as this is good to hear, I hope it wouldn't call for other teenagers to delve into such risky stunts in a bid to get a scholarship or whatever is there to offer on the long run.

Naija!!!! Hard Knock Life!

1. Spot on! You couldn't have said it any better! I need not say anymore!

2. who was d ist teenage boy datflew
      an Arik plane from Benin to Lagos hidden in d plane's undercarriage,and later offered a scholarship. Wot was his name,age,and in wot year. Yipeeee

3. Bloglord my tots exactly..- jus hope dt wnt b d case..congrats 2 d lil man#chokolata#

4. ː̗̀=Dː̖́•‎​​​​​ℓσℓz•ː̗̀=Dː̖́•‎​​​​​ JAMB qstion

5. May them try am na, they'll spend their small small lives in jail.

6. Make them try am now the kind fall when they go fall from sky ehn even to use their money buy ticket to go abroad go hard em 4 life

7. Hmm @ achieve his target of travelling through the air. I think he has crossed that off his list. LoL!!!

2. Now we are talking. Dts wat wld hve been done a long time ago and nt all the noise

1. Well that's a gud one.
      But the organization its coming from is my prob;what happens when Rauf aregbesola is no more gov?how sure are we they can keep to their promise?
      This is just a political group seeking recognition thru the lil boy's predicament.

3. 9ice 1.....I hope young peeps won't follow his steps cos of Scholarship

1. A rat should not follow a lizard in a swimming play cos as d lizard dries up immediately,the RAT may never...jst a food for thought for the wise...JOSH

2. That's a nice word for those who will not follow the risk of others

4. Thank God some people still have a good hrt.

5. Yesss.....finally naija has done smethin right...Linda post this before I knack u akpako

6. God is indeed a great God! Dis boy found favour in an act stupidity!

7. Na that rosary around him neck save this BIG head from dying of pressure regardless shey the plight no reach high altitude

8. Eyah,has tears in my eyes right now but d tears hsnt fallen down my cheeks,dts so nice

9. Hope they are nt giving dis scholarship to dis boy to later beconme a boko haram member

1. Awwww! So happy 4 d young lad, God will see u through.

10. Waaooooooo! Great!! Nice one!!! But they should expect more of this † come...

11. Better thinking now. They should better capitalize on his intelligence.

12. This is rubbish. It sends a wrong message to teenagers like himself. That in itself has to be some sort of offence, now he's being rewarded with a scholarship.

13. More stoaway kids coming through...

14. Kudos!hope dis promise will be executed with immediate effeect.

15. LOL! PLIZ ODAZ SHUDNT TRY THIS! BUT IM GLAD THIS TURND OUT GUD. WAY TO GO PEOPLE! THIS IS GOOD NEWS!!! AWWW

16. I just hope this is not indirect recruitment to...whatever the name is

17. That's the least they can do, then after graduation a job at the police force

18. na politics. 2014 politics around d corner. Vote rauf or d party flag bearer. Linda he didnt fly d plane; he is nt d pilot. Wt does 'flew d plane hidden' mean. Just say he hid in d plane. Dnt overdo ursef

19. I LIKE DIS,U MUST TAKE A HIGH RISK 4 U 2 ACHIEVE IN NAIJA.

20. Wow gr8 newz at least....4 me,hmmmmm am finding my way to any air plan under carriage 4 my own scholarship ....lolz. Hapi 4 dis 1.

21. WOW may God bless u richly. i bliv dis young boy has a grt n big dream and future. once again God bless u so much for the scholarship giving to him.

22. A very good step if they can maintain this promise. Let it not be political please.

23. God.. Please Push Me to my Sucess.. No matter the risk. I will wade through!

24. This offer from Raufs suppoters,hope it's going to be a reality not politics as usual and at the same time how are we sure of how the Raufs will sustain this promise after Aregbesola's tenure in Osun?????

25. thnk God for him dis guy is a star, abeg PC change dat ur profile pics i fell like vomiting seeing it abeg na beg i dey beg u oooo before u go hit me wit ur dictionary. Linda if i no see dis comment eeeeh.

26. Eyah!tears gushed out of my eyes @ the sight of this news,I pray he uses this opportunity wisely and becomes some great in future..God bless his sponsors.
    Amin

27. It gladdens my heart.

28. At last naija has been on point

29. Thank God for him

30. Linda u nor go approv mi mssg!!!! Bliss news 4 d boy

31. Whoever said this boy Daniel Oikhena is not a genius should have his head examined!

32. Infact I de go do ma own weda I go get Job

33. Niceeeeeeeeeeeee . Ds boy need something like ds nd proper councelling. God bless ds group. Nd God help d lil boy. I really feel for hm . Our leaders wake u before everybody run comot say 9ja no good

34. Am very happy 4 him,it tears of joy.is better he go to Military college in aboard.our jack baur(24) in future.

35. O that's great! But...I don't understand. The group exists solely to support the Osun state governor?

36. Awww..so happy 4 him..Thank God

37. A special level of GRACE!

38. A special level of GRACE!

39. My younger brother just said he will run into fashola's convoy. If he is lucky not to die just like daniel,he might just get a schorlaship.

40. Pls when is the next Arik flight leaving? scholarship dey hungry me too

41. Nice one hope oda teenagr would follow the step

42. That's our own Van damme....I just hope d scholarship is not to lure him in2 any negative group

43. i think its just lame ........... scholarships are good alright, but y to dis boy... there are brilliant, less previledged childre who wld sit for exams to earn it... scholarships are to be earned......in order words ''nierian teenagers wenever u need a scholarship, just hide in a plane and make sure ur caught alright'' thats hw we do it in naija

44. Get him a shop at Alaba market or at Onitsha market. That will benefit him more.

45. the schorlarship can b halpful 2 him if his willingly 2 learn

46. Wow dat is nice of Dem ....

47. Air Force pilot in the making!!

48. He already flew by air if u ask M̶̲̥̅Ƹ. Last class †̥hα̲̅†̥ is!

49. Yayy! Thats ma governor. Way to go

50. @obusj (on twitter)29 August 2013 at 23:00

Jose Morihno is the 'Happy one' David Moyes is the 'Choosen one' and this Boy is the 'Wisest one' Congrats danie. You too much...wheres the next plane to lagos at? Am up for a scholar toooooo!

1. Hahahaha too funny! U said it all, very wise boy

51. Awesome! He met his blessing!

52. My tot is dat dis guy was on a mission sponsored by d government dignitries in dat plane but eventuall,story been turn around n covered up. If nt,how cum he successfully pass thru all security checks even d runway? Now I dn't knw y I happen 2b d only1 thinking dis way

1. That's bcos of u are shallow minded,why wld govt use a teenager from a poor home to do their dirty work? Did u even pass Jamb?

53. PC, that ur profile pix bad o! If u no look well u go think say na ........lips sealed. Well thank God for the little dude. Young ones please don't try that u might not be as lucky as Daniel/ Ricky.

54. just hope other boys dont try sumtin as risky as this, coz it might not work out for them like it did for this boy.

55. I PRAY GOD ALMIGHTY THAT THIS GUY SHOULD BE A PILOT. I actually suspect that....This brings out a lot of message to the Aviation industry as well as the NIGERIAN ARMY...Step up your game somehow...This is Confidence, determination.

56. ♍♈ neighbour kids r bent on me taking them 2 MMIA Fǿя̩̥̊ dem 2 stoaway †ђع nxt available local flight n get caught inorder Fǿя̩̥̊ them 2 b awarded with scholarship up to university level...hope this ain't gonna b another unfilled promise..buh anyhw sha naija xpect more stoaway kids

57. Hope they don't. But really if they all do and succeed then good. At least for once nigerian money will be going to tangible things. Training the leaders of tomorrow.
    Don't get me wrong. I don't want any little cgild trying this. And perhaps this public announcement will encourage such which is a bad idea. But a part of me that bleeds when I see how our politicians, pastors & other leaders waste our money on luxury. That part of me will be very delighted if every needy child gets this chance.

58. D guy was used,dats all

59. Una d̲̅εγ here this boy G̶̲̥̅̊☹ graduate finish come shoot “24 season 9”. Another Jack Bauer in T̅ђє̲̣̥ making. May God see him through.

60. HMMMMMMMMM #NOCOMMENT

61. An sure nobody in Nigeria ll try dis again cos in Niger no body wan die but dem wan jst reach heaven jeeje

62. so, where d hell is bonario nagg's comment via nokia3310

63. we cn see aw unsecured we are, imaging aw d litl boy outsmart d bunch of security men nd wmen in d air pot,if he were a terorist we wud b takin abt anoda bomblast in d air port and a plane crash nd yt lost of thousands of souls.kudos 2 d young whizkid.

64. Rauf Aregbesola... good man. What is Edo state gov looking at ? SMH...

65. Oops! .and I conceived this plan some 14 years ago OOOOooooooooooo :(

66. I don't think that is a goid idea. This boy intentionally snuck through security and hid in the tire hole of a plane with the intention to illegally enter the United States. Not only does that make Nigeria look bad ( though he didnt have to try hard to do that), but he broke the law. He should be punished to set an example to others. Now that he broke the law and is being released and even rewarded, get ready to see dangerous ppl begin to hijack nigerian planes seeiing how incredibly easy it is.

67. see nigerians with criminal minds. Even at 14 you are already calculating and planning how to go abroad, thats why i always say every nigerian including me are corrupt. No wounder dem dey born children with their eyes and palms open

68. Wow dats gud but dey should keep an eye on him cos he may do more dan dis