Fela's Kalakuta Museum Officially Opens | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday, 15 October 2012

Fela's Kalakuta Museum Officially Opens

The Gbemisola, Ikeja home of late Afrobeat King, Fela Anikulapo–Kuti has been turned into a museum - Kalakuta Museum. The museum was financed by the Lagos State government and houses all Fela’s memorabilia, including his clothes, shoes, equipment and other items.

It was officially opened today...will bring official photos later. More photos when you continue...

36 comments:

1. That is a nice idea by lagos state government.

2. A REALLY REALLY GOOD STEP...TOURISM SHOULD BE A HUGE ATTRACTION IN NIGERIA AS A WHOLE

I GUESS VERY SOON IT WILL BE

3. Just another hangout for drug addicts and thugs. TC

1. Wow,how can u be dat brainless...becos Baba 70 took drugs now u think preserving his legacy will turn out to be a drug hangout rather than a tourist attraction...think again and mind u Fela was a LEGEND and fire burn ur mouth...FELA lives on

2. Infact I'm very sure that wen u were young u dunt go 4 excursion if u do u will know wat dey call a tourist centre!!!!!!!!!!!! D museum is not d african SHRINE...Moron
      Linda if u like no post am u hear

4. It was a really nice concept of turning the shrine to a museum, thats just my 2 cents. Will they sell marijuana at the museum?

1. Point of correction. THIS IS NOT THE ORIGINAL AFRICA SHRINE. This was his residence. And no, they won't sell marijuana there. Continue patronizing your local supplier.

2. Hahahahaha@continue patronizing U̶̲̥̅̊я̩̥̊ local seller.

5. m happy 4 u my dear

6. Nice “My Aluu experience” http://karmayve.blogspot.com/2012/10/my-aluu-experience-moneyalchemist.html

7. Not befitting enough

8. Mary J thngs...........

9. Nice 1. Pls chck this www.relationship4rum.blogspot.com and leave a comment,MY BOYFRIEND WANTS TO BREAK UP WITH ME BECAUSE OF PIMPLES.www.relationship4rum.blogspot.com

10. Mary J flower tinz on a modernized level

1. Wat do u mean by mary j tnz. I dnt understand. Pls explain!

2. Looool bona rio rio! Funny lad! Ezigbota mary J *wink*.. Anon 10:21 biko expire from here .. Aturu

3. B0NADULLARD Pls can u stop saying nonsesnse.u hardly ever make sense and ur nokia 3310 joke is just as stupid.

4. Anon fuck off u frustrated ugly girl!

11. It's a shoddy job done by the Lagos state;what stopped them painting the whole place?Does asiwaju've a percentage from gate takings?Anyway thnx BRF 4 giving me airconditioned environs to fa igbo inside

1. Sorry your ilk isn't welcome at the museum. Btw do you understand the concept of s museum? Or your igbo tainted brain is making comprehension garde?

12. I was there as a kid and can't wait to take my kids on tour of baba fela's place

1. Yeah and wat will u show them."hey my jewels,u see dis is the room where he smoked igbo,and that's the 1 we're he got down with his concubines" .kid:"ohh mummy I want 2 be just like fela"

13. It will definetly boost tourism in lagos state

14. Whoa I was deir dis aftanoon its rilly creative I luV it

15. At last something is done to honour Nigeria's greatest musician IMO. This man was an orisha as Lagbaja rightly said.

16. ghrr...
    another tourist building... no parking. So another traffic zone...
    good job for the museum but seriously, lets start considering parking spaces when we build stuff
    :p

17. i actually find it quite silly that they altered the original building with this new fangled ugly crap...the old thing should have been preserved in-situ...says L.A.S.T.M.A Killa

1. What you see outside is what Fela built. The only additions to the facade are the ac stands and the last floor which Fela didn't complete. Pls ask questions/do research before blessing us with your ignorance

18. The gate needs to be removed and replaced by a better one. The fence is not good enough. All Fela's items on display should have security tags on them because of thieves.

Such items would set off the alarm and suspected tourists would be checked immediately. CCTV should be in every room for maximum security. The rest should be history...

1. Thanks for your observations. Its a work in progress. The gate was left so as to limit exterior design interferences

19. I will definitely visit it the day I will be in Naija!

http://www.finest-in-internet.com/

1. Aunty Mana pitang which day will u be in Nig. Lol