Qatar Airline Makes Emergency Landing in Lagos | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 29 September 2012

Qatar Airline Makes Emergency Landing in Lagos

Qatar Airline flight 592 from Doha to Lagos made an emergency landing a few minutes ago at the Murtala Muhammed International airport, Lagos. The pilots discovered midair that one tyre had low pressure, making landing difficult. They radioed our airport for emergency precaution and a vehicle to tow the plane from the runway to the gate.

The best part was, more than 95% of the passengers didn't even know anything was wrong until the plane landed and they saw fire service and National  Emergency Management Agency all around. One of the passengers tweeted that it was a smooth landing so was surprised that they even had issues.

The plane has been slowly towed to it's landing spot at the airport. We thank God

68 comments:

1. Thank God! Thats great see proper precautions and professionalism!

1. Mehnnn check out "effectiveness"! I cut cap Jare.. Plus Linda, u r spot on wit dis gist honey, very prompt! Pls our naija officials, we know say una dey try small, buh stop managing bad conditions, dey usually jst get worse n out of hand! Thank God for safety 2day! Amen! «~DORA

2. Thats what it shld be...naija pilots pls copy!!

1. Rme! Kmt We av very gud pilots bt crappy airlines n aircrafts!

2. What do you mean by naija pilots please learn? The Dana air crash, was the pilot a Nigerian? How many crashes in Nigeria could you recount a Nigerian pilot was involved in? Please get your facts correct before passing some unneccessary comments. The pilot did what the procedure says and it worked...we thank God. It is not always like that all the time...xxxxx

3. That's really good, am impressed that the passengers didn't feel anything. Shey 9ja aviation industry is seeing this and they need to step up.

4. Thank God for his bravery. Another airline crash avoided. The Pilot should be commended

5. Impressive!!! Thank God that everything went well afterall.

6. I give it 2 qatar airways anytime anyday!!! Rili a 5 star airline! Do u hw many of our so called planes fly wif major mechanical faults nah only God dey save us!

7. I hope Nigeria airline operators do learn from this and stop managing problems.

1. You guys really talk any how. managing problem is what safety is all abt and no pilot wants to die. pilots follow the book. some time it works some time it fails.

Why would they even not know that the tyre is bad before taking off.

Secondly, if he landed and the tyre busted, same you would say that he would have told the passengers.

We speculate a lot in Nigeria. we need to have faith in our pilots cos they are the best. they look for them all over the world.

2. SMH young man, there's a big difference btwn managing and solving a problem okay? #okbye

8. Tank God oo,ona get luck

9. A 1st Class Airline that takes precaution and wonderful Pilot with right and in good state of mind! Thank God for the safe landing.

10. That's good. We thank God.

11. No problem standard procedure

12. Golden rules for pilots-Never take chances cos the worst is always possible..

13. thank God oh!i hope our emergency response will continue this way.impressed with the way the crew handled the issue other wise would have be pandemonium.
    ONEA....

14. that is standard procedure passengers would panick if the captain told them that midair iimagine the chaos shouting and prayers everywhere

15. Hmmm..... We Thank baba God ooo, unlike d useless ones dat nigerians have. Thank God say i don comot dt yeye country sef.

16. Dis is great news, giving God d glory. ANGELIC

17. That is what comes with using new state of the art aircrafts. We are still debating whether 20 year aircrafts are ok for our air space or not.

18. Praise be to God from whom all blessings flow. Tnk God for averting another mishap.

19. Hmm.dis is proffessionalism.did nt panic or jump on his knees to anounce.finally we tank God.

20. nice! i love qatar! even their air hostess are smoking hot! fresh skin, well packaged chiqs.
    this is how it ought to be...not hovering on air for minutes and crashing into mango tree and people's homes.
    thumbs up qatar!

21. May God be praised!!!

22. My brother was just on that flight. He said he had never seen so many emergency response vehicles and even the head of the NCAA was there. Very impressive response time conaidering what we are used to. He gave much props to the pilot as well. Thank you Lord!

23. Great... Nigeria airs shey una shavi read.. Everything no b by force.. Nothing lyk we go manage for plane matter o...

24. Thank God for saving their lives. I flew quater airways to dubai thru doha last month. That airline sweet gan. I love them. Thumbs up guys

25. Dat na people wey dey use their oil money very well. De same oil wey baba God give us. Our own na de opposite. God pls help us,

26. Thank God for his mercy.nig pilot pls learn from this.

27. dis is commendable all glory be to God.

28. u passengers re lucky is not chanchan gi or sosoliso or even arik air

29. qatar air line that one na ultimate machine on the air try chanchangi or kabo air

30. u passengers re lucky is not chanchan gi or sosoliso or even arik air

31. Thank God, my regular airline

32. Abeg Nigeria aviation industry learn from this and caution airline owners. Thank God

33. God is awesome.

34. Thank God abegi. Better nearly than blood, Tears and hell. Praise God

35. Tnk God for his mercy .Amen

36. Now that's how to handle a plane..all due precaution undertaken..why did Dana hover for minutes before finally crashing???...

37. at least they had space aand light on the runway to make 'em land this time...LOL!

38. I was on the flight and never knew anything was going on until we landed. I was taking pictures of the landscape when we were houvering & i have never done that before. Thank God for safe landing. Testimony in church tommorow. Xoxoxo

39. I was on the flight and never knew anything was going on until we landed. I was taking pictures of the landscape when we were houvering & i have never done that before. Thank God for safe landing. Testimony in church tommorow. Xoxoxo

40. am impressed.
    www.relationship4rum.blogspot.com

41. This is just in one word....Awesome!

42. May Gods name be highly magnified! God has done it again! Am most greatfull to him

43. i thank God for his mercies on our lives. His name be praised.

44. Thx God ˚˚˚°ºo heard it dis evening on news some of Tђξ passengers interviewed said it Tђξ same way linda as put it, they had no slight idea of the technical fault everytin was okay α̲̅πϑ normal landing. We thx God

45. All glory be to GOD Almighty

46. In Nigeria,the pilot are already aware that the plane they are flying is not in good condition so thers's no need for them to form one emergency landing,it must be forced to it's destination even if it costs them the whole lives on the plane.

47. D captain did a fantastic job landing dat aircraft bt with regards to d passengers sayn they were oblivion of wat was happening is simply nt true,the aircraft was hovering around mmia for close to an hour n half b4 landn

48. Was surprised see those people (fire service nd co) cuz I was on that flight never something was wrong... God I give u all the glory

49. Glory be to God...

50. Linda, av bin noticing u lately, u dont want to post my comment right? No problem

51. Thank GOD for safe landing.If its Nigerian Airline,the case would have been different and we will be hearing another plane crash in Nigeria #Godforbid#I have used Qatar airline and they are very good.

52. What shall i say unto thy Lord concerning this,all i have to say is thank you Lord for not allowing the world to cry for another disaster.

53. What shall i say unto thy Lord concerning this,all i have to say is thank you Lord for not allowing the world to cry for another disaster.

54. My dear people let us just give all the thanks to God for averting what would have been another disaster. This was the same Quatar airway my husband flew early dis yr n had problems mid-air. D pilot was able to gain control of the plane later. Some passengers out of fright stood up n hit their head against each oda n were injured. My husband being a doctor also assisted d medical team in treating some injured people. A mail was sent to my husband some days later thanking him for his help n also apologising 4 d inconveniences. If u luv ur life u better avoid Quatar airways cos i see disaster looming around dem. Dat definitely means dey ve nt properly repaired dat aircraft. A word is enough for d wise.

1. U r definitely a staff of another airline,such a big liar.Qatar airways is one of the best airline I know and dey just proved it!!!

55. wow...funny enough dis same flight tuk us to qatar again, all they told us was d flight has problems wit its tires n theywere fixin it....no one had idea of its emergency landin, thank God all d same,cos we were delayed n later tuk off again wit same flight to qatar dat same day.

56. yes, I will say it again & again, Qatar airways is d best, flew it times b4, had such impeccable take offs, flight & landing, such Professionalism at play in dat airline abeg, they 2much