RIP Ogbonna Amadi. Vanguard Entertainment Editor Dies | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 30 August 2012

RIP Ogbonna Amadi. Vanguard Entertainment Editor Dies

Heard about his death last night but refused to write it because I was hoping someone would tell me it was all a joke. Whenever I heard a story, he was one of the first people I'd call to get confirmation. He knew everything and everyone...speaking figuratively.

Ogbonna Amadi was the Group Entertainment editor of Vanguard Newspaper. He was the one who broke the D'banj/Don Jazzy break up story. He had been a veteran entertainment journalist for over two decades. He died yesterday evening, August 29th, at a hospital in Apapa after suffering serious Asthma Attack.

Such a huge loss to the media and entertainment industry. Rest in peace, Amadi. #still in shock!

62 comments:

1. Death is truly inevitable. May his soul rest in peace.

2. Rest in peace!
    Topless

3. may his soul rest in peace.

4. RIP to him.Indeed its a huge loss

5. Michael says...
    RIP Ogbonna. I'm sure you're in a better place. Sad news indeed :(

6. RIP Ogbonna... May the good Lord console your family. Amen

7. RIP SIR #SAD!!!! I hate hearing about death.but what can we do as we'll all go 2 meet wiv our lord some day. All we should do is ask for long life.And I pray we do have long life. Amen

8. OMG!!!May his gentle soul rest in perfect peace,I've known him and he's wife for ages now,I remember down Haruna Ifako in d 90's...o no,pls Lord help and strengthen his family and loved ones.Amen!

9. OMG we were neighbours, such a lively person. May the Lord bless your soul IJN Amen.

10. Kaii I met dis guy in d bank 2 months back where he was discussing his plans to do a huge reality show,Wat a Life.R.I.P Bro

11. Rest in peace bro

12. Imagine people dying in Nigeria of Asthma attack? this is a serious shame.

13. OMG! This is truly a great loss, rest in peace brother

14. May his soul rest in peace.

Check out my gift from Google,@ www.warrigirl.com

15. OMG! This is truly a great loss, rest in peace brother.

16. Asatma attacks can Be very severe especially in a highly polluted area like Lagos! Bros RIP!

17. Haba! Death u no dey tire? *teary eyes* rest in peace my brother

18. So sad......RIP

19. Oga Amadiiiiiii,words fail me.even d tears v refused to flow yet I want to vent my pain.in all situations,we shld praise God so even at ur death,I m praisn him for d purposeful life u lived.this is a huge blow to journalism,d entertainment industry n d world.ADIEU big bros

20. RIP Oga AMADI, we'll miss you.

21. RIP Igwe Ogbonna. RIP

22. He used to tell me i am d best I.T student he ever had....He was supposed to sign my log book today...This is unbelievable.!!!!!!!!!!!

23. My God athsma attack! My colleague had athsma attack ysdy tank God we got an inhaler for her on time and I was jst crying cause I knw what she was going tru.. And blessed God for healing me of it!! Dis is a sad one! May his soul RIP amen.. God knws best

24. Indeed it's a great loss to the media industry.RIP Ogbonna.

25. May his soul rest in peace!

26. RIP God please accept his soul and comfort his family

27. it is a great lost indeed, but we look 4ward 2 d time whn God will wipe away every tears from mankind faces n death d worst enemy of humankind will be no more.

28. RIP Sir. may God console his family.

29. it is a great lost indeed, but we look 4ward 2 d time whn God will wipe away every tears from mankind faces n death d worst enemy of humankind will be no more.

30. it is a great lost indeed, but we look 4ward 2 d time whn God will wipe away every tears from mankind faces n death d worst enemy of humankind will be no more.

31. ''Nwokibe''...Datz wat he used to call me...A great Loss.!

32. Rest in peace sir. So so sad

33. So sad. May he RIP.

34. hmmm wat a loss! i neva would believe dat astma atttack could be dis severe RIP ogbonna

35. Linda, this is sad news. Ogbonna was a veteran in entertainment journalism in Nigeria.I was wondering why he was not at The Future Awards ceremony in PH last Sunday.He was such a big influence in the industry.RIP Ogbonna.

36. Rest in Peace bro. so sad u are gone kai

37. Rest in Peace. I agree with Anonymous 10: A.M.

38. Where did he keep hs inhaler now. Oh. What a loss. My vanguard gister. Hope u had Jesus so u R.I.P.

39. May his gentle soul rest in peace

40. RIP sir,may God give d family and loved ones fortitude †Φ bear d irreplaceable loss....

41. So sad. Linda, how old was he because I have seen his by-line (name) for years?

There is something that I don't understand about Nigeria and Nigerians. In most European countries, asthma suffers have free inhalers that they carry around in case they get attacks. I did not see that in Africa.

Can't the Federal Ministry of Health in Nigeria provide free inhalers with all the oil revenue? People pay too much taxes and get less services from the government.

42. Chei...serious asthma attack....Na aw for naija health system o

43. Rip and god bless the family

44. May his soul rest in perfect peace Amen!!!

Let's talk about domestic violence visit: http://lwtze.blogspot.co.uk/?m=1

45. RIP. I remember him from my mbgn days back in 1998. Such a lovely chap. So sad. May d lord grant his famz fortitude to bear Dix loss oh xxxDesto

46. Really feeling bad nw. RIP bro.

47. God bles ur soul. Im stil shocked. I wish it was a bad dream and u r stil there. Amadi i wil mis u

48. I miss you a lot✽̴̤̩̈·̵̭̌·̵̭̌«̶⌣