Happy 78th birthday to a great icon, Prof Wole Soyinka | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 13 July 2012

Happy 78th birthday to a great icon, Prof Wole Soyinka

The author, poet, playwright and Nobel Prize winner was born 13th July 1934. There's a lecture at the Muson Centre today to mark his 78th birthday. Wishing him many more happy years ahead!

64 comments:

1. Happy bırthday sır!!!! Hope 2 see anoda post of u wen ure 100 yrs old. *bıg grın*

2. prof prof! Wishing him many more happy years
    ahead!

3. HBD the legend! i was priviledged to have a one-on-one chat with this man. omg! he is awesome!
    happy birthday sir! llnp

4. Happy birthday to an ICON!

5. Happy birthday prof! Wishing you long life n prosperity. The rest of your live, will be the best of your life.

6. Would love to be in that lecture, is it tied to an IV or what? BTW, is it just me or does prof's beard & hair in this photo look fixed?

Happy Birthday Prof! :-)

7. This man have olds o...happy birthay Oga Patapata.
    First Lady Speaks.

8. Happy birthday to a great son of the nation. many more happy years

9. you cant escape the law so why try more especially when you are a celebrity, enjoy the time you spend and write more songs okay.

10. HBD Prof. and many hapi rtns of d day, long life and prosperity. U r a great man and role model of so many pple. Enjoy urself Prof.

11. I'l always be in love with him...

12. I am using this medium to which this great man happy birthday.You have imparted your generation positively.You will continue to impart this generation positively.You are a very rare leader to come by.Thank God for a leader like you in Nigeria.You have given us hope.

13. wishin you many more year, Prof

14. Happy birthday to daddy KONGI, Prof. Akinwande Oluwole Soyinka. More power, Sir.

15. Happy birthday.
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
    Meet new friends on http://mikuzchat.tk

16. Happy Birthday Sir. More grease. Ideal hero, icon and role model.

17. Ahoy capper,abc

18. I can listen to Wole Soyinka talk for days...yes his voice has that effect on me. I practically melt...Gosh!

Happy birthday!

19. Happy birthday WS long live sir.

20. Happy birthday Professor. He's one of the very few elderly persons that makes being a Nigerian worth it!

Femi.

21. oooh! How i luvvv diz man....H@ppy Birthd@y uncle wole n many h@pi returnz#CHOKOLATA#..dats wassup!

22. hbd 2 d grt icon/linda pls post mi cmment oo

23. Hbd Prof...July ppls in d house! I hv great ppl in my month...yay!!!

24. Happy Birthday to Nigerian number-one legend and icon..WISH YOU A HEALTHY LIFE AND GODS BLESSINGS

25. Most respectful Birthday to respectable, selfless human being, the kind that is in short supply in the world these days.

A true source of pride to Nigeria and Africa.

26. Happy birthday living legend!!! I wish u many more super years ahead! JULY babies are the best lolz #teamcancer

27. Linda post my comment!!!sad

28. 9jadeltapikin... HBD uncle wole saoyinka God bless u

29. Happy Birthday to you...Prof, Legend, Icon, what else?

30. Most erudite and consciented prof happy birthday. May u never hv reason to 'scope' fuel and u wont be found on dana's manifest......if u insult me ur hands will go numb! Lin post ooooo

31. Prof !!!
    Happy Birthday to you sir.
    More greaze to your elbow

32. HBD Prof Soyinka. Now, this is epitome of person who should be ruling Nigeria.

33. HBD Sir llnp i remember the day i saw you i waved from the car and you waved back that is humility at its peak!

34. hapi bday prof. Wole..... Cnt bliv my role model is also born in july lyk me!! Cheers man, dis is soooo luvly!! Llnp. Pls linda post dis

35. Happy Birthday Professor Wole Soyinka! May God grant you many more years on the land He giveth thee! May He prosper all the works of your hands! You are a great writer and inspiration to generations unseen. Humble and decent. God bless you Sir.

How to stay faithful while waiting on Him. Read my personal testimonies here- www.princessofzion.wordpress.com/2012/07/13/my-testimonies-waiting-on-god-she-found-her-husband/

God bless you.
    www.princessofzion.wordpress.com

36. Waooo, still looking so strong. HBD. LLNP. more years ooo, u need am

37. Awwww. Hbd!! Maybe u live even longer and continue to grow wiser x

38. He look so health and strong for his age. May God give u long life and prosperity.I love u faint.

39. happy birth day my daddy,my mentor and my legend.mine is in 3days time.

40. Our own Kongi, deserves to be celebrated I just published Abiku one of his many poems-my favourite on my blogs now

41. Happy birthday prof. Long life and more yrs datz what i wish u sir.

42. He looks younger than OBJ

43. Happy bday to the original Seven..Ahoy bermuda!

44. HAPPY BIRTHDAY SIR.

45. NUBIAN QUEEN™13 July 2012 at 19:36

Happy birthday sir...he kinda sorta looks like Morgan Freeman

46. Happy Birthday, Prof Soyinka. This man looks good with age. I hope, he has inspired many to want to continue his legacy.

47. I know linda won't post my comment"happy birthday Uncle Yinka"Many more years to come!From tossyn"

48. HBD to such a gr8 icon

49. Hbd to my retired but nt tired captain blood. Many more years to ur rugged mind. AHOY capper

50. QF
    HBD to u sir!

51. Happy birthday. You may not believe in my God but I call down his blessings on you, for you are a great blessing to our nation and world. The courage, the art, the individuality, championing of others' causes when you have nothing to gain... I don't always like your approach, but you have fortitude and integrity. Lion and Jewel, I bow.

52. Linda why on earth did you not post my comments, BC I talked about the issue of secret cults. Read Buchi's Cease Fire, you will know what cult has done to our young men and women. Pls post my comment.

53. Happy Birthday to an internationally recognised Nigerian who's recognised as one of the good things/people to come out of Nigeria.
    Anon July 14, 2012 1:38 PM; Prof has always said when he started NAS it started as a social thing and not the way Universities have bastardised it. He always condemns cultism in Universities.

54. CBT AS U AVE CELEBRATED UR FOB LAST LEG!MAY U LIVE LONG 4 US.AS U AVE SAIL ACROSS TORTUGA SO SHALL ODA BRODAS SAIL.HAIL 2 MY HEAD CAPON HAIL................

55. hapi birth day friend.Jesus loves you. Give your life to him

56. its gives me a great JOY to know that we were born same day happy bday to my role model

57. CONGRATS TO OUR NUMBER 6 IN AFRICA HAPPY 78YS BIRTH-DAY TO U.