Another building collapses; this time in Abuja | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 13 June 2012

Another building collapses; this time in Abuja

An uncompleted storey building collapsed in Apo mechanic village in Abuja this morning, leaving at least three people trapped under the rubble for a while before they were rescued and taken to the National Hospital in Abuja.

A local volunteer at the scene told a reporter that the building collapsed mostly because of the quality of materials being used to build the house.

Don't we have an organization in Nigeria that regulates the construction of buildings? Too many buildings are collapsing these days.

34 comments:

1. I am sure we have an organization that regulates, but like the Dana case that organization does nothing but collect bribes all day while our people die and suffer!

2. @ofilispeaks, Gbam!!!!. I'm surprised u r asking this question,linda. Do u not know d kind of country u r from?. Personally, i've lost hope for this country.

3. Yh! Still on d topic of how corrupt theses bodies incharge are!

4. surely that wasa rhetorical question...of course we have every "balance and check"agency on papaer but like everything in nigeria it will never work...shame

5. That's why we have a course called quantity survey but instead of employing them after graduation they will be putting there children there *hiss*

6. Person no go build house safely or what, all these cunning contractors sef.They should be given life imprisonment

7. laughable. Check and balance in Nigeria? Never. We need help

8. There must be an organisation that approves building construction, but how will greed, corruption and selfishness allow them think? Mscheew...

9. we hav such org here in nig bt corruption cant make dem to do d right tin at d right time. Dey wil earmark a building 4 demolition bt if d owner settles dem he wil continue. Niger is only GOD dat wil help us.

10. Na wa o.dis is getn too much in dis country.God!plz.....kindly save ur people..

11. Those buildings have been uninhabited and uncompleted for years and shldve been revoked or pulled down by now

12. Ihe nkAa di kwa egwu, ujor na atu zim na obodo anyi bu nigeria...

13. OMG dis is horrific :( thank God there was no life lost sha, abeg oh condsider ppl's life b4 doing tinz abeg.

14. What are you talking about Linda? That is a country where everything is dead and nothing works. Its just going to be another set up for this big men to loot money from poor people.
    If only things were right... People will use the right materials for construction. That country hmmmmmmm.

15. Terrible! God help us! Corruption is the cause of this!

16. COREN and NSE should be held responsible for this act, all they do is sit in their office and collect fat money as registration fee without verifications.

17. concerned citizen14 June 2012 at 10:01

Just thot I should share this, received it this morning:
    After days of speculations on the cause of Dana Air crash. Teams of experts from the US and AIB confirmed yesterday that only impure Fuel could have cause two engine and throttle failure mid Air. Source also confirmed that other sample taken from two Dana Air planes yesterday were also bad. Dana Air confirmed that all their Planes were Fueled by the same oil marketer on sunday morning .the fuel samples will be flown abroad today for further analysis as Nigeria does not have laboratory to test the quality of aviation fuel. The question is are all other Airlines flying on bad fuel or was Dana targeted. Only time could tell.

18. There is an organization, but are clients seeking professionals intervention or rather they consult quarks when building. To cut cost nd expose dwellers to danger.

19. If D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ can't watch ds buildins den lε̲̣̣̣̥t̶̲̥̅s g☺ back †̥☺ mud houses n̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥ve̶̲̥̅̊r heard it collapsed just sayin,nija if its how †̥☺ collect bribe dey wil no wat †̥☺ do,its well O°˚˚˚

20. With all the professionals we have in the construction industry & with clients& contractors cutting corners to make profit. Its so sad all dis is happening

21. They used dangote cement....low quality. They should bring back eagle cement..... Dangote is all about quantity not quality. His sugar, spaghetti, cement etc is horrible

22. Is it news that nigerians don't value human life? Ofcourse its not!!

23. Nigeria z just nt a country to b trusted.

24. Every damn thing is collapsing in Nigeria. Signs of the times.

25. Why e no go collapse when na STORY building...eku ise o lindostik.

26. Mehn linda u fast o,u don change am to storey na na...nice one,nice one.

27. Corruption,plane crashes,boko haram is nw d order of d day•innocent lives have been killed due to poor leadership in all sector•Baba God pls save our soul•