Photos: Two students dead amid alleged outbreak of diarrhea at Queens College Yaba | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday, 24 February 2017

Photos: Two students dead amid alleged outbreak of diarrhea at Queens College Yaba

A statement issued on Thursday, February 23, by the Director Media and Public Relations to the Federal Ministry of Health, Mrs Boade Akinola said the Minister of Health, Prof. Isaac Adewole, received news of the alleged outbreak of diarrhea while on his way out of the Secretariat of the West African College of Surgeons where he had just commissioned the permanent secretariat. The statement reads:

The Minister immediately requested that his convoy diverts to the school’s location. He was in the company of the Chief Medical Director of the Lagos University Teaching Hospital.
On arrival the Minister was told that the school was currently on mid-term break but the deaths of two ladies were recorded at their homes. One of the deaths was attributed as due to Febrile Illness while the cause of the second was undisclosed.

The Health Minister and his company met with the representative of the Lagos State Commissioner for Health, Dr Erinosho and the Principal Dr. Mrs Lami Amodu and her staff.
According to the school’s Nurse, no student was admitted at the sick bay for any diarrhea disease prior to the commencement of the mid-term break yesterday (22nd February, 2017)
Following the interaction, Prof. Adewole directed the officials of the Lagos State Ministry of Health, LUTH Community Health Department as follows;
1. Ascertain the cause of death of the 2 students
2. Inspect school environment including the Kitchen
3. Examine the source of water supply and test suitability for human consumption
4. Visit the bereaved families
The Minister also called the Honorable Minister of Education and briefed him of his directives. A report of the investigation will also be forwarded to the Honorable Minister of Education.
Parents of Queens College students and concerned Nigerians should remain calm as the Health Authorities are on top of the situation.

15 comments:

such a bad news

O.S.O said...

TERRIBLE....
The Ultimate Countdown to Feb 25th. JOIN US @ THE ULTIMATE WEBSITE & BLOG DESIGN TRAINING as I Show You How I Created A Constant Stream Of Online Income Thru My Online Store With This Single Skill and How Anybody Can Too. Visit Our Store Here: www. iaudify.com

May their souls rest in peace.
Good to see the Hon minister of health on ground to ascertain the situation of things.

my colleague's daughter who is also a student of this same school was rushed to the hospital weeks ago from school and if not for God's intervention who knows what would have happened to the poor girl.the girl has been home since then and the parents are beginning to make plans for another school.

nawa!!! food poison or what?

I'm aware of 3 students of QC admitted into the same hospital in Ajao Estate within 5 days this week on account of sepsis and it was only God that saved them.

What was the causative organism?

SUGAR BOY said...

am just speechless ,some cases are just complicating

The school is at fault..... They never listen to our cry, all they want is money and fame

This is from a student of Qc

The federal ministry of Education should help the students by providing good drinking water and monitor the food consume by the students.

When things happen, let there be changes. From henceforth, parents should be called when their kids are sick.

Praise Sodipo was buried yesterday (another student of that school) who got back home sick and was diagnosed to have perforated intestines. We are aware that the school management is trying to bury this case but we will not allow them. How can student complain to the management that they were perceiving a foul smell yet no one paid them any attention only for them to discover that a whole cat had died in the water tank they were using.....May these unnecessary deaths be upon everyone who played a part in this tragedy!

I happen to just come across the full gist now because all I have been heading are rumours. I'm an OG of the mentioned school and truly this true because both the water we used at the time to wash was the same we used to drink. The principal and senior boarding house mistress really never paid attention to use at the time till the Tenure of LAte Mrs ladipo who made sure we treated as queens when it came to food. Linda you would not belive that the stick they used to turn out porridge at the time was ordinary wood that sometimes still has nail in them. This is not about spoiling the reputation of the school because I'm an OG and I really do love the school but it has now come to my fellow queens dying and its disheartening because it could have been me. I think the parents should once in a while drop by to see how that dining hall looks like it's bad and I mean it. I pray that the souls of the girls rest in peace. I'm really annoyed at the boarding house aspect of the school its bad. Both the bathroom and the kitchen and the dormitory. It's even the girls that try as much as possible to make it look presentable. The only time the school cleans is probably when they hear minstry of that and this is coming If not on a normal day nothing is done. I love my alma mater but there are some things that are meant to be said and this is one out of the majority