Exclusive: Dancequeen Kaffy responds to controversies surrounding her verbal attack against disrespectful artistes | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 27 October 2016

Exclusive: Dancequeen Kaffy responds to controversies surrounding her verbal attack against disrespectful artistes

On Wednesday, a lot of of people were surprised to see Dance entrepreneur, Kaffy, lash out at Davido and other artistes who allegedly disrespect dancers in Nigeria. In an explosive video lash out, Kaffy came for the music artiste, stating that it was disrespectful of him to dismiss contracted dancers at the very last minute. According to her, this happened at the One Africa Music Fest in the U.S in July and another similar issue also came up before the 3 thrones concert in Lagos over the weekend.

However, it appears her opinion on what went down during the second concert in Lagos was misconstrued. Some media outlets went on to report that the choreographer for Davido's performance at the 3 thrones concert debunked Kaffy's claim, saying although he did not initially want dancers for all his performances, the organizers insisted and he agreed. LIB reached out to the dance queen to hear her side of the story and she exclusively revealed the genesis of the problem, from unpaid debts to more. Read after the cut.

LIB: You lashed out at Davido for disrespecting contracted dancers at the One Africa Music Fest in New York back in July. You also made an example using the 3 thrones concert in Lagos. This was where the controversy set in as his official choreographer at the concert states clearly that his dancers performed with Davido on stage. What do you have to say about this?

The One Africa Music Concert in New York is the concert that Davido disrespected the dancers. While he was climbing up on stage, he told the dancers that he doesn't need them any more. Not the 3 thrones concert. People got that mixed up. They were disrespected right there by the side of the stage when they were about to climb on set. By the time he heard the uproar of the audience, he said "I no need dancers, i no need dancers' and just ran past them. I spoke to Kamal (Davido's manager) and tried to find out what exactly was going on. This was after I had been contracted from Lagos, because i was the official choreographer for the concert. My Job was to contact all artists and ask them if they need dancers. It's not an imposition. If you do need the service, let me know and then pay the dancers. That was the deal. Before i left for America, they had already acknowledged their request for needing dancers. By the time we got to the back stage/his green room at the Music fest, they were still reminding me that Kaffy i hope you've got our back.  I Said i do. I've gotten costumes from Nigeria and everything, you guys are good to go. All that was done, so why would you say you don't need the dancers when you are about to climb on stage?

Now the full story of that was, at the end of the day the dancers still went on to dance for him, because after speaking to the manager that whether they dance or not, you guys have to pay something. They've already been contracted to dance for you. The Manager was acting confused and also shocked about the issue. The Ladies decided that since they were going to dance for the next act, they would start changing and deal with the Davido issue later. Now as the girls were changing for the other artist, Kamal came back and said they need to go on now. I challenged him, saying but you said you don't want the dancers anymore? Kamal said Davido said it was for the first song that he did not want but he needs them now and they should come on stage. They eventually danced for him. Now I have been pushing them for the payment of these dancers for the past 3 months.. since July. I even had to pay the money myself. These are American dancers. I have never worked with them before. One music fest gave me the opportunity to work with them.

The issues I've had with some dancers is based on these kind of disappointments. Where artists or clients or people will contract us and at the end of the day, default on payment or change the budget at the last minute. Imagine dancer where i tell you say you go collect 15k? 2 days before the show, client cuts the budget and i would have to pay you 10k? Why won't you think that i'm the one cheating you?.. To cover it up and prevent any lawsuit since American dancers have a union and could put either myself or Davido in trouble, i paid the dancers out of my own pocket. Months after, i have not been paid back.

Just before this second one music fest, I went to the star mega jam iin Abuja with Darey Art Alade. Davido was there and i felt it was the perfect moment to remind them of the payment. I spoke to his manager, who apologized and said it was because they were traveling up and down that they forgot to pay. He said 'you will not need to remind me', that by the time 'I get to Lagos the following day, i would get an alert.' But they can't pay me in dollars. 'I said well i paid the dancers in dollars so you will have to give me the equivalent of what the dollar rate is now or else i won't be able to get my value back.' This was our agreement.

Two weeks after this conversation, nothing happened. I was at a video shoot in Ikeja when I sent him a message again, requesting to know how far with the payment. An hour later, i got a message saying David blasted him. "I told you i don't need dancers. You keep pinning them on me. I'm not going to pay any money". I questioned this development and asked why is this coming three months after?

Now DNMT boss Micheal is the official choreographer for the 3 Thrones concert but i'm officially for Tiwa Savage and was involved in the 3 thrones concert.  I coordinated Tiwa's performance and went for rehearsals to guide dancers that were going to work for Tiwa. While I was there, I saw Micheal put up rehearsals for Davido and Phyno. I witnessed the hard work of those dancers. Only for me to hear a day ago from dancers that were present that David did not turn up for rehearsals. But a day before the event, he came and was rude to everyone. "Who are this people, I told you i don't need dancers", he reportedly said.

This was what I reacted to. My dancers in New York that he initially did not allow to dance, and refused to pay when they finally did at their request. Also, the fact that he disrespected dancers at their rehearsals, even after weeks of effort which he did not turn up for. If you know you did not want dancers, why did you not strike it off your contract from the very beginning? Why allow this dancers to work so hard and then tell them off or talk to them rudely at the last minute?

More than one of the dancers present there said David also said that if dancers must dance on his stage, that he's marking out a perimeter that they must not cross. That got me so pissed. People reached out to me to address this. If i'm lying, let David or Kamal come out and say Kaffy it did not happen this way. Let them come out and face me.

57 comments:

Kaffy dont let me turn you from
Maga to mugu o

It's okay

Too proud of himself

Small boy

Meenah_wakil on instagram

And this one na news huh? Imagine.
David is arrogant immature na,so for una mind now his matured because he fuck our baby from a bitch huh? Dele na my boy is now as broke apc freeborn haters living under his fathers money. Broke ass.
KAFFY AND DAVID SHOULD BE PACK IN ONE SACK BAG AN THROW THEM INSIDE MEDITERRANEAN SEA PLEASE THEIR STORy IS RUBBISH THAT WILL END on their dirty BED one day, SO THEY SHOULD GET OUTTTTTTT.

baba said...

I love this kaffy woman

And this one na news huh? Imagine.
David is arrogant and immature na,so for una mind now his matured because he fuck our baby from a bitch huh? Dele na my boy is now as broke apc freeborn haters living under his fathers money. Broke ass.
KAFFY AND DAVID SHOULD BE PACK IN ONE SACK BAG AN THROW THEM INSIDE MEDITERRANEAN SEA PLEASE THEIR STORy IS RUBBISH THAT WILL END on their dirty BED one day, SO THEY SHOULD GET OUTTTTTTT.

Seriously I dnt blame dis lady wat she did was right..davido didn't try at all..is disrespectful nd inhuman..after series of practise nd jus cancelled d whole stuff as if dey mean nothing..is big time fuck up

It's well...Hope they settle amicably!

Davido d king of cannabis u're very rude

Wfb Prince Abidogun said...

Hmmm.

Watch & Download Jenifa’s Diary Season 6 – Episode 13
Beautiful Makeup Photos Of Olajumoke Orisaguna

So bad if this is true... Linda kudos

Long Live LIB

Genny's Blog said...

Pls this is a lengthy issues.u don't need dancers what do u need singers abi? mtchewwwww.

seen. Hit it big! Get your super soccer prediction tips for Friday & Saturday, 28th & 29th October 2016 @ www.fortunatusblog.com  

Una weldone.keep it up

Goldmine said...

Dancers have always been at the mercy of musicians for a long time. I applaud the determination with which Kaffy is fighting the cause of dancers. They are professionals in their own rights and deserve their respect and wages too. Music and Dance are inseparable.

Goldmine said...

Dancers have always been at the mercy of musicians for a long time. I applaud the determination with which Kaffy is fighting the cause of dancers. They are professionals in their own rights and deserve their respect and wages too. Music and Dance are inseparable.

Davido is very wrong. He should pay Kaffy and stop acting childish

Nigerian Celebrity Blog said...

She was wrong to spark up the way she did, even to the point of directly calling Davido a mother-fucker.

Hmmmmmm....so artists too dey owe money

Davido wetin u tink say u be??

If it's true Davido is growing dat Naija shitty big man tails bcos of his success.he better cool down

Is OBO also expressing recession, why would he agree to pay his dancers, anyway he has not release any hit song for like 2yrs now.anyway all na change.

Is OBO also feeling this recession ?why wouldn't he to pay his dancers, anyway he has not release any hit song for like 2yrs now.anyway all na change.

passing

T said...

Now am beginning to hate David with everything in me,. Davido am a super fan but dnt allow me to hate you, because if I do, even your dad's wealth won't save you from total disgrace.... Beware! Bewarn!! Dnt fall a victim!!!...... I hate rude guys

........... Liber maniac...........

VEEKEE FRESH said...

ok seen

Housed-On-Water said...

If reallly that self centered and egoistic ant called Davido didn't need dancers and from your narrative it appears he didn't then the problem is with his PRO who doubles as the manager.

uniquechic said...

Davido is getting ahead of himself!!!! Fame ahead of intergity

This ugly woman should go and rest abeg

yabsy said...

Madam Kaffy, i need to.tidy ur agreements. If ur dancers are gonna dance make sure u get 100% full pyt from ur client b4 they perform.

Its the same way an Artiste will collect 100% full payment b4 he entertains at an event.

If u dont go this route, then it means u are the one throwing ur dancers at them and begging for dance.

linda so that was your only question to her.

Wow! Quite an insight, i guess she's not to blame afterall

Oriegwu

It has concerned Davido now,you've started dragging the issue.after if those boys insult you,youl be saying nonsense up and down.you didn't carry any story about him since o but now that he allegedly has issues with someone you're close to youve suddenly become a journalist..okwia??kontinu

All na publicity stunt. Linda take note!

Davido is a kid. So that can be excused.

mtchesww

Nicely said 9:14 PM

More than one of the dancers present there said David also said that if dancers must dance on his stage, that he's marking out a perimeter that they must not cross.

Nawao! This life sha, could imagine how the dancers must have felt when he said this to them.

kamal is cool he tried his best to retrieve my 500k top up money from davido ,but dude didnt pay me till date 3yrs now i moved on,i remenber how i use to go to his place from magodo to lekki and he will be scoping me,with that his stupid driver turned crew. well one day one day monkey go go market.. finish it
napole

F8 said...

Dat boy too rude abeg

Davido is just a proud goat.

OKORO UPGRADED

Yetty k said...

Joyous go and listen ti davido s song with tinashe. It s titled how long.very cool and nice

Yetty k said...

U r ryt.linda stop being partial

Wat kind of attitude do you expect from a small boy that called dele his boy. Pls davido pay up her balance so others can grow.i will unfollow u on Instagram

King Maker said...

The dude says that he doesn't need dancers. It's not his fault. He doesn't like performing with dancers. Her blame should be on his management not the artiste. I can't work with what I don't like #shikena

Foolish talk,go work make dem no pay u n letz see how u'll react... dee

Ode talk and sure una dey smoke cannabis together... dee

Davido pls go do d needful n apologize

SHEY NA BY FORCE?
DAVIDO SAID HE DOESNT NEED DANCERS NAH... HABA

Even if he detests being on the stage with them, he should have been polite about it. The guy is rude abeg! Besides, was there not an agreement? Was he sleeping while agreeing to let them dance

You have never made any sense on this blog. Such a pity

Sue him for breach of contract.

Dancers in Nigeria should form a union

D Idiots saying trash here, did u read d post at all? If you don't need dancers, why agree at first!! He stop being stupid and rude, it has become his life style! Nonsense!!