Nigerian Military attacks Ijaw militants in Ogun State | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 31 July 2016

Nigerian Military attacks Ijaw militants in Ogun State

The Nigerian Military has continued the aerial bombardment of Fatola, the hideout of militants and pipeline vandals in the Arepo area of Ogun State. According to online reports, the air raid happened in yesterday afternoon and was said to have lasted 30 minutes. A fighter jet fired missiles at the Iroko creeks, leaving no fewer than 100 suspected militants dead and their camps/shanties destroyed.

Residents were caught unawares and had to run from their homes to avoid being hit during the bombardment.

The Director of Defence Information, Brigadier General Rabe Abubakar confirmed the air strikes. According to him, the joint operation will continue until the area is secure and free from all criminal gangs, either militants or vandals. However, he didn't ascertain the number of casualties from the strike.

108 comments:

Hian biko oo we want peace in Nigeria mbok

Fight with the government o,stupid, idiotic avengers...asari dokubo is somewhere chilling with his battalion children and sending some Mumu to kill themselves..

Okokobioko!

~glo rule your world~ cos cos do•

Waaaaat?

Victor Kachi said...

Nawa oo

Stop wasting money on data. Get free browsing cheats on all network @ Entclass.com

No peace for those who do not want peace in the country.

Am jus praying dis won't lead to somethin terrible

HRM Paull said...

Good it's a welcome development fire dem very well

War in our own backyard. Being killed by the ones meant to protect us. Like ikemefuna under the machete of okonkwo. Nigeria! Things fall apart!! Linda please note the adjective suspected

Ladun Liadi said...

I just taya for dis government, always speaking from both sides of the mouth. How far d negotiations nah? Na wa ooo.

Nigeria will end soon in Jesus name Amen.

Oga should dialogue wit dis bitches cos dere retaliation won't help issues

Hmmmmmmm,a wa o. Why didn't they fight bokoharam like this?

Lib addct#just passing#

The bastards avengers or whatever they all themselves should take their madness to their place. military, please wipe out the bastards.

Oh I laugh!
Which one is ijaw militant huh?
Una don see how this man and his kinsmen are killing innocent people in the name of militant?
OH TERRORIST BUHARI DON RELEASE a fighter JET AS what HUH? THIS MAN IS CALLING FOR A WAR WHICH HE DON'T KNOW.
FOR PEACE TO RAIN IN NIGERIA MAKE THAT SO CALL FIGHT JET STOP FOR OGUN STATE OO MAKE E NO ENTER NIGER DELTA BECAUSE THAT WILL BE THE END OF NIGERIA IN CASE HE DON'T KNOW.
WHY DIDN'T HE RELEASE IT IN THE CAMP OF HIS BOYS CALL BOOK HARAM? WHY DIDN'T HE USE IT TO SEACH FOR THE SCAM CHIBOK GIRLS HE USE TO DISRUPT JONATHAN?
TERRORIST BUHARI HMMM FREEBORN WEPT FOR UR DOWN FALL

Oh I laugh!
Which one is ijaw militants huh?
Una don see how this man and his kinsmen are killing innocent people in the name of militant?
OH TERRORIST BUHARI DON RELEASE a fighter JET AS what HUH? THIS MAN IS CALLING FOR A WAR WHICH HE DON'T KNOW.
FOR PEACE TO RAIN IN NIGERIA MAKE THAT SO CALL FIGHT JET STOP FOR OGUN STATE OO MAKE E NO ENTER NIGER DELTA BECAUSE THAT WILL BE THE END OF NIGERIA IN CASE HE DON'T KNOW.
WHY DIDN'T HE RELEASE IT IN THE CAMP OF HIS BOYS CALL BOOK HARAM? WHY DIDN'T HE USE IT TO SEACH FOR THE SCAM CHIBOK GIRLS HE USE TO DISRUPT JONATHAN?

Oh I laugh!
Which one be ijaw militants huh?

baba said...

God take over

The military should have attempted to capture them instead of aerial bombardment. The remnant of these gangs will now regroup and try another day. The military took an easy way out. Cowards.

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Man grows breast after sleeping with a married woman (Photo)

Okay o. I just sha hope was only militants that were killed

WAR START

Hmmmm.... I reserve my comment

chyyy said...

Show us d dead militants now.....

More of dis to come

I do not see this as the best way to contain these guys action

There’s more, but Buhari has made a huge mistake. Buhari is plotting major mayhem for Niger Delta militants, but he’s fallen into the hands of those that wants Nigeria keep squabbling and divided. Look out for Nigerian troops movement around the South West and South South. Niger militants are heavily funded, and its easy for them to smuggle arms into Nigeria through the creeks, etc. Its like Buhari came to power to retaliate and cause trouble. Its best, for the sake of Nigeria, that Buhari makes peace with all waring parties because if he keeps getting distracted and waring with every region and tribe, even Northern leaders will get fed up of him and demand he step aside. They can do it through the Senate. And it happens it will be a major humiliation for Buhari and his faction within the north.

For the better. Militants wahala is getting too much ,it's very good as the govtment acted....

Hmmmmmm

Peace is the only solution and not violence.
See what this lady is doing in a hotel room with a popular senator in Africa

Talk to your people to stop disturbing our peace.

Ha ha ha. You don't dare government of any country.

Ha ha ha. Tell your people to wait. We are coming very very soon. I dey laugh in Botanical language. Ehihihihi

Capture ke.if u av a family that experience the one at ikorodu by the militants on innocent people u will not even suggest capture. Cos them the militant are heartless too.

Shame on Nigeria,Shame on Buhari,Shame on james manager,Shame on Ameachi,Shame on all the politicians from the Niger Delta. These foolish politicians from Niger Delta lack foresight and wisdom. They know nothing about history. How many people do you want to kill? Kill all of Niger Delta and Inherit their oil,because that is what you have always wanted. We refuse to fall, You can kill,but we continue to fight for our right even at the point of death.. history will always remember us. Ken Saro wiwa lives on....Militants have never killed any innocent Nigerian,but your blood seeking brothers(Boko Haram)Kill,rape and kidnap our women everyday,yet how many times have you use air strike on them? We know your game plan. Nigeria is never united,we are all living in pretense of one Nigeria. SHAME ON BUHARI

Very good! Linda take note!

How come jihadist buhari has not sent his boys to sambisa to do same. Stupid nigerian army, go and look for ur mate.you are firing missiles on armless people.you will be charged with genocide soon and ur jihadist leader buhari.

LIB REP (中华人民共和国) said...

I had the plan to stay out of comment section for today but i have to comment on this...@Residents were caught unawares, is that the normal way for the military to carry out their duty? it simply implies they care less about the civilians, Nigeria as a country is totally doomed.

They are destroying facilities as a curative measures but d FG in return destroying life it vows to protect...what if they restrategise and start killing people...

Nigeria will not end soon, all of you Biafrans/Niger Delta Avengers/Boko Haram will end very soon, you will all be dead and Nigeria will continue

Jet appear fast fast for this one but not for boko haram all this while. Man Of War! take over

Nagabaka007@gmail.com said...

So Na nw una no say militant are innocent hahaha Na only advert una see.more and more is coming Na season film una no go watch am finish.

This people are only destroying facilities for what they considered as an immediate measures to get justice but the FG has in turn destroying life it vows to protect...both humans and other microbes found in that ecosystem...This is the supposed environment the government is protecting..., well the government has just begun the war..

Beautiful,honestly I love this.

It's only those that don't know the implications of this air raid that will applaud this form of cruel attack. We're not talking about some kind of a desert here... #Sic

Which country imbecile? Go back to north. There's nothing like one Nigeria and there will never be. It will only take little time and this forced marriage called Nigeria will be over. Get that into ur tuwomasara head fool

My heart goes out to the locals in that area. I wish they can learn from us, the northeast. With government,you can never win. All you can do is inflict a little wound on the government while your people bleed
www.bonitabislam.com

Buhari is a partial,why didn't d idiot imbe do the same to boko fools when they raped n killed innocent citizens? Buhari's govt is a scam

Did I hear you say militant have never killed a sole? Then you must have been living in a moon.no individual or groups greater can fight a government and win

javar10 said...

When will de economy improve?

#Chinemerem said...

Who so ever that is in supot of this evil in the land and that says what this man called buhari is doin is the rit thing, he or she suld not think that when this evil that buhari and his gov are up to that there free when it wil start. Nobody is free oga buhari if u don't stop all this evil, if u think ur free based on ur age ur enter famly wil sufr it when the tim coms, all this evil ur doin on the innocent ones and those that are insuport of is u and ur famly wil knw no peace anytin that conceanse u wil sufer injustice and hevn airstrik wil kill all that u love most.The God of the innocent wil not alow him to complet his team cause he didn't complt his first tim in office he wil never complt this one cause he got evil pleans to carryout on innocent. Let's see hw it go NO PEACE FOR ONE NO PEACE FOR ALL..

This is not nice at all hope it will not lead to something terrible.

Lube-section said...

Show the dead

It's so pathetic and unfortunate that many commentors on this blog are naive and not information inclined,what a shame?! Did they mention d NDAvengers militants or bombard them?,were d militants involved not just ordinary Ijaw migrants who are oil pipeline vandals and resulted into terrorism and kidnappings at Ibafo,Arepo,Iba,Ikorodu.. just cuz their illegal acts were being checkmated???.Haba! U Guyz here be careful and be reasonable in ur responses on Linda's blog! Once again,the Military did not go to Niger Delta to attack those fighting for rights in a "criminal way" (Avengers), rather Govt wants peace with those ones and everyone entirely in d region through dialogue!

Make peace with criminals tomorrow another one will come out in the name of militant.Don't ever dialogue with a criminal...nuel

Phoool

So you are supporting criminals...shame to you...nuel

Your family will end in Jeuse name foolish human being. Oloriburuku Awon omo irankiran.😠😠😠😠😠

Good luck arrested so many suspected buhart release them y bcos they are his boys , gej use d SA mercenaries , i was shock when buhari came in and farted critizing him but the same buhari is employing this same tactics, this time not eve, from Africa consider the nations economy but a US firm owned by his centre piece of Islam Saudi Arabia, it sounds very very suspicious!! As for this news am sure there is another story to it more likely the milltary was sent towipe out ijaw settlement in the south west anyway Na rhetr cup of tea, when it fill and pour they must drink it either sweet or bitter

If to say ona dey my area dey experience wetin I dey go through every night...ona for no talk dis rubbish...Buhari u try jare

Buhari and his lead government are bloody hypocrite,remember GEJ tried using the same means to fight his boys(boko haram)and he accused GEJ of trying to commit genocide on his people evn when they were fighting for no course other than killing innocent people,well that's by the way but seriously what I really don'tz understand is,if northerns are cool and fun peeps then the south-south and south-east the bad guys who wants out,is't not better there are allowed to leave and save us the stress?

U are a fool. I own a property there... do you know how many innocent lives were lost?

Where are the photos ?becos Nigeria military lies can abort a baby from belle

Its good to kill all the militanys. BUT how did ijaw militants come to take over arepo that is controlled by yoruba oil bunkerers? Was it these same militants that killed scores of dss operatives and policemen last year? This government is a pack of lies and those lies will come to light soonest. Most of the criminals in the arepo area are yoruba bunkerers working with police and even traditional rulers, to steal petroleum products, the dss, police, nscdc and govt know about this, so should the public.

Shame on buhari

Its good to kill all the militanys. BUT how did ijaw militants come to take over arepo that is controlled by yoruba oil bunkerers? Was it these same militants that killed scores of dss operatives and policemen last year? This government is a pack of lies and those lies will come to light soonest. Most of the criminals in the arepo area are yoruba bunkerers working with police and even traditional rulers, to steal petroleum products, the dss, police, nscdc and govt know about this, so should the public.

Violence is not always the answer... but I guess they're getting what they bargained for!

The militant attacks on residence of Ikorodu prompt this military action, am not against the militant neither am I in support of them, but I detest their attack on innocent citizens. If u are agrieve with the government, pls go to Aso Rock.

I call your comment stupid and your personality shallow minded. Who is blindfolded with tribal sentiment. You need to grow up and think like a man with grey matter. If you community or village is invaded by unknown militants killing, kidnapping and looting peoples' homes. Will open your cavity call mouth and saying this trash? Lemme pray it happen to your community in Jesus name, so that you feel their pain. Think before you comment.

LORENZO DANI said...

Air strike wow!never knew our army could do that...

shola Blanka said...

And u tink ur not starving d masses2 death wit d way ur blowing up our resources? Tink deep my broda

Hmmm na wa sha. Everyday we wake up to hear death up n down.

#Somebody must to love me tonyt!!!

Goziem said...

Article two of the Convention on Genocide states: "In the present convention, genocide means any of the following acts committed with intent to destroy in whole or in part a national ethnical, racial or religious group as such.

(B) Causing serious bodily or mental harm to members of the group. (C) Deliberately inflicting on the group the conditions of life calculated to bring about physical destruction in whole or in part." Now, if you were creating’ a condition which makes it impossible for a national group to see its people fed, When a government bombs citizen or goes to church in Onitsha to murder protesting youth or Aba to kill ipob, or Ijaw to kill demonstrating indigenous people, orchestrate a plan that kill indigenous people in hundreds daily, and if~ this is a deliberate policy, then this is obviously a violation of the International Code, which we call Genocide.

When you make it impossible for people to eat, they die. If they survive and they are young, the affect of malnutrition can create a mental impairment so you are in effect creating a generation of idiots. The feeding of infants may provide them with some degree of physical satisfaction now, but these are children who have seen their parents destroyed by bombs, have

seen death and starvation and have been subjected to starvation themselves. Any pediatrician, any authority on welfare will tell you that the great consequence of malnutrition is an impairment of the reasoning and mental organic functioning. So when this confounded commission omits any reference to starvation and then blandly assures the world that there is no genocide, are they not misleading, are they not falsifying information?

BIAFRA is what we are witnessing

Is that how Boko Haram was killed? Hmmmm this govt is one sided

What peace idiot 😡😡😡😡Our oil money u fulanis are wasting anyhow.

when i see things like dis i just smile, coz it doesn't make sense at all. A militant fights for a CAUSE. And i dont understand what an Ijaw(Riverine) man will be doing in Ogun State? Fighting Whom and why? To achieve what in Ogun State? Ahh Linda!! plz be careful with your headlines ooo Hm! Na wa. make dem come Niger Delta naa come do this nonsense we dey wait!!!

when i see things like dis i just smile, coz it doesn't make sense at all. A militant fights for a CAUSE. And i dont understand what an Ijaw(Riverine) man will be doing in Ogun State? Fighting Whom and why? To achieve what in Ogun State? Ahh Linda!! plz be careful with your headlines ooo Hm! Na wa. make military come Niger Delta naa come do this nonsense we dey wait!!!

Nd you think He will answer such prayer.

My question exactly. Boko H that were claiming lives of innocent unarmed Nigerians for no reason were not fought this way... I reserve my comment. God will help us in Jesus' name, amen.

#shameonbuhari

WHY DID HE NOT FIGHT BOKO HARAM LIKE THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! HE SENDS THEM TO JAIL AND GIVES THEM A CHANCE TO A TRIAL AS IF TERRORISM IS NOT A TREASONABLE OFFENCE. GOD PLEASE COME DOWN!!!!

Nonsense. Just because you read the word militants then they must be Niger Delta militants,abi?

Have you ever heard of igbolomu,isawo at ikorodu hundreds of innocent Nigerias were killed

So Militancy is now a profession
You go to school then get onto the creek and start vandalising oil installations. Then that becomes am employment and people begin to hall you ad a hero? I am from the Niger Delta and I totally disagree with the Ijaws. They never invested anything to bring out the oil nor are they prepared to invest. They ate the first to pollute their environment by urinating, pooping, bathing, cooking and drinking from the same water on top of which they live and fish. How do you win respect for your environment if you would pollute it with sheet and oil spill?

Which way Nigeria

which way to go

I love my fatherland

Said I want to know

Which way Nigeria

is heading to..

This great song came out in 80s. we are asking this same question today,we still haven't goten an idea of where we are goin.
Oh God help this great country NIGERIA.

Bandits and Armed Robbers are not the same as Militant Agitators. Even so militancy must be recognised as an act of lawlessness that should be met with force. That the Niger Delta Militants were granted Amnesty does not grant anyone liberty or right to repeat the crime. The law must take its course. I am from the Niger Delta

sandy said...

Na wa o

Hmmmmmmmmmm

@anon ur a fool. Just watch and see how ur stupid govt just messed up by this action. Nigeria is dead

Hmm

Good move. Our military done step up with technology oh. Thanks to America and Buhari

Rather you, your family and all enemies of peace would cease to exist. Bastard

Linda sweet post my comment
God pls help naija in his situation how can the federal government use i's power against it's people? it's such a shame.

fantaxy101 said...

So many write stupid comments here why will the militant come to the south west to hunt us down for what reason why can't they stand on their ground in their states and we know the genuine purpose why coming to the south west to kill innocent souls for what purpose I pray the army should kill them all and I mean those killings in the south west

fantaxy101 said...

Why would the so called militant come to southwest to fight the federal government they passed their boundary God will continue to bless buhari for this purpose

fantaxy101 said...

Why can't they stay and fight for their cause in their oil producing states instead of coming to kill innocent lives here in the south west God bless buhari for this

Now to plan B

That really what the Avenger were waiting for now to plan B

I don't think it's a good move. All lives matter. Children, women and civilians will be the most casualties.

How do you expect Nigeria army to fight themselves when the are. The boko haaram themselves abeg don't waste your time there when the time comes we will all vote to our seperate country soon and very soon mark my words

AGB said...

Good! Perfect! Rain down terror on those bastard criminals from the skies. They don't want peace right? Government should give them enough trouble.

God Bless Nigeria. Amen.

The people they killed are NOT MILITANTS but PIPELINE VANDALS. The Nigerian government is trying to justify the extrajudicial killing of common criminals by branding them as militants. Another grave error from Buhari led administration. This story will run and run.

this government will never lean, kill before you make peace. for Christ sake this is democracy, what if there launch missal on government major property? will the government have the money to rebuild? American and the UK are deceiving this government.this government test for oil will destroy Nigeria

akpa-ose said...

You are the only commenter that know the truth about the issue, and GOD will surely bless u for saying the truth, because many innocent souls lavished on this so called attack, let me assure de fg that none of ND militant is involved in whatever that's going on in that areas. The should do there inquiry very well b4 embarking on any attack. Not as if I support any militant in Nigeria for any reason. But this act from fg is very bad and unacceptable by humanity and GOD I assure u that u will be ashamed of this government when the details of victims of this attack is release. %80 will surely be innocent. I wonder why this full force of attack are yet to be use in sambise forest to minimize the activities of bloody sucking bokoharam? Honestly Nigeria is doomed rip to innocent victims. But for obas of the areas that are Vandals that brought this pains on innocent individual inde name of business with bale may ur generation never know Peace.... May God also punish all de obas in that area that are involve in sponsoring this oil vandals especially they so called feeling station owner that bridge his contract with this Vandal during fuel scarce period of this year that lead to all this mess.am so disappointed in this country...... Shame to any person that appreciate this evill attack of military that cost over %70 of innocent blood. In de name of fighting militant...

@anonymous 2:46pm, Ken sarowiwa, if he was still alive would be disappointed with your statement. Your leaders are all demagogues(save for sarowiwa) who would lick ass or feed on crumbs from the political establishments.

Gabriel California said...

That's very bad, my heart goes to the family. How can you use air strike on your citizen for Christ sake? Haba maka why?