UK Daily Mail comes for Rotimi Amaechi, asks if he's 'fantastically' corrupt | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 15 May 2016

UK Daily Mail comes for Rotimi Amaechi, asks if he's 'fantastically' corrupt

Below is how I read it on UK Daily Mail...:-)
When David Cameron was caught on camera last week before an anti-corruption summit describing Nigeria as ‘fantastically corrupt’, the African state’s president rallied to the Prime Minister’s defence by agreeing with him. But although Muhammadu Buhari is seen by some as leading the battle against corruption, worrying allegations swirl around one of his close allies.
Rotimi Amaechi, who travelled with the president to the summit, is Nigeria’s transport minister and is said to have bankrolled Buhari’s presidential campaign.
In the Nigerian press he has been dubbed ‘ATM’ – the American term for cash machine – because of his ability to produce vast sums of money at short notice. 
He remains in his post despite being accused of misappropriating £338million by a commission investigating the sale of state assets.

Some of that money is likely to have come from UK taxpayers, who gave the country £1billion in aid over five years to 2014, including £248million in 2014 alone. 
Separately, Amaechi is accused of diverting £140million of state funds into Buhari’s presidential campaign, with reports he paid for media, consultants and private jets.
The allegations come as the president stands accused of enjoying a lavish lifestyle while many millions suffer in poverty.

A leaked draft budget for 2016 showed the Nigerian government earmarked £16million for the refurbishment and maintenance of the president’s official residence, Aso Rock Guest House, in the capital Abuja. 
There was also a request for £13million for building a VIP wing at a hospital used by families of the president and his ministerial team.
Mr Amaechi has denied the allegations against him.

Source: UK Daily Mail

73 comments:

They should try harder in cooking up stories or remain mute *****YAWNS*****

Ameachi is chronically corrupt

No, only PDP members are corrupt

They should not forget Tinubu, Fashola and others that used some of Lagos State money to sponsor APC. The rest of the money they pocketed

Dee Tee said...

FRESH said...

They should write on GEJ & his wife first.

empress ojukwu said...

Let's ask amechi if he is fantastically corrupt

Linda you are fond of quoting the Daily Mail, a fantastically racist paper. No self respecting Brit will read the Daily Mail in public. Please stop using them as a reference or haven't you noticed that other bigger UK publications don't go after blacks the way DM does?

Na now their day break?... dee

We all knw dt but can't do anyfin...they the leaders

U know one funny thing, we are really 1000% more corrupt than the world think. Buhari see urself fighting corruption??? That's a jamboree and insincere claim. Thieves. Biko when is the Messiah coming?

Imbecile. A result of inbreeding. Stop commenting cos u are biased. E-rat like u.

Everybody knows that Amaechi is fantastically corrupt, chronically corrupt, habitually corrupt, severely corrupt, & hopelessly corrupt!

fave said...

Amaechi is the God father of corruption

Amechi's corruption level is farther than 'fantastic'

Who are the PDP people using Daily mail to fight Amaechi fight eh? Wike is playing with fire that will consume him too cos his theft as education minister with fake contracts in th universities will soo come ou too.

Is the Daily Mirror against the fight against corruption?if they have evidence on Amaechi they hed it,not this empty accusations,as if its a beer parlour discussions

Buhari is not fighting corruption but opposition, all the peoples around him are fantastically corrupt

If amaechi was still in pdp, his can of worms would have been opened up. The source of Buhari's presidential campaign if probed with the vigour he is using to probe the former President's own, would make Nigerians cringe.

Dey should mind their business. Linda take note!

They shld not forget fashola, tinubu, oshomole etc

Please the pressure on this government from outside should continue because they have succeeded in building enough clapping morons called supporters around them here.

But this is the gospel truth! Everyone knows Amechi is a thief and that the stolen funds was used to finance Buhari's election! That is why I will never take his anticorruption fight seriously because he is fantastically corrupt!

And the likes of Rochas Okorocha, they are all corrupt

For sure we know this is the truth! Let us stop deceiving ourselves! They say charity begins at home! I guess Buhari should start the fight from his own cabinet for the international bodies to value his contributions otherwise he is just making noise and witch hunting!

Prosper said...

Buhari's witch hunting in the name of fighting corruption is a full fleshed corruption. Buhari merged 'the juicy Ministries' in the name of saving cost and used them to settle fashola and Amaechi who contributed immensely towards his campaign. He took over the remaining one which is petroleum. As far as Nigeria has not written a new lexicon and abrogate the meaning of corruption with new one, this is height of CORRUPTION. THE TRUTH IS BOOTING.

paul imaji said...

I think people should be objective. Ameachi exposed GEJ through leaking Sanusi letter. According to Wike Ameachi was corrupt throughout GEJ govt and GEJ as president did not direct Efcc or Icpc to investigate or probe Ameachi or if he had immunity any of his commissioners or aide or go to court to vacate the perpetual injunction obtained by Peter Odili. What Ameachi is accused of is political "corruption "
because Wike knows that the public is gullible thus his mass hysteria against Ameachi in the mass media. Ameachi is clean and Wike knows.

Our looted state fund must as a thing of necessity be refunded, and the cream de la cream be brought to justice. Mr CRA and his cohorts should be reminded in Kiri kiri prisons as it is done to PDP members.And I want to categorically advise PMB to be holistic in his fantastically fight for fantastic corruption

ric said...

Yes, Amechi is corrupt and all Buhari does is selective probing.
I can't believe Amechi is getting away with all the loot.

Hmmmmmmm

JOHN MILES said...

Ameachi your end is here

What is it with dis Daily Mail and their problem with Nigeria, is Nigeria the most corrupt country in the world NO, they should focus on their own Government corrupt occupation of countries un the middle east, make them leave us . Our problem abeg. Linde take Note!

They are correct now. The British and Americans always get to know at the end. They will keep on sponsoring and giving aide till one day they will snap and that's the end.

Yes. Finally. I hope they get to Rochas!

All of dem that are fighting corruption from A-Z are fantastically corrupt! You guys don't need proof cuz its a known fact.

Amaechi is chronically corrupt. Daily Mail don't joke around. It's not Nigeria where people run their mouth without evidence. These guys do have evidence. Just watch PMB retrace his steps. He will never read any list. As with all of this administration's promises, this is another LIE!

DeeD25 said...

Cooking up stories? It's no news that Amaechi is a corrupt individual!!!

The niqqa over corrupt sef

U are hopelessly dumb and blind. Follow follow

Buhari came into power with corruption money

o'ben said...

When people sees d 2016 Budget and still do not believe that Buhari himself is corrupt...I went back to my dictionary to check d meaning of stupidity and hypocrisy ....

Emy said...

We dey gidigba dey wait for May 29, for publication of result.

Of course amaechi is a big thief.

Yet their clown leader wants to list looters by May 29...see how Pa Buhari has turn a jester around d world...APC vs PDP list..when even half his supporters don't care anymore ...they want an improved economy. Not political drama continued ..no one can even mention CHANGE anymore cuz in reality these ones are not capable

Breaking news abi? ODE

From what I can see, the only corrupt people are members of the PDP cabinet

Oh yes!it's only PDP name that you will be hearing. APC campaign money fall down from heaven. If Buhari refuses to bring out out Amaechi and Fashola things must be so hard for him. GOD will keep making this government UNGOVERNABLE for him more than what He wished GEJ. I have never seen anybody with negative mind that achieved a positive result. Group of liers!!!

Buhari embarked on a journey to disgrace himself ...old man thinks Nigerians of today are the same as the 60's..trying to fool them right in their face ...we gave u chance to tackle corruption even tho not our major priority right nw..he turned it to a political Nintendo ...economy is worse than ever ...fkn ashole

Who takes daily mail serious?maybe they run out of a kardashian story to write about. Rubbish write up based on speculation. They could not carry out their investigation before writing.

Hmmmmmmmm,our politicians are all corrupt

A-JAMMY said...

Where da hell is Bonga bonario, Apc spokesman on LIB upper chambers, fantastically he needs to clearly defend this allegations against his party

Make wuna ask am oooo....we don ask tire

mccoy said...

Your *Zombism* is made in Taiwan!

Jerry Rawlings sheds tears.

Amechi is criminally corrupt.. And Buhari knows. Aboki deal with it😂

Amechi is a foolish low life who was used by Tinubu,just to belong, juu man!! May God help the olodo corrupt minister

I concur...

LET'S TALK said...

Even if APC diehards can claim all members of their party are saints, how about the nPDP among them?
Waiting for PMB to go after corrupt APC members is wishing for too much, a house divided against itself cannot stand. The best he can do is to publicly hound PDP in order to keep the public on his side.

Anon said...

Chronically + Fantastically corrupt....Amaechi, OBJ, Sanusi, Tinubu...but once u're in APC or PMB's ally, u're immune...fighting corruption indeed.

This is the work of Amechi s Political Enemies.

This is funny. Some one must have tried so hard to embarrass him in London. This man has suffered a lot of criticism bcos of his support for Buhari

Jude Akinwole said...

Is that a question? Even a newborn knows that! Shior!

That anti corruption of Buhari is a scam. He has all the corrupt people as his allies and he's fighting corruption, who's deceiving who? Until they disgrce him in one of those western countries he's always travelling to. The western world has zero tolerance for corrupt African leaders.

Ameachi is corruptically corrput.

LET'S TALK said...

Na so me sef take see am ooo.
But anyone stating obvious automatically becomes a wailer.

LET'S TALK said...

They have a stake in Nigeria as they funnel billions in aid to us and they have to account for all that money to their taxpayers.

It just remember that Buhari could not afford his party nomination fee and has to take a lone. It wl be interesting to know who actually finance d election. We have been told that PDP financed it's election wt DasuKi's armed deal fund. So let EFCC investigate who and how d 2015 APC presidential election was funded. D story can't be one sided if we must fight conruptn

FRESH said...

Just negodu what young Nigerians are typing on social media? Thieves are being exposed with the 'yams' they stole, you guys are busy calling Amaechi & Tinubu.Did anyone tell PDP not to bring cases against them? Abeg make we hear word! We know the thieves of today & we will take about them & keep exposing them.You guys can continue calling your phantom names.

Yetty k said...

S9me nigerians r behind dis

Vickynita Peters said...

Not surprised @ all. That's why we are pleading with Mr Saintly Buhari to fight d corruption totally and not exempt some cos dey are his allies • Stupid witch hunt, dey are all guilty including d hypocrite President.

Rubbish sponsored post. PDP trying very well to neutralize the rot the did with billions in bribing INEC officials through Diezani and Fidelity Bank MD.