Emmanuel Emenike blasts NFF- 'It's disrespectful to fix a Super Eagles match same day with Joseph Yobo's testimonial' | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 29 April 2016

Emmanuel Emenike blasts NFF- 'It's disrespectful to fix a Super Eagles match same day with Joseph Yobo's testimonial'

Ex-Super Eagles striker Emmanuel Emenike who is on loan at West Ham has blasted the Nigeria Football Federation on its decision to organize a Super Eagles friendly the same day retired Super Eagles player will be celebrating his football career with a testimonial match in Port Harcourt.

Nigeria will play a friendly against Mali in France on May 27, the same day the Yobo testimonial will be played. Emenike said the NFF's decision was disrespectful to the former Eagles skipper and Everton defender, who had served the country with total dedication during his playing days.

"If we are still on the same page of re-branding football, we should have the common sense of celebrating our heroes so that the younger ones in the team will live by example,” Emenike told AfricanFootball

"Yobo deserves the honour and everybody has to turn up to celebrate him, but it’s unfortunate that it’s the NFF who are now looking like the obstacle to this testimonial. The Super Eagles players are the ones who want to play the Yobo match, tell me how will that be possible if they are in for another national assignment on that same day.

“We should change our mentality of ‘use and dump’ approach in order to reach greater heights of football in the world.

“Yobo was one of the best in Africa during his playing days, he's a known name all over the world and he should be celebrated in a bigger way. The younger ones are watching, let's change things."

He continued: "I understand that the Joseph Yobo match will be played this same day Super Eagles have a match against Mali or whoever, is that the way it’s being done in other countries?

"I think some people are just unserious about our football. This is a top match and Yobo has written a letter to the NFF before now, so why are they playing this international match also?

“We should also understand that we don't respect our past heroes, we don't appreciate the past, we only want people to come and die and forget about their life.

"Without apology, I have decided not to say anything against the federation irrespective of their antics, but this is unacceptable, I hate injustice and we should learn to celebrate our past heroes in order to encourage the younger players in the team.”

"I think it will be better for them to do something about it and cover their mess because of other foreign players coming for the match," he further told AfricanFootball.

"Even when I was in the team, I got angry at times when you see the way things were going wrong and you begin to question yourself on a lot of things and this is just one of those things."

30 comments:

WhoThemHelp????

How that one consine am?

Meenah_wakil on instagram

How that one consine am?

Meenah_wakil on instagram

Who cares about NFF

Their bizwagz...

Their business. Linda take note!

Dee Tee said...

hmm Nigeria football .. Just tired..

Uzosafetyblog said...

My brother the reply they will give to you is who send you come.

#IRepLIB

Jason said...

Seriously this man is right Nigeria is full of hatred and politics in all they do fuck dat

He's right sha, although I still have my reservation abt Emmanuel

zoranx said...

He is right a day will come in this when all our young talent will prefer another country than is mother land.this is not just about NFF we have to change.abeg lets get social at www.zooranx.com

No one will see reason in what he said even though it's the plain truth. Yet una want make naija better... Shior...

Their business

Moye says so via BB Passport courtesy LIB

KEY-POINT said...

SO NA GOVT GO SHIFT DATE OR NA PLAYER? A SINGLE PLAYER OGANIZE SOMTIN N GOVT OGANIZE SOMETIN, WISH 1 DE IMPOTANT PASS? MAKE IM GO SIT DOWN

Na dem sabi

Has Emenike confirmed! Or is he making a sweeping statement! Linda who is disrespecting who? The State/Nation is disrespecting an individual. Emenike should know the basic truth that National interest is bigger than any other interest, he ought to have choosen a better way of registering his displeasure if actually he is sure that Yobo/Nigeria interest is clashing! NFF is a representative of Nigeria and Emenike though not educated is expected to know that once an individual interest clashes with that of a State or Nation, the National interest takes preminence! Let him reframe his write up and make his point because Nigeria is bigger than Yobo and can not disrespect him. Igidi Aru Nwaja, an indigene of Akaeze in Ebonyi State is a representative of the Oracle and the Oracle have spoken.

I believe when the truth is being said, people should take it serious. this guy is right and we are taking him for granted. Who cares does not solve the matter, rather rethinking about Nigeria future require proactive thinking and listening. From Emeneke's comment, Yobo have fixed the match long ago and NFF were fully invited with a letter. For God sake, this was the Captain of the Super Eagle we are talking about. How can the younger generation be encouraged if this kind of treatment is meant to a retiring captain. No wonder, Nigeria is not moving forward in our Football...

Reno said...

U mean this dude is well articulated?

My guy u made a point

chrisbanks said...

Rubbish talk from Emenike

@ Juliet shut up. Who asked for your opinion

WSS said...

ALL NATIONAL TEAMS FRIENDLY DATES ARE PRE-FIXED BY FIFA AT THE BEGINNING OF EVERY SEASON. THESE DATES ARE KNOWN AS FIFA FRIENDLY DATES AND ISN'T PECULIAR TO THE SUPER EAGLES. SO BLAME YOBO FOR FIXING HIS TESTIMONIAL MATCH ON A DATE HE KNOWS COULD CLASH WITH SUPER EAGLES FRIENDLY. EMMANUEL EMENIKE SHOULD ALSO BLAME MALI FOR PICKING THE SAME DATE. EMMANUEL EMENIKE IS JUST A FALSE ALARMIST THAT SMELLS 'BEEF' ALL THE TIME, EVEN WHEN CHICKEN IS COOKING

kings11ng said...

Who dem epp?

JOHN MILES said...

NFF reply would be "Who yobo epp?" Stupid Country!

A whole country should change a friendly match date cuz of one stupid player called Yobo who scored an own goal in our world match. This Emenike must be a drunkard!!!

mtchew

Spinach said...

Buhahaha...i trust naija peopl,e em sabi blast!!. the last anonymous comment was a blast."scored an own goal" indeed it could be one of the NFF's beef with him..

Who is to blame?...#onMYway...

Nicely Said Emmanuel.

This guy is supposed to be a professional footballer, buh sadly he hasn't spoken as one. How can a testimonial match of one person be greater than a national friendly? Maybe he's drunk.