Photo: Nigerian man arrested in the U.S and charged with 13 counts of identity fraud | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday, 9 March 2016

Photo: Nigerian man arrested in the U.S and charged with 13 counts of identity fraud

A Nigerian man, Uchenna Azubuike has been charged with 13 counts of identity fraud and held at the Thomas County Jail, Georgia. Immigration personnel have interviewed the suspect and officials with the Diplomatic Division of the U.S. attorney’s office at Macon will interview Azubuike here in mid-March.

Azubuike, 29, of 1000 Barone Ave., Atlanta was arrested after allegedly attempting to purchase two cell phones from a Vericon store using a fake passport of a woman in New York.

Employees at the Thomasville Verizon store, 13915 U.S. 19 South, became suspicious when someone using a New Jersey woman’s identification purchased phones in late February. Personnel contacted the woman and learned she had never been in Thomasville.

Verizon employees were on high alert when a man — later identified as Azubuike — entered the business two days later and purchased two iPhones valued at a total of $1,700. Police were notified.

The suspect, who had filled out paperwork, was waiting for completion of the phone transaction when police arrived. As soon as Azubuike saw police, he got in his vehicle, a 2010 Infiniti, and attempted to leave, said police detective Scott Newberry.

Azubuike refused to identity himself and was taken into custody. He was transported to the jail, where his identity was learned through fingerprints.

"He was using a fake passport of an individual from New York, New York, and was attempting to buy cell phones on the New York person’s Verizon account," Newberry explained. "On him, we found the passport he was using. We learned his identity was a different name."
The Infiniti was seized and searched at the Jail-Justice Center impound yard. Officers found 12 more passports and additional documents related to identification fraud in the car.

"They were different names and dates of birth, but his photo was on all of them," said Capt. Maurice Holmes, commander of the Thomasville Police Department Criminal Investigations Division.

Also found in the vehicle were two iPhones purchased by Azubuike using another identification at a Valdosta Verizon store. An iPad purchased in Atlanta used yet another identification. An alert issued by Thomasville Police Department reached the federal level, including the Eastern Seaboard and the Midwest.

"The feds have decided they want to adopt this case and take the case over." Detective Newberry said.

The suspect will remain incarcerated in Thomasville until he is indicted by a federal grand jury. He will then be transported a federal facility.

"He’s of Nigerian descent," Holmes added, pointing out a “long history” of fraudulent activity with a Nigerian connection.

The CID commander said that in his decades-long career in law enforcement, he has never seen an identity fraud case of this magnitude.

"When he uses an identification, he gets rid of it," Newberry said.

Azubuike is believed to have bought cell phones from Kansas to North Carolina using fraudulent identifications. Officers said the suspect fraudulently obtained cell phones from Verizon and AT&T and had data transferred from phone to phone. It is believed some phones were being shipped overseas, where new service was obtained, and the phones were sold.

"There’s also a terrorist connection that could be involved with these phones. That’s why the feds are interested in it," Holmes explained.

Police Chief Troy Rich said the Thomasville Verizon store staff is an important aspect of the case in that employees were able to stop the transaction and notify police.

43 comments:

1. Hmmm ok o

2. Same crime! Na w a o. His wahala.

3. Na wao why are our ibo people embarrassing themselves like this....

4. Replies
    1. Why is greed the way of life of Igbo people? Why are you people consistently destroying Nigeria's reputation.

2. Mr anonymous may lightening strike ur head! All ur yoruba brothers in the UK causing havoc nko? From one credit fraud to another! Idiotic somebody. Fraud transverses tribe n religion, we shouldnt, therefore give it an ethnic colouration! Rather condemn it ,in its totality rather than ethnicizing it.

5. Gud morning linda. Dats nigeria for you.

6. Our Nigga guys just d bring bad name to our country.

7. Naija, we the famous like coca-coal

8. end of the road for a serial fraudster, God help him

9. end of the road for a serial fraudster, God help him

10. end of the road for a serial fraudster, God help him

11. end of the road for a serial fraudster, God help him

12. end of the road for a serial fraudster, God help him

13. Igbos, always given us bad names anywhere they are.. It's better we just let biafra go so they can tarnish there image and stop causing problems of harassment to legimate Nigerians...

14. Choi..
    Nawa oo

15. Naija no dey carry last. Seriously we should stop these criminal acts.

16. IGBO KWENU!! International umu onyeshi

17. Look at his face

18. Na so hin hustle End disgracefully smh :(

Damolia.DEW

19. We keep disgracing and embarrasing naija...tufiakwa

20. Yet again, it has to be a Nigerian, mcheeeeeeeew! Linda take note!

21. Na wa..Umu Naija must always show themselves.#Lindangwanu#

22. Igbo kwenu! Biafra Kwenu! More grease to your thieving elbows o! Lol!

23. Naija no dey carry last for bad things...see them face!

Discover how Mr. Albert miraculously reverse killer disease diabetes in a twinkle of an eye.
    Click Here To See How
    He Did It.

24. Make una stop disgracing our country ova der nw. Linda observe!

25. Why must it be ibos that like commuting triple frauds lol.
    Biko were nu nwayo
    Many ways to mak money
    Ogbete main market dey o

26. This guy bad pass Tony Montana sha...men get mind..its a pity sha...

27. My naija guys doin all manner of shit

28. Chai. These boys down sought for Georgia and Texas dey too impatient to make this money. This guy own don finish for here. For how much kwa?

29. Now they will call themselves Nigerian and not biafrans just to tarnish our image..

30. That's life without Christ is Crisis...

31. ONYE IBO,GOD DON CASH U. LINDA SEE TO THE CASE

32. @Tuyi Abiola, when u mention igbos, u re making a general statement, any country or tribe can produce a fraudster.Individual not Igbos, thank u

33. Well he just wanted to put food on the table i guess he did hopefully his family should give him all the support he needs, we commit fraud at least we aint peadophiles or even murderes.

34. After e don theif phones for 9ja the Igbotic nigga stl carry the attitude enter international .let him wait for Watever dat will come out of it

35. It's a pity that you guys don't really understand what is going on here ! The white man does not know if you're an Igbo man or Yoruba man , all he sees is a Nigerian and therefore Nigerians are criminals ! I work in Halifax in the Uk and I see how Nigerians are being arrested almost on a daily basis, I see the yourubas and the igbos trying to out smart t he system, some time they even try to use me to cash a stolen or fake cheque ! I have worked in the bank now for about 10 years now and I tell you ........